DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are presented for examination. Claims 1-4 stand currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 10 September 2026 have been fully considered and Examiner’s response is as follows:
Applicant remarks page 9 argues:
The Office Action relies on Jasuja for the load condition, citing Jasuja's disclosure that "[t]he body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle," and the Advisory Action states that "[a]n operating load of normal vehicle operation is a selected preset load condition." In Jasuja, the operating loads are applied to the body structure model and the resulting responses are determined. Even if Jasuja's various operating loads were considered to be a plurality of preset load conditions, Jasuja does not disclose that "a deformation state generated in the automotive body model by each of the plurality of preset load conditions is preset," and does not disclose that any operating load is selected, "based on the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode, as the preset load condition whose preset deformation state matches the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode." A deformation generated by applying an operating load to the body structure model is not a deformation state that is preset for each of a plurality of preset load conditions before the selection.
Examiner agrees. However, Examiner’s rejection relies upon Rashid regarding the deformation form. Examiner finds the teachings of Rashid cure the noted deficiency of Jasuja, as discussed below.
Applicant remarks page 9 further argues:
The Office Action relies on Rashid for the vibration mode and the deformation form, and the Advisory Action further cites Rashid's disclosure that "the modes were selected based on the shape formed by the displacement of the elements." The selection described in this passage of Rashid is a selection of modes from a modal analysis, and is thus not "selecting, from a plurality of preset load conditions, a specific load condition to be imposed on the automotive body model." Rashid also does not disclose a plurality of preset load conditions for which "a deformation state generated in the automotive body model by each of the plurality of preset load conditions is preset," or the selection of a load condition, based on an obtained deformation form, as "the preset load condition whose preset deformation state matches the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode."
Rashid page 3 left column second paragraph teaches “A number of natural frequency values were taken from the modal analysis where the modes were selected based on the shape formed by the displacement of the elements.” However, this paragraph begins “Modal analysis was then done to find the natural frequency for the first torsion and bending modes under free-free boundary condition.” Thus, the modes (bending and torsion) are preset and the corresponding natural frequency is what is discovered.
More clearly cited, Rashid page 2 section 2 first paragraph teaches “For the modal analysis, real eigenvalue analysis was done using Altair-Hyperworks to find the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes ignoring the damping.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form.
Rashid page 5 line 1 teaches “for first torsion and bending modes, respectively.” The respective bending modes are preset, identified, deformation states. Selecting to optimize bending and torsion modes corresponds with selecting based on the respective deformation form.
Notably, the real eigenvalue analysis to find the natural frequencies and corresponding model shapes is before applying respective dynamic loads. Thus completing the modal analysis presets the deformation modes as compared to when respective dynamic load conditions are analyzed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent 6,766,206 B1 Jasuja, et al. [herein “Jasuja”] in view of Rashid, A., et al. “Improving the Dynamic Characteristics of Body-in-White Structure Using Structural Optimization” Scientific World J., vol. 2014, article no. 190214 (2014) [herein “Rashid”].
Claim 1 recites “1. An optimization analysis method of an adhesive position in an automotive body for obtaining an optimized position where a parts assembly is adhesively bonded by using a structural adhesive in conjunction with welding.” Jasuja column 1 lines 8-11 disclose “a method for designing an automotive body structure which provides enhanced stiffness and weight reduction by optimizing the application of adhesive bond technology throughout the body structure.” Optimizing the adhesive of an automotive body structure design corresponds with an optimization analysis of adhesive in an automotive body.
Jasuja column 4 lines 26-27 disclose “and the location, size and/or type of adhesive used to form the joint.” Jasuja column 5 lines 55-58 disclose “The CAE system 14 records loads, sag, movement, and other conventional performance measurements in various locations on the body structure when it is exposed to the operating loads.” The locations of adhesive joins are adhesive positions.
Jasuja column 4 lines 57-60 disclose “data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.” The locations of adhesive join portions and welds used in join portions correspond with adhesive in conjunction with welding.
Claim 1 further recites “the method being executed by a computer using an automotive body model including a plurality of parts including a two-dimensional element and/or a three-dimensional element wherein a welding portion to which the plurality of parts are welded as the parts assembly is preset.” Jasuja column 5 lines 9-11 disclose “a conventional manner using computer aided design (‘CAD’) software and/or any other computer Software.” Computer software is computer executed.
Jasuja column 4 lines 51-60 disclose:
A user enters parameters and variables that correspond to the characteristics and attributes of the various portions of the vehicle body structure. Specifically, a user enters information such as data corresponding to the gage, shape, and size of the panels and other members that cooperatively form the body structure; data corresponding to the geometry of the body structure; data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.
Data of a vehicle body structure corresponds with an automotive body model plurality of parts. The welded joins correspond with welds on the plurality of parts.
Claim 1 further recites “and the method comprising: imposing a predetermined vibration condition on the automotive body model, performing frequency response analysis.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
The stiffness and vibration response analysis corresponds with a frequency response analysis of a vibration condition. Subjecting the body to operating loads corresponds with using a respective vibration condition when performing the frequency analysis.
Claim 1 further recites “and obtaining a vibration mode generated in the automotive body model, and a deformation form in the vibration mode.” Jasuja does not explicitly disclose a vibration mode and deformation form; however, in analogous art of optimizing dynamic behavior of vehicle structure, Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jasuja and Rashid. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use modal analysis into the system of design automotive structure using adhesives for the advantageous purpose “to achieve the target vibration specifications without compromising the stiffness of the structure. See Rashid abstract.
Claim 1 further recites “selecting, from a plurality of preset load conditions, a specific load condition to be imposed on the automotive body model, wherein a deformation state generated in the automotive body model by each of the plurality of preset load conditions is preset, and the specific load condition is selected, based on the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode, as the preset load condition whose preset deformation state matches the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
Relevant for the deformation form taught by Rashid discussed above, Rashid abstract teaches “subjected to dynamic load.” Accordingly, the particular deformation form and vibration mode taught by Rashid also correspond to a respective dynamic load condition.
Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form. The dynamic loading corresponds with the operating loads.
Rashid page 5 line 1 teaches “for first torsion and bending modes, respectively.” The respective bending modes are preset, identified, deformation states. Selecting to optimize bending and torsion modes corresponds with selecting based on the respective deformation form.
Claim 1 further recites “generating an optimization analysis model obtained by setting an adhesive candidate in the automotive body model, the adhesive candidate serving as a candidate for adhesive bonding of the parts assembly.” Jasuja column 5 lines 20-23 disclose “a bond CAE optimization is performed, which ranks the each of the bonded seams based on their contribution to the body stiffness (i.e., both static and dynamic performance).” The respective bond performance of each adhesive bond corresponds with a generated optimization analysis of each adhesive bond. Each bond corresponds with a respective adhesive candidate.
Claim 1 further recites “setting an optimization analysis condition used to perform optimization analysis by using, as an optimization target, the adhesive candidate set in the generated optimization analysis model; and imposing the specific load condition on the optimization analysis model, performing the optimization analysis.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
The operating load conditions correspond with a condition used during the optimization analysis.
Claim 1 further recites “and obtaining the adhesive candidate that satisfies the optimization analysis condition, as an optimized adhesive portion where each parts assembly is adhesively bonded.” Jasuja column 6 lines 19-26 disclose:
Once the body structure has been fully "optimized", the body structure will employ minimum gage values for the panels and members of the structure, and the use of adhesive within the body structure will substantially meet the primary cost, manufacturing and performance objectives. Hence, the "optimized" structure, shown in block 38, will have a minimum weight, while continuing to satisfy the desired stiffness and performance criteria.
Optimizing the body structure including use of adhesive within the body structure corresponds with obtaining the adhesive candidate(s) that satisfy the optimization of respective optimized adhesive portions.
Claim 2 recites “2. An optimization analysis method of an adhesive position in an automotive body for obtaining an optimized position where a parts assembly is adhesively bonded by using a structural adhesive in conjunction with welding.” Jasuja column 1 lines 8-11 disclose “a method for designing an automotive body structure which provides enhanced stiffness and weight reduction by optimizing the application of adhesive bond technology throughout the body structure.” Optimizing the adhesive of an automotive body structure design corresponds with an optimization analysis of adhesive in an automotive body.
Jasuja column 4 lines 26-27 disclose “and the location, size and/or type of adhesive used to form the joint.” Jasuja column 5 lines 55-58 disclose “The CAE system 14 records loads, sag, movement, and other conventional performance measurements in various locations on the body structure when it is exposed to the operating loads.” The locations of adhesive joins are adhesive positions.
Jasuja column 4 lines 57-60 disclose “data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.” The locations of adhesive join portions and welds used in join portions correspond with adhesive in conjunction with welding.
Claim 2 further recites “the method being executed by a computer using an automotive body model including a plurality of parts including a two-dimensional element and/or a three-dimensional element wherein a welding portion to which the plurality of parts are welded as the parts assembly is preset.” Jasuja column 5 lines 9-11 disclose “a conventional manner using computer aided design (‘CAD’) software and/or any other computer Software.” Computer software is computer executed.
Jasuja column 4 lines 51-60 disclose:
A user enters parameters and variables that correspond to the characteristics and attributes of the various portions of the vehicle body structure. Specifically, a user enters information such as data corresponding to the gage, shape, and size of the panels and other members that cooperatively form the body structure; data corresponding to the geometry of the body structure; data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.
Data of a vehicle body structure corresponds with an automotive body model plurality of parts. The welded joins correspond with welds on the plurality of parts.
Claim 2 further recites “and the method comprising: performing eigenvalue analysis on the automotive body model.” Jasuja does not explicitly disclose an eigenvalue analysis; however, in analogous art of optimizing dynamic behavior of vehicle structure, Rashid page 2 section 2 first paragraph teaches “For the modal analysis, real eigenvalue analysis was done using Altair-Hyperworks to find the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes ignoring the damping.” The eigenvalue analysis of the modal analysis corresponds to an eigenvalue analysis step on the automotive body model.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jasuja and Rashid. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use modal analysis into the system of design automotive structure using adhesives for the advantageous purpose “to achieve the target vibration specifications without compromising the stiffness of the structure. See Rashid abstract.
Claim 2 further recites “and obtaining a vibration mode generated in the automotive body model, and a deformation form in the vibration mode.” Jasuja does not explicitly disclose a vibration mode and deformation form; however, in analogous art of optimizing dynamic behavior of vehicle structure, Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” Rashid page 2 section 2 first paragraph teaches “For the modal analysis, real eigenvalue analysis was done using Altair-Hyperworks to find the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes ignoring the damping.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jasuja and Rashid. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use modal analysis into the system of design automotive structure using adhesives for the advantageous purpose “to achieve the target vibration specifications without compromising the stiffness of the structure. See Rashid abstract.
Claim 2 further recites “selecting, from a plurality of preset load conditions, a specific load condition to be imposed on the automotive body model, wherein a deformation state generated in the automotive body model by each of the plurality of preset load conditions is preset, and the specific load condition is selected, based on the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode, as the preset load condition whose preset deformation state matches the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
Relevant for the deformation form taught by Rashid discussed above, Rashid abstract teaches “subjected to dynamic load.” Accordingly, the particular deformation form and vibration mode taught by Rashid also correspond to a respective dynamic load condition.
Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form. The dynamic loading corresponds with the operating loads.
Rashid page 5 line 1 teaches “for first torsion and bending modes, respectively.” The respective bending modes are preset, identified, deformation states. Selecting to optimize bending and torsion modes corresponds with selecting based on the respective deformation form.
Claim 2 further recites “generating an optimization analysis model obtained by setting an adhesive candidate in the automotive body model, the adhesive candidate serving as a candidate for adhesive bonding of the parts assembly.” Jasuja column 5 lines 20-23 disclose “a bond CAE optimization is performed, which ranks the each of the bonded seams based on their contribution to the body stiffness (i.e., both static and dynamic performance).” The respective bond performance of each adhesive bond corresponds with a generated optimization analysis of each adhesive bond. Each bond corresponds with a respective adhesive candidate.
Claim 2 further recites “setting an optimization analysis condition used to perform optimization analysis by using, as an optimization target, the adhesive candidate set in the generated optimization analysis model; and imposing the specific load condition on the optimization analysis model, performing the optimization analysis.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
The operating load conditions correspond with a condition used during the optimization analysis.
Claim 2 further recites “and obtaining the adhesive candidate that satisfies the optimization analysis condition, as an optimized adhesive portion where each parts assembly is adhesively bonded.” Jasuja column 6 lines 19-26 disclose:
Once the body structure has been fully "optimized", the body structure will employ minimum gage values for the panels and members of the structure, and the use of adhesive within the body structure will substantially meet the primary cost, manufacturing and performance objectives. Hence, the "optimized" structure, shown in block 38, will have a minimum weight, while continuing to satisfy the desired stiffness and performance criteria.
Optimizing the body structure including use of adhesive within the body structure corresponds with obtaining the adhesive candidate(s) that satisfy the optimization of respective optimized adhesive portions.
Claim 3 recites “3. An optimization analysis apparatus of an adhesive position in an automotive body for obtaining an optimized position where a parts assembly is adhesively bonded by using a structural adhesive in conjunction with welding.” Jasuja column 1 lines 8-11 disclose “a method for designing an automotive body structure which provides enhanced stiffness and weight reduction by optimizing the application of adhesive bond technology throughout the body structure.” Optimizing the adhesive of an automotive body structure design corresponds with an optimization analysis of adhesive in an automotive body.
Jasuja column 4 lines 26-27 disclose “and the location, size and/or type of adhesive used to form the joint.” Jasuja column 5 lines 55-58 disclose “The CAE system 14 records loads, sag, movement, and other conventional performance measurements in various locations on the body structure when it is exposed to the operating loads.” The locations of adhesive joins are adhesive positions.
Jasuja column 4 lines 57-60 disclose “data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.” The locations of adhesive join portions and welds used in join portions correspond with adhesive in conjunction with welding.
Claim 3 further recites “by using an automotive body model including a plurality of parts including a two-dimensional element and/or a three- dimensional element wherein a welding portion to which the plurality of parts are welded as the parts assembly is preset.” Jasuja column 5 lines 9-11 disclose “a conventional manner using computer aided design (‘CAD’) software and/or any other computer Software.” Computer software is computer executed.
Jasuja column 4 lines 51-60 disclose:
A user enters parameters and variables that correspond to the characteristics and attributes of the various portions of the vehicle body structure. Specifically, a user enters information such as data corresponding to the gage, shape, and size of the panels and other members that cooperatively form the body structure; data corresponding to the geometry of the body structure; data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.
Data of a vehicle body structure corresponds with an automotive body model plurality of parts. The welded joins correspond with welds on the plurality of parts.
Claim 3 further recites “the optimization analysis apparatus comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute: imposing a predetermined vibration condition on the automotive body model, performing frequency response analysis.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
The stiffness and vibration response analysis corresponds with a frequency response analysis of a vibration condition. Subjecting the body to operating loads corresponds with using a respective vibration condition when performing the frequency analysis.
Claim 3 further recites “obtaining a vibration mode generated in the automotive body model, and a deformation form in the vibration mode.” Jasuja does not explicitly disclose a vibration mode and deformation form; however, in analogous art of optimizing dynamic behavior of vehicle structure, Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jasuja and Rashid. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use modal analysis into the system of design automotive structure using adhesives for the advantageous purpose “to achieve the target vibration specifications without compromising the stiffness of the structure. See Rashid abstract.
Claim 3 further recites “selecting, from a plurality of preset load conditions, a specific load condition to be imposed on the automotive body model, wherein a deformation state generated in the automotive body model by each of the plurality of preset load conditions is preset, and the specific load condition is elected, based on the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode, as the preset load condition whose preset deformation state matches the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
Relevant for the deformation form taught by Rashid discussed above, Rashid abstract teaches “subjected to dynamic load.” Accordingly, the particular deformation form and vibration mode taught by Rashid also correspond to a respective dynamic load condition.
Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form. The dynamic loading corresponds with the operating loads.
Rashid page 5 line 1 teaches “for first torsion and bending modes, respectively.” The respective bending modes are preset, identified, deformation states. Selecting to optimize bending and torsion modes corresponds with selecting based on the respective deformation form.
Claim 3 further recites “generating an optimization analysis model obtained by setting an adhesive candidate in the automotive body model, the adhesive candidate serving as a candidate for adhesive bonding of the parts assembly.” Jasuja column 5 lines 20-23 disclose “a bond CAE optimization is performed, which ranks the each of the bonded seams based on their contribution to the body stiffness (i.e., both static and dynamic performance).” The respective bond performance of each adhesive bond corresponds with a generated optimization analysis of each adhesive bond. Each bond corresponds with a respective adhesive candidate.
Claim 3 further recites “setting an optimization analysis condition used to perform optimization analysis by using, as an optimization target, the adhesive candidate set in the generated optimization analysis model; imposing the specific load condition on the optimization analysis model in which the optimization analysis condition has been set, performing the optimization analysis.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
The operating load conditions correspond with a condition used during the optimization analysis.
Claim 3 further recites “and obtaining the adhesive candidate that satisfies the optimization analysis condition, as an optimized adhesive portion where each parts assembly is adhesively bonded.” Jasuja column 6 lines 19-26 disclose:
Once the body structure has been fully "optimized", the body structure will employ minimum gage values for the panels and members of the structure, and the use of adhesive within the body structure will substantially meet the primary cost, manufacturing and performance objectives. Hence, the "optimized" structure, shown in block 38, will have a minimum weight, while continuing to satisfy the desired stiffness and performance criteria.
Optimizing the body structure including use of adhesive within the body structure corresponds with obtaining the adhesive candidate(s) that satisfy the optimization of respective optimized adhesive portions.
Claim 4 recites “4. An optimization analysis apparatus of an adhesive position in an automotive body for obtaining an optimized position where a parts assembly is adhesively bonded by using a structural adhesive in conjunction with welding.” Jasuja column 1 lines 8-11 disclose “a method for designing an automotive body structure which provides enhanced stiffness and weight reduction by optimizing the application of adhesive bond technology throughout the body structure.” Optimizing the adhesive of an automotive body structure design corresponds with an optimization analysis of adhesive in an automotive body.
Jasuja column 4 lines 26-27 disclose “and the location, size and/or type of adhesive used to form the joint.” Jasuja column 5 lines 55-58 disclose “The CAE system 14 records loads, sag, movement, and other conventional performance measurements in various locations on the body structure when it is exposed to the operating loads.” The locations of adhesive joins are adhesive positions.
Jasuja column 4 lines 57-60 disclose “data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.” The locations of adhesive join portions and welds used in join portions correspond with adhesive in conjunction with welding.
Claim 4 further recites “by using an automotive body model including a plurality of parts including a two-dimensional element and/or a three- dimensional element wherein a welding portion to which the plurality of parts are welded as the parts assembly is preset.” Jasuja column 5 lines 9-11 disclose “a conventional manner using computer aided design (‘CAD’) software and/or any other computer Software.” Computer software is computer executed.
Jasuja column 4 lines 51-60 disclose:
A user enters parameters and variables that correspond to the characteristics and attributes of the various portions of the vehicle body structure. Specifically, a user enters information such as data corresponding to the gage, shape, and size of the panels and other members that cooperatively form the body structure; data corresponding to the geometry of the body structure; data corresponding to the location and type of adhesive used to join portions of the body structure; and data corresponding to the location and type of welds used to join portions of the body structure.
Data of a vehicle body structure corresponds with an automotive body model plurality of parts. The welded joins correspond with welds on the plurality of parts.
Claim 4 further recites “the optimization analysis apparatus comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute: performing eigenvalue analysis on the automotive body model.” Jasuja does not explicitly disclose an eigenvalue analysis; however, in analogous art of optimizing dynamic behavior of vehicle structure, Rashid page 2 section 2 first paragraph teaches “For the modal analysis, real eigenvalue analysis was done using Altair-Hyperworks to find the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes ignoring the damping.” The eigenvalue analysis of the modal analysis corresponds to an eigenvalue analysis step on the automotive body model.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jasuja and Rashid. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use modal analysis into the system of design automotive structure using adhesives for the advantageous purpose “to achieve the target vibration specifications without compromising the stiffness of the structure. See Rashid abstract.
Claim 4 further recites “obtaining a vibration mode generated in the automotive body model, and a deformation form in the vibration mode.” Jasuja does not explicitly disclose a vibration mode and deformation form; however, in analogous art of optimizing dynamic behavior of vehicle structure, Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” Rashid page 2 section 2 first paragraph teaches “For the modal analysis, real eigenvalue analysis was done using Altair-Hyperworks to find the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes ignoring the damping.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jasuja and Rashid. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use modal analysis into the system of design automotive structure using adhesives for the advantageous purpose “to achieve the target vibration specifications without compromising the stiffness of the structure. See Rashid abstract.
Claim 4 further recites “selecting, from a plurality of preset load conditions, a specific load condition to be imposed on the automotive body model, wherein a deformation state generated in the automotive body model by each of the plurality of preset load conditions is preset, and the specific load condition corresponding to the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode, as the preset load condition whose preset deformation state matches the deformation form in the obtained vibration mode.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
Relevant for the deformation form taught by Rashid discussed above, Rashid abstract teaches “subjected to dynamic load.” Accordingly, the particular deformation form and vibration mode taught by Rashid also correspond to a respective dynamic load condition.
Rashid page 1 left column teaches “Initially, for most structures undergoing dynamic loading, it is essential to know the natural frequencies and the corresponding mode shapes.” The natural frequencies correspond with a vibration mode. The mode shape corresponds with a deformation form. The dynamic loading corresponds with the operating loads.
Rashid page 5 line 1 teaches “for first torsion and bending modes, respectively.” The respective bending modes are preset, identified, deformation states. Selecting to optimize bending and torsion modes corresponds with selecting based on the respective deformation form.
Claim 4 further recites “generating an optimization analysis model obtained by setting an adhesive candidate in the automotive body model, the adhesive candidate serving as a candidate for adhesive bonding of the parts assembly.” Jasuja column 5 lines 20-23 disclose “a bond CAE optimization is performed, which ranks the each of the bonded seams based on their contribution to the body stiffness (i.e., both static and dynamic performance).” The respective bond performance of each adhesive bond corresponds with a generated optimization analysis of each adhesive bond. Each bond corresponds with a respective adhesive candidate.
Claim 4 further recites “setting an optimization analysis condition used to perform optimization analysis by using, as an optimization target, the adhesive candidate set in the generated optimization analysis model; imposing the specific load condition on the optimization analysis model in which the optimization analysis condition has been set, performing the optimization analysis.” Jasuja column 5 lines 45-55 disclose:
the body structure having the desired combination of adhesive bond joints and/or seams is subjected to a full vehicle CAE analysis. Particularly, an analysis is performed on the full vehicle system model to compute stiffness and noise vibration harshness "NVH" responses, such as subjective NVH ratings, seat track vibrations and other measurable attributes. The body structure model is subjected to various operating loads that correspond to loads that would be experienced during the normal operation of a vehicle (e.g., forces generated and/or imparted on the body structure during the operation of the vehicle).
The operating load conditions correspond with a condition used during the optimization analysis.
Claim 4 further recites “and obtaining the adhesive candidate that satisfies the optimization analysis condition, as an optimized adhesive portion where each parts assembly is adhesively bonded.” Jasuja column 6 lines 19-26 disclose:
Once the body structure has been fully "optimized", the body structure will employ minimum gage values for the panels and members of the structure, and the use of adhesive within the body structure will substantially meet the primary cost, manufacturing and performance objectives. Hence, the "optimized" structure, shown in block 38, will have a minimum weight, while continuing to satisfy the desired stiffness and performance criteria.
Optimizing the body structure including use of adhesive within the body structure corresponds with obtaining the adhesive candidate(s) that satisfy the optimization of respective optimized adhesive portions.
Conclusion
/Jay Hann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186 13 September 2026