DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 3-4 are amended.
Claims 1-6 are examined as follow:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 31th 2022 and October 31th 2023 ware filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “conveying means” in claims 1, and 5-6 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the word “means" coupled with functional language “that conveys…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the “means” is not preceded with a sufficient structural modifier, except just a term “conveying”. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “conveying means" has been described in Paragraph 0012 cited: “…In the above-described drawing method, the conveying means may have a cylindrical shape, and include a conveying drum that supports the substrate on part of a region of an outer periphery and conveys the substrate by rotating about a central shaft of the cylinder, and the conveying drum may rotate for a time or a rotation angle…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second -paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite, because:
the limitation “…a pattern…” is recited twice in the claim line 10 and 12. It is unclear how many pattern is being claimed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that such limitation is not the same pattern, because based on the what the limitation follow, in line 10 it read “…a pattern in a width…” and in line 12 it read “…a pattern in the width…”. It is suggested that If such assumption is inaccurate, further amendment to clarify is recommended.
The limitation “…a beam for exposure…” in recited twice in line 2 and 8, it is unclear how many beam is being claimed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that they are the same. It is suggested the modify the “a beam for exposure” in line 8 to “the beam for exposure”.
Claim 5 is indefinite, because:
the limitation “…a pattern…” is recited twice in the claim line 12 and 14 . It is unclear how many pattern is being claimed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that such limitation is not the same pattern, because based on the what the limitation follow, in line 12 it read “…a pattern in a width…” and in line 14 it read “…a pattern in the width…”. It is suggested that If such assumption is inaccurate, further amendment to clarify is recommended.
The limitation “…a beam for exposure…” in recited twice in line 2 and 6-7, it is unclear how many beam is being claimed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that they are the same. It is suggested the modify the “a beam for exposure” in line 6-7 to “the beam for exposure”.
Claim 6 is indefinite, because:
the limitation “…a pattern…” is recited twice in the claim line 11 and 13 . It is unclear how many pattern is being claimed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that such limitation is not the same pattern, because based on the what the limitation follow, in line 11 it read “…a pattern in a width…” and in line 13 it read “…a pattern in the width…”. It is suggested that If such assumption is inaccurate, further amendment to clarify is recommended.
The limitation “…a beam for exposure…” in recited twice in line 3 and 9-10, it is unclear how many beam is being claimed. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that they are the same. It is suggested the modify the “a beam for exposure” in line 9-10 to “the beam for exposure”.
Claims 2-4 are all dependent claims of 1, and are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
In Claim 6, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter of signal per se, even though the present application’s specification does discuss medium with 'non-transitory' but the specification uses open ended language so the implication is it could cover the BRI. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims therefore cover forms of non‐transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. The specification appears to be open ended about what comprises a computer readable medium. Accordingly, since the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 6 covers a signal per se, the claims are considered as covering non‐statutory subject matter (In Re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1436, 1356‐57 Fed. Cir. 2007; Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. 101, 24 Aug 2009 p. 2). Accordingly, the recited medium of claim 19 is nonstatutory subject matter. The Examiner respectfully recommends amending the preamble of claim 19 to "A non‐transitory tangible computer‐readable storage medium…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by JP2016224301A herein set forth as JP224301A.
Regarding claim 1, JP224301A discloses a drawing method to be executed by a drawing device (a roll-to-roll type exposure apparatus, fig.1) for drawing a wiring pattern by irradiating a substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) having a long sheet shape (refer to the shape of a long substrate “W” in fig.1) with a beam for exposure (exposure unit #30, fig.1) while conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) in a longitudinal direction (refer to the direction of “M” in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1),
wherein the drawing device (a roll-to-roll type exposure apparatus, fig.1) comprises:
conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) that conveys the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) along the longitudinal direction (refer to the direction of “M” in fig.1); and
at least one head (exposure unit #30, fig.1) and for exposure that is provided opposite to part of a region (refer to the region underneath the exposure unit #30 in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) to be conveyed by the conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) and that emits a beam for exposure (exposure unit #30, fig.1) toward the part of the region (refer to the region underneath the exposure unit #30 in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1),
wherein the wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) includes first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), in which a pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) in a width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) the changes in the longitudinal direction (refer to fig.7), and second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), in which a pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3 and 7) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) does not change in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”), wherein drawing data for drawing the wiring pattern (refer to the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) includes two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) representing a two-dimensional pattern (referring to the conveying mean movement and the exposure unit’s beam movement) of the first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), one-dimensional image data (referring the exposure unit beam movement data) representing a one-dimensional pattern (referring the exposure unit beam movement) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), and information representing lengths in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3),
the method comprising:
drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3 and 7) of the first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by scanning the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) based on the two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) and conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1); and
drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3 and 7) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by repeatedly irradiating the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) with the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) in the one-dimensional pattern (referring the exposure unit beam movement) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) based on the one-dimensional image data (referring the exposure unit beam movement data) and conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) for a length (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) determined based on the information representing lengths (refer as the conveying speed).
Regarding claim 2, JP224301A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP224301A further discloses wherein the two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) is a two-dimensional bitmap data (refer as image in citation below and to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data), wherein the one-dimensional image data (referring the exposure unit beam movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) is one-dimensional bitmap data (refer as image in citation below and the exposure unit’s beam movement), and wherein the information (refer as conveying speed) representing lengths (refer to “position information” cited in Page 3, 7th paragraph below) is attached to a header (refer to “…The image captured by each alignment camera 41 is subjected to image processing by the image processing unit 60a (see FIG. 4), and the position information of the pattern alignment mark MP is acquired by the mark position detecting means 60b…” in page 3, 7th paragraph below) of the one- dimensional bitmap data (refer to Page 3, 7th paragraph cited: “…The pair of alignment cameras 41 is installed on the upstream side of the exposure unit 51 and images the pattern alignment marks MP formed on the long substrate W by exposure. The image captured by each alignment camera 41 is subjected to image processing by the image processing unit 60a (see FIG. 4), and the position information of the pattern alignment mark MP is acquired by the mark position detecting means 60b…”, also Page 4 2nd paragraph cited: “…The image processing unit 60a (mark position detecting means) acquires the position information of the substrate end surface EW, so that the exposed divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 are twisted (meandering) and the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 are exposed obliquely. Can be prevented from protruding outside the workpiece. Specifically, for example, when determining the exposure positions of the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5, the X direction correction amount of the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 is at least one pattern alignment mark MP of the pair of pattern alignment data MP. The Y direction correction amount is determined based on the position information of at least one substrate end face EW or the position information of at least one pattern alignment mark MP…”, Examiner note: every digital image is a bitmap, except old camera that uses film. When the prior art of record JP224301A describing “…divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5…” and “…the X direction correction amount of the divided exposure pattern DP1 to DP5…”, such action can only be taken on a digital pixeled image, which is bitmap ).
Regarding claim 3, JP224301A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, JP224301A further discloses wherein the conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) has a cylindrical shape (refer to the shape of the “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) , and includes a conveying drum (refer to winding unit #20 in fig.1) that supports the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) on part of a region of an outer periphery (refer to the location of winding unit #20 in fig.1) and conveys the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by rotating about a central shaft of the cylinder (refer to any one of the rollers or reel in #20 in fig.1), and wherein the conveying drum (refer to any one of the rollers or reel in #20 in fig.1) rotates for a time or a rotation angle (refer as winding speed that control the conveying speed), which is determined based on the information representing lengths (refer to fig.7), while the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) is repeatedly applied based on the one-dimensional image data (referring the exposure unit beam movement data).
Regarding claim 4, JP224301A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, JP224301A further discloses reading image data (image processing unit #60a, fig.4) included in the drawing data (refer to Page 3 7th paragraph citation below) for drawing the wiring pattern for each region (refer to the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) included in the wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3);
determining whether the read image data (image processing unit #60a, fig.4) is either the two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) or the one-dimensional image data (referring the exposure unit beam movement data); and
drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3 and 7) of the first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) or the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) depending on the result of the determination (refer to Page 3, 7th paragraph cited: “…The pair of alignment cameras 41 is installed on the upstream side of the exposure unit 51 and images the pattern alignment marks MP formed on the long substrate W by exposure. The image captured by each alignment camera 41 is subjected to image processing by the image processing unit 60a (see FIG. 4), and the position information of the pattern alignment mark MP is acquired by the mark position detecting means 60b…”).
Regarding claim 5, JP224301A discloses A drawing device (a roll-to-roll type exposure apparatus, fig.1) for drawing a wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) by irradiating a substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) having a long sheet shape (refer to the shape of a long substrate “W” in fig.1) with a beam for exposure (exposure unit #30, fig.1) while conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) in a longitudinal direction (refer to the direction of “M” in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1), comprising:
conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) that conveys the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) along the longitudinal direction (refer to the direction of “M” in fig.1);
at least one head (exposure unit #30, fig.1) and for exposure that is provided opposite to part of a region (refer to the region underneath the exposure unit #30 in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) to be conveyed by the conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) and that emits a beam for exposure (exposure unit #30, fig.1) toward the part of the region (refer to the region underneath the exposure unit #30 in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1);
a storage part (data storage means #60e, fig.4) that stores drawing data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) for drawing the wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1); and
a control part (control unit #60, fig.4) that controls operations (refer to Exposure unit driving unit #52, supply reel drive unit #11a, brake roller driving units #15a and 25b , fig.4) of the at least one head (exposure unit #30, fig.1) for exposure and the conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) based on the drawing data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data),
wherein the wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) includes first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), in which a pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) in a width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) changes in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”), and second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), in which a pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) does not change in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”),
wherein drawing data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) includes two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) representing a two- dimensional pattern (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement) of the first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), one-dimensional image data (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement data) representing a one- dimensional pattern (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), and information representing lengths in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3),
wherein the control part (control unit #60, fig.4) performs the control of executing:
a first drawing step (refer to “DP1” in fig.6) of drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) of the first regions (refer to the region of “DP1” in fig.6) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by scanning the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) based on the two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement and the exposure unit’s beam movement) and conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1); and
a second drawing step (refer to “DP2” in fig.6) of drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) of the second regions (refer to the region of “DP2” in fig.6) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by repeatedly irradiating the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) with the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) in the one-dimensional pattern (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) based on the one-dimensional image data (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement data) and conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) for a length (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) determined based on the information representing lengths (refer as conveying speed) (refer to Page 3, 7th paragraph cited: “…The pair of alignment cameras 41 is installed on the upstream side of the exposure unit 51 and images the pattern alignment marks MP formed on the long substrate W by exposure. The image captured by each alignment camera 41 is subjected to image processing by the image processing unit 60a (see FIG. 4), and the position information of the pattern alignment mark MP is acquired by the mark position detecting means 60b…”, also Page 4 2nd paragraph cited: “…The image processing unit 60a (mark position detecting means) acquires the position information of the substrate end surface EW, so that the exposed divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 are twisted (meandering) and the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 are exposed obliquely. Can be prevented from protruding outside the workpiece. Specifically, for example, when determining the exposure positions of the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5, the X direction correction amount of the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 is at least one pattern alignment mark MP of the pair of pattern alignment data MP. The Y direction correction amount is determined based on the position information of at least one substrate end face EW or the position information of at least one pattern alignment mark MP…”).
Regarding claim 6, JP224301A discloses A computer readable storage medium storing a drawing program to be executed by A drawing device (a roll-to-roll type exposure apparatus, fig.1) for drawing a wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) by irradiating a substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) having a long sheet shape (refer to the shape of a long substrate “W” in fig.1) with a beam for exposure (exposure unit #30, fig.1) while conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) in a longitudinal direction (refer to the direction of “M” in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1),
wherein the drawing device (a roll-to-roll type exposure apparatus, fig.1) comprises:
conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) that conveys the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) along the longitudinal direction (refer to the direction of “M” in fig.1); and
at least one head (exposure unit #30, fig.1) and for exposure that is provided opposite to part of a region (refer to the region underneath the exposure unit #30 in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) to be conveyed by the conveying means (refer to “rollers and reels #11-#15 and #21-#25” in fig. 1) and that emits a beam for exposure (exposure unit #30, fig.1) toward the part of the region (refer to the region underneath the exposure unit #30 in fig.1) of the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1),
wherein the wiring pattern (refer to the pattern of 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3) includes first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), in which a pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) in a width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) changes in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”), and second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), in which a pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) does not change in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”),
wherein drawing data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) includes two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement data) representing a two- dimensional pattern (referring to the conveying mean movement data and the exposure unit’s beam movement) of the first regions (refer to one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), one-dimensional image data (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement data) representing a one- dimensional pattern (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3), and information representing lengths in the longitudinal direction (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) of the second regions (refer to another one of the 3 different “PL” annotated in fig.3),
wherein the drawing program causes the execution of:
a first drawing step (refer to “DP1” in fig.6) of drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) of the first regions (refer to the region of “DP1” in fig.6) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by scanning the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) based on the two-dimensional image data (referring to the conveying mean movement and the exposure unit’s beam movement) and conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1); and
a second drawing step (refer to “DP2” in fig.6) of drawing the pattern (refer to the pattern of “PL” in fig.3) of the second regions (refer to the region of “DP2” in fig.6) on the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) by repeatedly irradiating the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) with the beam (exposure unit #30, fig.1) in the one-dimensional pattern (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement) in the width direction (refer to “Y” axis in fig.3) based on the one-dimensional image data (referring to the exposure unit’s beam movement data) and conveying the substrate (a long substrate “W” in fig.1) for a length (refer to “X” axis and the direction of “M”) determined based on the information representing lengths (refer as conveying speed) (refer to Page 3, 7th paragraph cited: “…The pair of alignment cameras 41 is installed on the upstream side of the exposure unit 51 and images the pattern alignment marks MP formed on the long substrate W by exposure. The image captured by each alignment camera 41 is subjected to image processing by the image processing unit 60a (see FIG. 4), and the position information of the pattern alignment mark MP is acquired by the mark position detecting means 60b…”, also Page 4 2nd paragraph cited: “…The image processing unit 60a (mark position detecting means) acquires the position information of the substrate end surface EW, so that the exposed divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 are twisted (meandering) and the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 are exposed obliquely. Can be prevented from protruding outside the workpiece. Specifically, for example, when determining the exposure positions of the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5, the X direction correction amount of the divided exposure pattern data DP1 to DP5 is at least one pattern alignment mark MP of the pair of pattern alignment data MP. The Y direction correction amount is determined based on the position information of at least one substrate end face EW or the position information of at least one pattern alignment mark MP…”).
Conclusion
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 January 27th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761