DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of PCT/IB2020/054322 filed May 7, 2020 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of a copy of WO 2021/224707, the WIPO publication of PCT/IB2021/053333 filed April 22, 2021.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks filed September 17, 2025.
Claims Filing Date
September 17, 2025
Cancelled
1-15
Pending
16-34
Withdrawn
23, 25-34
Under Examination
16-22, 24
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Okada
The applicant argues that none of Steels A, B, and D of Table 2 in Okada have a dew point in the rear heating zone of between -10°C and +30°C and that is higher than a dew point in the soaking zone nor is there a teaching that such a combination would be beneficial (Remarks para. spanning pp. 2-3).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2123(I).
Okada discloses a DP1 of -40°C to 5°C ([0040]), which overlaps with the claimed range of -10°C and +30°C such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the dew point of the rear heating zone (DP1) is within this disclosed range. Further, in Okada Table 2 Steels A, B, and D have a dew point DP1 (rare heating zone) that is higher than the dew point DP2 (soaking zone). Therefore, considering the disclosure of Okada as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to maintain the DP1 and DP2 relationship in example Steels A, B, and D, while also satisfying the disclosure for DP1.
Further, pending claim 16 line 20 recites “the dew point DP1 being higher than the dew point DP2” without limiting how much higher DP1 is than DP2. Therefore, any amount of increase, such as that disclosed by Okada, satisfies this claim limitation.
The applicant argues that in Okada the dew points of the rear heating zone and the soaking zone are intended to be substantially the same because they are fed wet nitrogen via the same feed pipe 12 from the same nitrogen wetting system 10 ([0038], Fig. 2) (Remarks p. 3 para. 2).
Okada presents example dew points for the rear heating zone (DP1) and soaking zone (DP2) in Table 2, where Steel type A, B-550°C, B-650°C, and D-600°C have different dew points for the rear heating zone and the soaking zone. Therefore, it is within the scope of Okada for the dew points of the rear heating zone and the soaking zone to be different. In particular, in A, B-550°C, and D-600°C DP1 is also higher than DP2.
Further, pending claim 16 line 20 recites “the dew point DP1 being higher than the dew point DP2” without limiting how much higher DP1 is than DP2. Therefore, any amount of increase, such as that disclosed by Okada, satisfies this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 22, the applicant argues that Table 2 of Okada displays examples having a rear heating zone dew point greater than the soaking zone dew point, but they also have dew points different from the claimed ranges, where, based on Okada’s [0038], any differences between the rear heating zone and soaking zone are unintentional (Remarks p. 3 para. 6).
Applicant’s argument is persuasive regarding the rejection of claim 22 under Okada, such that the claim 22 rejection over Okada is withdrawn. However, claim 22 is also rejected over Okada in view of Blumenau.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Blumenau discloses DP1 (up to 60°C) is higher than DP2 (-30°C to 0°C) ([0029], [0030], [0032], [0042], [0052]) so that there is an increased initial formation of internal oxides of base metal alloy elements that achieve an optimum reduction result on the steel surface due to lowering of the dew point, preventing oxidation of Fe (Blumenau [0052]).
The claims are directed to a method for manufacture (process). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to modify the process of Okada to achieve the disclosed DP1 and DP2 relationship of Blumenau.
Therefore, for the above cited reasons, the rejection over Okada is maintained.
Fushiwaki
Applicant's arguments filed September 17, 2025 with respect to Fushiwaki have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues according to Fushiwaki (Remarks p. 5 para. 2) when heating is performed from A°C to B°C if the soaking step is at B°C, then soaking is preferred at a dew point of -5°C or higher (Remarks p. 5 para. 3), whereas in the claimed method the heating step is T1 to T2 with DP1 between -10°C and 30°C, while soaking T2 is at DP2 greater than the dew point of the heating step (Remarks p. 5 paras. 4-5).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The pending rejection cites [0026]-[0029], [0069]-[0070], [0085], and Table 2 of Fushiwaki regarding claim 16 steps ii) and iii). Fushiwaki discloses “that the dew-point temperature of an atmosphere is controlled to -5°C. or higher in a limited temperature region with a furnace temperature A° C. to B° C…in a heating process” ([0026]). Similarly, Table 2 recites the “Manufacturing method” includes a “Heating zone” from Temperature A to Temperature B with a Dew-point temperature of -5°C and, separately, a Soaking zone temperature. The Soaking zone Temperature in Table 2 include examples within the scope of B°C, 800 to 900°C. However, Table 2 does not present the Dew-point for the Soaking zone. According to Fushiwaki [0070] the dew-point temperature of an atmosphere in the annealing (heating) furnace other than a region from A° C. to B° C. (i.e. the heating process or heating zone) is preferably within a range from -50° C. to -10° C. The soaking zone that is performed after the heating process (or heating zone) is “other than a region from A° C. to B° C.” even if the soaking zone temperature is within the scope of the range of Temperature B because the soaking (holding) is not a heating process (or zone).
Therefore, for the above cited reasons the rejection over Fushiwaki is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 lines 2 and 24 and claim 24 line 3 “aluminium” refers to the element aluminum, Al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651).
Regarding claim 16, Okada discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet coated with a zinc-based or an aluminium-based coating ([0001]-[0002]), the method comprising:
A)providing a steel sheet with a composition that reads on that claimed (Table 1 Steel types B-E);
Element
Claim 16
Okada Table 1 Steel type B
Okada Table 1 Steel type C
Okada Table 1 Steel type D
Okada Table 1 Steel type E
Al
0.01 to 1.0
0.025
0.25
0.32
0.30
C
0.07 to 0.50
0.1
0.1
0.12
0.11
Mn
0.3 to 5.0
1.6
1.6
1.1
1.58
V
Less than 0.2
-
-
-
-
Si
0.01 to 2.45
0.5
1.25
1.2
1.8
Si + Al
0.35 to 3.5
0.525
1.50
1.52
2.1
N
0.01 or less
-
-
-
-
P
Less than 0.02
0.008
0.007
0.009
0.008
S
0.01 or less
0.003
0.005
0.007
0.003
Optionally at least one of the following
B
0.004 or less
-
-
-
-
Co
0.1 or less
-
-
-
-
Cu
0.5 or less
-
-
-
-
Cr
0.001 to 1.00
-
-
-
-
Mo
0.001 to 0.5
-
-
-
-
Nb
0.1 or less
-
-
-
-
Ni
1.0 or less
-
-
0.6
-
Ti
0.1 or less
-
-
-
-
Fe
Remainder
Balance
Balance
Balance
Balance
B) annealing the steel sheet ([0013], [0024]) with the following steps in order:
i) a pre-heating step (front heating zone) wherein the steel sheet is heated from room temperature to a temperature T1 between 550°C and Ac1+50°C (550°C to 750°C) ([0026]-[0028]),
ii) a heating step (rear heating zone) wherein the steel sheet is heated from a temperature T1 to a recrystallisation temperature T2 between 720°C and 1000°C (830°C to 850°C) in an atmosphere A1, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable components), having a dew point DP1 between -10°C and +30°C (-40°C to 5°C) ([0040])
iii) a soaking step (soaking zone) wherein the steel sheet is held at the recrystallisation temperature T2 in an atmosphere A2, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable components), having a dew point DP2 between -30°C and 0°C (-40°C to 5°C) ([0040]), the dew point DP1 (rear heating zone) being higher than the dew point DP2 (soaking zone) (Table 2 Steel type A, B, D) and
iv) a cooling step ([0034], [0040]); and
C) coating the steel sheet with a zinc-based or an aluminium based coating ([0040]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 21, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 DP1 is between 5°C and 40°C higher than DP2 (2 to 5°C) (Table 2 A and B). Further, Okada discloses the dew points in the different zones, including rare heating zone and soaking zone, are controlled to -40°C to 5°C ([0040]). Therefore, the difference between DP1 and DP2 (DP1-DP2) ranges from +45°C to -45°C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 24, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 step C), the coating is performed by hot-dip coating and the steel strip is set at a temperature between 5°C to 10°C above a galvanizing bath (5°C where steel sheet is 465°C and plating bath temperature is 460°C), having an aluminium content between 0.09 and 0.15 weight percent (0.13% Al concentration), being maintained at a temperature between 450°C to 470°C (460°C) and the steel strip is then heated to a temperature between 470°C and 550°C (500°C) after exiting said galvanizing bath ([0040]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Del Frate (US 2016/0194739).
Regarding claim 17, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 in the cooling step, the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C (465°C) in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and an inert gas (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable impurities), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (-30°C or less) ([0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Okada is silent to maintaining at T3 for at least 40 seconds.
Del Frate discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0044]) including a cooling step (Vcooling2), wherein the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C (between 350°C and 550°C) and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds (between 10 and 300 seconds) ([0052], [0133]) in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume H2 and an inert gas (between 2% and 35% H2), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (below -10°C) ([0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the cooling of Okada to maintain at T3 for at least 40 seconds (between 10 and 300 seconds) to facilitate the Zn coating by hot dip process without affecting the final mechanical properties (Del Frate [0133]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Okada is silent to in the method of claim 17 after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s.
Del Frate discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0044]) including after the cooling step (Vcooling2), the steel sheet is further cooled down (Vcooling3) to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) ([0052], [0134]) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated (tempered) up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C (200 and 400°C) for 30s to 300s (200 and 800 seconds) ([0065], [0137]). Vcooling3 to room temperature includes cooling between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Okada after the cooling step to further cool down the steel sheet then temper because Vcooling3 is typical of annealing lines (Del Frate [0134]) and tempering enables tempering of martensite, thus decreasing the hardness and improve hole expandability (Del Frate [0137]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729).
Regarding claim 17, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 in the cooling step, the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C (465°C) in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and an inert gas (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable impurities), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (-30°C or less) ([0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Okada is silent to maintaining at T3 for at least 40 seconds.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0012]) including a cooling step, wherein the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume H2 and an inert gas, having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C ([0023], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the cooling of Okada to maintain at T3 for at least 40 seconds to obtain microstructure transformation (Pipard [0075]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Okada is silent to in the method of claim 17 after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0012]) including after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s ([0025], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Okada after the cooling step to further cool down the steel sheet then reheat because to obtain a quenched and partitioned microstructure (Pipard [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Okada in view of Pipard discloses in the method of claim 18 the steel sheet is held at TQT during 2 to 8s (Pipard [0025], [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651) in view of Del Frate (US 2016/0194739) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Staudte (WO2017/182833 with citations from US 2019/0119776).
Regarding claim 20, Okada in view of Del Frate is silent in the method of claim 18 after said cooling step iv) and said reheating step v), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas, having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C.
Staudte discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0009]) including after said cooling step iv) ([0015], [0045]), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C (between 400 and 800°C) in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas (inert gas including at least 2.0 vol% H2), having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C (below -40°C) ([0016], [0046], [0063]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after the cooling and reheating process of Okada in view of Del Frate to perform an equalizing step to equalize the edges and the center of the steel sheet (Staudte [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651) in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Staudte (WO2017/182833 with citations from US 2019/0119776).
Regarding claim 20, Okada in view of Pipard is silent to in the method of claim 18 after said cooling step iv) and said reheating step v), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas, having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C.
Staudte discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0009]) including after said cooling step iv) ([0015], [0045]), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C (between 400 and 800°C) in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas (inert gas including at least 2.0 vol% H2), having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C (below -40°C) ([0016], [0046], [0063]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after the cooling and reheating process of Okada in view of Pipard to perform an equalizing step to equalize the edges and the center of the steel sheet (Staudte [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Blumenau (US 2015/0345002).
In the event it is determined that Okada does not read on the claimed difference between DP1 and DP2 of claims 21 and 22 then the below rejection in view of Blumenau is applied.
Regarding claim 21, Okada discloses the dew points in the different zones, including rear heating zone (DP1) and soaking zone (DP2), are controlled to -40°C to 5°C ([0040]).
Blumenau discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001]) wherein DP1 (TP1, -15°C to +30°C) is between 5°C and 40°C (up to 60°C) higher than DP2 (TP2, -30°C to 0°C) (TP1>TP2) ([0029], [0030], [0032], [0042], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Okada for the difference between DP1 and DP2 to be up to 45°C (maximum difference between -40°C and 5°C) with DP1 (TP1) being greater than DP2 (TP2) so that there is an increased initial formation of internal oxides of base metal alloy elements that achieve an optimum reduction result on the steel surface due to lowering of the dew point, preventing oxidation of Fe (Blumenau [0052]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 22, Okada in view of Blumenau discloses in the method of claim 21 DP1 (TP1) is between 10°C and 30°C higher than DP2 (TP2) (maximum difference is up to 45°C) (Okada [0040]; Blumenau [0029], [0030], [0032], [0042], [0052]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 16, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki (US 2012/0018060).
Regarding claim 16, Fushiwaki discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet coated with a zinc-based or an aluminium-based coating ([0002], [0013]), the method comprising:
A) providing a steel sheet having an overlapping chemical composition ([0030]-[0059])
Element
Claim 16
Fushiwaki
Disclosure
Fushiwaki
Citation
Al
0.01 to 1.0
0.001 to 1.0
[0037]-[0038]
C
0.07 to 0.50
0.01 to 0.18
[0031]-[0032]
Mn
0.3 to 5.0
1.0 to 3.0
[0035]-[0036]
V
Less than 0.2
Si
0.01 to 2.45
0.02 to 2.0
[0033]-[0034]
Si + Al
0.35 to 3.5
0.021 to 3.0
[0033]-[0034], [0037]-[0038]
N
0.01 or less
P
Less than 0.02
0.005 to 0.060
[0039]-[0040]
S
0.01 or less
0.01 or less
[0041]-[0042]
Optionally at least one of the following
B
0.004 or less
0.001 to 0.005
[0043], [0044]-[0046]
Co
0.1 or less
-
-
Cu
0.5 or less
0.05 to 1.0
[0043], [0055]-[0056]
Cr
0.001 to 1.00
0.001 to 1.0
[0043], [0051]-[0052]
Mo
0.001 to 0.5
0.05 to 1.0
[0043], [0053]-[0054]
Nb
0.1 or less
0.005 to 0.05
[0043], [0047]-[0048]
Ni
1.0 or less
0.05 to 1.0
[0043], [0057]-[0058]
Ti
0.1 or less
0.005 to 0.05
[0043], [0049]-[0050]
Fe
Remainder
Remainder
[0059]
B) annealing the steel sheet with the following steps in order:
i) a pre-heating step wherein the steel sheet is heated from room temperature to a temperature T1 between 550°C and Ac1+50°C (A°C, A is 600 to 780) ([0018], [0026]-[0027])
ii) a heating step wherein the steel sheet is heated from a temperature T1 (A°C, A is 600 to 780) to a recrystallisation temperature T2 between 720°C and 1000°C (B°C, B is 800 to 900) ([0018], [0026]-[0028]) in an atmosphere A1, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (1% to 50% hydrogen, nitrogen, and unavoidable impurities) ([0071]), having a dew point DP1 between -10°C and +30°C (-5°C or higher) ([0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070])
iii) a soaking step wherein the steel sheet is held at the recrystallisation temperature T2 (B°C, B is 800 to 900) ([0028], [0069], [0085], Table 2) in an atmosphere A2, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (1% to 50% hydrogen, nitrogen, and unavoidable impurities) ([0071]), having a dew point DP2 between -30°C and 0°C (-50°C to -10°C) ([0070]), the dew point DP1 (-5°C or higher) ([0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) being higher than the dew point DP2 (-50°C to -10°C) ([0070]) and
iv) a cooling step (heating and soaking at B°C, B is 800 to 900, then galvanizing at 460°C necessarily requires cooling) ([0070], [0072], [0085]); and
C) coating the steel sheet with a zinc-based or an aluminium based coating (Al-containing Zn bath) ([0085]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 21, Fushiwaki discloses DP1 (-5°C or higher) ([0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) is between 5°C and 40°C (at least 5°C) higher than DP2 (-50°C to -10°C) ([0070]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 22, Fushiwaki discloses DP1 (-5°C or higher) ([0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) is between 10°C and 30°C (at least 5°C) higher than DP2 (-50°C to -10°C) ([0070]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 17-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki (US 2012/0018060) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729).
Regarding claim 17, Fushiwaki discloses in the cooling step of claim 16, an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and an inert gas (1% to 50% hydrogen, nitrogen, unavoidable impurities) ([0071]), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (-50°C to -10°C) ([0070]).
Fushiwaki is silent to the steel sheet being cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0012]) including a cooling step, wherein the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume H2 and an inert gas, having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C ([0023], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the cooling of Fushiwaki to cool between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintain at T3 for at least 40 seconds to obtain a carbides free bainite microstructure transformation (Pipard [0075]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Fushiwaki is silent to in the method of claim 17 after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0012]) including after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s ([0025], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Fushiwaki after the cooling step to further cool down the steel sheet then reheat because to obtain a quenched and partitioned microstructure (Pipard [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Fushiwaki in view of Pipard discloses in the method of claim 18 the steel sheet is held at TQT during 2 to 8s (Pipard [0025], [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 24, Fushiwaki discloses in the step C), the coating (galvanization) is performed by hot-dip coating ([0006]).
Fushiwaki is silent to the steel strip is set at a temperature between 5°C to 10°C above a galvanizing bath, having an aluminium content between 0.09 and 0.15 weight percent, being maintained at a temperature between 450°C to 470°C and the steel strip is then heated to a temperature between 470°C and 550°C after exiting said galvanizing bath.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacturing of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0012]) wherein in the step C), the coating is performed by hot-dip coating ([0027], [0078]) and the steel strip (465°C +/- 20°C) is set at a temperature between 5°C to 10°C above a galvanizing bath (460°C +/- 20°C), having an aluminium content between 0.09 and 0.15 weight percent (0.10 to 0.17 wt%), being maintained at a temperature between 450°C to 470°C (460°C +/- 20°C) and the steel strip is then heated to a temperature between 470°C and 550°C (475 to 570°C) after exiting said galvanizing bath ([0079]-[0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coating of Fushiwaki to use the process disclosed by Pipard to achieve effect corrosion resistance (Pipard [0002]) with a high resistance to liquid metal embrittlement (LME) (Pipard [0083]), where the heating after galvanization causes diffusion of iron in the coating (Pipard [0078]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki (US 2012/0018060) in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Staudte (WO2017/182833 with citations from US 2019/0119776).
Regarding claim 20, Fushiwaki in view of Pipard is silent to in the method of claim 18 after said cooling step iv) and said reheating step v), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas, having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C.
Staudte discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0009]) including after said cooling step iv) ([0015], [0045]), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C (between 400 and 800°C) in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas (inert gas including at least 2.0 vol% H2), having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C (below -40°C) ([0016], [0046], [0063]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after the cooling and reheating process of Fushiwaki in view of Pipard to perform an equalizing step to equalize the edges and the center of the steel sheet (Staudte [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735