DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-5 and 15, it is suggested to amend “the at least one electrode” to - -the at least one sheet-like electrode- - to conform to prior recitation.
In claim 9, it is suggested to amend “to function” to - -configured to function- -.
In claims 11-12, it is suggested to amend “functions” to - -is configured to function- -.
In claims 15-16, it is suggested to amend “a plurality of electrodes” to - -a plurality of sheet-like electrodes- - to conform to prior recitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite the limitation "the electrode". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0067711) and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0074536).
Regarding claims 1-2, Shiraki teaches a redox flow battery (100) (paragraph [0044]) (see figure 1), comprising:
a cell frame (40) (paragraph [0044]) having a recess (see figure 1) (paragraph [0006]);
at least one sheet-like electrode (i.e., positive electrode, negative electrode) (104, 105) (paragraph [0044]) received in the recess (see figure 1);
a membrane (101) stacked on the cell frame to cover the recess (paragraph [0044]) (see figure 1); and a bipolar current collecting member (i.e., bipolar plate) (41) penetrating the cell frame at the recess and electrically connected to the at least one electrode (see figure 1), and
wherein the cell frame has flow channels communicating with the recess so as to allow a fluid containing an active material to flow through the recess parallel to the membrane (paragraph [0014], [0060]-[0063]) (see figure 1 and 6).
Shiraki does not explicitly articulate the specifics of wherein the at least one electrode is disposed in the recess at an angle where the at least one electrode intersects the membrane or is inclined in a flow direction of the fluid with respect to a plane perpendicular to the flow direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle or orientation of the electrode so that is disposed at an angle intersecting the membrane because rearranging known elements is a predictable variation that would have been well within the skill of the ordinary artisan in order to predictably optimize, for instance, electrolyte flow characteristics, reduce pressure drop, adjust the geometry of the electrochemical reaction surface or to conform to particular applications/configuration where the battery is to be used, all of which are recognized and known design parameters in redox flow cell design. Therefore, such limitation represents nothing more than an obvious matter of design choice absent evidence of unexpected results or criticality of the specific orientation. Nonetheless, additional guidance is provided below.
Lee, also directed to a battery (paragraph [0002]), teaches a battery with electrodes having a radial and vertical flow paths (paragraph [0002]). Further, Lee teaches the electrode have a designated angle that serves as an electrolyte path along which an electrolyte may flow paragraph [0021], [0053], claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of Shiraki to be disposed at an angle, as suggested by Lee, and consequently intersecting the membrane in order to designate an electrolyte path and predictably increase the electrochemical reaction contact surface.
Regarding claim 3, Shiraki teaches the at least one electrode is made of carbon paper, carbon cloth, or carbon felt (paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 4-5, Shiraki teaches the bipolar current collecting member includes a bipolar portion penetrating the cell frame and at least one sheet-like current collecting portion made of a conductive material (i.e. carbon plastic – carbon is a conductive material) and electrically connected to the at least one electrode (see figure 1) (paragraph [0006], [0048], [0060], [0063], [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Shiraki teaches the current collecting portion is formed in a porous structure (i.e., carbon plastic – known to be porous) (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Shiraki teaches the bipolar portion is disposed within an opening formed in the recess.
Regarding claim 8, Shiraki teaches an electrode support (i.e., protection plate) (50) disposed between the electrode (41) and the cell frame (42) to support the electrode (paragraph [0044], [0060]) (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 11-12, it is noted that such limitations are interpreted to be functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus (see MPEP 2114(I)). It is submitted that the apparatus of Shiraki possess the requisite claimed structure (i.e., the electrode support, the current collecting portion), such that it would necessarily follow that the apparatus would be capable of performing the recited functionality.
Regarding claim 13, Shiraki teaches a membrane support (i.e., film cover part) (60) disposed in the recess to support the membrane (see figure 1) (paragraph [0044], [0064]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 14, Shiraki teaches the conductive material comprises carbon (i.e., carbon plastic) (paragraph [0048], [0060], [0063], [0075]).
Regarding claim 15, Shiraki teaches the at least one electrode includes a plurality of electrodes (paragraph [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Shiraki teaches the plurality of electrodes is spaced apart from each other in the flow direction of the fluid (see figure 1) (paragraph [0005]-[0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In other words, claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to incorporate either:
all the limitations of claims 1, 4, 7 and 9, or
all the limitations of claim 1, 4, 7-8 and 10.
Applicant may consider amending claim 1 accordingly to place the application in condition of allowance. The prior art, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the combination of features as recited when combining all the limitations of the above claims in (1) or (2).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nakamura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0269665). Nakamura teaches at least one electrode (32, 33) disposed an angle (see figure 8) (see Embodiment 2) (paragraphs [0099]-[0119]). Nakamura teaches the angle increase internal resistance (paragraph [0058]-[0059).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723