DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 03/02/2026, in which claims 1, 36, 38 were amended, claims 5-6, 8, 12, 14, 16-19, 21, 27, 29-35 were cancelled, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, 23-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4, 7, 9, 11, claims 2-4, 7, 9, 11 each recites the limitation “the electrolyte”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear the above limitation refers to which electrolytes: the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer or the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer or another electrolytes.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitation of claims 2-4, 7, 9, 11 will be interpreted and examined as -- the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer or the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer --.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 claims both a device and a method of forming the device creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs.
Claims depending from the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 9, 11, 15, 20, 23, 24, 26, 28, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aygüler et al. (WO2016124555A1) in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 20190273215) and Yang et al. (US Pub. 20140084266).
Regarding claims 1 and 20 and 38, Aygüler et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, pages 4-12, 16-21, 25, 29 a quantum dot light-emitting device, comprising:
a first electrode layer [2 or 7], a light- emitting layer [3 or 8], and a second electrode layer [4 or 9], the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] being provided between the first electrode layer [2 or 7] and the second electrode layer [4 or 9],
wherein
the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] comprises a quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8],
the quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8] comprising a mixture of quantum dots and electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer][pages 5, 7, 19-21], and the quantum dots are provided between the electrolytes in a direction from the first electrode layer [2 or 7] to the second electrode layer [4 or 9].
Aygüler et al. fails to disclose
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing the first electrode layer or the second electrode;
electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV;
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer, and electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer are the same as the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV;
wherein an electrochemical reaction occurs in the first electrolyte layer and the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7a, Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a] being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] facing the first electrode layer [75a, 85 or 95a], the first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] comprising the electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer];
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] being provided between the first electrolyte layer [86 or 96a] and the second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a], the second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] comprising the electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer].
For further support, Yang et al. is cited.
Yang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], [0050]-[0051]
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 2 or buffer layer 106 formed of PEO], and a second electrolyte layer [buffer layer 1 or buffer layer under 104 formed of PEO], the light-emitting layer [active layer] being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Yang et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing the first electrode layer; wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device; to prevent damaging the organic materials during subsequent process [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al., paragraph [0050], [0052] of Yang et al.].
Yang suggests electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprise PEO. Aygüler et al. discloses the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether. Thus, the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer comprising PEO is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprising crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
In addition, Wang et al. discloses electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises ionically conductive polymer.
Aygüler et al. discloses electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises ionically conductive polymer such as poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
Thus, it would be obvious to select poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether based on their suitability for use as ionically conductive polymer in the first and second electrolyte layers disclosed by Wang et al. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers with respect to electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer: electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers are the same or different from electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer. For example, electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises poly(ethylene oxide) and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a crown ether; or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises a crown ether and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise a crown ether.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers are different electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV with a reasonable expectation of success.
Consequently, the combination of Aygüler et al., Wang et al. and Yang et al. would result “electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV; electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light- emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV; and wherein an electrochemical reaction occurs in the first electrolyte layer and the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer.”
It is further noted that the limitation of claim 38 directs to property of electrolytes and manner of operation of the device. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2112.01 (I), (II), MPEP 2114 I, II.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 7, Aygüler et al. discloses
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises polyethylene oxide or a polyethylene oxide derivative [poly (ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether] [page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-5, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 6];
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer further comprises an inorganic salt, the inorganic salt comprises a sulfonate, and a chemical formula of the inorganic salt is KCF3SO3 LiCF3SO3, NaCF3SO3, RbCF3SO3 or CsCF3SO3 [page 5 lines 1-5, page 8, page 9 lines 1-3 and 13, page 17 line 3, page 18 lines 11-19, claim 1, claim 6, claim 7];
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer further comprises an organic salt, and the organic salt comprises a trifluoromethane sulfonate or an imidazolium [page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 15-25, page 10 lines 1-7, page 17 lines 7-25, claim 1, claim 5, claim 6].
Yang also discloses the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer comprises polyethylene oxide [PEO].
Regarding claims 9, 11, 15, Aygüler et al. discloses page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-25, page 10 lines 1-7, page 17 lines 7-25, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 5, claim 6
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer further comprises an ionic liquid, and the ionic liquid comprises an organic salt;
wherein the organic salt comprises an imidazolium, and the ionic liquid has a structural formula of:
[when 1-butyl-3-methylimidazolium ion is selected as cation and [PF6]- is selected as anion]; or
wherein A is PF6- or BF4- [when 1-butyl-3-methylimidazolium ion is selected as cation and [PF6]- or [BF4-] is selected as anion.]
Regarding claims 23, 24, Aygüler et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, pages 4-12, 16-21, 25, 29 a method of preparing a quantum dot light-emitting device, which is configured to prepare the quantum dot light-emitting device according to claim 1, the method comprising:
forming the first electrode layer [2 or 7], the light- emitting layer [3 or 8], and the second electrode layer [4 or 9];
wherein forming the first electrode layer [2 or 7], the light- emitting layer [3 or 8], and the second electrode layer [4 or 9] comprises:
forming the first electrode layer [2 or 7];
forming the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] on the first electrode layer [2 or 7]; and
forming the second electrode layer [4 or 9] on a side of the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] facing away from the first electrode layer [2 or 7].
Regarding claim 26, Aygüler et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, pages 4-12, 16-21, 25, 29 forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8] on the first electrode layer [2 or 7].
Aygüler et al. fails to disclose
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming first electrolyte layer on the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or
forming first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrolyte layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7a, Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a] on the first electrode layer [75a, 85 or 95a];
forming first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] on the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a]; or
forming first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] on the first electrode layer [85 or 95a]; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] on the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a].
Yang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], [0050]-[0051]
forming first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 2 formed of PEO or conjugated polyelectrolyte] on an active light-emitting layer [active layer]; or
forming first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 1 formed of PEO or conjugated polyelectrolyte] on the first electrode layer [85 or 95a]; and forming an active light-emitting layer [active layer] on the first electrolyte layer [buffer 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Yang et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include forming the light-emitting layer comprises: forming first electrolyte layer on the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or forming first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device; or to prevent damaging the organic materials during subsequent process [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al., paragraph [0050], [0052] of Yang et al.]
Regarding claim 28, Aygüler et al. fails to disclose
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer;
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer;
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing away from the first electrode layer; and
forming the second electrolyte layer on a side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrolyte layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer [86 or 96a]; and
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] on the first electrode layer [85 or 95a];
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] on a side of the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] facing away from the first electrode layer [85 or 95a]; and
forming the second electrolyte layer [86 or 96a] on a side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] facing away from the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer; forming the light-emitting layer comprises: forming the first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing away from the first electrode layer; and forming the second electrolyte layer on a side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al.].
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 9, 11, 15, 20, 22-26, 28 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US Pub. 20200313037) in view of Aygüler et al. (WO2016124555A1) and Wang et al. (US Pub. 20190273215) and Yang et al. (US Pub. 20140084266).
Regarding claims 1 and 20 and 38, He et al. discloses in Fig. 8, paragraph [0035], [0129]-[0136] a quantum dot light-emitting device, comprising:
a first electrode layer [202], a light- emitting layer [2052, 2062, or 2072], and a second electrode layer [210],
the light-emitting layer [2052, 2062, or 2072] being provided between the first electrode layer [202] and the second electrode layer [210], and the light-emitting layer [2052, 2062, or 2072] comprising quantum dots.
He et al. fails to disclose
the light-emitting layer comprises a quantum dot light-emitting layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a mixture of quantum dots and the electrolytes;
the quantum dots in the quantum dot light-emitting layer are provided between the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer in a direction from the first electrode layer to the second electrode layer.
Aygüler et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, pages 4-12, 16-21, 25, 29
the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] comprises a quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8] comprising a mixture of quantum dots and electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer][pages 5, 7, 19-21],
the quantum dots in the quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8] are provided between the electrolytes in quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8] in a direction from the first electrode layer [2 or 7] to the second electrode layer [4 or 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Aygüler et al. into the method of He et al. to include the light-emitting layer comprises a quantum dot light-emitting layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a mixture of quantum dots and the electrolytes; the quantum dots in the quantum dot light-emitting layer are provided between the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer in a direction from the first electrode layer to the second electrode layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify He et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing light emitting device having higher efficiency, higher photoluminescence quantum yield and/or higher power conversion efficiency [page 4 lines 1-7 of Aygüler et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
He et al. and Aygüler et al. fails to disclose
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing the first electrode layer;
electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV.
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer, and electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer comprising the electrolytes are the same as the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV;
wherein an electrochemical reaction occurs in the first electrolyte layer and the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7a, Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a] being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] facing the first electrode layer [75a, 85 or 95a], the first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] comprising the electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer];
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] being provided between the first electrolyte layer [86 or 96a] and the second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a], the second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] comprising the electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer].
For further support, Yang et al. is cited.
Yang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], [0050]-[0051]
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 2 or buffer layer 106 formed of PEO], and a second electrolyte layer [buffer layer 1 or buffer layer under 104 formed of PEO], the light-emitting layer [active layer] being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Yang et al. into the method of He et al. and Aygüler et al. to include wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing the first electrode layer; wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify He et al. and Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device; to prevent damaging the organic materials during subsequent process [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al., paragraph [0050], [0052] of Yang et al.].
Yang suggests electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprise PEO. Aygüler et al. discloses the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether. Thus, the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer comprising PEO is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprising crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
In addition, Wang et al. discloses electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises ionically conductive polymer.
Aygüler et al. discloses electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises ionically conductive polymer such as poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
Thus, it would be obvious to select poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether based on their suitability for use as ionically conductive polymer in the first and second electrolyte layers disclosed by Wang et al. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers with respect to electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer: electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers are the same or different from electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer. For example, electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises poly(ethylene oxide) and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a crown ether; or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises a crown ether and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise a crown ether.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers are different electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first (second) electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV with a reasonable expectation of success.
Consequently, the combination of Aygüler et al., He et al., Wang et al. and Yang et al. would result “electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV; electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light- emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV; and wherein an electrochemical reaction occurs in the first electrolyte layer and the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer.”
It is further noted that the limitation of claim 38 directs to property of electrolytes and manner of operation of the device. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2112.01 (I), (II), MPEP 2114 I, II.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 7, Aygüler et al. discloses
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises polyethylene oxide or a polyethylene oxide derivative [poly (ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether] [page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-5, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 6];
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer further comprises an inorganic salt, the inorganic salt comprises a sulfonate, and a chemical formula of the inorganic salt is KCF3SO3 LiCF3SO3, NaCF3SO3, RbCF3SO3 or CsCF3SO3 [page 5 lines 1-5, page 8, page 9 lines 1-3 and 13, page 17 line 3, page 18 lines 11-19, claim 1, claim 6, claim 7];
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer further comprises an organic salt, and the organic salt comprises a trifluoromethane sulfonate or an imidazolium [page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 15-25, page 10 lines 1-7, page 17 lines 7-25, claim 1, claim 5, claim 6].
Yang also discloses the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer comprises polyethylene oxide [PEO].
Regarding claims 9, 11, 15, Aygüler et al. discloses page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-25, page 10 lines 1-7, page 17 lines 7-25, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 5, claim 6
wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer further comprises an ionic liquid, and the ionic liquid comprises an organic salt;
wherein the organic salt comprises an imidazolium, and the ionic liquid has a structural formula of:
[when 1-butyl-3-methylimidazolium ion is selected as cation and [PF6]- is selected as anion]; or
wherein A is PF6- or BF4- [when 1-butyl-3-methylimidazolium ion is selected as cation and [PF6]- or [BF4-] is selected as anion.]
Regarding claim 22, He et al. discloses in Fig. 8, paragraph [0035], [0129]-[0136]
a hole injection layer [203], a hole transport layer [204], and an electron transport layer [208], the hole injection layer [203] being provided between the first electrode layer [202] and the light-emitting layer [100], the hole transport layer [204] being provided between the hole injection layer [203] and the light-emitting layer [100], and the electron transport layer [208] being provided between the light-emitting layer [100] and the second electrode layer [210].
Regarding claims 23 and 24, He et al. discloses in Fig. 8, paragraph [0035], [0129]-[0136] a method of preparing a quantum dot light-emitting device, which is configured to prepare the quantum dot light-emitting device according to claim 1, the method comprising:
forming the first electrode layer [202], the light- emitting layer [100], and the second electrode layer [210];
wherein forming the first electrode layer [202], the light- emitting layer [100], and the second electrode layer [210] comprises:
forming the first electrode layer [202];
forming the light-emitting layer [100] on the first electrode layer [202]; and
forming the second electrode layer [210] on a side of the light-emitting layer [100] facing away from the first electrode layer [210].
Aygüler et al. also discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, pages 4-12, 16-21, 25, 29
forming the first electrode layer [2 or 7], the light- emitting layer [3 or 8], and the second electrode layer [4 or 9];
wherein forming the first electrode layer [2 or 7], the light- emitting layer [3 or 8], and the second electrode layer [4 or 9] comprises:
forming the first electrode layer [2 or 7];
forming the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] on the first electrode layer [2 or 7]; and
forming the second electrode layer [4 or 9] on a side of the light-emitting layer [3 or 8] facing away from the first electrode layer [2 or 7].
Consequently, the combination of He et al. and Aygüler et al. discloses limitations of claims 23-24.
Regarding claim 25, He et al. discloses in Fig. 8, paragraph [0035], [0129]-[0136]
being provided between the first electrode layer [202] and the light-emitting layer [100], the hole transport layer [204] being provided between the hole injection layer [203] and the light-emitting layer [100], and the electron transport layer [208] being provided between the light-emitting layer [100] and the second electrode layer [210].
a hole injection layer [203], a hole transport layer [204], and an electron transport layer [208], the hole injection layer [203] being provided on a side of the first electrode layer [202] facing the light-emitting layer [100], the hole transport layer [204] being provided on a side of the hole injection layer [203] facing the light-emitting layer [100], and the electron transport layer [208] being provided between the light-emitting layer [100] and the second electrode layer [210]; before forming the light-emitting layer [100], the method further comprises:
forming the hole injection layer [203] on the first electrode layer [202]; and
forming the hole transport layer [204] on a side of the hole injection layer [203] facing away from the first electrode layer [202]; and
after forming the light-emitting layer [100] and before forming the second electrode layer [210], the method further comprises:
forming the electron transport layer [208] on the side of the light-emitting layer [100] facing away from the first electrode layer [202].
Regarding claim 26, Aygüler et al. and He et al. fails to disclose
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrode layer; and forming first electrolyte layer on the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or
forming first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrolyte layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7a, Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a] on the first electrode layer [75a, 85 or 95a]; and forming first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] on the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a]; or
forming first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] on the first electrode layer [85 or 95a]; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] on the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a].
Yang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], [0050]-[0051]
forming first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 2 formed of PEO or conjugated polyelectrolyte] on an active light-emitting layer [active layer]; or
forming first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 1 formed of PEO or conjugated polyelectrolyte] on the first electrode layer [85 or 95a]; and forming an active light-emitting layer [active layer] on the first electrolyte layer [buffer 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Yang et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include forming the light-emitting layer comprises: forming first electrolyte layer on the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or forming first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device; or to prevent damaging the organic materials during subsequent process [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al., paragraph [0050], [0052] of Yang et al.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. and He et al. to include forming the light-emitting layer comprises: forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrode layer; and forming first electrolyte layer on the quantum dot light-emitting layer; or forming first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; and forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on the first electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. and He et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al.].
Regarding claim 28, Aygüler et al. and He et al. fails to disclose
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer;
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer;
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing away from the first electrode layer; and
forming the second electrolyte layer on a side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrolyte layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer [86 or 96a]; and
forming the light-emitting layer comprises:
forming the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] on the first electrode layer [85 or 95a];
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] on a side of the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] facing away from the first electrode layer [85 or 95a]; and
forming the second electrolyte layer [86 or 96a] on a side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] facing away from the first electrolyte layer [87 or 97a].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. and He et al. to include wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer; forming the light-emitting layer comprises: forming the first electrolyte layer on the first electrode layer; forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing away from the first electrode layer; and forming the second electrolyte layer on a side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer facing away from the first electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. and He et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al.].
Regarding claim 36, He et al. discloses in Fig. 8A, Abstract, paragraph [0002], [0024], [0033]-[0035] display substrate, comprising a plurality of quantum dot light-emitting devices arranged in an array,
wherein each of the quantum dot light-emitting devices comprises:
a first electrode layer [202], a light- emitting layer [2052, 2062, or 2072], and a second electrode layer [210], the light-emitting layer [2052, 2062, or 2072] being provided between the first electrode layer [202] and the second electrode layer [210], wherein
the light-emitting layer [2052, 2062, or 2072] comprising a quantum dot light emitting layer.
He et al. fails to disclose
the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a mixture of quantum dots and electrolytes, and the quantum dots are provided between the electrolytes in a direction from the first electrode layer to the second electrode layer.
Aygüler et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, pages 4-12, 16-21, 25, 29
the quantum dot light-emitting layer [3 or 8] comprising a mixture of quantum dots and electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer][pages 5, 7, 19-21], and the quantum dots are provided between the electrolytes in a direction from the first electrode layer [2 or 7] to the second electrode layer [4 or 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Aygüler et al. into the method of He et al. to include the light-emitting layer comprises a quantum dot light-emitting layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a mixture of quantum dots and the electrolytes; the quantum dots are provided between the electrolytes in a direction from the first electrode layer to the second electrode layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify He et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing light emitting device having higher efficiency, higher photoluminescence quantum yield and/or higher power conversion efficiency [page 4 lines 1-7 of Aygüler et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
He et al. and Aygüler et al. fails to disclose
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing the first electrode layer;
electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7a, Fig. 8, Fig. 9a, paragraph [0050]-[0052], [0083]
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [73a, 83 or 93a] being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] facing the first electrode layer [75a, 85 or 95a], the first electrolyte layer [76a, 86 or 96a] comprising the electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer];
wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a], the quantum dot light-emitting layer [83 or 93a] being provided between the first electrolyte layer [86 or 96a] and the second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a], the second electrolyte layer [87 or 97a] comprising the electrolytes [ionically conductive polymer].
For further support, Yang et al. is cited.
Yang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], [0050]-[0051]
wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer [buffer layer 2 or buffer layer 106 formed of PEO], and a second electrolyte layer [buffer layer 1 or buffer layer under 104 formed of PEO], the light-emitting layer [active layer] being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Yang et al. into the method of He et al. and Aygüler et al. to include wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided on a side of the first electrolyte layer facing the first electrode layer; wherein the light-emitting layer further comprises a second electrolyte layer, the quantum dot light-emitting layer being provided between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify He et al. and Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving the performance of the quantum dot light-emitting device; to prevent damaging the organic materials during subsequent process [paragraph [0031] of Wang et al., paragraph [0050], [0052] of Yang et al.].
Yang suggests electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprise PEO. Aygüler et al. discloses the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether. Thus, the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer comprising PEO is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprising crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
In addition, Wang et al. discloses electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises ionically conductive polymer.
Aygüler et al. discloses electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises ionically conductive polymer such as poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
Thus, it would be obvious to select poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether based on their suitability for use as ionically conductive polymer in the first electrolyte layer disclosed by Wang et al. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer with respect to electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer: electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are the same or different from electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer. For example, electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer comprises poly(ethylene oxide) and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a crown ether; or electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer comprises a crown ether and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise a crown ether.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV with a reasonable expectation of success.
Consequently, the combination of Aygüler et al., He et al., Wang et al. and Yang et al. would result “electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV.”
Regarding claim 37, the combination of He et al., Wang et al., Yang et al. and Aygüler et al. discloses a display apparatus, comprising the display substrate according to claim 36.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aygüler et al. (WO2016124555A1) in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 20190273215) and Yang et al. (US Pub. 20140084266) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Xue et al. (“Poly(ethylene oxide)-based electrolytes for lithiumion batteries”, J. Mater. Chem. A, 2015, 19218–19253).
Regarding claim 3, Aygüler et al. discloses in page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-5, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 6 wherein the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer or the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a material comprises a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
Aygüler et al. fails to explicitly disclose that
wherein in a case that the electrolyte comprises the polyethylene oxide derivative, the polyethylene oxide derivative comprises polyethylene oxide end group and crown ether.
Xue et al. discloses in Fig. 10 and pages 19232-19233,
wherein in a case that the electrolyte comprises the polyethylene oxide derivative, the polyethylene oxide derivative comprises polyethylene oxide end group and crown ether.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Xue et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include wherein in a case that the electrolyte comprises the polyethylene oxide derivative, the polyethylene oxide derivative comprises polyethylene oxide end group and crown ether. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative polyethylene oxide based material with improved ionic conductivity [pages 19232-19233 of Xue et al.].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aygüler et al. (WO2016124555A1) in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 20190273215) and Yang et al. (US Pub. 20140084266) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Halalay et al. (US Pub. 20120082893).
Regarding claim 10, Aygüler et al. discloses in page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-5, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 6 wherein the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises crown ether.
Aygüler et al. fails to disclose wherein the crown ether has a structural formula of:
Halalay et al. discloses in paragraph [0032]
wherein the crown ether [dicyclohexano-18-crown-6] has a structural formula of:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Halalay et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include wherein the crown ether has a structural formula of:
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable crown ether in the electrolyte [paragraph [0032] of Halalay et al.].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aygüler et al. (WO2016124555A1) in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 20190273215) and Yang et al. (US Pub. 20140084266) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US Pub. 20120018680).
Regarding claim 13, Aygüler et al. discloses in page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-25, page 10 lines 1-7, page 17 lines 7-25, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 5, claim 6 wherein the organic salt comprises a trifluoromethane sulfonate [a salt that has [(CF3SO2)2N]- as anion],
Aygüler et al. further discloses
the ionic liquid comprises a cation comprising a positively charged nitrogen atom undergoing four covalent bonds in its molecular structure.
Aygüler et al. fails to disclose
the ionic liquid comprises a cation having a structural formula of
wherein n is a positive integer.
Nakagawa et al. discloses in paragraph [0078]-[0079], [0094]
the ionic liquid comprises a cation [1-sec-butyl-3-methylimidazolium cation] having a structural formula of
wherein n is a positive integer.
Nakagawa et al. further discloses in paragraph [0096] the ionic liquid comprises a trifluoromethanesulfonic acid anion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa et al. into the method of Aygüler et al. to include the ionic liquid comprises a cation having a structural formula of
wherein n is a positive integer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aygüler et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative cation included in an ionic liquid [paragraph [0078], [0094] of Nakagawa et al.].
Aygüler et al. discloses in page 5 lines 1-5, page 9 lines 4-25, page 10 lines 1-7, page 17 lines 7-25, page 18 lines 4-6, claim 1, claim 5, claim 6 wherein the ionic liquid comprises a cation and (CF3SO2)2N]- anion. Nakagawa et al. discloses in paragraph [0078]-[0079], [0094] the cation [1-sec-butyl-3-methylimidazolium cation] has a structural formula of
.
Consequently, the combination of Aygüler et al. and Nakagawa et al. discloses the ionic liquid has a structural formula of
wherein n is a positive integer.
[when 1-sec butyl-3-methylimidazolium ion is selected as cation and [(CF3SO2)2N]- is selected as anion].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, 20, 22-26, 28, 36-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
In addition, Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Further, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
As stated in the above rejection, the new reference Yang suggests electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprise PEO. Aygüler et al. discloses the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether. Thus, the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first (second) electrolyte layer comprising PEO is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprising crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
In addition, Wang et al. discloses electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises ionically conductive polymer.
Aygüler et al. discloses electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises ionically conductive polymer such as poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether.
Thus, it would be obvious to select poly(ethylene oxide) or crown ether or a mixture of poly (ethylene oxide) and crown ether based on their suitability for use as ionically conductive polymer in the first and second electrolyte layers disclosed by Wang et al. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers with respect to electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer: electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers are the same or different from electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer. For example, electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises poly(ethylene oxide) and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a crown ether; or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers comprises a crown ether and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise poly(ethylene oxide); or electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers and electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprise a crown ether.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try electrolytes in the first and second electrolyte layers are different electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first (second) electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV with a reasonable expectation of success.
Consequently, the combination of Aygüler et al., He et al., Wang et al. and Yang et al. would result “electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the first electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV; electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer are different from the electrolytes in the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and a difference in redox potential between the electrolytes in the second electrolyte layer and the electrolytes in the quantum dot light- emitting layer is less than or equal to 0.3 eV; and wherein an electrochemical reaction occurs in the first electrolyte layer and the quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the electrochemical reaction occurring in the first electrolyte layer is similar to the electrochemical reaction occurring in the quantum dot light-emitting layer.”
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893