DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 03/16/2026, claims 1, 9, 11, 12, and 24 have been amended. Claims 6, 14, and 15 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 16-24 are pending and under examination.
Although Applicant indicates claim 16 is currently amended, no amendment has been made. The pending claim 16 is the same as claim 16 submitted on 09/26/2025.
Applicant indicates claim 24 is previously presented, but amendment has been made as “the tray body is provided [[in]]with an air outlet” in line 16.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drying unit” in claims 1, 8, 9, 16, 17, 19, 23, and 24, “air outlet apparatus” in claims 5 and 11, and “detection unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 16-19, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenhof et al. (EP 3284382A2, cited on 08/07/2023 IDS, hereinafter Schoenhof), in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110881900A, cited on 11/02/2022 IDS, hereinafter Zhang) and Jung et al. (US 2018/0296051, hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 1, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a tray for a cleaning device (service device 1 for a cleaning device 2), comprising:
a tray body, wherein an outer surface of the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region]. The region is a place where a drying device 5 and a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is positioned when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and a mounting cavity is provided in the tray body; and a drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)), mounted in the mounting cavity (fig. 3, a cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device 5 including heating elements 15 is located within the cavity); and configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on a roller brush in the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush] of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element);
the cleaning device comprises a shell (device housing 3) and a roller brush mounted to the shell (cleaning element 11 is mounted to the device housing 3);
wherein the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner (the device housing 3 [correspond to the recited shell] comprises a cover which is shown as a semi-circular plate covering an upper side of the cleaning element 11 in fig. 3); but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush groove, when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-6:7, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component introduces hot air into the drying tank 111 through an air duct. Thus, the air duct faces the drying tank 111), when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush (Zhang fig. 5, as discussed above, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove]; Schoenhof fig. 3, an air conveyor 6 of the cleaning device 2 blows air and the air flows along a channel formed by the cleaning device 2 including the roller brush cover and the receiving area 4 of the service device 1 which can include the roller brush groove as discussed above. The air flows through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove and the air outlet to form the airflow channel as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air from the air outlet. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
Jung teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove (figs. 1-2, when a robot cleaner docks to a maintenance station, a brush unit 541 of the robot cleaner is placed an opening [corresponds to the recited groove] of the station; figs. 14 and 18, air is blown from the opening to the brush unit. An air flow shown by an arrow is positioned higher than a bottom of the opening).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to position the air outlet higher than the bottom as taught by Jung. It helps cleaning or drying the brush unit effectively.
Regarding claim 2, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drying unit comprises a heating apparatus, and a position of the heating apparatus corresponds to a position of the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 8:39-40 and fig. 3, the drying device 5 comprises a plurality of heating elements 15 [correspond to the recited heating apparatus] at the roller brush accommodation region).
Regarding claim 3, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein a heat outlet is formed in the roller brush groove at a position corresponding to the heating apparatus (Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-34 and fig. 5, the drying assembly [corresponds to the recited heating apparatus] is connected with the cleaning tank 111 through the air duct [corresponds to the recited heat outlet]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the heat outlet as taught by Zhang in order to promote fast and effective drying of the roller brush.
Regarding claim 4, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein a heat conduction water-stop plate is arranged between the heating apparatus and the heat outlet (Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-34 and fig. 5, as discussed in claim 1 above, the supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. The drying assembly [corresponds to the recited heating apparatus] is connected with the cleaning tank 111 through the air duct [corresponds to the recited heat outlet]; Schoenhof English translation, p. 8:31-40 and fig. 4, Schoenhof also discloses transmission of hot air generated by the heating elements 15 [correspond to the recited heating apparatus] to the surface of the receiving area 4. Fig. 4 of Schoenhof shows an alternative embodiment wherein a receiving plate 8 [corresponds to the recited heat conduction water-stop plate] covers an opening [corresponds to the recited heat outlet] and the heating elements 15 below the opening. The receiving plate 8 has no air outlet openings. While the plate 8 can conduct heat to the receiving area 4, therefore, it can prevent water leaking into the drying device 5 unlike another receiving plate 8 of another embodiment where the receiving plate includes the air outlet openings 10 as described in figs. 5-6 and Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:1-18).
Regarding claim 5, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drying unit comprises an air outlet apparatus (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The air outlet apparatus includes, but not limited to, a fan and it generates airflow (¶ 0078 and 0084)) (Schoenhof fig. 6, the drying device 5 comprises an air conveyor 6 [corresponds to the recited air outlet apparatus] which is a fan); and a ventilation channel is provided in the mounting cavity, and the air outlet apparatus (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as explained above) is communicated with the air outlet through the ventilation channel (Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:9-18, air generated by the air conveyor 6 is directed to the air outlet openings 10. A space between the air conveyor and the air outlet opening forms a ventilation channel and is located in the mounting cavity where the drying device 5 is placed).
Regarding claim 7, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a detection unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The detection unit may be any sensor including a pressure sensor, a light sensor, or a magnetic induction sensor used for detecting the cleaning device 30 disposed on the tray body 10 (¶ 0085)) and a controller (Zhang English translation, p. 8:24-25, the base station 100 comprises a position detecting device and a controller); wherein, the controller is electrically connected with the detection unit and the drying unit respectively (Zhang English translation, p. 8:24-28, the controller communicates with the detecting device for detecting the cleaning robot 200 back to the supporting table 11 of the base station 100; p. 6:15-16, the controller communicates with the drying assembly); and the controller controls the drying unit to run when the detection unit detects a triggering event (Zhang English translation, p. 6:13-19, the controller starts running the drying assembly automatically after wet cleaning of the brush 21; p. 6:30-37, when the cleaning robot 200 returns to the base station 100, the controller automatically starts cleaning of the brush 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung to provide the detection unit and the control unit as taught by Zhang so that cleaning process of the roller brush can be done automatically when the cleaner returns to the base station (Zhang English translation, p. 10:29-34).
Regarding claim 17, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the tray provides electric energy needed by the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)) to run while charging a cleaning device (Schoenhof English translation, p. 7:30-39, the service device 1 [corresponds to the recited tray] includes an electrical connection 16 for providing an electrical contact with a battery charging station of the service device 1 and also connects to the cleaning device 2. The drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 can be started while charging the cleaning device 2).
Regarding claim 18, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the groove bottom of the roller brush groove is the lowest point of the roller brush groove (see Zhang fig. 5), but does not disclose the heating apparatus is located at groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
However, the drying device of Schoenhof is disposed underneath the surface of the receiving area of the service device 1 [corresponds to the recited tray], and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung to provide the heating apparatus at the groove bottom in order to supply heat to the bottom of the roller brush groove. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 9, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a cleaning apparatus system, comprising a cleaning device (cleaning device 2) and a tray (service device 1);
wherein, the cleaning device comprises a shell (device housing 3) and a roller brush mounted to the shell (cleaning element 11 is mounted to the device housing 3); and
the tray comprises:
a tray body, wherein the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region]. The region is a place where a drying device 5 and a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is positioned when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), the roller brush is located in the roller brush accommodation region when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray (figs. 2-3, a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed at the roller brush accommodation region when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and a mounting cavity is provided in the tray body (fig. 3, a cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device is located within the cavity); and
a drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)), wherein the drying unit is mounted in the mounting cavity (fig. 3, a cavity [corresponds to the recited mounting cavity] is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 is located within the cavity), and the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) is configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on the roller brush in the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush] of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element),
wherein the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner (the device housing 3 [correspond to the recited shell] comprises a cover which is shown as a semi-circular plate covering an upper side of the cleaning element 11 in fig. 3), but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided in an air outlet facing the roller brush groove, when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided in an air outlet facing the roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-6:7, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component introduces hot air into the drying tank 111 through an air duct. Thus, the air duct faces the drying tank 111), when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush (Zhang fig. 5, as discussed above, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove]; Schoenhof fig. 3, an air conveyor 6 of the cleaning device 2 blows air and the air flows along a channel formed by the cleaning device 2 including the roller brush cover and the receiving area 4 of the service device 1 which can include the roller brush groove as discussed above. The air flows through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove and the air outlet as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air from the air outlet. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
Jung teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove (figs. 1-2, when a robot cleaner docks to a maintenance station, a brush unit 541 of the robot cleaner is placed an opening [corresponds to the recited groove] of the station; figs. 14 and 18, air is blown from the opening to the brush unit. An air flow shown by an arrow is positioned higher than a bottom of the opening).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to position the air outlet higher than the bottom as taught by Jung. It helps cleaning or drying the brush unit effectively.
Regarding claim 10, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the drying unit comprises a heating apparatus, and a position of the heating apparatus corresponds to a position of the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 8:39-40 and fig. 3, the drying device 5 comprises a plurality of heating elements 15 [correspond to the recited heating apparatus] at the roller brush accommodation region).
Regarding claim 11, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the drying unit comprises an air outlet apparatus (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The air outlet apparatus includes, but not limited to, a fan and it generates airflow (¶ 0078 and 0084)) (Schoenhof, fig. 6, the drying device 5 comprises an air conveyor 6 [corresponds to the recited air outlet apparatus] which is a fan); and
a ventilation channel is provided in the mounting cavity, and the air outlet apparatus (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as explained above) is communicated with the air outlet through the ventilation channel (Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:9-18, air generated by the air conveyor 6 is directed to the air outlet opening 10. A space between the air conveyor and the air outlet opening forms a ventilation channel and is located in the mounting cavity where the drying device 5 is placed).
Regarding claim 19, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the tray provides electric energy needed by the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)) to run while charging the cleaning device (Schoenhof English translation, p. 7:30-39, the service device 1 [corresponds to the recited tray] includes an electrical connection 16 for providing an electrical contact with a battery charging station of the service device 1 and also connects to the cleaning device 2. The drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 can be started while charging the cleaning device 2).
Regarding claim 16, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a cleaning apparatus system, comprising a cleaning device (cleaning device 2) and a tray (service device 1);
wherein, the cleaning device comprises a roller brush (fig. 3 and Schoenhof English translation, p. 6:8-9, the cleaning device 2 comprises a cleaning element 11 which can be a roller); and
the tray comprises a tray body, wherein the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region where a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), a ventilation channel is provided in the mounting cavity (Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:9-18, a cavity [corresponds to the recited mounting cavity] is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4. Air generated by the air conveyor 6 is directed to the air outlet opening 10. A space between the air conveyor and the air outlet opening forms a ventilation channel and is located in the cavity where the drying device 5 is placed), and a drying unit is arranged in a mounting cavity (fig. 3, the mounting cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device is located within the cavity);
wherein, the cleaning device is located on the tray body, the roller brush is located in the roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region] where a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and the drying unit is aligned with the roller brush accommodation region and the roller brush (fig. 3, the drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is aligned with the roller brush accommodation region and the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush]);
wherein, the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)) is configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on the roller brush (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] including the heating elements 15 is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element); and
wherein the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush accommodation region (fig. 6 and Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:5-8, air outlet openings 10 [correspond to the recited air outlet] are provided in the receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] facing the roller brush accommodation region), but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-34, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component is connected to the cleaning tank 111 through an air duct).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet flushes towards the groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
Jung teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet flushes towards the groove bottom of the roller brush groove (figs. 1-2, when a robot cleaner docks to a maintenance station, a brush unit 541 of the robot cleaner is placed an opening [corresponds to the recited groove] of the station; figs. 14 and 18, air is blown from the opening to the brush unit. An air flow shown by an arrow is positioned higher than a bottom of the opening. At least some air blown in the opening of Jung would flow toward the opening bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to position the air outlet higher than the bottom as taught by Jung. It helps cleaning or drying the brush unit effectively.
Regarding claim 23, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the tray provides electric energy needed by the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)) to run while charge the cleaning device (Schoenhof English translation, p. 7:30-39, the service device 1 [corresponds to the recited tray] includes an electrical connection 16 for providing an electrical contact with a battery charging station of the service device 1 and also connects to the cleaning device 2. The drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 can be started while charging the cleaning device 2).
Regarding claim 24, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a cleaning apparatus system, comprising a cleaning device (cleaning device 2) and a tray (service device 1);
wherein, the cleaning device comprises a shell (device housing 3) and a roller brush mounted to the shell (cleaning element 11 is mounted to the device housing 3), the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner (the device housing 3 [correspond to the recited shell] comprises a cover which is shown as a semi-circular plate covering an upper side of the cleaning element 11 in fig. 3); and
the tray comprises: a tray body, wherein the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region]. The region is a place where a drying device 5 and a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is positioned when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), the roller brush is located in the roller brush accommodation region when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray (figs. 2-3, a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed at the roller brush accommodation region when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and a mounting cavity is provided in the tray body(fig. 3, a cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device is located within the cavity); and
a drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)), wherein the drying unit is mounted in the mounting cavity (fig. 3, a cavity [corresponds to the recited mounting cavity] is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 is located within the cavity), and the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) is configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on the roller brush in the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush] of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element), but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush groove.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-6:7, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component introduces hot air into the drying tank 111 through an air duct. Thus, the air duct faces the drying tank 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove and the air outlet as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air from the air outlet. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang teaches when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush (Zhang fig. 5, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove]; Schoenhof fig. 3, an air conveyor 6 of the cleaning device 2 blows air and the air flows along a channel formed by the cleaning device 2 including the roller brush cover and the receiving area 4 of the service device 1 which can include the roller brush groove as discussed above. The air flows through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus system of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to provide the airflow channel so that air for drying the roller brush is not lost and effective air drying can be achieved.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang still does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet is capable of flushing towards the roller brush through the airflow channel.
Jung teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet is capable of flushing towards the roller brush through the airflow channel (figs. 1-2, when a robot cleaner docks to a maintenance station, a brush unit 541 of the robot cleaner is placed an opening [corresponds to the recited groove] of the station; figs. 14 and 18, air is blown from the opening to the brush unit. An air flow shown by an arrow is positioned higher than a bottom of the opening. By combining with Schoenhof, at least some air blown in the opening of Jung would flow toward the roller brush through the recited airflow channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to position the air outlet higher than the bottom as taught by Jung. It helps cleaning or drying the brush unit effectively.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenhof in view of Zhang and Jung, as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Seehausen, Jr. (US 2017/0241711, hereinafter Seehausen).
Regarding claim 8, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the tray as in the rejection of claim 7, but does not disclose a timer; wherein, the timer is electrically connected with the controller, and the controller controls the timer to run while controlling the drying unit to run; and the controller controls the drying unit to be turned off when a timing length of the timer is equal to preset time.
Seehausen teaches, in a drying device and capable of solving primary problem, a timer; wherein, the timer is electrically connected with the controller, and the controller controls the timer to run while controlling the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)) to run; and the controller controls the drying unit to be turned off when a timing length of the timer is equal to preset time (¶ 0044, a drying device comprises a controller 24 to operate a heating element 22. A timer element is incorporated to control the heating element by turning on the heating element and turning off after a predetermined time period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung to provide the timer as taught by Seehausen. By shutting off the heating element automatically after the predetermined time, it may avoid over-heating of the heating element and prevent from damaging the heating element.
Claims 12, 13, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenhof in view of Zhang and Jung, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Ogawa et al. (US 2006/0288521, hereinafter Ogawa).
Regarding claim 12, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose an air vent is formed in the roller brush cover.
Ogawa teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, an air vent is formed in the roller brush cover (First, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 7, the service device 1 can accommodate an upright cleaning device 2. Ogawa discloses, in fig. 1, an upright vacuum cleaner comprises a case 4A [corresponds to the recited roller brush cover] and an exhaust vent 8 [corresponds to the recited air vent] is formed in a top face of the case).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaner of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung to provide the air vent as taught by Ogawa. Pressure produced near the brush roller can reduce suctioning power of the cleaner, but the air vent relieves the pressure to enhance the suction power.
Regarding claim 13, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose a suction component is further arranged in the shell; a suction port of the suction component is arranged at a bottom of the shell.
Ogawa teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a suction component is further arranged in the shell; a suction port of the suction component is arranged at a bottom of the shell (fig. 3 and ¶ 0022, a suction nozzle 4 is formed with the case 4A, 4B [corresponds to the recited shell] and an electric fan 7 is building in the suction nozzle 4. A suction port 11 is provided on a front bottom side of the nozzle 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang and Jung to provide the suction port at the bottom of the shell as taught by Ogawa in order to suction debris effectively from a floor surface to be cleaned.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang, Jung, and Ogawa further teaches the suction port is located in the roller brush groove when the roller brush is located in the roller brush groove (as discussed above, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] as shown in Zhang fig. 5; Ogawa fig. 3, the suction port 11, which is located below the rotary brush 12 of the cleaner, can be located in the roller brush groove when the cleaner is placed on the service device 1 as shown in Schoenhof fig. 5) and the suction component runs to perform drying treatment on the roller brush groove and the roller brush in the roller brush groove (Schoenhof English translation, p. 3:37-4:9, the air conveying device 6 of the cleaning device 2 can blow air toward the cleaning element 11, but it also can alter a direction of the air flow while drying device 5 is running. The altered air flow is suctioning; p. 9:9-18, the air conveyor 6 runs at the same time when the heating element 15 is energized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus system of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang, Jung, and Ogawa to run the suction component to perform drying treatment as taught by Schoenhof. It helps utilizing existing waste heat from a motor or a battery for drying the cleaner (Schoenhof English translation, p. 4:7-9).
Regarding claim 20, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang, Jung, and Ogawa teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the air vent is formed in the roller brush cover at a position opposite to the roller brush groove (Ogawa, fig. 1, as discussed in claim 12 above, an upright vacuum cleaner comprises a case 4A [corresponds to the recited roller brush cover] and an exhaust vent 8 [corresponds to the recited air vent] is formed in a top face of the case. Because a rotary brush 12 is disposed below the case, the vent is configured to be at a position opposite to the roller brush groove).
Regarding claim 21, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang, Jung, and Ogawa teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 13, the suction component runs in the drying working mode (Schoenhof English translation, p. 3:37-4:9, the air conveying device 6 of the cleaning device 2 can blow air toward the cleaning element 11, but it also can alter a direction of the air flow while drying device 5 is running. The altered air flow is suctioning; p. 9:9-18, the air conveyor 6 runs at the same time when the heating element 15 is energized).
Regarding claim 22, Schoenhof as modified by Zhang, Jung, and Ogawa teaches the cleaning apparatus system as in the rejection of claim 13, the suction component works with a first power to complete a cleaning operation on a surface to be cleaned (Schoenhof English translation, p. 8:15-18, the cleaning device 2 has an accumulator 20 which is a battery in other words. Therefore, the cleaning device runs on own battery power when it performs a cleaning operation), and the suction component works with a second power to complete drying treatment of the roller brush (Schoenhof English translation, p. 3:37-4:9, 7:34-8:6 and fig. 2, when the cleaning device 2 is fully retracted into the service device 1, an electrical contact is made through an electrical connection 16 of the service device and drying operation is performed while suctioning air flows as discussed in claim 13 above. Thus, the service device 1 may use an AC power).
Claims 1, 9, 16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenhof et al. (EP 3284382A2, cited on 08/07/2023 IDS, hereinafter Schoenhof), in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110881900A, cited on 11/02/2022 IDS, hereinafter Zhang) and Xu et al. (CN 209685883U, hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 1, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a tray for a cleaning device (service device 1 for a cleaning device 2), comprising:
a tray body, wherein an outer surface of the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region]. The region is a place where a drying device 5 and a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is positioned when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and a mounting cavity is provided in the tray body and a drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)), mounted in the mounting cavity (fig. 3, a cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device 5 including heating elements 15 is located within the cavity); and configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on a roller brush in the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush] of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element);
the cleaning device comprises a shell (device housing 3) and a roller brush mounted to the shell (cleaning element 11 is mounted to the device housing 3);
wherein the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner (the device housing 3 [correspond to the recited shell] comprises a cover which is shown as a semi-circular plate covering an upper side of the cleaning element 11 in fig. 3); but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided in an air outlet facing the roller brush groove, when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided in an air outlet facing the roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-6:7, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component introduces hot air into the drying tank 111 through an air duct. Thus, the air duct faces the drying tank 111), when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush (Zhang fig. 5, as discussed above, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove]; Schoenhof fig. 3, an air conveyor 6 of the cleaning device 2 blows air and the air flows along a channel formed by the cleaning device 2 including the roller brush cover and the receiving area 4 of the service device 1 which can include the roller brush groove as discussed above. The air flows through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove and the air outlet to form the airflow channel as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air from the air outlet. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
Xu teaches, in a drying device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove (fig. 1 and Xu English translation, p. 3:29-32, a copper waste drying device comprises a drying groove 19 wherein hot air is blown into the drying groove from an air outlet hole 5. The air outlet hole is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom. Claim does not recite an additional element for inducing the airflow from the air outlet toward the groove bottom. Although Xu does not teach a drying groove for a roller brush, the drying groove of Xu can be combined with the groove of Zhang to teach the position of the air outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller brush groove of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to provide the air outlet at the position higher than the groove bottom as taught by Xu in order to blow the hot air to the large surface of an object disposed in the drying groove so that the object can be dried rapidly.
Regarding claim 9, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a cleaning apparatus system, comprising a cleaning device (cleaning device 2) and a tray (service device 1);
wherein, the cleaning device comprises a shell (device housing 3) and a roller brush mounted to the shell (cleaning element 11 is mounted to the device housing 3); and
the tray comprises:
a tray body, wherein the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region]. The region is a place where a drying device 5 and a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is positioned when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), the roller brush is located in the roller brush accommodation region when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray (figs. 2-3, a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed at the roller brush accommodation region when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and a mounting cavity is provided in the tray body (fig. 3, a cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device is located within the cavity); and
a drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)), wherein the drying unit is mounted in the mounting cavity (fig. 3, a cavity [corresponds to the recited mounting cavity] is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 is located within the cavity), and the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) is configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on the roller brush in the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush] of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element),
wherein the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner (the device housing 3 [correspond to the recited shell] comprises a cover which is shown as a semi-circular plate covering an upper side of the cleaning element 11 in fig. 3), but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided in an air outlet facing the roller brush groove, when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided in an air outlet facing the roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-6:7, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component introduces hot air into the drying tank 111 through an air duct. Thus, the air duct faces the drying tank 111), when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush (Zhang fig. 5, as discussed above, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove]; Schoenhof fig. 3, an air conveyor 6 of the cleaning device 2 blows air and the air flows along a channel formed by the cleaning device 2 including the roller brush cover and the receiving area 4 of the service device 1 which can include the roller brush groove as discussed above. The air flows through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove and the air outlet as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air from the air outlet. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
Xu teaches, in a drying device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove (fig. 1 and Xu English translation, p. 3:29-32, a copper waste drying device comprises a drying groove 19 wherein hot air is blown into the drying groove from an air outlet hole 5. The air outlet hole is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom. Claim does not recite an additional element for inducing the airflow from the air outlet toward the groove bottom. Although Xu does not teach a drying groove for a roller brush, the drying groove of Xu can be combined with the groove of Zhang to teach the position of the air outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller brush groove of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to provide the air outlet at the position higher than the groove bottom as taught by Xu in order to blow the hot air to the large surface of an object disposed in the drying groove so that the object can be dried rapidly.
Regarding claim 16, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a cleaning apparatus system, comprising a cleaning device (cleaning device 2) and a tray (service device 1);
wherein, the cleaning device comprises a roller brush (fig. 3 and Schoenhof English translation, p. 6:8-9, the cleaning device 2 comprises a cleaning element 11 which can be a roller); and
the tray comprises a tray body, wherein the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region where a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), a ventilation channel is provided in the mounting cavity (Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:9-18, a cavity [corresponds to the recited mounting cavity] is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4. Air generated by the air conveyor 6 is directed to the air outlet opening 10. A space between the air conveyor and the air outlet opening forms a ventilation channel and is located in the cavity where the drying device 5 is placed), and a drying unit is arranged in a mounting cavity (fig. 3, the mounting cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device is located within the cavity);
wherein, the cleaning device is located on the tray body, the roller brush is located in the roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region] where a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and the drying unit is aligned with the roller brush accommodation region and the roller brush (fig. 3, the drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is aligned with the roller brush accommodation region and the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush]);
wherein, the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)) is configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on the roller brush (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] including the heating elements 15 is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element); and
wherein the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush accommodation region (fig. 6 and Schoenhof English translation, p. 9:5-8, air outlet openings 10 [correspond to the recited air outlet] are provided in the receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] facing the roller brush accommodation region), but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-34, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component is connected to the cleaning tank 111 through an air duct).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet flushes towards the groove bottom of the roller brush groove.
Xu teaches, in a drying device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet flushes towards the groove bottom of the roller brush groove (fig. 1 and Xu English translation, p. 3:29-32, a copper waste drying device comprises a drying groove 19 wherein hot air is blown into the drying groove from an air outlet hole 5. The air outlet hole is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom. Claim does not recite an additional element for inducing the airflow from the air outlet toward the groove bottom. At least some hot air blown from the air outlet hole of Xu into the groove would flow toward the groove bottom. Although Xu does not teach a drying groove for a roller brush, the drying groove of Xu can be combined with the groove of Zhang to teach the position of the air outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller brush groove of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to provide the air outlet at the position higher than the groove bottom as taught by Xu in order to blow the hot air to the large surface of an object disposed in the drying groove so that the object can be dried rapidly.
Regarding claim 24, Schoenhof discloses, in fig. 3, a cleaning apparatus system, comprising a cleaning device (cleaning device 2) and a tray (service device 1);
wherein, the cleaning device comprises a shell (device housing 3) and a roller brush mounted to the shell (cleaning element 11 is mounted to the device housing 3), the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner (the device housing 3 [correspond to the recited shell] comprises a cover which is shown as a semi-circular plate covering an upper side of the cleaning element 11 in fig. 3); and
the tray comprises: a tray body, wherein the tray body is provided with a roller brush accommodation region (figs. 2-3, a receiving area 4 [corresponds to the recited tray body] is provided with a region [corresponds to the recited roller brush accommodation region]. The region is a place where a drying device 5 and a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is positioned when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), the roller brush is located in the roller brush accommodation region when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray (figs. 2-3, a cleaning element 11 of a cleaning device 2 is placed at the roller brush accommodation region when cleaning device 2 is docked to the service device 1), and a mounting cavity is provided in the tray body(fig. 3, a cavity is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device is located within the cavity); and
a drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The drying unit includes a heating apparatus (¶ 0010) and optionally includes an air outlet apparatus (¶ 0013)), wherein the drying unit is mounted in the mounting cavity (fig. 3, a cavity [corresponds to the recited mounting cavity] is formed underneath of a surface of the receiving area 4 and a drying device 5 including the heating elements 15 is located within the cavity), and the drying unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) is configured to perform a drying treatment on the roller brush accommodation region and on the roller brush in the roller brush accommodation region (Schoenhof English translation, p. 2:13-15, a drying device 5 [corresponds to the recited drying unit] is associated with the brush accommodation region of the receiving area for drying a partial area of the cleaning device 2. Since the cleaning element 11 [corresponds to the recited roller brush] of the cleaning device 2 is placed in the brush accommodation region, the drying device dries the cleaning element), but does not disclose the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush groove.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus system field of endeavor, the roller brush accommodation region is a roller brush groove, the tray body is provided with an air outlet facing the roller brush groove (fig. 5 and Zhang English translation, p. 5:18-6:7, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited tray] and a cleaning robot 200 having a brush 21. A supporting table 11 [corresponds to the recited tray body] includes a tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove] for wet cleaning and hot air drying of the brush 21. A drying component introduces hot air into the drying tank 111 through an air duct. Thus, the air duct faces the drying tank 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tray of Schoenhof to provide the roller brush groove and the air outlet as taught by Zhang so that the groove forms a partially confined space for the roller brush to face more flowing air from the air outlet. It enhances heat transfer for effective drying of the roller brush.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang teaches when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush (Zhang fig. 5, Zhang teaches the brush 21 of the cleaning device is disposed in the cleaning tank 111 [corresponds to the recited roller brush groove]; Schoenhof fig. 3, an air conveyor 6 of the cleaning device 2 blows air and the air flows along a channel formed by the cleaning device 2 including the roller brush cover and the receiving area 4 of the service device 1 which can include the roller brush groove as discussed above. The air flows through an outer lateral surface of the roller brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus system of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to provide the airflow channel so that air for drying the roller brush is not lost and effective air drying can be achieved.
Schoenhof as modified by Zhang still does not disclose the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet is capable of flushing towards the roller brush through the airflow channel.
Xu teaches, in a drying device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove, such that airflow from the air outlet flushes towards the groove bottom of the roller brush groove (fig. 1 and Xu English translation, p. 3:29-32, a copper waste drying device comprises a drying groove 19 wherein hot air is blown into the drying groove from an air outlet hole 5. The air outlet hole is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom. Claim does not recite an additional element for inducing the airflow from the air outlet toward the groove bottom. By combining with Schoenhof, at least some hot air blown from the air outlet hole of Xu into the groove would flow toward the roller brush through the recited airflow channel. Although Xu does not teach a drying groove for a roller brush, the drying groove of Xu can be combined with the groove of Zhang to teach the position of the air outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller brush groove of Schoenhof as modified by Zhang to provide the air outlet at the position higher than the groove bottom as taught by Xu in order to blow the hot air to the large surface of an object disposed in the drying groove so that the object can be dried rapidly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Schoenhof does not disclose, teach, or suggest claim limitations that the shell comprises a roller brush cover, and the roller brush cover is arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner; when the cleaning device is disposed on the tray, the roller brush groove and the roller brush cover form an airflow channel for an airflow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts Schoenhof does not disclose the air outlet provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove. Examiner acknowledges Schoenhof does disclose the air outlet facing the roller brush groove. Zhang teaches; however, hot air is introduced into a drying tank through an air duct (Zhang English translation, p. 5:30-6:7), but Zhang does not disclose a location of the air outlet. Thus, Jung is cited to clearly teach that air is blown from the opening to the brush unit wherein the air flows higher than a bottom of the opening (figs. 14 and 18).
However, Applicant argues Jung is silent in providing a roller brush cover being arranged at an outer side of the roller brush in a covering manner for guiding the air flow to flow through along an outer lateral surface of the roller brush. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Jung is cited to teach the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove. The roller brush cover is taught by Schoenhof. Schoenhof discloses the device housing 3 (corresponds to the recited shell), and the device housing comprises a semi-circular plate as the recited roller brush cover (see fig. 3). The airflow out of the roller brush groove would flow through an outer surface of the roller brush along the recited roller brush cover.
Similarly, Applicant argues Xu also fails to cure deficiency of Schoenhof because Xu does not teach the shell comprising the roller brush cover. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, Xu is also cited to teach the air outlet is provided at a position with a height higher than a height of a groove bottom of the roller brush groove. The shell of the cleaning device comprising the roller brush cover is taught by Schoenhof.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723