DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kususe (JPH03110761 as cited within IDS 1/8/2024).
As to claim 1, Kususe discloses a cell (figures 1 and 2, fuel cell, pages 2-3) comprising: an element portion (figures 1 and 2 #1-3, pages 2-3); and a metal member comprising a first gas-flow passage through which first gas flows (figures 1-2 #6, reinforcing plate, pages 2-3, the flow is for either the anode #2 or cathode #3), and a second gas-flow passage through which second gas flows (figures 1-2 #6, reinforcing plate, pages 2-3, the flow of the other either #2 anode or #3 cathode), the second gas-flow passage supporting the element portion (figures 1 and 2).
As to claim 2, Kususe discloses wherein the metal member comprises: a first metal portion located between the first gas-flow passage and the element portion (figures 1-2 #6, reinforcing plate, pages 2-3), and configured to transmit the first gas between the first gas-flow passage and the element portion (figures 1-2 #6, reinforcing plate, pages 2-3); and a second metal portion located between the first gas-flow passage and the second gas-flow passage, and configured to transmit neither the first gas nor the second gas (figures 1 and 2 #4, separator, pages 2-3).
As to claim 3, Kususe discloses wherein, the first metal portion and the second metal portion are constituted by a continuous metal material (figures 1-2 #4 and #6, pages 2-3).
As to claim 4, Kususe discloses further comprising: a fourth metal portion located opposite to the second metal portion with the second gas-flow passage interposed between the fourth metal portion and the second metal portion, wherein the first metal portion, the second metal portion, and the fourth metal portion are constituted by a continuous metal material (figures 1 and 2 #6, the number 6 for the anode or cathode that is not being used already, pages 2-3).
As to claim 6, Kususe discloses wherein the first metal portion comprises an opening through which the element portion and the first gas-flow passage are in communication with each other (figures 1-2, pages 2-3).
As to claim 7, Kususe discloses wherein a first electrode of the element portion facing the opening protrudes into the opening or is spaced apart from the opening (figures 1-2 #6 and #2 or #3, pages 2-3).
As to claim 8, Kususe discloses wherein the metal member comprises a reinforcing portion located inside the first gas-flow passage (figures 1-2 #8, pages 2-3).
As to claim 9, Kususe discloses wherein the metal member comprises a reinforcing portion being located inside the first gas-flow passage and facing the first metal portion and the second metal portion (figures 1-2 #8, pages 2-3).
As to claim 10, Kususe discloses wherein the metal member comprises a third metal portion located between the first metal portion and the second metal portion, and the third metal portion includes the reinforcing portion (figures 1-2 #8, pages 2-3).
As to claim 11, Kususe discloses wherein the first gas-flow passage comprises an inlet and an outlet for the first gas, and the reinforcing portion extends in a second direction intersecting a first direction directed from the inlet toward the outlet (figures 1 and 2 #8, pages 2-3, the plate is wavy and three dimensional thus intersecting the plane).
As to claim 12, Kususe discloses a cell stack device comprising the cell according to claim 1 in plurality (pages 2-3, fuel cell stack).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kususe as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cui (CN110120530).
As to claim 5, Kususe discloses further comprising: a fourth metal portion located opposite to the second metal portion with the second gas-flow passage interposed between the fourth metal portion and the second metal portion (figures 1 and 2 pages 2-3, give that it is a stack this can be either the other #6 or #8).
Kususe is silent to a coating layer located between the fourth metal portion and an oxidizing atmosphere, the coating layer containing at least any one of zinc, manganese, and cobalt.
Cui discloses a fuel cell bipolar plate (page 1) wherein a coating of cobalt oxide is used on the bipolar plate to improve durability and corrosion resistance (page 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the coating from Cui within Kususe to improve durability and corrosion resistance (page 5).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kususe as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Iwasaki (US 2016/0351935).
As to claim 13-14, Kususe is silent to a module comprising: the cell stack device according to claim 12; and a housing container housing the cell stack device (claim 13) and a module housing device comprising: the module according to claim 13; an auxiliary device configured to operate the module; and an external case housing the module and the auxiliary device (claim 14).
Iwasaki, also directed to a cell stack device, teaches a stack module and a housing device with an auxiliary device (i.e., reformer) to support and operate the module ([0002], [0006]-[0007] and [0080]-[0083]) the module and housing device improve power generation and prevent gas leakage from the interior ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kususe to include a module, housing and auxiliary device as taught by Iwasaki in order to house and protect the stack and further improve power generation and prevent gas leakage from the interior of the stack ([0006]-[0011], discussed throughout Iwasaki).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724