DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuno (JP H06191413 A).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, 19 and 20, Kuno discloses a method of frequency-tuning a plurality of vibration damper assembly (note the abstract) for dampening vibrations in a steering wheel structure (fig. 4),
wherein each vibration damper assembly comprises a mass (24), and a horn plate (1 and 6) having a front side facing towards the mass and a rear side arranged to face towards a vibrating surface of the steering wheel structure (18), said horn plate including mounting openings (note the openings of the plates 1 and 6 where a screw 12 passed through as shown in fig. 4) extending through the horn plate being connectable to said vibrating surface via a plurality of first elastomeric elements (19) so as to be movable in relation to the vibrating surface (18), the plurality of first elastomeric elements (19) being inserted into respective mounting openings; and
wherein said mass (24) is supported by the horn plate (1, 6);
said method comprising frequency-tuning the plurality of vibration damper assemblies to vary vibration frequencies of the vibrating surface by both selecting a stiffness of the first elastomeric elements (19) and selecting a stiffness of a plurality of second elastomeric elements (15), said second elastomeric elements (15) being arranged between and in contact with the plate (1, 6) and the mass (24) so as to be elastically deformable in response to the mass (24) moving in relation to the contact plate during a damping operation of the damper assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 7-15, 17, 18 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kuno (JP H06191413 A) in view of Kreuzer (US 7,052,035 B2) and Rick et al. (US 5,947,509). .
Regarding claims 4, 5, 7, 12-14 and 21-28, Kuno discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above including various selections of the shore hardness of the damping members except for the specific ranges as recited in the claims. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the specific ranges as recited in the claims, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art in order to provide desired frequency of the system.
Re-claim 8, Kuno discloses the mass (24) is connected to the horn plate via one or more connector elements (26) which do not form part of the second elastomeric elements.
Re-claim 9, Kuno discloses the mass (24) is supported by the horn plate (1, 6) so as to be movable in a linear and/or rotational in relation to the horn plate during a damping operation of the damper assembly (19, 15, 16).
Re-claim 10, Kuno discloses the mass (24) is arranged to perform at least a linear movement in relation to the horn plate (1, 6) during a damping operation of the damper assembly, and the second elastic elements (15) are arranged to undergo a shear deformation in response to said linear movement.
Re-claim 11, Kuno discloses the mass (24) is arranged to perform at least a rotational movement in relation to the horn plate (1, 6) during a damping operation of the damper assembly, and the second elastic elements (15) are arranged to undergo an alternating compression/decompression deformation in response to said rotational movement.
Regarding claims 15, 17 and 18, Kuno discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to disclose a plurality of second elastic elements or buffers between and in contact with the contact plate and the mass so as to be elastically deformable in response to the mass moving in relation to the contact plate during a damping operation as recited in the claims. However, each of Kreuzer and Rick disclose a buffer (note 46 of Kreuzer and 96 of Rick) disposed between a plate and an air bag module and in contact with the contact plate and the mass so as to be elastically deformable in response to the mass moving in relation to the contact plate during a damping operation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was made to modify the system of Kuno to provide a plurality of buffers as taught by each of Kreuzer and Rick will provide extra support and reduce rattles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11, 13-15 and 17-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616