Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 07/17/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a search burden to search all claims. This is not found persuasive because
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
Inventions Group I and Group II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). Here, a search for Group II requires a step for obtaining a solution comprising GLP1 agonist and histidine, spray drying the solution to obtain a solid composition. This requirement is not in Group I, in which a tablet composition comprising GLP1 and histidine which can be obtain from a different process that is not required in Group II.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/17/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sauerberg et al. WO 2012/080471 A1, in view of Petersen et al. US 20090042781 A1.
Sauerberg teaches a solid composition comprising a GLP-1 agonist and salt of N-(8-(2-hydroxybenzoyl)amino)caprylic acid (SNAC). See pages 1-2. Surprisingly, the present inventors have found that solid compositions comprising certain amounts of a salt of N-(8-(2- hydroxybenzoyl)amino)caprylic acid, such as SNAC, are optimal for oral administration of GLP-1 agonists. Accordingly, the compositions provide improved exposure and/or bioavailability of the GLP-1 agonist. Generally, the term "bioavailability" as used herein refers to the fraction of an administered dose of an active pharmaceutical ingredient (API), such as a GLP-1 agonist as defined herein, which reaches the systemic circulation unchanged. By definition, when an API is administered intravenously, its bioavailability is 100%. However, when it is ad- ministered via other routes (such as orally), its bioavailability decreases (due to incomplete absorption and first-pass metabolism). Knowledge about bioavailability is important when calculating dosages for non-intravenous routes of administration. See pages 1-2 and Examples. n some embodiments the composition comprises the GLP-1 agonist or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, amide, or ester thereof. In some embodiments the composition comprises the GLP-1 agonist one or more pharmaceutically acceptable counter ions. See page 4. In some embodiments the amount of SNAC in the composition is at least 175 mg, such as an amount selected from the group consisting of at least 200 mg, at least 210 mg, at least 220 mg, at least 230 mg, at least 240 mg, at least 250 mg, at least 260 mg, at least 270 mg and at least 280 mg. In some embodiments the amount of SNAC in the composition is in the range of 175-575 mg, such as 200-500 mg or 250-400 mg. In some embodiments the amount of SNAC in the composition is up to 575 mg, such as an amount selected from the group consisting of up to 550 mg, up to 525 mg, up to 500 mg, up to 475 mg, up to 450 mg, up to 425 mg, up to 400 mg, up to 375 mg, up to 350 mg and up to 325 mg. In some embodiments the amount of SNAC in the composition is 300 mg. In some embodiments the molar ratio between GLP-1 agonist and delivery agent in the composition is less than 10, such as less than 5 or less than 1. Page 11. Solid composition comprises at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. The term "excipient" as used herein broadly refers to any component other than the active therapeutic ingredient(s). The excipient may be an inert sub- stance, an inactive substance, and/or a not medicinally active substance. The excipient may serve various purposes, e.g. as a carrier, vehicle, filler, binder, lubricant, glidant, disintegrant, flow control agents, crystallization retarders, solubilizers, stabilizer, colouring agent, flavouring agent, surfactant, emulsifier and/or to improve administration, and/or absorption of the active substance. A person skilled in the art may select one or more of the aforementioned excipients with respect to the particular desired properties of the solid oral dosage form by routine experimentation and without any undue burden. The amount of each excipient used may vary within ranges conventional in the art. Techniques and excipients which may be used to formulate oral dosage forms are described in Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients, 6th edition, Rowe et al., Eds., American Pharma- ceuticals Association and the Pharmaceutical Press, publications department of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (2009); and Remington : the Science and Practice of Pharmacy, 21th edition, Gennaro, Ed., Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (2005). In some embodiments the excipients may be selected from binders, such as polyvinyl pyrrolidone (povidone), etc. ; fillers such as cellulose powder, microcrystalline cellulose, cellulose de- rivatives like hydroxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxypropylcellulose and hydroxy-propylmethylcellulose, dibasic calcium phosphate, corn starch, pregelatinized starch, etc. ; lubricants and/or glidants such as stearic acid, magnesium stearate, sodium stearylfumarate, glycerol tribehenate, etc. ; flow control agents such as colloidal silica, talc, etc. ; crystallization retarders such as Povidone, etc. ; solubilizers such as Pluronic, Povidone, etc. ; colouring agents, including dyes and pigments such as Iron Oxide Red or Yellow, titanium dioxide, talc, etc. ; pH control agents such as citric acid, tartaric acid, fumaric acid, sodium citrate, dibasic calcium phosphate, dibasic sodium phosphate, etc. ; surfactants and emulsifiers such as Pluronic, polyethylene glycols, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, polyethoxylated and hydrogenated castor oil, etc. ; and mixtures of two or more of these excipients and/or adjuvants. In some embodiments the composition comprises at least 60% (w/w) delivery agent, less than 10% (w/w) binder, 5-40% (w/w) filler, and less than 10% (w/w) lubricant or glidant. See pages 12-14. In some embodiments the dosage of GLP-1 is in the range of 0.01 mg to 100 mg. In some embodiments the composition comprises an amount of a GLP-1 agonist in the range of 0.1 to 40 mg or 1 to 20 mg. In some embodiments the composition comprises an amount of a GLP-1 agonist in the range of 5 to 20 mg, such as in the range of 5 to 15 mg, such as 5 mg, such as 10 mg, such as 15 mg, such as 20 mg.
Sauerberg does not expressly teach composition comprising a histidine.
Petersen teaches a method for treating diabetes by increasing the insulin secretion by administration of an effective amount of GLP-1 receptor agonist and/or a DPP-IV inhibitor in combination with a proton pump inhibitor and optionally a PPAR agonist are provided. See Abstract and paragraphs 0016-0032. Petersen further teaches pharmaceutical compositions formulated for administration by any suitable route such as the oral, rectal, nasal, pulmonary, topical (including buccal and sublingual), transdermal, intracisternal, intraperitoneal, vaginal and parenteral (including subcutaneous, intramuscular, intrathecal, intravenous and intradermal) route, the oral route being preferred. It will be appreciated that the preferred route will depend on the general condition and age of the subject to be treated, the nature of the condition to be treated and the active ingredient chosen. It will also be appreciated that if the therapeutically active agents to be used in the methods of the present invention is presented in more than one composition, i.e. presented as a kit, then each composition be administered by the same or different route. Pharmaceutical compositions for oral administration include solid dosage forms such as hard or soft capsules, tablets, troches, dragees, pills, lozenges, powders and granules. Where appropriate, they can be prepared with coatings such as enteric coatings or they can be formulated so as to provide controlled release of the active ingredient such as sustained or prolonged release according to methods well known in the art. See paragraphs 0083-0084. Compositions intended for oral use may be prepared according to any known method, and such compositions may contain one or more agents selected from the group consisting of sweetening agents, flavouring agents, colouring agents, and preserving agents in order to provide pharmaceutically elegant and palatable preparations. Tablets may contain the active ingredient in admixture with non-toxic pharmaceutically-acceptable excipients which are suitable for the manufacture of tablets. These excipients may be for example, inert diluents, such as calcium carbonate, sodium carbonate, lactose, calcium phosphate or sodium phosphate; granulating and disintegrating agents, for example corn starch or alginic acid; binding agents, for example, starch, gelatine or acacia; and lubricating agents, for example magnesium stearate, stearic acid or talc. The tablets may be uncoated or they may be coated by known techniques to delay disintegration and absorption in the gastrointestinal tract and thereby provide a sustained action over a longer period. For example, a time delay material such as glyceryl monostearate or glyceryl distearate may be employed. They may also be coated by the techniques described in U.S. Pat. Nos. 4,356,108; 4,166,452; and 4,265,874, incorporated herein by reference, to form osmotic therapeutic tablets for controlled release. See paragraph 0095. Solid carrier is used for oral administration, the preparation may be tabletted, placed in a hard gelatine capsule in powder or pellet form or it can be in the form of a troche or lozenge. Petersen teaches the use of histidine in the compositions as a buffering agent, an isotonic agent, a stabilizer or a surfactant. See paragraphs 0112-0126.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to, by routine experimentation include histidine as a stabilizer to obtain a GLP-1 composition with improved chemical and physical stability in view of the teaching of Petersen with the expectation to obtain a composition having a long term shelf stable useful for the delivery of a GLP-1 compound. This is because Petersen teaches using stabilizing agents to further enhance stability of a therapeutically active polypeptide therein, and to protect the polypeptide against aggregation associated with freezethawing or mechanical shearing. See paragraphs 0122, 0126, 0130 and 0140. This is further because Petersen teaches using histidine in compositions comprising GLP-1 useful for the treatment of diabetes is known and desired in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615