DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made to the amendment received 12/10/2025
Acknowledgement is made to the amendment of claim 1.
Claims 1-12 are pending. A complete action on the merits appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20120184980 A1) in view of Gandhi (US 20160256218 A1) and Huffmaster (US 20160008141 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches an apparatus (Abstract) for nerve denervation or modulation ([0005] teaches modulation within the body as broadly as is claimed by controlling the occlusive effect on a vessel within the body) in a body, comprising:
a main body (Fig. 1; vessel occlusive device 1) including a shaft (Fig. 1; conduit 9);
a unit (Fig. 1; outer sheath 12) formed to be drawn out from one end of the shaft and configured to denervate or modulate at least some of nerves on a tube in the body; and
a guide (Fig. 1; inner occlusive tape 13) deformed into a wound state to bring the unit into contact with the tube in the body, wherein the guide includes:
a body portion (Fig. 1; flexible sizing band of outer surface 17) which is spaced apart from the unit to enclose the circumference of the tube in the wound state; and a
coupling portion (Fig. 1; terminal end 14) which is connected to the end of the body portion and to which an end of the unit is fixed.
However, Anderson fails to teach the apparatus as being an electrode apparatus, the unit as being an electrode unit and the guide as being an electrode guide.
Anderson instead teaches an apparatus for wrapping an elongated element around a vessel within the body so as to provide treatment to a patient ([0005], [0014]).
Gandhi teaches a tissue treatment device having a shaft and a flat configuration for wrapping around a vessel within a body of a patient (Abstract, [0035]).
Gandhi further teaches the flat portion which contacts the vessel within the patient as being an electrode pad for treating the tissue of the patient ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the use of a flat distal portion for wrapping around the vessel of a patient as containing electrodes to treat patient tissue as is taught by Gandhi, into the flat occlusive tape of Anderson for wrapping around a vessel of a patient, to produce the predictable result of treating a vessel within a patient, as is taught by Gandhi as it has been held that the incorporation and/or combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III)
Anderson further teaches the device as having a tape which is disposed within an occlusive sheath so as to apply a tension to the sheath and provide a tension to the body vessel ([0010]).
Anderson as modified further fails to teach apparatus wherein the electrode guide is configured to be spaced apart from the electrode unit in remaining sections except the coupling portion in the wound state.
Huffmaster teaches a device having a deployment cannula which may be inserted in a patient body having an elongated member having a distal end which is formed to be in a generally circular configuration for use in a patient during tissue treatment (Abstract, [0113]).
Huffmaster further teaches the elongated member as being shaped, specifically with regard to the circular configuration, by a tether which is tensioned to form the distal end portion into a desired shape ([0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the position of the tape for providing tension to the sheath, relative to said sheath, as is taught by Anderson with the position of the tether for providing tension to the elongated member as is taught by Huffmaster, to produce the predictable result of forming a distal end of an elongated member with a circular configuration for use during tissue treatment, as is taught by Huffmaster, as it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III).
Claim 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20120184980 A1) in view of Gandhi (US 20160256218 A1), Huffmaster (US 20160008141 A1), and Clement (US 20140371855 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson as modified teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 1.
However, Anderson fails to teach the electrode apparatus, wherein the coupling portion includes: a first clamping piece fixed to the body portion; and a second clamping piece coupled to the first clamping piece with a portion of the electrode unit interposed therebetween.
Clement teaches a medical device for providing artificial contractile forces to organ structures within a body of a patient (Abstract, [0087], [0206]).
Clement further teaches the device as having a first end and a second which click together so as to lock as a band and control the position of the device while being capable of applying pressure around the organ ([0208]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the coupling structure having two ends which connect so as to close the band which wraps around a vessel of patient tissue, as is taught by Clement, into the modified apparatus of Anderson to have produced the predictable result of providing the band with a locking mechanism for control of positioning, as is taught by Clement as it has been held that the incorporation and/or combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III)
Regarding claim 3, Clement further teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 2,
wherein any one of the first clamping piece and the second clamping piece includes a protrusion (Fig. 2; silicone lip 110) protruding in one direction,
the other one of the first clamping piece and the second clamping piece includes a fastening groove (Fig. 2; grid 107) recessed corresponding to the protrusion, and
a through-hole through (Fig. 2; locking member 108) which the protrusion penetrates is formed at a portion of the electrode unit.
Regarding claim 4, the modified teaching of Anderson teaches the electrode apparatus of claim 2, in accordance with the above modification of Clement into Anderson, Clement further teaches the unit (Clement teaches the inner member of the U-band as being the unit element as is relevant based on the currently provided modification) as extending to enclose the second clamping piece (the inner portion of the U-band surrounds, or encloses as broadly as is claimed, the distal portion 106b) and inserted between the first clamping piece and the second clamping piece (the inner portion of the U-band is shown as being inserted at the point which is referred to as the locking member, this is located between the first end and the free end of the U-bend).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20120184980 A1) in view of Gandhi (US 20160256218 A1), Huffmaster (US 20160008141 A1), and Banik (US 20040199052 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson further teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the electrode guide further includes a joint wire which penetrates the body portion and is coupled to the second clamping piece to guide the body portion to be in the wound state (Fig. 2; proximal end 10).
However, Anderson as modified fails to teach the second clamping piece includes: a wire groove formed to allow insertion of an end of the joint wire; and a fixing plate configured to close a portion of the wire groove in order to suppress deviation of the end of the joint wire from the wire groove.
Banik teaches a mechanism for connecting and controlling the movement of an elongated catheter for insertion into the body comprising a plurality of discs (Abstract, [0092]- [0094]).
Banik further teaches the discs which are stacked to cooperatively control positioning as having a groove which is formed to allow the insertion of a wire and a base which is configured to close the wire groove and provide support to the discs while stacking ([0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having incorporated a known articulation joint for connecting two mechanisms of which are coupled to control the position of a device within the body, as is taught by Banik, into the modified teaching of Anderson to produce the predictable result of controlling the articulation of a device using a plurality of movable mechanisms which are coupled together, as is taught by Banik as it has been held that the incorporation and/or combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III).
Claim 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20120184980 A1) in view of Gandhi (US 20160256218 A1), Huffmaster (US 20160008141 A1) and Schuettler (US 20190059820 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson as modified teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 1.
However, Anderson fails to teach the apparatus wherein the electrode unit includes: a base layer; an electrode layer disposed on the base layer; and a top layer disposed to overlap a portion of the electrode layer with the electrode layer interposed therebetween.
Schuettler teaches an electrode device having a plurality of layers for fabricating an electrode (Abstract).
Schuettler further teaches the electrode including a bottom layer (Fig. 1-2; first layer 40); a metal foil (Fig. 1-2; foil 10); and a top layer (Fig. 1-2; second layer) disposed to overlap a portion of the metal layer with the metal layer interposed in between ([0045]- [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the structure of the electrode layers as is taught by Schuettler into the electrode apparatus as is taught by the modified teaching of Anderson, so as to produce the predictable result of producing an electrode with a structure which provides energy to tissue of the body as it has been held that the incorporation and/or combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III).
Regarding claim 7, in accordance with the above incorporation of Clement into the modified device of Anderson of claim 2, Clement further teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 6, wherein the coupling portion ([0206]- [0208]) includes:
a first clamping piece (Fig. 1-3; first end 106a) fixed to the body portion; and
a second clamping piece (Fig. 1-3; second end 106b) coupled to the first clamping piece with a portion the electrode unit interposed therebetween ([0206]- [0208]).
In accordance with the above incorporation of Schuettler into the modified device of Anderson of claim 6, Schuettler further teaches the electrode unit comprising of at least one of the base layer and the top layer.
Regarding claim 8, Clement further teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 7, wherein any one of the first clamping piece and the second clamping piece includes a protrusion (Fig. 2; silicone lip 110) protruding in one direction,
the other one of the first clamping piece and the second clamping piece includes a fastening groove (Fig. 2; grid 107) recessed corresponding to the protrusion, and
at least the unit includes a through-hole (Fig. 2; locking member 108) through which the protrusion penetrates.
In accordance with the above incorporation of Schuettler into the modified device of Anderson of claim 6, Schuettler further teaches the electrode unit comprising of at least one of the base layer and the top layer.
Regarding claim 9, Anderson teaches the electrode apparatus of claim 6, in accordance with the above modification of Clement into Anderson, Clement further teaches the unit (Clement teaches the inner member of the U-band, as the unit is taught to be the inner member of the device by the base reference of the modification) as extending to enclose a part of the coupling portion (the inner portion of the U-band surrounds, or encloses, the distal portion 106b) and inserted and fixed in the coupling portion (the inner portion of the U-band is shown as being inserted at a point, which is referred to as the locking member, which is located between the first end and the free end of the U-bend, [0100], [0209]).
In accordance with the above incorporation of Schuettler into the modified device of Anderson of claim 6, Schuettler further teaches the electrode unit comprising of at least one of the base layer and the top layer.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20120184980 A1) in view of Gandhi (US 20160256218 A1), Huffmaster (US 20160008141 A1), and Schuettler (US 20190059820 A1) and Wilson (US 20130150940 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Anderson teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 6.
However, Anderson as modified fails to teach the apparatus wherein the electrode unit further includes a reinforcing layer of which a part is coupled to the base layer and the other part is inserted and fixed in the coupling portion.
Wilson teaches an electrode of a cuff body which contains reinforcing elements to accommodate movements of biological structures (Abstract).
Wilson further teaches a layer of reinforcing elements, the layer comprising two portions on either end of the unit which are coupled to the base layer ([0103]). Incorporating this layer of reinforcement elements of an electrode unit into the unit of Clement, which is taught based on the modification of Clement into Anderson as being the inner portion of the U-bend would produce a reinforcement layer which is contains one part which is inserted and fixed in the coupling portion of the modified base and another portion which is coupled as broadly as is claimed to all other elements of the electrode unit and is not inserted and fixed to the coupling portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the reinforcing elements of Wilson, into the electrode unit of Anderson as is currently is modified, to produce the predictable result of reinforcing an electrode so as to accommodate biological structures, as is taught by Wilson as it has been held that the incorporation and/or combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson teaches the electrode apparatus of claim 10, in accordance with the above modification of Clement into Anderson, Clement further teaches the unit (Clement teaches the inner member of the U-band, as the unit is taught to be the inner member of the device by the base reference of the modification) as extending to enclose the coupling portion (the inner portion of the U-band surrounds, or encloses, the distal portion 106b) and inserted and fixed in the coupling portion in an opposite direction of insertion of the other part of the coupling portion (the inner portion of the U-band is shown as being inserted at a point, which is referred to as the locking member, which is located between the first end and the free end of the U-bend, [0100], [0209]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20120184980 A1) in view of Gandhi (US 20160256218 A1), Huffmaster (US 20160008141 A1), Schuettler (US 20190059820 A1) and Aujla (US 20170156784 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Anderson teaches the electrode apparatus of Claim 6.
However, Anderson fails to teach the electrode apparatus wherein the electrode unit further includes a sensor unit disposed on the base layer and configured to sense a temperature.
Aujla teaches an electrode device having multiple layers containing a temperature sensor so as to prevent excessive heating of tissue during the use of the electrode (Abstract, [0004]).
Aujla further teaches the temperature sensor as being disposed on the base layer of the electrode unit ([0043]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the temperature sensor being located on the base layer of the electrode as is taught by Aujla into the electrode unit of the modified device of Anderson to produce the predictable result of sensing an electrode temperature during use, as is taught by Aujla as it has been held that the incorporation and/or combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification. MPEP 2141(III).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Specifically, applicant’s arguments of the limitations that art not taught by the Anderson/Gandhi reference are moot in view of the new rejections under Anderson/Gandhi and Huffmaster.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/L.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3794