DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Failure to Further Limit
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 27 recites that the carboxylic acid (iv) comprises from 1 to 30 carbon atoms in lines 9-10. Claim 27 depends from claim 17 which recites that the carboxylic acid (iv) comprises from 1 to 6 carbon atoms, therefore, claim 27 broadens the scope of claim 17.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-24, 26-28 and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Cincotta et al. (US 2002/0155962 A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 36, Cincotta discloses an anhydrous (does not contain water [0031] [0033]), hair styling composition [abstract] which includes a first nonaqueous solvent, a second nonaqueous solvent, an antistatic agent, a humectant in an amount of 0.2-5 wt.%, and a viscosity controlling agent [0033]. Cincotta discloses the polyol, propylene glycol as a first nonaqueous solvent [0035], the monoalcohol, ethanol, as a second nonaqueous solvent [0036], the fatty amine, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, as an antistatic agent [0048], the carboxylic acid, lactic acid, as a humectant [0043], and the fatty alcohol, cetyl alcohol, as a viscosity controlling agent [0041]-[0042]. Cincotta discloses that the compositions of the disclosure are clear mixtures [abstract] [0025]. The hair styling composition is applied to keratin fibers (hair) [abstract] [0024].
Cincotta is not believed to be anticipatory because Cincotta could be construed as not clearly and unequivocally disclosing the claimed invention or directing those skilled in the art to the claimed invention without any need for picking, choosing and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference. Namely, one skilled in the art would need to choose propylene glycol as a first nonaqueous solvent [0035], the monoalcohol, ethanol, as a second nonaqueous solvent [0036], the fatty amine, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, as an antistatic agent [0048], the carboxylic acid, lactic acid, as a humectant [0043], and the fatty alcohol, cetyl alcohol, as a viscosity controlling agent [0041]-[0042].
Nevertheless, claims 17 and 36 are rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Cincotta, because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, in order to yield predictable results. In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., polyols, monoalcohols comprising 2 to 6 carbon atoms, fatty amines, carboxylic acids comprising from 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and cetyl alcohol) were known in the prior art (e.g., Cincotta) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a composition for the hair) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the composition has a transmittance of at least 80%, measured at a wavelength of 600 nm”, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. MPEP 2112.01 II. Therefore, because the prior art teaches that the compositions of the disclosure are clear mixtures [abstract] [0025] the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims (a transmittance of at least 80%, measured at a wavelength of 600 nm) are reasonably expected to be necessarily present.
Regarding the amounts of the individual components as recited in claims 17 and 36 (e.g., at least 0.1% by weight of one or more carboxylic acids), in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Claim 18 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the polyol, propylene glycol as a first nonaqueous solvent [0035].
Claim 19 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the first nonaqueous solvent (such as propylene glycol [0035]) is present in an amount of 40-97.5 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 20 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the monoalcohol, ethanol, as a second nonaqueous solvent [0036].
Claim 21 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the second nonaqueous solvent (such as ethanol, [0036]) is present in an amount of 0-40 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 22 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the first nonaqueous solvent (such as propylene glycol [0035]) is present in an amount of 40-97.5 wt.% [0033] and the second nonaqueous solvent (such as ethanol [0036]) is present in an amount of 0-40 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed. Additionally, Cincotta teaches that the first nonaqueous solvent is capable of adding gloss to the hair and assisting in providing weight, flexibility and moisture retention to the hair [0035] and the second nonaqueous solvent is capable of controlling the viscosity and the dry-time of the hair composition [0036]. The ratio of the (i) polyols to the (ii) monoalcohols as claimed would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to achieve the desired properties (i.e., gloss, weight, flexibility, moisture retention, viscosity, dry-time) as taught by Cincotta [0035]-[0036]. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 23-24 are rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the fatty amidoamine, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, as an antistatic agent [0048].
Claim 26 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the antistatic agent (such as the fatty amine, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine [0048]) is present in an amount of 0.1-1 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 27 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the carboxylic acid, lactic acid, as a humectant [0043].
Claim 28 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the humectant (such as the carboxylic acid, lactic acid [0043]) is present in an amount of 0.2-5 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 31 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the viscosity controlling agent (such as the fatty alcohol, cetyl alcohol [0041]-[0042]) is present in an amount of 0.1-1 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claims 32-33 are rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the composition further includes an emollient, such as a triglyceride of plant origin, castor oil [0047], in an amount of 0.1-5 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 34 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the first nonaqueous solvent (such as propylene glycol [0035]) is present in an amount of 40-97.5 wt.% [0033] and the second nonaqueous solvent (such as ethanol [0036]) is present in an amount of 0-40 wt.% [0033]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 35 is rendered prima facie obvious because Cincotta discloses the composition does not contain any water [abstract] [0031] [0033].
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Cincotta et al. (US 2002/0155962 A1) in view of Paul et al (WO 0247658 A2).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Cincotta was previously discussed.
Cincotta does not disclose a tertiary fatty amine of formula (B), such as dimethyl stearamine, as recited in claim 25.
Paul discloses a composition for the hair (pg. 1, first paragraph) where the tertiary fatty amine, dimethyl stearamine, is disclosed as a cationic surfactant (pg. 30, first paragraph) which imparts low tackiness, ease of application and elegant feel to the composition (pg. 28, first paragraph).
Since Cincotta generally teaches a composition for the hair, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include dimethyl stearamine, within the teachings of Cincotta, because Paul teaches dimethyl stearamine in a composition for the hair. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use dimethyl stearamine because Paul teaches it as a cationic surfactant (pg. 30, first paragraph) which imparts low tackiness, ease of application and elegant feel to a composition (pg. 28, first paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17-28 and 31-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-28 and 31-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,906 in view of Cincotta et al. (US 2002/0155962 A1).
Claims 17-28 and 31-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,849 in view of Cincotta et al. (US 2002/0155962 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for at least 0.1% by weight of one of more carboxylic acids comprising from 1 to 6 carbon atoms.
Cincotta discloses a composition for the hair [abstract] which includes the carboxylic acid, lactic acid, as a humectant [0043]. Cincotta discloses the humectant is present in an amount of 0.2-5 wt.% [0033] and aids the composition in holding or retaining moisture [0043].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the carboxylic acid, lactic acid, as a humectant within the claims, as taught by Cincotta. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to include lactic acid to aid the composition in holding or retaining moisture [0043].
The amounts of the individual components, as claimed, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
While the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,906 or 11,723,849 do not recite “wherein the composition has a transmittance of at least 80%, measured at a wavelength of 600 nm” a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable (MPEP 2112.01 II.) and because the claims recite the composition is transparent (claim 1 in each case) the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims (a transmittance of at least 80%, measured at a wavelength of 600 nm) are reasonably expected to be necessarily present.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612