DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11-12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (hereinafter Gu)(US 2021/0007229) as in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2020/0273379).
Regarding claim 1, Gu teaches a support, comprising two support areas and a bending area connected between the two support areas, wherein the support is configured to bend in the bending area, hard plate layer(foldable portion12 and unfoldable portion 11(hard part layer), Fig. 5;also Figs. 4, 8),
at least one gap is disposed on a part that is of the hard plate layer and that corresponds to the bending area, wherein the gap penetrates a thickness direction of the hard plate layer, a flexible strip is disposed in each gap, a length direction of the flexible strip is the same as an extension direction of the gap(P[0042], gap between the groove at the hinge region 12a and the adhesive layer 3a, Fig. 2).
Gu did not teach specifically there is a spacing exists between the flexible strip and a side wall of the gap in a width direction of the flexible strip the flexible layer is located on the first surface of the hard plate layer, the flexible strip is fastened to the flexible layer. However, Wang teaches in an analogous art there is a spacing between the flexible strip and a side wall of the gap in a width direction of the flexible strip(P[0049-0052], plurality of strip grooves partially filled with a buffer material 3); the flexible layer is located on the first surface of the hard plate layer, the flexible strip is fastened to the flexible layer(Wang fig. 12; flexible strip with gap on one side and hard plate layer on other side). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the there is a spacing between the flexible strip and a side wall of the gap in a width direction of the flexible strip, the flexible layer is located on the first surface of the hard plate layer, the flexible strip is fastened to the flexible layer in order to have improved interference fit.
Regarding claim 2, Gu in view of Wang teaches the support according to claim 1, wherein the hard plate layer comprises a first surface and a second surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the hard plate layer, and the flexible layer covers at least the bending area(Gu: P[0044-0065]; also Figs. 1-15).
Regarding claim 5, GU in view of Wang teaches the support according to claim 2, wherein an edge of the flexible layer is embedded in the hard plate layer(Gu: Fig. 8; elastic layer 6 is embedded into hard plate layer 5).
Regarding claim 6, Gu in view of Wang teaches the support, wherein the hard plate layer comprises the first surface and the second surface that are disposed opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the hard plate layer, and the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap gradually increases in a direction from the first surface to the second surface(Wang: fig 11).
Regarding claim 7, Gu in view of Wang teaches the support according to claim 6, wherein a width of the gap is the same at each position in a thickness direction of the support(Gu: Fig. 7, width of item 33 in Fig.7) and a width of the flexible strip gradually decreases in the direction from the first surface to the second surface of the hard plate layer(Wang: Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, Gu in view of Wang teaches the support according to claim 6, wherein a width of the flexible strip is the same at each position in a thickness direction of the support, and a width of the gap gradually increases in the direction from the first surface to the second surface of the hard plate layer(Wang: Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Gu teaches the support according to claim 2, wherein both the flexible layer and the flexible strip are made of a deformable elastic material(P[0045], elastic connection structure).
Regarding claim 12, Gu in view of Wang teaches the support according to claim 2, wherein a material for making the flexible layer and a material for making the flexible strip are the same or different, and the flexible layer and the flexible strip are obtained by using a same process(Gu: P[0050], material identical so as to facilitate the manufacture).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Gu in view of Wang teaches the electronic device according claim 17, wherein, the hard plate layer comprises a first surface and a second surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the hard plate layer, the flexible layer is located on the first surface of the hard plate layer, and the flexible layer covers at least the bending area(Gu: Fig.5; foldable and unfoldable portions, P[0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Gu in view of Wang teaches the electronic device according claim 18, wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area, a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area is less than a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, a thickness of the flexible layer is a difference between the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area and the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, the flexible layer covers the bending area, and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is coplanar with a part that is of the first surface and that is located in the support area(Gu: Fig.5; foldable and unfoldable portions, P[0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 20, Gu in view of Wang teaches the electronic device according claim 18, wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area and the two support areas, both the first surface and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip are smooth surfaces, and the surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is parallel to the first surface(Gu: Fig.5; foldable and unfoldable portions, P[0048-0049]).
Claim(s) 3-4, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (hereinafter Gu)(US 2021/0007229) as in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2020/0273379) and He (US 2022/0007530).
Regarding claim 3, Gu in view of Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area, a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area is less than a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, a thickness of the flexible layer is a difference between the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area and the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, the flexible layer covers the bending area, and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is coplanar with a part that is of the first surface and that is located in the support area. However, He teaches in an analogous art wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area, a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area is less than a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, a thickness of the flexible layer is a difference between the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area and the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, the flexible layer covers the bending area, and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is coplanar with a part that is of the first surface and that is located in the support area.
(Fig. 4-6). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the support wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area, a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area is less than a thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, a thickness of the flexible layer is a difference between the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the bending area and the thickness of the hard plate layer located in the support area, the flexible layer covers the bending area, and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is coplanar with a part that is of the first surface and that is located in the support area in order to have optimum design choices.
Regarding claim 4, Gu in view of Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area and the two support areas, both the first surface and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip are smooth surfaces, and the surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is parallel to the first surface. However, He teaches in an analogous art wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area and the two support areas, both the first surface and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip are smooth surfaces, and the surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is parallel to the first surface(Fig. 4-6). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the support wherein the flexible layer covers the bending area and the two support areas, both the first surface and a surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip are smooth surfaces, and the surface that is of the flexible layer and that is away from the flexible strip is parallel to the first surface in order to have optimum design choices.
Regarding claim 10, Gu in view of Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the hard plate layer comprises a first surface and a second surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the hard plate layer, the flexible strip comprises a third surface and a fourth surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction, a thickness of the flexible strip is the same as a thickness of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area, the third surface of the flexible strip is coplanar with the first surface of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area, and the fourth surface of the flexible strip is coplanar with the second surface of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area. However, He teaches in an analogous art wherein the hard plate layer comprises a first surface and a second surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the hard plate layer, the flexible strip comprises a third surface and a fourth surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction, a thickness of the flexible strip is the same as a thickness of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area, the third surface of the flexible strip is coplanar with the first surface of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area, and the fourth surface of the flexible strip is coplanar with the second surface of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area(Fig. 4-6). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the support wherein the hard plate layer comprises a first surface and a second surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the hard plate layer, the flexible strip comprises a third surface and a fourth surface that are disposed opposite to each other in a thickness direction, a thickness of the flexible strip is the same as a thickness of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area, the third surface of the flexible strip is coplanar with the first surface of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area, and the fourth surface of the flexible strip is coplanar with the second surface of the part that is of the hard plate layer and that is in the bending area in order to have optimum design choices.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (hereinafter Gu)(US 2021/0007229) as in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2020/0273379) and Wu et al. (hereinafter Wu)(CN 207603695).
Regarding claim 9, Gu in view of Wang teaches the support according to, wherein a width of the gap is the same at each position in a thickness direction of the support (Gu: Fig. 7, width of item 33 in Fig.7). GU in view of Wang did not teach specifically the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap is the same at each position in the thickness direction of the support. However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap is the same at each position in the thickness direction of the support(Fig. 11, flexible support item 40 and gap item 20). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the support wherein the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap is the same at each position in the thickness direction of the support in order to have optimum design choices.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (hereinafter Gu)(US 2021/0007229) as in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2020/0273379) and Tang (WO 2020/248418 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Gu in view of Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein a thickness of the flexible layer ranges from 0.01 mm to 0.05 mm. However, Tang teaches in an analogous art wherein a thickness of the flexible layer ranges from 0.01 mm to 0.05 mm(pages 3-4; also Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use support wherein a thickness of the flexible layer ranges from 0.01 mm to 0.05 mm in order to have optimum design choices.
Regarding claim 14, Gu in view of Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein a thickness of the hard plate layer ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.15 mm. However, Tang teaches in an analogous art wherein a thickness of the hard plate layer ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.15 mm (pages 3-4; also Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use support wherein a thickness of the hard plate layer ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.15 mm in order to have optimum design choices.
Regarding claim 15, Gu in view of Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein a width of the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap in the width direction of the flexible strip ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.2 mm. However, Tang teaches in an analogous art wherein a width of the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap in the width direction of the flexible strip ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.2 mm (pages 3-4; also Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use support wherein a width of the spacing between the flexible strip and the side wall of the gap in the width direction of the flexible strip ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.2 mm in order to have optimum design choices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gu in view of Wang does not teach or suggest “a flexible layer located on a first surface of the hard plate layer, wherein the flexible strip is fastened to the flexible layer”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gu in view of Wang teaches the flexible layer is located on the first surface of the hard plate layer, wherein the flexible strip is fastened to the flexible layer(Wang fig. 12; flexible strip with gap on one side and hard plate layer on other side; Gu: P[0044-0065]; also Figs. 1-15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647