DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-15, 18-19, and 42-44 are presently pending.
1. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view
of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-19, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20210185614, hereinafter, “Zhou”) in view of Lin et al. (US 20200236692, hereinafter, “Lin”), and further in view of ANG et al. (US 20200107345, hereinafter, “ANG”).
Claim 1. Zhou teaches: A method performed by a wireless communication device, comprising: - See Fig. 11, ¶ [0149], (“FIG. 11A is an example…of a wireless device 110 (e.g. UE)”)
transmitting, to a network node, first capability information - in ¶ [0289], (“…transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages (e.g., UECapabilityInformation)”)that indicates that the wireless communication device supports secondary cell (SCell) dormancy operation using a dormant bandwidth part (BWP) for one or more SCells; - See Fig. 22, ¶ [0289], (“The gNB and/or the wireless device may exchange information regarding whether a dormant state is supported on an uplink BWP by RRC messages (e.g., UE-UTRA-Capability IE or UE-NR-Capability IE)…”); ¶ [0286], (“power saving state (or in a dormant state”); ¶ [0292], (“when an uplink BWP of an SCell is in a dormant state”) and
transmitting, to the network node, second capability information - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages (e.g., UECapabilityInformation). The parameters of capabilities of the UE may comprise…whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…”) that indicates whether the wireless communication device supports sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting…UECapabilityInformation). The parameters of capabilities of the UE may comprise parameters of power saving operation…may comprise whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…may comprise a number of BWPs and/or cells on which the UE may transmit the uplink signals/channels in a power saving duration of the power saving operation.”) on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, - in ¶ [0286], (“power saving state (or in a dormant state”); ¶ [0292], (“when an uplink BWP of an SCell is in a dormant state, the wireless device: may transmit one or more second SRSs on the uplink BWP of the SCell.”)
Zhou does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second capability information comprises one or more parameter settings associated with Aperiodic Channel State Information (A-CSI) measurement on the dormant BWP or associated with A-CSI reporting on another cell, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of A-CSI triggering offset.
However, Lin teaches:
wherein the second capability information comprises one or more parameter settings associated with Aperiodic Channel State Information (A-CSI) measurement on the dormant BWP or associated with A-CSI reporting on another cell, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of A-CSI triggering offset. - See Fig, 11, ¶ [0175], (“The associated scheduling offset parameter, X, can be any of the following…[0178] an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset”; ¶ [0182] C_X can be determined per associated scheduling offset parameter, X…¶ [0185] C_X can be reported to gNB from UE as UE capability information…UE can report two values, denoted as C_UL and C_DL, where C_UL and C_DL are applicable for UL related scheduling offsets, such as K2 or SRS triggering offset…or aperiodic CSI-RS trigger offset”, The scheduling offsets/trigger offsets reported by the UE are equated to parameter settings associated with A-CSI measurement.); ¶ [0210], (“A UE can be triggered to switch between a ‘dormancy’ and a ‘non-dormancy’ behavior for active SCells by a physical layer signal/channel on the PCell/PSCell.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou with Lin to include one or more parameter settings associated with A-CSI measurement, as taught by Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Lin, the list of candidate values for Kmin can be determined based on UE assistance information on its preferred values. For example, to reduce signaling overhead without sacrificing power saving gain. - ¶ [0189]
Combination of ZHAO and Lin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second capability information comprises one or more parameter settings associated with Aperiodic Channel State Information (A-CSI) measurement on the dormant BWP or associated with A-CSI reporting on another cell, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of A-CSI triggering offset.
However, ANG teaches:
wherein the second capability information comprises one or more parameter settings associated with Aperiodic Channel State Information (A-CSI) measurement on the dormant BWP or associated with A-CSI reporting on another cell, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of A-CSI triggering offset. – in ¶ [0108], (“minimum DL/UL scheduling offset for A-CSI. The minimum DL scheduling offset may also serve as at least the lower bound for the triggering offset for aperiodic CSI-RS.”); ¶ [0117], (“non-zero minimum DL scheduling offset may need to be configured, but the amount of the offset may be dependent on UE capability (e.g. the buffering capacity it is designed to support)…UE to report a desired minimum scheduling offset effectively as an indication of UE capability…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou and Lin with ANG to include the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of A-CSI triggering offset, as taught by ANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by ANG, The amount of scheduling delay needed to achieve power saving may be UE-implementation dependent. - ¶ [0117]
Claim 2. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
further comprising: switching to a dormant BWP of an SCell; – in ¶ [0249], (“UE may perform the BWP switching to a BWP indicated by the PDCCH”); ¶ [0282], (“transitioning an SCell into a dormant state…BWP management may not allow uplink transmission when the SCell is in a dormant state…¶ [0285] The wireless device may stop uplink transmission…when the cell is in a power saving state or a dormant state.”) and upon switching to the dormant BWP of the SCell, – in ¶ [0282], (“transitioning an SCell into a dormant state…BWP management may not allow uplink transmission when the SCell is in a dormant state…¶ [0285] The wireless device may stop uplink transmission…when the cell is in a power saving state or a dormant state.”) performing one or more actions – in ¶ [0282], (“transitioning an SCell into a dormant state…BWP management may not allow uplink transmission when the SCell is in a dormant state”) in accordance with the first capability information - in ¶ [0289], (“…transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages”) and the second capability information. - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages…parameters of capabilities of the UE…may comprise whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…”)
Claim 6. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein the second capability information indicates that the wireless communication device does support periodic SRS transmission - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages (e.g., UECapabilityInformation). The parameters of capabilities of the UE may comprise…whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…”) on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, - in ¶ [0286], (“power saving state (or in a dormant state”); ¶ [0292], (“when an uplink BWP of an SCell is in a dormant state, the wireless device: may transmit one or more second SRSs on the uplink BWP of the SCell.”) and the one or more actions comprise transmitting periodic SRS on the SCell. – in ¶ [0292], (“when an uplink BWP of an SCell is in a dormant state, the wireless device: may transmit one or more second SRSs on the uplink BWP of the SCell.”); ¶ [0342], (“UE to transmit at least one of three types of SRS: periodic SRS transmission (type 0)”)
Claim 8. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein the second capability information comprises one or more parameters comprising: - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting… UECapabilityInformation). The parameters of capabilities”) (i) one or more parameters associated with SRS transmission on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, - in ¶ [0317], (“The parameters of capabilities of the UE may comprise parameters of power saving operation…may comprise whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…may comprise a number of BWPs and/or cells on which the UE may transmit the uplink signals/channels in a power saving duration of the power saving operation.”); ¶ [0292], (“when an uplink BWP of an SCell is in a dormant state, the wireless device: may transmit one or more second SRSs on the uplink BWP of the SCell.”) (ii) one or more parameters associated with Aperiodic Sounding Reference (A-SRS) transmission on another cell, or (iii) both (i) and (ii. – This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.
Claim 9. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters comprises an aperiodic SRS triggering offset - in ¶ [0109], (“one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating…offset for a periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource”) or a minimum value of an A-SRS triggering offset. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.
Claim 12. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
ANG further teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of an A-SRS triggering offset, - in ¶ [0119], (“a minimum UL scheduling offset could be applied to an aperiodic SRS (A-SRS) transmitted on the uplink after an (A-SRS) request is triggered (e.g., via DCI conveyed in a PDCCH)”) and the minimum value of the A-SRS triggering offset is dependent on a subcarrier spacing of a cell - in ¶ [0068], (“Each slot may include a variable number of symbol periods (e.g., 7 or 14 symbols) depending on the subcarrier spacing.”) on which a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) triggering aperiodic SRS transmission is received by the wireless communication device. - in ¶ [0119], (“a minimum UL scheduling offset could be applied to an aperiodic SRS (A-SRS) transmitted on the uplink after an (A-SRS) request is triggered (e.g., via DCI conveyed in a PDCCH)”); ¶ [0083], (“by receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) with downlink control information (DCI) signaling a scheduling parameter indicating a scheduling delay between an end of the PDCCH transmission and a beginning of a transmission scheduled by the PDCCH.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou and Lin with ANG to include a minimum value of an A-SRS triggering offset, as taught by ANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by ANG, The amount of scheduling delay needed to achieve power saving may be UE-implementation dependent. - ¶ [0117]
Claim 13. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
ANG further teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters comprise a minimum value of an A-SRS triggering offset, - in ¶ [0119], (“a minimum UL scheduling offset could be applied to an aperiodic SRS (A-SRS) transmitted on the uplink after an (A-SRS) request is triggered (e.g., via DCI conveyed in a PDCCH)”) and
the minimum value of the A-SRS triggering offset is dependent on a subcarrier spacing of a cell - in ¶ [0068], (“Each slot may include a variable number of symbol periods (e.g., 7 or 14 symbols) depending on the subcarrier spacing.”) on which a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) triggering aperiodic SRS transmission is received by the wireless communication device - in ¶ [0119], (“a minimum UL scheduling offset could be applied to an aperiodic SRS (A-SRS) transmitted on the uplink after an (A-SRS) request is triggered (e.g., via DCI conveyed in a PDCCH)”); ¶ [0083], (“by receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) with downlink control information (DCI) signaling a scheduling parameter indicating a scheduling delay between an end of the PDCCH transmission and a beginning of a transmission scheduled by the PDCCH.”) and the subcarrier spacing of the SCell. - in ¶ [0068], (“Each slot may include a variable number of symbol periods (e.g., 7 or 14 symbols) depending on the subcarrier spacing.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou and Lin with ANG to include a minimum value of an A-SRS triggering offset, as taught by ANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by ANG, The amount of scheduling delay needed to achieve power saving may be UE-implementation dependent. - ¶ [0117]
Claim 14. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
ANG teaches:
further comprising transmitting assistance information to the network node that informs the network node of a preferred A-SRS triggering offset or a minimum gap for dormant BWP operation. – in ¶ [0118], (“a UE-based assistance framework may be used (to report a desired minimum scheduling offset) instead of UE capability framework. In such cases, a UE may report preferred values of minimum scheduling offsets…¶ [0119] a minimum UL scheduling offset could be applied to an aperiodic SRS (A-SRS)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou and Lin with ANG to include preferred A-SRS triggering offset, as taught by ANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by ANG, The amount of scheduling delay needed to achieve power saving may be UE-implementation dependent. - ¶ [0117]
Claim 15. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein the second capability information indicates that the wireless communication device does not support A-SRS transmission on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells – in ¶ [0226], (“when an SCell is in a dormant state, the wireless device may: not transmit SRS on the SCell”) under one or more certain conditions. – in ¶ [0226], (“when an SCell is in a dormant state, the wireless device may: not transmit SRS on the SCell; report CQI/PMI/RI/CRI for the SCell; not transmit on UL-SCH on the SCell;”)
Claim 18 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 19, 43 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 42 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 3-5, 7, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20210185614, hereinafter, “Zhou”) in view of Lin et al. (US 20200236692, hereinafter, “Lin”), and further in view of ANG et al. (US 20200107345, hereinafter, “ANG”) and Zhou et al. (US 20200029316, hereinafter, “Zhou’316”).
Claim 3. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein the second capability information indicates that the wireless communication device does not support aperiodic SRS transmission on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, and the one or more actions comprise: - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages…parameters of capabilities of the UE…may comprise whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…”)
However, Zhou’316 teaches:
wherein the second capability information indicates that the wireless communication device does not support aperiodic SRS transmission on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, and the one or more actions comprise: – in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device may not transmit SRS (if configured) on a BWP of an SCell, for example, if a BWP (DL and/or UL) of the SCell is in dormant state.”)
a) stop receiving Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for the SCell; - in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device (e.g., if a BWP (DL or UL) of an SCell is in dormant state)…may not monitor a PDCCH on the BWP”)
b) do not receive Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH) on the SCell; - in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device (e.g., if a BWP (DL or UL) of an SCell is in dormant state)…may not receive DL-SCH on the BWP”)
c) perform periodic SRS reporting; - in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device (e.g., if a BWP (DL or UL) of an SCell is in dormant state): may transmit one or more CSI reports and/or RRM report for the BWP (e.g., DL) of the SCell, may transmit SRS, if configured, on the BWP (e.g., UL) of the SCell”); ¶ [0252], (“A new radio network may support aperiodic, periodic, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) SRS resources, for example, based on one or more trigger types.”)
d) perform any semi-persistent SRS reporting; - in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device (e.g., if a BWP (DL or UL) of an SCell is in dormant state): may transmit one or more CSI reports and/or RRM report for the BWP (e.g., DL) of the SCell, may transmit SRS, if configured, on the BWP (e.g., UL) of the SCell”); ¶ [0252], (“A new radio network may support aperiodic, periodic, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) SRS resources, for example, based on one or more trigger types.”) or
e) a combination of any two or more of a) - d). - in ¶ [0397]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou, Lin, and ANG with Zhou’316 to include actions associated with not supporting aperiodic SRS transmission, as taught by Zhou’316. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to save power, as suggested by Zhou’316, a device (e.g., a wireless device and/or a base station) may perform reduced activities, processing, and/or communication if operating in a power saving state. - ¶ [0004]
Claim 4. Combination of Zhou, Lin, ANG and Zhou’316 teaches The method of claim 3, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou’316 further teaches:
wherein aperiodic SRS transmission for the SCell cannot be triggered for the wireless communication device. – in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device (e.g., if a BWP (DL or UL) of an SCell is in dormant state)…may not monitor a PDCCH on the BWP…A wireless device may not transmit SRS (if configured) on a BWP of an SCell”); ¶ [0252], (“network may support aperiodic, periodic, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions.”, Since A-SRS is triggered via DCI on PDCCH, if the wireless device is not monitoring PDCCH in dormant state, A-SRS cannot be triggered.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou, Lin, and ANG with Zhou’316 to include aperiodic SRS transmission for the SCell cannot be triggered, as taught by Zhou’316. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to save power, as suggested by Zhou’316, a device (e.g., a wireless device and/or a base station) may perform reduced activities, processing, and/or communication if operating in a power saving state. - ¶ [0004]
Claim 5. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches:
wherein the second capability information indicates that the wireless communication device does support aperiodic SRS transmission on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, and the one or more actions comprise transmitting aperiodic SRS on the SCell. - in ¶ [0317], (“transmitting from the UE to the gNB one or more UE capability information messages…parameters of capabilities of the UE…may comprise whether the UE supports uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRS…”)
Zhou’316 further teaches:
wherein the second capability information indicates that the wireless communication device does support aperiodic SRS transmission on a dormant BWP of one or more SCells, - in ¶ [0397], (“A wireless device (e.g., if a BWP (DL or UL) of an SCell is in dormant state): may transmit one or more CSI reports and/or RRM report for the BWP (e.g., DL) of the SCell, may transmit SRS, if configured, on the BWP (e.g., UL) of the SCell”); ¶ [0252], (“A new radio network may support aperiodic, periodic, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) SRS resources, for example, based on one or more trigger types.”) and
the one or more actions comprise transmitting aperiodic SRS on the SCell. - in ¶ [0397], (“A base station may indicate, for example, in an RRC message, whether a wireless device transmits or does not transmit SRS if an SCell is in dormant state.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou, Lin, and ANG with Zhou’316 to include one or more actions related to not supporting a-srs transmissions, as taught by Zhou’316. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to save power, as suggested by Zhou’316, a device (e.g., a wireless device and/or a base station) may perform reduced activities, processing, and/or communication if operating in a power saving state. - ¶ [0004]
Claim 7. Combination of Zhou, Lin, ANG, and Zhou’316 teaches The method of claim 5, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein the one or more actions further comprise transmitting a measurement report - in ¶ [0240], (“transition the SCell into a dormant state; transmit one or more CSI reports”) on a cell other than the SCell. – in ¶ [0147], (“UE procedures on a secondary cell may be same as on a primary cell”)
Claim 44 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 3 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20210185614, hereinafter, “Zhou”) in view of Lin et al. (US 20200236692, hereinafter, “Lin”), and further in view of ANG et al. (US 20200107345, hereinafter, “ANG”) and BANG et al. (US 20230122786, hereinafter, “Bang”).
Claim 10. Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG teaches The method of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Zhou, Lin, and ANG does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more parameters comprise a parameter that defines a gap between an end of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) on a triggering cell that triggers aperiodic SRS transmission and a start of SRS transmission on a cell on which the SRS transmission is triggered.
However, Bang teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters comprise a parameter that defines a gap between an end of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) on a triggering cell that triggers aperiodic SRS transmission and a start of SRS transmission on a cell on which the SRS transmission is triggered. - in ¶ [0208], (“The time interval for the SRS transmission of the terminal may be defined as the number of symbols between the last symbol of the PDCCH including the DCI that triggers the aperiodic SRS transmission and the first symbol to which an SRS resource first transmitted among a transmitting SRS resource(s) has been mapped.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou, Lin, and ANG with Bang to include a parameter that defines a gap, as taught by Bang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure precise time alignment, reduce power consumption and latency, as suggested by Bang, the minimization of terminal power and the access of multiple terminals, and high reliability and low latency. - ¶ [0049]
Claim 11. Combination of Zhou, Lin, ANG, and BANG teaches The method of claim 10, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou teaches:
wherein a value of the parameter that defines the gap is based on an SCell dormancy transition time that the wireless communication device reports. - in ¶ [0296], (“transition of an SCell into a dormant state, or in response to an expiry of an SCell hibernation timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer) associated with the SCell”); ¶ [0317], (“The parameters of capabilities of the UE may comprise parameters of power saving operation.”)
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475