Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/02/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended. No dependent claims have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new. Claims 1-18 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, and 13, under 35 USC § 103, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu (Pub. No.: US 20160150445 A1, hereafter “Sandhu”) in view of Pu (Pub. No.: US 20160381610 A1, hereafter “Pu”), and further in view of Sarkar (Pub. No.: US 20240298221 A1, hereafter “Sarkar”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 7, and Claim 13
Sandhu teaches a Method, a Device, and Recording Medium Comprising
A method for selective handover (Sandhu ¶0056: handover), between first (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 300) and second transceivers (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 320) of a wireless communication network, of a connection of a mobile device (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 306) to the wireless communication network (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 300), the mobile device including a wireless communication module configured to transmit and receive a wireless signal (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 306), the method comprising: establishing a predefined offset value (Sandhu Fig. 3B: offset) and a predefined threshold value (Sandhu Fig. 3B: power threshold) for a signal reliability measurement (Sandhu Fig. 3B: RSRP; Sandhu teaches a handover between two transceivers with an offset value, a threshold value, and a reliability measurement); communicatively coupling (Sandhu Fig. 3B: between 302 and 306) the wireless communication module of the mobile device to the first transceiver of the wireless communication network (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 302; Sandhu teaches coupling between the UE and the first base station); obtaining a measurement of a first signal reliability value of a signal (Sandhu Fig. 3B: RSRP) between the first transceiver and the wireless communication module of the mobile device (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 302 and 306; Sandhu teaches receiving the RSRP for the first RAT network element); obtaining a measurement of a second signal reliability value of a signal (Sandhu Fig. 3B: RSRP) between the second transceiver and the wireless communication module of the mobile device (Sandhu Fig. 3B: 304 and 306; Sandhu teaches receiving the RSRP for the second RAT network element);
Sandhu does not explicitly teach
by a processor, selectively transitioning the communicative coupling of the wireless communication module from the first transceiver to the second transceiver
However, Pu teaches
by a processor, selectively transitioning the communicative coupling of the wireless communication module from the first transceiver to the second transceiver (Pu ¶0097: handover from serving cell to neighbor cell)
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sandhu with Pu, to have a direct comparison of the relative RSRP measurements, compared to a predetermined offset value, as taught by Pu in ¶0100 to increase handover procedures and increase the users radio conditions until handover is successfully completed.
Sandhu in view of Pu does not explicitly teach
a first determination of whether a difference between the second signal reliability value and the first signal reliability value is greater than a predefined offset value, a second determination of whether the second signal reliability value itself is greater than a predefined threshold value, the predefined threshold value being different from the predefined offset value, wherein the second determination is selectively performed based on a result of the first determination, or the first determination is selectively performed based on a result of the second determination, and
wherein the second signal reliability value compared against that predefined threshold value in the second determination is different from a value of the difference compared against the predefined offset value in the first determination.
However, Sarkar teaches
a first determination (Sarkar Fig. 6B: 626) of whether a difference (Sarkar Fig. 6B: LLc_RP – La_RP, i.e. the RSRP difference between neighbor Lc and source La is compared with a Nbr_Intf threshold parameter by way of implementing a handover modulation criterion, see ¶0059) between the second signal reliability value (Sarkar Fig. 6A: 608, measurement report with RSRP) and the first signal reliability value (Sarkar ¶0059: neighbor cell) is greater than a predefined offset value (Sarkar Fig. 6B: <= Nbr_intf_Thresh, i.e. Nbr_Intf threshold may be configured as a tunable parameter, see ¶0059), a second determination (Sarkar Fig. 6B: 634, i.e. a further verification may be performed to determine if the current operating point/range in the source cell (i.e., La cell) is conducive to maintain satisfactory connection quality and reliability, see ¶0060) of whether the second reliability value itself (Sarkar ¶0066: operative response to a set of input data obtained from 630, e.g. one or more UE measurement reports) is greater than a predefined threshold value (Sarkar ¶0066: any of which may be differently weighted), the predefined threshold value being different from the predefined offset value (Sarkar ¶0066: operative response to a set of input data obtained from 630 (Input Dataset); Sarkar teaches a plurality of determinations, one of which relates to a measurement value for a handover for a neighbor cell, and another of which is receiving an additional input dataset for the primary handover decision itself, see Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, ¶0059-¶0060, and ¶0066)
wherein the second determination is selectively performed based on a result of the first determination (Sarkar Fig. 6B: 626 YES result points to 632), or the first determination is selectively performed based on a result of the second determination (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Sarkar teaches one determination in response to another, see Fig. 6B)
and wherein the second signal reliability value compared against that predefined threshold value in the second determination is different from a value of the difference compared against the predefined offset value in the first determination (Sarkar ¶0066: operative response to a set of input data obtained from 630, e.g. one or more UE measurement reports; Sarkar teaches that the determination methods are different, see ¶0066).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sandhu in view of Pu by way of Sarkar, to include an element that teaches a plurality of determinations, one of which relates to a measurement value for a handover for a neighbor cell, and another of which is receiving an additional input dataset for the primary handover decision itself, one determination in response to another, and that the determination methods are different as taught by Sarkar in Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, ¶0059-¶0060, and ¶0066, to combine a known process with another known process for a known result, to maintain the capacity for connectivity, data rates, capacity, and bandwidth by allowing a more seamless transition from various RAT towers and improve end to end communication for the quality of service for the end user.
Claim 7 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art,
at least one memory configured to store computer program code (Sandhu Fig. 8: 806); at least one processor configured to operate (Sandhu Fig. 8: 804) as instructed by the computer program code (Sandhu Fig. 8: 806; Sandhu teaches a processor configured to execute a program stored on memory)
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 8, and Claim 14
Sandhu in view of Pu, and further in view of Sarkar teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Pu discloses
the first signal reliability value (Pu Table 1, ¶0100: RSRPsc) and the second signal reliability value (Pu Table 1, ¶0100: RSRPnc) are measured as Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) values (Pu Table 1, ¶0100: RSRP; Pu teaches measuring reliability for both signals in RSRP).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sandhu with Pu, to measure the values with RSRP, as taught by Pu in ¶0100 to increase handover procedures and increase the users radio conditions until handover is successfully completed.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 9, and Claim 15
Sandhu in view of Pu, and further in view of Sarkar teaches the method, device, and recording medium as explained above in Claim 1. Pu discloses
predefined threshold values are established for the second transceiver (Pu ¶0097: neighbor cell measurements) and for at least one other transceiver included in the wireless communication network (Pu ¶0097: serving cell), and wherein the predefined threshold value compared to the second signal reliability value (Pu ¶0097: RSRP) is the predefined threshold value established for the second transceiver (Pu ¶0097: exceeds a threshold; Pu teaches the neighboring cell having an RSRP value that checks for exceeding a threshold).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sandhu with Pu, check neighboring cell’s RSRP value for exceeding a threshold, as taught by Pu in ¶0097 to increase handover procedures and increase the users radio conditions until handover is successfully completed.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 10, and Claim 16
Sandhu in view of Pu, and further in view of Sarkar teaches the method, device, and recording medium as explained above in Claim 1. Pu discloses
wherein the predefined threshold value is shared by each transceiver included in the wireless communication network (Pu ¶0103: monitoring neighboring cells; Pu teaches RSRP measurements, and thresholds from multiple neighboring cells being monitored and compared).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sandhu with Pu, cells monitoring neighboring cells for RSRP measurements and thresholds, as taught by Pu in ¶0103 to increase handover procedures and increase the users radio conditions until handover is successfully completed.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 11, and Claim 17
Sandhu in view of Pu, and further in view of Sarkar teaches the method, device, and recording medium as explained above in Claim 1. Sandhu further discloses
the measurements of the first signal reliability value and the second signal reliability value are received from the mobile device (Sandhu ¶0056: UE may report parameters to serving base station; Sandhu teaches the RSRP power parameters being sent from the UE to the base station).
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 12, and Claim 18
Sandhu in view of Pu, and further in view of Sarkar teaches the method, device, and recording medium as explained above in Claim 1. Pu discloses
the first transceiver includes the processor selectively transitioning the communicative coupling (Pu ¶0097: handover from serving cell to neighbor cell; Pu teaches the transceiver transitioning the communication to another base station).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sandhu with Pu, to have the transceiver transition the communication to another base station, as taught by Pu in ¶0097 to increase handover procedures and increase the users radio conditions until handover is successfully completed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415