DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 refers back to a part of claim 1, but should refer to claim 1 in its entirety.
Claims in dependent form shall be construed to include all the limitations of the claim incorporated by reference into the dependent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6-10 are objected to due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear if the foam from a pressurized bottle of claim 7 is the same as the foam from a pressurized bottle of claim 1, or a foam from a pressurized bottle.
It is unclear if the flexible membrane of claim 7 is the same as the flexible membrane bottle of claim 1, or a different material.
It is unclear if the flexible membrane of claim 7 is the same as the flexible membrane bottle of claim 1, or a different material.
The remainder of the claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, 14, 15, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundersen (WO2018222046A1) in view of Schaefer et al. (2,812,769) and Kisin et al. (9,534,100)
Regarding claim 1 and 2 Gundersen shows an extinguishing system comprising a wall element (01) for surrounding an object on fire (fig 1), wherein a lower edge of the wall element is configured to provide a sealed joint between the lower edge of the wall element and a surface (03) on which the object on fire is located, the wall element and the surface constituting a pool (fig 6) for containing firefighting water covering at least partly the object on fire (fig 6 is capable of this), wherein the wall element is made of a flexible membrane arranged to form one or more cavities (15) for stiffening the wall element when being filled with filler material (15 is filled with air or gas to stiffen it), a water line (fire hose connected to 05) for supplying the firefighting water to the pool
But fails to specifically disclose a pressurized bottle for supplying intumescent material to the one or more cavities, the intumescent material acting as the filler material.
Schaefer et al. teaches filling cavities with a foam (col 4, lines 50-60) from a bottle (46) to stiffen the structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to fill the cavities of Gundersen with foam from a bottle, in order to make the wall structure ridged as taught by Schaefer et al (col 4, lines 60-64).
The above combination still fails to disclose that the foaming material is an intumescent material, specifically polyurethane.
Kisin et al. teaches spraying a one component spray polyurethane foam from a pressurized container (abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use the pressurized container of Kisin et al, including the polyurethane foam to fill the cavities of Gundersen as modified above, in order to fill them with lightweight, low coast, rigid material
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Gundersen teaches a cover element attached to the wall element to close a room surrounded by the wall element. (DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION, paragraph 5)
But fails to disclose the cover element is made of a flexible membrane
Gundersen teaches walls made from a flexible membrane
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use the same flexible membrane Gundersen used for the walls, for the cover, since it is already available and works well for the walls.
Regarding claim 5, 14 and 15, wherein the extinguishing system comprises one or more tensioning straps (14) extending between upper edges of the wall element and across an area surrounded by the wall element (straps 14 extend between upper edges of the walls and extend at least partially over the. area surrounded by the wall element.)
Regarding claim 6, 17 and 18 wherein the lower edge of the wall element comprises a permanent magnetic material for attaching the wall element to the surface on which the object on fire is located when the surface is a surface of a structure comprising ferromagnetic material (DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION, paragraph 3)
Regarding claim 7, in its use the device or Gundersen as modified above will inherently perform the steps of arranging the wall element of the extinguishing system of claim 1 to surround the object (fig 1), and- conducting firefighting water to a pool constituted by the wall element and a surface on which the object is located (filling the pool with water), wherein the wall element is made of a flexible membrane arranged to form one or more cavities (15), and the method comprises filling the one or more cavities with filler material (foam form Kisin et al. ) to stiffen the wall element, wherein the method comprises supplying, from a pressurized bottle (container of Kisin et al.), intumescent material (polyurethane) to one or more cavities of the above-mentioned wall element to stiffen the wall element.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the object is a vehicle (fig 1) and the firefighting water is conducted to a bodywork of the vehicle with a nozzle (outlet of the fire hose) directing a water jet to inside the bodywork of the vehicle (the water fills up the pool then goes in inside the bodywork of the vehicle.)
Regarding claim 9, the vehicle is an electric or hybrid car comprising a battery (abstract).
Claim(s) 4, 10, 12, 13, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundersen (WO2018222046A1), Schaefer et al. (2,812,769) and Kisin et al. (9,534,100) above, further in view of Krupp (DE 102019003289A1)
Regarding claims 4, 10 , 12 and 13, Gundersen as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claims 1, 2, 3 and 7,
but fails to disclose a lower portion of the wall element comprises an outlet valve for emptying a room surrounded by the wall element of the firefighting water and teaches emptying the pool of the firefighting water via then outlet valve after the fire has been extinguished.
Kupp teaches a similar pool with an outlet valve (19)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to add a valve to the bottom portion of Gundersen as modified above in order to drain the water from the room.
Regarding claim 19 wherein the lower edge of the wall element comprises a permanent magnetic material for attaching the wall element to the surface on which the object on fire is located when the surface is a surface of a structure comprising ferromagnetic material (DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION, paragraph 3)
Regarding claim 16, wherein the extinguishing system comprises one or more tensioning straps (14) extending between upper edges of the wall element and across an area surrounded by the wall element (straps 14 extend between upper edges of the walls and extend at least partially over the. area surrounded by the wall element.)
Regarding claim 20, wherein the lower edge of the wall element comprises a permanent magnetic material for attaching the wall element to the surface on which the object on fire is located when the surface is a surface of a structure comprising ferromagnetic material (DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION, paragraph 3)
If applicant disagrees with the examiner interpretation that element 14 of Gundersen reads on the claimed one or more tensioning straps the following 103 rejection is provided:
Claim(s) 5, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundersen (WO2018222046A1), Schaefer et al. (2,812,769) and Kisin et al. (9,534,100) and view of Krupp (DE 102019003289A1) (for claim 16), further in view of Ellerman (DE 10 2016 211 854 B3)
Regarding claims 5 and 14-16, Gundersen as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in the above claims, but fails to teach comprises one or more tensioning straps extending between upper edges of the wall element and across an area surrounded by the wall element
Ellerman teaches a similar device that includes one or more tensioning straps (72) extending between upper edges of the wall element (4) and across an area surrounded by the wall element (fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use the strap element of Ellerman in the combination of Gundersen as modified above, in order to keep the car in place.
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 10/23/2026