DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 9/24/2025. Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. All pending claims therefore have an effective filing date of May 6, 2020.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see page 6 of 8, filed 9/24/2025, with respect to claim objections, 112 rejections, and 101 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections, 112 rejections, and 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-7 of 8, filed 9/24/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Shirao does not teach monitoring of time of applying a set of control parameters and additionally argues that time is not related to the application of a set of control parameters, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shirao describes a concept of timing how long certain conditions are being satisfied, whereas Seki in view of Thomson already have established the specific details of what the conditions actually are. Shirao makes an update to controls (controls specifics taught by Seki in view of Thomson) after a time threshold is passed.
In response to applicant’s argument that time is not related to the application of a set of control parameters, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims as currently presented state “…at least one driveline component…the at least component…the at least one component…the at least one driveline component…” which the Examiner recommends updating to recite consistent terminology so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (US-2021/0040711; hereinafter Seki; already of record) in view of Thomson et al. (US-2006/0069484; hereinafter Thomson; already of record) and Shirao (US-2013/0259622; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Seki discloses an apparatus (see Seki at least Abs) configured to:
… during a first action of an automatic adaptive loading procedure by a work machine equipped with a boom and a bucket connected to the boom (see Seki at least [0024] "FIG. 1 is a side view of an example of a loading machine 1 according to the present embodiment. The loading machine 1 performs predetermined work on a work target on a work site..." and [0034] "The working equipment 10 includes a boom 11 that is turnably connected to the vehicle body front portion 2F, a bucket 12 that is turnably connected to the boom 11, a bell crank 15, and a link 16.") …
define a set of control parameters based on the [information] of the at least one driveline component of the work machine (see Seki at least Fig 3, [0047]-[0048] "…The driver of the wheel loader 1 operates the travel operation device 40 to cause the wheel loader 1 to move forward to the transport vehicle LS... As illustrated in FIG. 3(B), the control device 80 causes the rising movement of the boom 11 while controlling the angle of the bucket 12 so as to position the bucket 12 above the upper end portion of the vessel BE and so as to hold the excavated material in the bucket 12 without spilling, on the basis of measurement data from the three-dimensional measurement device 20, while the wheel loader 1 is moving forward to the transport vehicle LS." and [0060] "...The working equipment control unit 87 outputs a control signal to the boom control valve and the bucket control valve, controlling the flow rate and direction of the hydraulic oil supplied to the boom cylinder 13 and the bucket cylinder 14, controlling rising and lowering movement of the boom 11 and rising and lowering movement of the bucket 12." and [0063] "...The travel control unit 89 outputs a drive instruction including an accelerator command for operating the drive device 4A, a brake command for operating the brake device 4B, and a steering command for operating the steering device 4C." and [0095]);
control a position of the boom, a position of the bucket … based on the defined set of control parameters during a second action of the automatic adaptive loading procedure (see Seki at least Fig 3, [0047]-[0048] "…The driver of the wheel loader 1 operates the travel operation device 40 to cause the wheel loader 1 to move forward to the transport vehicle LS... As illustrated in FIG. 3(B), the control device 80 causes the rising movement of the boom 11 while controlling the angle of the bucket 12 so as to position the bucket 12 above the upper end portion of the vessel BE and so as to hold the excavated material in the bucket 12 without spilling, on the basis of measurement data from the three-dimensional measurement device 20, while the wheel loader 1 is moving forward to the transport vehicle LS." and [0095]);
…
control change of the defined set of control parameters to control position of the boom, position of the bucket (see Seki at least Fig 3, [0047]-[0048] "As illustrated in FIG. 3(B), the control device 80 causes the rising movement of the boom 11 while controlling the angle of the bucket 12 so as to position the bucket 12 above the upper end portion of the vessel BE and so as to hold the excavated material in the bucket 12 without spilling, on the basis of measurement data from the three-dimensional measurement device 20, while the wheel loader 1 is moving forward to the transport vehicle LS." and [0095]) …
However, Seki does not explicitly disclose the following:
…receive…driveline information of at least one driveline component of an electric driveline of the work machine, wherein the driveline information is information generated based on signals from the at least one component of the electric driveline, and wherein the at least one component of the electric driveline is an inverter unit, an electric motor, a gearbox, or a transmission mechanism…
…control … a speed of the work machine…
…monitor a time of applying the defined set of control parameters…
…control change of the defined set of control parameters to control … speed of the work machine in response to the time of applying the defined set of control parameters exceeding a threshold value.
Thomson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…receive…driveline information of at least one driveline component of an electric driveline of the work machine, wherein the driveline information is information generated based on signals from the at least one component of the electric driveline, and wherein the at least one component of the electric driveline is an inverter unit, an electric motor, a gearbox, or a transmission mechanism (see Thomson at least [0014] “…an electric transmission having a generator and an electric motor…” and [0020] "Controller 30 may be in communication with various components of work machine 10. In particular, controller 30 may be in communication ... with transmission 16 via a communication line 36 to affect gear shifting of transmission 16, ... Similar to power source speed sensor 32, work machine travel speed sensor 38 may also be embodied in a magnetic pick up sensor, but configured to sense a work machine travel speed and to produce a travel speed signal. Work machine travel speed sensor 38 may be disposed on shaft 24, on a component of drive assembly 28, or on any other suitable component, and configured to produce a signal corresponding to the travel speed of work machine 10.")…
…control … a speed of the work machine (see Thomson at least [0012] "...A work machine travel speed signal signifying an increase in desired travel speed or a desire to maintain a current speed may indicate to transmission control system 22 that an assisted downshift or directional change shift may be undesirable at that time...")…
…
…control change of the defined set of control parameters to control … speed of the work machine (see Thomson at least [0012] "...A work machine travel speed signal signifying an increase in desired travel speed or a desire to maintain a current speed may indicate to transmission control system 22 that an assisted downshift or directional change shift may be undesirable at that time...")...
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Seki with driveline information which is associated with controlling the machine’s speed such as taught by Thomson with a reasonable expectation of success so as to regulate vehicle speed appropriately during a loading operation (see Thomson at least [0006]-[0007]).
However, neither Seki nor Thomson explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…monitor a time of applying the defined set of control parameters…
…control change … in response to the time of applying the defined set of control parameters exceeding a threshold value.
Shirao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…monitor a time of applying the defined set of control parameters (see Shirao at least [0083] "...Further, in Step S103, the traction force controlling section 61 starts timer measurement. The timer measures the duration time during which the determination conditions described later are being satisfied...")…
…control change … in response to the time of applying the defined set of control parameters exceeding a threshold value (see Shirao at least Fig 9 and [0090]-[0092] "When all the conditions from Step S104 to Step S108 are satisfied, the processing proceeds to Step S111. In Step S111, the duration time determining section 67 determines whether or not the time measured by the timer is equal to or more than the prescribed time threshold value DI. In other words, the duration time determining section 67 determines whether or not the continuous period of time during which the state in which all of the conditions in Step A104 to Step S108 are being satisfied is equal to or more than the prescribed time threshold value D1... In other words, the traction force controlling section 61 does not increase the maximum traction force until the duration time reaches the prescribed time threshold value D1... Further, in Step S114, the traction force controlling section 61, changes the control level of the traction force from the first level to the second level...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control parameters such as by Seki with a time of applying specific operation such as taught by Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success so as to make adjustments where necessary to ensure proper machine operations occur (see Shirao at least [0083] and [0090]).
Regarding claim 2, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the driveline information is indicative of at least one of driveline rotational speed and torque status (see Thomson at least [0020] "Controller 30 may be in communication with various components of work machine 10. In particular, controller 30 may be in communication with a power source speed sensor 32 via a communication line 34 to receive an indication of a rotational speed of power source 12, ... Power source speed sensor 32 may be embodied in a magnetic pick up sensor configured to sense a power source speed and to produce a signal corresponding to the rotational speed of power source 12...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus as disclosed by Seki with additional driveline information details such as taught by Thomson with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein during the second action of the automatic adaptive loading procedure, the apparatus is configured to determine if a change condition is met, for changing at least one of:
the defined set of control parameters (see Thomson at least [0028]-[0029] "There may be instances when assisted shifting may be undesirable. For example, a work machine burdened with a heavy load and/or traveling up an incline may begin to loose travel speed because of insufficient torque provided to wheels 26. In response to the increased demand for torque, power source 12 may lug down in output speed and eventually reach a low shift point causing transmission 16 to downshift. In this situation, automatic braking may cause further loss of work machine travel speed and could potentially create a domino affect of downshifting... Once the desire for an assisted shift has been established, controller 30 may then determine if the desired gear change is a directional change (reverse to forward or forward to reverse) or a downshift (step 70)..."),
a parameter in the defined set of control parameters (see Thomson at least [0028]-[0029] "There may be instances when assisted shifting may be undesirable. For example, a work machine burdened with a heavy load and/or traveling up an incline may begin to loose travel speed because of insufficient torque provided to wheels 26. In response to the increased demand for torque, power source 12 may lug down in output speed and eventually reach a low shift point causing transmission 16 to downshift. In this situation, automatic braking may cause further loss of work machine travel speed and could potentially create a domino affect of downshifting... Once the desire for an assisted shift has been established, controller 30 may then determine if the desired gear change is a directional change (reverse to forward or forward to reverse) or a downshift (step 70)..."), or
an automatic adaptive loading procedure action, and
in response to the change condition being met, the apparatus is configured to change at least one of:
the defined set of control parameters (see Thomson at least [0030]-[0031] "If the actual travel speed of work machine 10 is within the predetermined speed range, controller 30 may initiate the desired shift (step 100) by actuating the clutches within transmission 16 to engage the appropriate combination of gears..."),
a corresponding parameter in the defined set of control parameters (see Thomson at least [0030]-[0031] "If the actual travel speed of work machine 10 is within the predetermined speed range, controller 30 may initiate the desired shift (step 100) by actuating the clutches within transmission 16 to engage the appropriate combination of gears..."), or
the automatic adaptive loading procedure action.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus as disclosed by Seki with an indication of a change condition and a corresponding execution of change such as taught by Thomson with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the change condition includes at least one of a driveline information threshold value, a wheel slip condition threshold value, and/or a temporal threshold value (see Shirao at least [0090] "...In other words, the duration time determining section 67 determines whether or not the continuous period of time during which the state in which all of the conditions in Step A104 to Step S108 are being satisfied is equal to or more than the prescribed time threshold value D1…").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus as disclosed by Seki with a temporal threshold value such as taught by Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to define or change the defined set of control parameters based on wheel slip condition information indicative of wheel slip during the automatic adaptive loading procedure (see Shirao at least Fig 6 and [0032] "In the wheel loader according to the eighth aspect of the present invention, when increasing the maximum traction force, it is possible to suppress sudden increases in the maximum traction force. Because of this, it is possible to suppress the occurrence of slipping, or to suppress reductions in the operability. In addition, when reducing the maximum traction force, the traction force is reduced speedily. Because of this, for example, when the wheel loader is carrying out excavation if a state is entered in which the boom does not rise due to too large a traction force, it is possible to escape from such a state speedily." – Fig 6 depicts how a decrease in speed results in an increase in traction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control parameters as disclosed by Seki with an adjustment according to wheel slip such as taught by Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide more responsive and less cumbersome responses to slip, resulting in a safer mode of operation (see Shirao at least [0006]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the defined set of control parameters is configured to cause:
maintaining current position of the boom, lifting the bucket, and driving forward;
lifting the boom, maintaining current position of the bucket, and driving forward (see Seki at least Fig 3A-3B and [0095] "In other words, as described with reference to FIG. 3, the working equipment control unit 87 causes the rising movement of the boom 11 while controlling the angle of the bucket 12 so as to position the bucket 12 above the upper end portion of the vessel BE and so as to hold the excavated material in the bucket 12 without spilling, on the basis of the distance to the transport vehicle LS and the height of the upper end portion of the vessel BE that are calculated by the target calculation unit 86, while the wheel loader 1 is moving forward to the transport vehicle LS...");
lifting the boom, lowering the bucket, and driving forward (see Seki at least Fig 3B-3C and [0095] "In other words, as described with reference to FIG. 3, the working equipment control unit 87 causes the rising movement of the boom 11 while controlling the angle of the bucket 12 so as to position the bucket 12 above the upper end portion of the vessel BE and so as to hold the excavated material in the bucket 12 without spilling, on the basis of the distance to the transport vehicle LS and the height of the upper end portion of the vessel BE that are calculated by the target calculation unit 86, while the wheel loader 1 is moving forward to the transport vehicle LS. After the rising movement of the boom 11 and positioning of the bucket 12 above the vessel BE, the working equipment control unit 87 controls the working equipment 10 to cause tilting movement of the bucket 12. Thus, the excavated material is discharged from the bucket 12 and loaded on the vessel BE…"); or
lowering the boom, lifting the bucket, and driving forward.
Regarding claim 8, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to record history information of used sets of control parameters (see Shirao at least [0097] "...The first boom pressure determination value is a value corresponding to the boom angle. The vehicle body controller 12 stores the boom pressure determining value information (hereinafter referred to as the "first boom pressure determining value information")..."), and define the set of control parameters based on the history information (see Shirao at least [0097] "...The first boom pressure determining value information, for example, is a table or a map showing the relationship between the first boom pressure determining value and the boom angle. The aspect of operation determining section 62, by referring to the first boom pressure determining value information, determines the first boom pressure determining value corresponding to the boom angle.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control parameters as disclosed by Seki with a database for storing information associated with usage of control parameters such as taught by Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to control the position of the boom, the position of the bucket, and the speed of the work machine without one or more of bucket and/or boom pressure measurement, without bucket and/or boom position measurement, and/or without a predefined profile indicative of positions of the boom of the work machine in relation to a distance travelled by the work machine (see Seki at least [0025] "As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wheel loader 1 includes a vehicle body 2, a cab 3 that is provided with a driver's seat, a travel unit 4 that supports the vehicle body 2, a working equipment 10 that is supported by the vehicle body 2, an angle sensor 50 that detects the angle of the working equipment 10, a transmission device 30, a three-dimensional measurement device 20 that measures a measurement target in front of the vehicle body 2, and a control device 80." and [0095] "In other words, as described with reference to FIG. 3, the working equipment control unit 87 causes the rising movement of the boom 11 while controlling the angle of the bucket 12 so as to position the bucket 12 above the upper end portion of the vessel BE and so as to hold the excavated material in the bucket 12 without spilling, on the basis of the distance to the transport vehicle LS and the height of the upper end portion of the vessel BE that are calculated by the target calculation unit 86, while the wheel loader 1 is moving forward to the transport vehicle LS...").
Regarding claim 10, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further configured to receive hydraulic pressure information indicative of current pressure of a hydraulic pump system of the work machine (see Shirao at least [0059] "In the drive hydraulic circuit 20 is provided a drive circuit pressure detecting section 17. The drive circuit pressure detecting section 17 detects the pressure of the hydraulic fluid (hereinafter referred to as the "drive circuit pressure") supplied to the hydraulic motor 10 for travel via the first drive circuit 20a or the second drive circuit 20b…" and [0064] "The second hydraulic pump 2 is driven by the engine 1. The hydraulic fluid ejected from the second hydraulic pump 2 is supplied to the lifting cylinder 19 via the hydraulic circuit 31 for the work implement. Because of this, the work implement 52 is driven. The ejection pressure of the second hydraulic pump 2 is detected by the ejection pressure sensor 39... In addition, the pressure of the hydraulic fluid supplied to the lifting cylinder 19 is detected by a boom pressure sensor 22..."), and define the set of control parameters further based on the received hydraulic pressure information (see Shirao at least [0064]-[0065] "The second hydraulic pump 2 is driven by the engine 1. The hydraulic fluid ejected from the second hydraulic pump 2 is supplied to the lifting cylinder 19 via the hydraulic circuit 31 for the work implement. Because of this, the work implement 52 is driven. The ejection pressure of the second hydraulic pump 2 is detected by the ejection pressure sensor 39... In addition, the pressure of the hydraulic fluid supplied to the lifting cylinder 19 is detected by a boom pressure sensor 22... The hydraulic motor 10 for travel is driven by the hydraulic fluid ejected from the first hydraulic pump 4, and generates the driving force for travel...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control parameters as disclosed by Seki with a additional details pertaining to hydraulic pressures such as taught by Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success for refined control of the machine during operation (see Shirao at least [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach a work machine, comprising the apparatus of claim 1 (see Seki at least Abs).
Regarding claim 12, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons. Additionally, Seki discloses a method for controlling loading by a work machine (see Seki at least [0001])…
Regarding claim 13, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the analogous material of that in claim 3 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach the analogous material of that in claim 5 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao, and further in view of Nackers et al. (US-2018/0372498; hereinafter Nackers).
Regarding claim 15, Seki in view of Thomson and Shirao teach a … computer program comprising code, which, when executed in a data processing apparatus, causes the method in accordance with claim 12 to be performed (see Seki at least [0132] "FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a computer system 1000. The control device 80 described above includes the computer system 1000. The computer system 1000 includes a processor 1001 such as a central processing unit (CPU), a main memory 1002 including a nonvolatile memory such as a read only memory (ROM) and a volatile memory such as a random access memory (RAM), a storage 1003, and an interface 1004 including an input/output circuit. The functions of the control device 80 described above are stored, as programs, in the storage 1003. The processor 1001 reads a program from the storage 1003, loads the program in the main memory 1002, and executes the processing described above according to the program. Note that the programs may be distributed to the computer system 1000 via a network.").
However, it is not explicitly detailed in Seki nor Thomson nor Shirao that the memory/storage is …a non-transitory computer readable medium…
Nackers, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a non-transitory computer readable medium (see Nackers at least [0009] "In yet another aspect, the present disclosure is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage device storing instruction for enabling a processor to execute a method of determining the real time state of a machine…")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program as disclosed by Seki with a non-transitory computer readable medium such as taught by Nackers with a reasonable expectation of success so as to store instructions for enabling a processor to execute a method (see Nackers at least [0009]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663