DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim amendments filed 05 September 2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-35, and 38-40 are pending with claims 8, 11, and 36-37 being cancelled.
The claim amendments were sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 29-31 and 33-40. However, there is still insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the atmospheric-pressure plasma torch unit” in claim 32. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 32 is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11 of the applicant’s response, filed 05 September 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu in view of Ahiska (US 9522202 B1).
The examiner agrees that while Yonesu teaches adjusting the power for emitting microwaves, it does not teach first increasing the power followed by decreasing the power. However, Ahiska teaches an increased voltage application followed by decreased voltage application during plasma generation (Figure 10). Therefore, a combination of Yonesu and Ahiska would render the current invention obvious. It should be noted that the inclusion of the limitation “first increases the power and then decreasing the power to the target power” into claim 1 along with the withdrawal of the originally presented alternative limitation “gradually adding power to the target power” due to the cancellation of claim 11 makes the application eligible for a final rejection because the claim set now requires a previously unexamined limitation.
Following the above logic, the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections of claims 2, 4-7, 9-10, 18-19, 24-27, 29-30, 34-35, and 39 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu in view of Ahiska.
Additionally, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 12-17 and 36 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Hotta.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 3 and 21-22 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Denes.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 20 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Schieven.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 23 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Sieber.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 28, 31-33, and 40 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Zolezzi-Garreton.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12 of the applicant’s response, filed 05 September 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Hotta does not teach that the inlet-outlet pressure 0.0000001 Pa – 120 MPa by disclosing a pressure in the chamber of 30 kPa. However, it has been established in the rejections of claims 14 and 15 in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 20 June 2025 that Hotta teaches adjustable inlet and outlet pressures within the defined limitation (the rejections of claims 14 and 15 is not challenged by the applicant in the current response). Therefore, it stands to reason that if the pressure felt by the treatment object is 30 kPa such a pressure would be the result of a difference in the pressure fed into the chamber and the pressure released from the chamber. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 13 due to modulation by Hotta is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As discussed above, the amendment of claim 1 merited a new grounds of rejection citing Yonesu and Ahiska. The addition of the Ahiska reference power feedback measurement the applicant felt was lacking for the Non-Final Office Action mailed 20 June 2025.
The rejections of claims 8, 11, and 37 have been withdrawn due to the claims being cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 and 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the state measurement and control unit" in the eighth line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the atmospheric-pressure plasma torch unit" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 18-19, 24-27, 29-30, 34-35, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonesu (US 20090317295 A1) in view of Ahiska (US 9522202 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Yonesu teaches an adjustable continuous-flow plasma disinfection and sterilization method (continuously generate plasma to continuously sterilizing objects, paragraph [0173]) comprising: (1) exciting atmospheric-pressure plasma (plasma ignition under ambient pressure, paragraph [0147]) in a disinfection and sterilizing chamber featuring an adjustable inlet-outlet pressure difference (flow amount of gas into the chamber relative to the flow amount out of the chamber can be changed, paragraph [0219]); (2) adjusting the inlet-outlet pressure difference of the disinfection and sterilization chamber after the atmospheric-pressure plasmas become stable, so as to adjust the plasma density in the chamber (change plasma density by changing the amount of gas flow, paragraph [0135]); (3) continuously feeding microorganism carriers to be disinfected and sterilized into the disinfection and sterilization chamber for disinfection and sterilization (Figure 14 container “102” moved toward sterilizing tunnel “140”); and discharging the carriers out of the disinfection and sterilization chamber to complete disinfection or sterilization (Figure 14 container “102” exits sterilizing tunnel “140”); wherein exciting atmospheric-pressure plasmas in a disinfection and sterilization chamber featuring an adjustable inlet-outlet pressure difference specifically comprises the following steps: 1S1 introducing a working medium gas into an atmospheric-pressure plasma unit, and after the atmospheric-pressure plasmas are saturated with the working medium gas, supplying energy to a plasma power source until the plasmas are successfully ignited to form a plasma torch (supplying a gas which is easier to convert to plasma than oxygen then igniting the plasma through irradiation with microwaves, paragraph [0038]); and 1S2 on the basis of ensuring that the plasma are kept stable, gradually adjusting the input power of the plasma source until the input power of the plasmas reaches target power (power for emitting microwaves was changed in a range of 300 W to 800W, paragraph [0238], and adjusting the power for irradiating plasma changes the characteristics of the plasma torch, paragraph [0135]), but does not teach wherein the wat of gradually adjusting the input power in 1S2 comprises first increasing the power, then decreasing the power to the target power. However, Ahiska teaches first increasing the power, then decreasing the power to the target power (Figure 10 full voltage applied to initiate plasma “251” followed by decrease in voltage after plasma is trigger “252” followed by further modulation after a preset delay “253”).
Yonesu and Ahiska are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of variable plasma generators. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma generation method taught by Yonesu with the increase and then decrease of the power level taught by Ahiska because Ahiska teaches that the lowered preset power level can maintain the plasma glow for sterilization without causing etching on the target object or other adverse effects (column 13 lines 61-65),
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the atmospheric-pressure plasmas comprise one or more of capacitive coupling plasma, inductive coupling plasmas, high voltage DC arcs, high voltage AC arcs, microwave plasmas or surface coupling induced plasmas (microwave to thereby convert gas into plasma, abstract, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the atom temperature of the atmospheric-pressure plasmas is 1.0*100 – 1.0*1012 K (Figures 24 and 25 gas temperature ranged from ~50°C to ~650°C which is equivalent to ~323K to ~923K, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the election temperature of the atmospheric-pressure plasmas is 1.0*100 – 1.0*1012 K (electron temperature is as high as several tens of thousands degrees higher than the gas temperature, paragraph [0230], while not explicitly stated, the scale up of the above gas temperature range would still be well within under the limitation of 1.0*1012 K, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein microorganisms carried by the microorganism carrier comprise bacteria (and spores thereof), archaea, fungi, actinomycetes, protozoa, algae, viruses, mycoplasma, chlamydia, viroids, virusoids, and prions (sterilization process for killing bacteria in the space, paragraph [0216], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the microorganism killing rate ranges from 90% to 99.9999% (Table 3 sterilization rates shown to be 98.9%, 99.9%, and 99.3%, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the working medium gas in 1S1 comprising one or a mixture of hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen, artificial air, helium, neon, argon, krypton, xenon, chlorine, fluorine, bromine vapor, hydrogen fluoride, hydrogen chloride, hydrogen iodide, hydrogen bromide, nitrogen dioxide, nitrous oxide, nitrogen trifluoride, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, ammonia, sulfur hexafluoride, carbon tetrafluoride, silane gas, germane, or organic gas (gas supplied as ignition step is an argon gas, paragraph [0039], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the power of the plasma power source in 1S1 is 0.5W-100kW (power for emitting microwaves of 1000W, paragraph [0223], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein continuously feeding microorganism carriers to be disinfected and sterilized into the disinfection and sterilization chamber for disinfection or sterilization chamber for disinfection or sterilization specifically comprises the following steps: 3S1 feeding the microorganism carriers into the disinfection and sterilization chamber at a certain speed (container is moved toward the gas flow pipe, paragraph [0186], Yonesu), and adjusting the movement speed and form of the microorganism carriers in the disinfection and sterilization chambers according to a size of the disinfection and sterilization chamber and the power of a plasma source, so as to ensure that the microorganism carriers stay in the disinfection and sterilization chamber for an amount of time that meets disinfection or sterilization requirements (speed of conveyance is related to the length of the tunnel and is sufficient to carry out sterilizing process, paragraph [0207], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the microorganism carrier in 3S1 comprises one or more of an airflow carrier, a liquid flow carrier, a multiphase flow carrier, or a solid carrier with a conveying movement mechanism (guide means for conveying containers through the tunnel, paragraph [0208], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the movement form of the microorganism carriers in the disinfection and sterilization chamber in 3S1 comprises one or more of linear movement, spiral movement, vortex movement, rotary movement, reciprocating movement or random movement (Figure 14a shows linear movement of container “102” through tunnel “140” and Figure 12a shows rotary movement of container “102”, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the duration of stay that meets disinfection or sterilization requirements in the disinfection and sterilization chamber in 3S1 is 0.5s – 24 h (processing time of 50 seconds was required, paragraph [0268], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein discharging the carriers out of the disinfection and sterilization chamber after treatment, which marks the completion of disinfection or sterilization of the carriers according to different microorganism killing rate requirements, specifically comprises the following steps: 4S1 after the microorganism carrier have stayed in the disinfection and sterilization chamber for an amount of time that meet disinfection or sterilization requirements (processing time of 50 seconds was required, paragraph [0268], Yonesu), discharging the microorganism carriers out of the disinfection and sterilization chamber to complete the disinfection process (Figure 13 container “102” conveyed out “132” of the sterilization tunnel “120” after being exposed to the gas flow pipe “1”, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches a disinfection and sterilization device capable of implementing the adjustable continuous-flow plasma disinfection and sterilization method of claim 1; comprising an atmospheric-pressure plasma unit (provide a plasma sterilizer, abstract, Yonesu); wherein the atmospheric-pressure plasma unit comprises a plasma source power module (Figure 5 high voltage power source “51” attached to electrode for arc discharge “50”, Yonesu), a working medium inlet module, an ignition module, wherein the plasma source ignition module is arranged in the disinfection and sterilization module (Figure 2 microwave generator in communication with gas flow pipe “1” to create plasma torch “4”, Yonesu), and the working medium inlet module is installed at a rear end of the ignition module (Figure 2 gas supply “8” behind gas flow pipe “1” and plasma torch “4”, Yonesu), but does not teach a power feedback measurement interface, and the plasma source power module is provided with the power feedback measurement interface and monitored by the state measurement and control unit; a power input of the plasma source ignition module is realized through the plasma source power module and the power feedback measurement interface. However, Ahiska further teaches a power feedback measurement interface, and the plasma source power module is provided with the power feedback measurement interface and monitored by the state measurement and control unit(waveform monitor is continuously monitoring the power output waveform via the resonator sensor, if not an appropriate error message is passed to the master controller, column 13 lines 50-54); a power input of the plasma source ignition module is realized through the plasma source power module and the power feedback measurement interface preset power outlet level is further verified by sensor, column 14 lines 4-5).
Yonesu and Ahiska are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the plasma generating unit taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the power feedback measurement and control taught by Ahiska because Ahiska teaches the feedback measurement and control advantageously allows the system to respond to real-time instruction such as powering off (column 14 lines 8-10) or reigniting the source if it unexpectedly extinguishes (column 14 lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit contains an ignition module of the atmospheric-pressure plasma unit (Figure 16 antennae pipe “2” creating plasma torch in communication with chamber “160”, Yonesu), and an inlet and outlet of the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit (Figure 16 inlet gas with active species “100” entering and discharge gas “163” exiting chamber “160”, Yonesu) communicate with the pressure adjustment unit, thereby realizing pressure adjustment of the disinfection and sterilization chamber (air inside of chamber is discharged using a vacuum pump, paragraph [0218], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the microorganism carrier conveying unit communicates with the pressure adjustment unit, such that microorganism carriers are fed into the disinfection and sterilization chamber under adjustable pressure environments and discharged after disinfection (object to be sterilized is placed in vacuum container and vacuum process keeps air to a minimum while supplying active oxygen, paragraph [0061], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit comprises a disinfection and sterilization module (Figure 20 shows additional process unit, Yonesu), an optical measurement interface (emission spectrum of oxygen atoms was observed with peak intensity at 777nm, paragraph [0224], Yonesu), and electrical measurement interface (power for emitting microwaves was changed within a range of 300 W to 800 W, paragraph [0238], Yonesu), and a temperature measurement interface (gas temperature was measured, paragraph [0245], Yonesu).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the structure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber module comprises one or more of a rectangular chamber structure, a cylindrical chamber structure, a spherical chamber structure, a conical chamber structure, an ellipsoidal chamber structure, a parabolic chamber structure, a hyperboloid chamber structure, a spiral chamber structure, a volute chamber structure, or a special-shaped chamber structure (Figure 20 shows the process chamber as cylindrical and Figure 13 shows tunnel “130” as rectangular, Yonesu).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches wherein the microorganism carrier conveying unit comprises one or more of an airflow conveying module, or a liquid flow conveying module, or a multiphase flow conveying module or a solid carrier module with a conveying movement mechanism (guide means for conveying containers through the tunnel, paragraph [0209], Yonesu).
Claims 12-17 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Hotta (US 20080245478 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches adjusting the inlet-outlet pressure difference of the disinfection and sterilization chamber after the atmospheric-pressure plasmas become stable, so as to adjust the plasma density in the chamber (change plasma density by changing the amount of gas flow, paragraph [0135], Yonesu), but does not teach 2S1 on the basis of ensuring that the plasmas are kept stable, adjusting an outlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber by means of an outlet pressure adjustment module in a pressure adjustment unit connected to the disinfection and sterilization chamber; and 2S2 on the basis of ensuring that the plasmas are kept stable, adjusting an inlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber by means of an inlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber by means of an inlet pressure adjustment module in the pressure adjustment unit of the disinfection and sterilization chamber. However, Hotta teaches teach 2S1 on the basis of ensuring that the plasmas are kept stable, adjusting an outlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber by means of an outlet pressure adjustment module in a pressure adjustment unit connected to the disinfection and sterilization chamber (a pressure gauge and a variable conductance valve configured to adjust the exhaust conductance may be provided, paragraph [0080]); and 2S2 on the basis of ensuring that the plasmas are kept stable, adjusting an inlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber by means of an inlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber by means of an inlet pressure adjustment module in the pressure adjustment unit of the disinfection and sterilization chamber (feed valve adjusted to control internal chamber pressure, paragraph [0102]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Hotta are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of plasma sterilization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma sterilization method taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the inlet and outlet pressure adjustment method taught by Hotta because Hotta teaches such a method advantageously allows for the generation of plasma discharge in the hermetically sealed space containing the target object (paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yonesu, Ahiska, and Hotta teaches wherein the inlet-outlet pressure difference of the disinfection and sterilization chamber is 0 Pa – 120 MPa (pressure in the treatment object is about 30 kPa, paragraph [0082], Hotta).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yonesu, Ahiska, and Hotta teaches wherein the inlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber is 0.0000001 Pa – 120 MPa (gas flow was adjusted to a process pressure of 20 kPa to 100 kPa, paragraph [0021], Hotta).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yonesu, Ahiska and Hotta teaches wherein the outlet pressure of the disinfection and sterilization chamber is 0.0000001 Pa – 120 MPa (exhaust valve is adjusted to the gas pressure is around 80-90 kPa, paragraph [0102], Hotta).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yonesu, Ahiska, and Hotta teaches wherein the outlet pressure adjustment module in 2S1 comprises one or more of a vortex fan, a centrifugal fan, an axial fan, a negative pressure roots blower, a venturi tube, an air compressor, a gas decompressor pump, a piston compressor, a jet vacuum pump, a screw vacuum pump, a liquid ring vacuum pump, a rotary vane vacuum pump, a claw vacuum pump, a roots vacuum pump, a reciprocating vacuum pump, a molecular pump, a diffusion pump, an ion transport pump, an adsorption pump, a sublimation pump or a cryogenic pump (Figure 6 vacuum pump “31” attached to exhaust “63”, Hotta).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yonesu, Ahiska and Hotta teaches wherein the inlet pressure-adjustment module of the pressure adjustment unit in 2S2 comprises one or more of a vortex fan, a centrifugal fan, an axial fan, a roots blower, a venturi tube, a gas booster pump, a piston compressor, or a gas cylinder (gas supply such as a gas cylinder attached to feed pipe, paragraph [0093], Hotta).
Regarding claim 36, , the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the pressure adjustment unit comprises an outlet pressure adjustment module, an inlet pressure adjustment module, pressure measure interfaces, and flow measurement interfaces, wherein the outlet pressure adjustment module and the inlet pressure adjustment module are each provided with a pressure measurement interface and a flow measurement interface. However, Hotta teaches the pressure adjustment unit comprises an outlet pressure adjustment module, an inlet pressure adjustment module (feed and exhaust valves are adjusts to change the internal gas pressure, paragraph [0102]), pressure measure interfaces (pressure gauge, paragraph [0080]), and flow measurement interfaces (mass-flow controller, paragraph [0080]), wherein the outlet pressure adjustment module and the inlet pressure adjustment module are each provided with a pressure measurement interface and a flow measurement interface (pressure gauge and mass-flow controller on intake adapter and pressure gauge and variable conductance valve on exhaust, paragraph [0080]).
Yonesu, Ahiska and Hotta are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma sterilization device taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the pressure control modules taught by Hotta because Hotta teaches that such pressure control advantageously allows for the generation of plasma discharge in the hermetically sealed space containing the target object (paragraph [0102]).
Claims 3 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Denes (US 20040007539 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the plasma density of the atmospheric-pressure plasmas is 1.0*103 – 1.0*1030 plasmas per cubic centimeter. However, Denes teaches the plasma density of the atmospheric-pressure plasmas is 1.0*103 – 1.0*1030 plasmas per cubic centimeter (electron densities of 109 to 1012 cm-3, paragraph [0037]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Denes are considered analogous to the current invention because both are in the field atmospheric-pressure plasma sanitizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma disinfection method taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the plasma density taught by Denes because Denes teaches such a density is characteristic of cold plasmas that are advantageously suited for treatment of thermally sensitive materials (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the microorganism carrier is a liquid flow carrier, the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a flow rate of 0.0001 – 100000 m3/min. However, Denes teaches the microorganism carrier is a liquid flow carrier, the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a flow rate of 0.0001 – 100000 m3/min (sterilize 36000 L/hr (0.6 m3/min) of contaminated water, paragraph [0094]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Denes are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma disinfection method taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the use on contaminated water taught by Denes because Denes teaches the ability to decontaminate large volumes of water is advantageous for industrial applications like cooling water or swimming pools (paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 22 the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the microorganism carrier is a multiphase flow carrier, the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a flow rate of 0.0001 – 100000 m3/min. However, Denes teaches the microorganism carrier is a multiphase flow carrier, the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a flow rate of 0.0001 – 100000 m3/min (sterilization 36000 L/hr water mixed with 180 L/hr of colloidal silver, paragraph [0094]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Denes are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasmas sterilization method taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the multiphase microorganism carrier taught by Denes because Denes teaches the colloidal suspension increases the antimicrobial properties of the plasma disinfection (paragraph [0020]) and teaches the ability to decontaminate large volumes of water is advantageous for industrial applications like cooling water or swimming pools (paragraph [0094]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Schieven (US 20150283283 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the microorganism carrier is an airflow carrier, the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a flow rate of 0.0001 – 100000 m3/min. However, Schieven teaches the microorganism carrier is an airflow carrier, the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a flow rate of 0.0001 – 100000 m3/min (utilized to inject plasma into a production stack with process airflow of 20000 m3/hr (~333.33 m3/min), paragraph [0049]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Schieven are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of ambient air pressure plasma disinfection methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma disinfection method taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the airflow microorganism taught by Schieven because Schieven teaches plasma disinfection of air is the most efficient method current available (paragraph [0048]) and plasma disinfection advantageously does not obstruct the process air flow (paragraph [0060]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Sieber (US 20160329192 A1).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the microorganism carrier is a solid carrier with a conveying movement mechanism (Figure 13 bottles “102” conveyed through tunnel “130”, Yonesu), but does not teach the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a linear speed of 0.0001 – 60 m/min. However, Sieber teaches the movement speed thereof in the disinfection and sterilization chamber is measured as a linear speed of 0.0001 – 60 m/min (translational speed was 0.4mm/sec (0.024m/min), paragraph [0161]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Sieber are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of atmospheric-pressure plasma disinfection methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the plasma disinfection method taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the linear speed taught by Sieber because Sieber teaches that such a linear speed with produce a constant exposure of plasma to the surface of the object (paragraph [0140]) and will cause sufficient exposure to sterilize the object (paragraph [0161]).
Claims 28, 31-33, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonesu and Ahiska in view of Zolezzi-Garreton (US 20110240567 A1).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspect of the current invention including wherein the disinfection and sterilization device comprises a disinfection and sterilization chamber unit (Figure 16 sterilization chamber “160”, Yonesu), a pressure adjustment unit (air inside of chamber is discharged using a vacuum pump, paragraph [0218], Yonesu), a microorganism carrier conveying unit (container continuously conveyed through sterilization tunnel, paragraph [0208], Yonesu), and a state measurement and control unit (master controller controls flow, column 8 lines 23-24, and power generator, column 13 lines 1-3, Ahiska) but does not teach a temperature control unit. However, Zolezzi-Garreton a temperature control unit (apparatus may include one or more heaters, paragraph [0108]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Zolezzi-Garreton are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of plasma sterilization devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sterilization device taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the control units taught by Zolezzi-Garreton because Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the control units allow the user to easily control the disinfection input parameters to optimize the disinfection (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the temperature control unit is connected to the disinfection and the sterilization chamber unit, the atmospheric-pressure plasma unit and the microorganism carrier conveying unit, so as to adjust the working temperature of the above units and realize constant temperature. However, Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the temperature control unit is connected to the disinfection and the sterilization chamber unit, the atmospheric-pressure plasma unit and the microorganism carrier conveying unit, so as to adjust the working temperature of the above units and realize constant temperature (Figure 7 heater “720” in communication with plasma reactor “740” and material pump “710”).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Zolezzi-Garreton are considered analogous to the current invention as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sterilization device taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the heater in communication with the plasma generator and the conveying unit taught by Zolezzi-Garreton because Zolezzi-Garreton teaches that it is beneficial to pre-treat the feedstock to ensure stable plasma discharge (paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the state measurement and control unit controls the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit and the atmospheric-pressure plasma torch unit. However, Zolezzi-Garreton teaches wherein the state measurement and control unit controls the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit and the atmospheric-pressure plasma torch unit (control system may be configured to control any device of the system, paragraph [0054]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Zolezzi-Garreton are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine disinfection device taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the control devices taught by Zolezzi-Garreton because Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the control units allow the user to easily control the disinfection input parameters to optimize the disinfection (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the state measurement and control unit controls the states of the microorganism carrier conveying unit and the pressure adjustment unit, so as to continuously measure, control and adjust the disinfection process. However, Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the state measurement and control unit controls the states of the microorganism carrier conveying unit and the pressure adjustment unit, so as to continuously measure, control and adjust the disinfection process (control system may be configured to control any device of the system and measure parameter at any stage of operation, paragraph [0054]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Zolezzi-Garreton are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine disinfection device taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the control devices taught by Zolezzi-Garreton because Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the control units allow the user to easily control the disinfection input parameters to optimize the disinfection (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the temperature control unit comprises a heat dissipation module and a heat exchange module, wherein the heat exchange module is connected to the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit, the atmospheric-pressure plasma unit and the microorganism conveying unit to ensure that the heat generated during the operation of the above units is quickly transferred out, and meanwhile, the heat exchange module is connected to the heat dissipation module to ensure that the heat quickly contacts with the environment or a refrigerant/heat medium, thus controlling the temperature. However, Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the temperature control unit comprises a heat dissipation module and a heat exchange module, wherein the heat exchange module is connected to the disinfection and sterilization chamber unit, the atmospheric-pressure plasma unit and the microorganism conveying unit to ensure that the heat generated during the operation of the above units is quickly transferred out (heat exchanger in communication with fluid and plasma reactor, paragraph [0066]) and meanwhile, the heat exchange module is connected to the heat dissipation module to ensure that the heat quickly contacts with the environment or a refrigerant/heat medium, thus controlling the temperature post treatment cooling device, paragraph [0066]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Zolezzi-Garreton are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disinfection system taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the heat dissipation and exchange modules taught Zolezzi-Garreton because Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the temperature control can advantageously prepare the sterilized fluid for later uses (paragraph [0109]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Yonesu and Ahiska teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the state measurement and control unit comprises a control panel, a master control module, an optical measurement module, an electrical measurement module, a temperature measurement module, a pressure measurement module, a flow measurement module, and a plasma source power feedback measurement module. However, Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the state measurement and control unit comprises a control panel (user enabled to control input parameters, paragraph [0022]), a master control module (control system configured to control any device of the system, paragraph [0054]), an optical measurement module (wavelength control to generate a wide spectrum of ultraviolet radiation from 300 to 600 nm, paragraph [0091]), an electrical measurement module (high voltage electric current applied 200 to 2000 volt/cm, paragraph [0085]), a temperature measurement module, a pressure measurement module, a flow measurement module (environment parameters such as pressure temperature and flow rate may be measured, paragraph [0054]), and a plasma source power feedback measurement module (power supply and control unit capable of measuring system usage and managing electric power supply, paragraph [0116]).
Yonesu, Ahiska, and Zolezzi-Garreton are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the plasma disinfection system taught by Yonesu and Ahiska with the control modules taught by Zolezzi-Garreton because Zolezzi-Garreton teaches the control units allow the user to easily control the disinfection input parameters to optimize the disinfection (paragraph [0022]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799