DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed May 26, 2023. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
This application claims priority to
The limitations SARS and MERS does not appear in the first provisional application. Therefore, they are provided benefit of October 27, 2020.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (Anal. Chem. Vol. 89, pages 745-750, 2017).
Hu teaches a method of producing droplets containing a sample within a microfluidic device, amplifying the nucleic acids in the droplets using digital droplet LAMP and determining fluorescence of the droplets for absolute quantification. Hu teaches the dLAMP method s tolerant to inhibitory substances and is robust and precise (abstract).
With respect to Claims 4, 12, Hu teaches human infection of avian influenza A H5N1 viruses were quantified (abstract).
With respect to Claim 6, Hu teaches obtaining a nasopharyngeal swab, i.e. a nasal swab (abstract Figure, page 746, col. 2 para 4).
With respect to Claim 7, Hu teaches incubation for amplification at 60-65 degrees (Figure 1b, page 747, col. 1).
With respect to Claim 9, Hu teaches droplet generation with primers in the droplets prior to amplifications (page 747, col .1) .
With respect to Claim 10-11, Hu illustrates taking samples, extracting RNA and reverse transcribing to cDNA for dLAMP assays (page 747, Figure 1a).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7- 9, 11-12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (WO2018/039969, March 8, 2018).
Xie teaches a method for producing droplets within a microfluidic device, amplifying nucleic acids in the droplets using LAMP and determining fluorescence of the droplets. Specifically, Example I, provides a single cell is lysed in lysis buffer, PCR products are added to the reaction mixture and droplets are formed in a microfluidic device (page 40). PCR amplification is performed (page 40). Xie teaches amplification may be performed using loop-medicated isothermal amplification (page 18). Xie teaches nucleic acid may be detected using fluorophore labels (page 58).
With respect to Claims 2-3, Xie teaches millions of small fragments are generated and the number of droplets exceeds the number of fragments to ensure that most of the droplets contain only one DNA fragment. Thus, millions of droplets are produced (page 23).
With respect to Claim 4, Xie teaches human cells are used (page 32 and Figure 7).
With respect to Claim 5 and 18, Xie teaches the sample may be saliva (page 32).
With respect to Claim 7, Xie teaches PCR reaction buffer and primers are added to the reaction mixture which is heated to 72C for 10 minutes (at least 65C)(Example I, page 40).
With respect to Claim 9, primers are in the droplets prior to amplifying (Example I, page 40).
With respect to Claim 11, Xie teaches the molecule may be RNA (page 27).
With respect to Claims 12 and 16, Xie teaches the sample may be a virus or bacteria (page 22).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walt et al. (WO 2020/037130, February 20, 2020).
Walt teaches a method for determining an attomolar concentration of a species in a fluid by providing an aqueous fluid having a volume of at least 1 ml and containing a species at a concentration of less than 1 fM (pages 23-24); forming a plurality of at least 1,000,000 droplets (page 24, lines 2-4), determining droplets of the plurality that contain the species and determining a concentration of the species in the fluid. The concentration of the target analyte in the sample ranges from about 0 aM to about 1 mM, e.g., about 1 aM to about 1 mM.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (WO2018/039969, March 8, 2018) in view of Wang et al. (CN111118225, March 3, 2020).
Xie teaches a method for producing droplets within a microfluidic device, amplifying nucleic acids in the droplets using LAMP and determining fluorescence of the droplets. Specifically, Example I, provides a single cell is lysed in lysis buffer, PCR products are added to the reaction mixture and droplets are formed in a microfluidic device (page 40). PCR amplification is performed (page 40). Xie teaches amplification may be performed using loop-medicated isothermal amplification (page 18). Xie teaches nucleic acid may be detected using fluorophore labels (page 58). Xie teaches the sample may be a virus or bacteria (page 22).
Xie does not teach the nucleic acid is COVID-19.
However, Wang teaches droplet digital PCR may be used to detect COVID-19.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected additional viruses, such as COVID-19 using the method of Xie to allow detection of a clinically relevant virus.
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (WO2018/039969, March 8, 2018) in view of Morris et al. (US 2023/0323353, priority March 25, 2020).
Xie teaches a method for producing droplets within a microfluidic device, amplifying nucleic acids in the droplets using LAMP and determining fluorescence of the droplets. Specifically, Example I, provides a single cell is lysed in lysis buffer, PCR products are added to the reaction mixture and droplets are formed in a microfluidic device (page 40). PCR amplification is performed (page 40). Xie teaches amplification may be performed using loop-medicated isothermal amplification (page 18). Xie teaches nucleic acid may be detected using fluorophore labels (page 58). Xie teaches the sample may be a virus or bacteria (page 22).
Xie does not teach the nucleic acid is SARS.
However, Morris teaches droplet digital PCR may be used to detect MERS and SARS
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected additional viruses, such as SARS and MERS using the method of Xie to allow detection of a clinically relevant virus.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
July 22, 2025