DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of PCT/IB2020/054322 filed May 7, 2020 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of a copy of WO 2021/224707, the WIPO publication of PCT/IB2021/053333 filed April 22, 2021.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks and Claim Amendments filed April 3, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
April 3, 2026
Amended
16, 25, 26
New
35-41
Cancelled
1-15
Pending
16-41
Withdrawn
23, 25-34
Under Examination
16-22, 24, 35-41
The applicant argues support for the claim 16 amendments in [0049] to [0055] and [0072] (Remarks p. 1 para. 2).
In applicant’s specification [0051] supports the partially decarburized layer and the decarburized layer at the end of the hearting step and, [0055] discusses the partially decarburized layer and the decarburized layer at the end of the soaking step with [0051] and [0055] supporting the soaking step reducing a thickness of the decarburized layer, and [0072] supports the partially decarburized layer and the decarburized layer after step B iv, annealing by pre-heating, heating, soaking, and cooling.
Response to Remarks filed April 3, 2026
Applicant's arguments filed April 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Okada (US 2009/0123651)
The applicant argues Okada does not disclose a partially decarburized layer and a decarburized layer on top of the partially decarburized layer (p. 3 para. 2) and there is no evidence that the broad overlapping process steps of Okada would form the claimed decarburized and partially decarburized layers (p. 3 para. 4).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2123(I).
The claim 16 amendments directed to a partially decarburized layer and a decarburized layer have been considered and determined to recite features that result from the claimed process. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E) processed by a substantially similar process (Okada [0026]-[0028], [0034], [0040]), such that the product of the prior art is substantially similar to the product claimed, including the presence and features of the claimed partially decarburized layer and the carburized layer throughout the claimed annealing process.
Claim 1: Annealing
Okada
Pre-heating to T1
T1 between 550°C and Ac1+5-°C
Front heating zone ([0026]-[0028])
550°C to 750°C
Heating from T1 to T2 in A1
T2 between 720°C and 1000°C
A1 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP1 between -10°C and +30°C
Rear heating zone ([0040])
830°C to 850°C
5% H2 with balance N2, unavoidable components
Dew point -40°C to 5°C
Soaking at T2 in A2
A2 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP2 between -30°C and 0°C
DP1 > DP2
Soaking zone ([0040])
5% H2 with balance N2, unavoidable components
Dew point -40°C to 5°C
Table 2 Steel type A, B, D
Steel Type
A
B
D
DP1 (rear heating zone)
-25
-20
-20
DP2 (soaking zone)
-30
-22
-25
Fushiwaki (US 2012/0018060)
The applicant argues Fushiwaki does not disclose the claim 16 amendments and argues the same as Okawa (p. 4).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2123(I).
The claim 16 amendments directed to a partially decarburized layer and a decarburized layer have been considered and determined to recite features that result from the claimed process. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Fushiwaki [0030]-[0059]) processed by a substantially similar process (Fushiwaki [0018], [0026]-[0029], [0034], [0040], [0069]-[0071], [0085], Table 2), such that the product of the prior art is substantially similar to the product claimed, including the presence and features of the claimed partially decarburized layer and the decarburized layer throughout the claimed annealing process.
Claim 1: Annealing
Fushiwaki
Pre-heating to T1
T1 between 550°C and Ac1+5-°C
A°C ([0018], [0026]-[0027])
600 to 780°C
Heating from T1 to T2 in A1
T2 between 720°C and 1000°C
A1 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP1 between -10°C and +30°C
Heating from A to B ([0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070])
B is 800°C to 900°C
1 to 50% H2, N2, unavoidable impurities
Dew point -5°C or higher
Soaking at T2 in A2
A2 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP2 between -30°C and 0°C
DP1 > DP2
([0026]-[0029], [0069]-[0071], [0085], Table 2)
1 to 50% H2, N2, unavoidable impurities
Dew point -50°C to -10°C
(-5°C or higher) > (-50° to -10°C)
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 lines 2 and 24 and claim 24 line 3 “aluminium” refers to the element aluminum, Al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 line 1 “the internal oxide layer” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis. Claim 38 depends from claim 16, which does not recite an internal oxide layer. New claim 37 line 2 recites “an internal oxide layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 21, 24, 36-38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2009/0123651) as evidenced by Deng (Deng et al. Influence of Dew Point on the Selective Oxidation, Microstructure and Mechanical Properties of a High-Al Low-Si Dual Phase Steel during Hot-Dip Galvanizing Process. Protection of Metals and Physical Chemistry of Surfaces, 2018, Vol. 54, No. 3, pp. 496-502.).
Regarding claim 16, Okada discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet coated with a zinc-based or an aluminium-based coating (Okada [0001]-[0002]), the method comprising:
A)providing a steel sheet with a composition that reads on that claimed (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E);
Element
Claim 16
Okada Table 1 Steel type B
Okada Table 1 Steel type C
Okada Table 1 Steel type D
Okada Table 1 Steel type E
Al
0.01 to 1.0
0.025
0.25
0.32
0.30
C
0.07 to 0.50
0.1
0.1
0.12
0.11
Mn
0.3 to 5.0
1.6
1.6
1.1
1.58
V
Less than 0.2
-
-
-
-
Si
0.01 to 2.45
0.5
1.25
1.2
1.8
Si + Al
0.35 to 3.5
0.525
1.50
1.52
2.1
N
0.01 or less
-
-
-
-
P
Less than 0.02
0.008
0.007
0.009
0.008
S
0.01 or less
0.003
0.005
0.007
0.003
Optionally at least one of the following
B
0.004 or less
-
-
-
-
Co
0.1 or less
-
-
-
-
Cu
0.5 or less
-
-
-
-
Cr
0.001 to 1.00
-
-
-
-
Mo
0.001 to 0.5
-
-
-
-
Nb
0.1 or less
-
-
-
-
Ni
1.0 or less
-
-
0.6
-
Ti
0.1 or less
-
-
-
-
Fe
Remainder
Balance
Balance
Balance
Balance
B) annealing the steel sheet (Okada [0013], [0024]) with the following steps in order:
i) a pre-heating step (front heating zone) wherein the steel sheet is heated from room temperature to a temperature T1 between 550°C and Ac1+50°C (550°C to 750°C) (Okada [0026]-[0028]),
ii) a heating step (rear heating zone) wherein the steel sheet is heated from a temperature T1 to a recrystallisation temperature T2 between 720°C and 1000°C (830°C to 850°C) in an atmosphere A1, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable components), having a dew point DP1 between -10°C and +30°C (-40°C to 5°C) (Okada [0040]) (a 5 vol% H2 and 95 vol% annealing atmosphere also includes oxygen and water) (Deng 2. Materials and Experimental Procedure, 4.1. The Effect of Dew Point on the Surface Oxidation)
iii) a soaking step (soaking zone) wherein the steel sheet is held at the recrystallisation temperature T2 in an atmosphere A2, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable components), having a dew point DP2 between -30°C and 0°C (-40°C to 5°C) (Okada [0040]), the dew point DP1 (rear heating zone) being higher than the dew point DP2 (soaking zone) (Okada Table 2 Steel type A, B, D) (a 5 vol% H2 and 95 vol% annealing atmosphere also includes oxygen and water) (Deng 2. Materials and Experimental Procedure, 4.1. The Effect of Dew Point on the Surface Oxidation) and
iv) a cooling step (Okada [0034], [0040]); and
C) coating the steel sheet with a zinc-based or an aluminium based coating (Okada [0040]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The limitation of ii) a heating step forming a partially decarburization layer having a carbon weight-percent between 5 and 20 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel sheet of step a, and a decarburized layer on top of the partially decarburized layer and having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel of step a has been considered and determined to recite a structure that naturally flows from the claimed heating step. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E) that undergoes a rear heating zone process (Okada [0040]) that is substantially similar to the claimed B) annealing ii) heating step process, such that the resulting product of the prior art is also substantially similar to that claimed, including forming a partially decarburization layer having a carbon weight-percent between 5 and 20 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel sheet of step a, and a decarburized layer on top of the partially decarburized layer and having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel of step a.
Claim 1: Annealing
Okada
Pre-heating to T1
T1 between 550°C and Ac1+5-°C
Front heating zone ([0026]-[0028])
550°C to 750°C
Heating from T1 to T2 in A1
T1 between 550°C and AC1+50°C
T2 between 720°C and 1000°C
A1 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP1 between -10°C and +30°C
Rear heating zone ([0040])
From 600 to 780°C to
830°C to 850°C
5% H2 with balance N2, unavoidable components
Dew point -40°C to 5°C
The limitation of iii) a soaking step reducing a thickness of the decarburized layer has been considered and determined to recite a structure that naturally flows from the claimed heating step. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E) that undergoes a soaking zone (Okada [0040], Table 2 Steel type A, B, D) that is substantially similar to the claimed B) annealing iii) soaking step, such that the product of the prior art is also substantially similar to that claimed, including a soaking step reducing a thickness of the decarburized layer.
Claim 1: Annealing
Okada
Soaking at T2 in A2
T2 between 720°C and 1000°C
A2 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP2 between -30°C and 0°C
DP1 > DP2
Soaking zone ([0040])
830°C to 850°C
5% H2 with balance N2, unavoidable components
Dew point -40°C to 5°C
Table 2 Steel type A, B, D
Steel Type
A
B
D
DP1 (rear heating zone)
-25
-20
-20
DP2 (soaking zone)
-30
-22
-25
The limitation of B) annealing the steel sheet with the following steps in order: i) a pre-heating step, ii) a heating step, iii) a soaking step, iv) a cooling step, wherein after step B iv, the partially decarburized layer has a thickness between 20 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 50 percent of ferrite and at least one of the following constituents from the group consisting of bainite, martensite and retained austenite, and the decarburized layer has a thickness between 5 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 90 percent of ferrite has been considered and determined to recite a structure that naturally flows from the claimed annealing step. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E) that undergoes annealing (Okada [0013], [0024]-[0028], [0034], [0040], Table 2 Steel type A, B, D) that is substantially similar to the claimed B) annealing step, such that the product of the prior art is also substantially similar to that claimed, including after step B iv, the partially decarburized layer has a thickness between 20 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 50 percent of ferrite and at least one of the following constituents from the group consisting of bainite, martensite and retained austenite, and the decarburized layer has a thickness between 5 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 90 percent of ferrite.
Regarding claim 21, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 DP1 is between 5°C and 40°C higher than DP2 (2 to 5°C) (Okada Table 2 A and B). Further, Okada discloses the dew points in the different zones, including rare heating zone and soaking zone, are controlled to -40°C to 5°C (Okada [0040]). Therefore, the difference between DP1 and DP2 (DP1-DP2) ranges from +45°C to -45°C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 24, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 step C), the coating is performed by hot-dip coating and the steel strip is set at a temperature between 5°C to 10°C above a galvanizing bath (5°C where steel sheet is 465°C and plating bath temperature is 460°C), having an aluminium content between 0.09 and 0.15 weight percent (0.13% Al concentration), being maintained at a temperature between 450°C to 470°C (460°C) and the steel strip is then heated to a temperature between 470°C and 550°C (500°C) after exiting said galvanizing bath (Okada [0040]).
Regarding claim 36, Okada discloses the dew point DP2 is between -20°C and -5°C (-40 to 5°C) and the dew point DP1 is between -5°C and 4°C (-40°C to 5°C) (Okada [0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 37, Okada discloses an upper part of the decarburized layer includes an internal oxide layer having a thickness between 2 and 12 µm, and containing Mn, Si, Al and Cr based elemental oxides and mixed oxides of Mn, Si, Al and Cr (Si, Mn, and other easily oxidizable elements are oxidized with internal oxides of Si and Mn formed from the steel sheet surface down to a depth of 2 um or less) (Okada [0011], [0024], [0026]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 38, the internal oxide layer having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the bulk steel and having at least 90 percent of ferrite have been considered and determined to recite features that result from the claimed process. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E) that undergoes annealing (Okada [0013], [0024]-[0028], [0034], [0040], Table 2 Steel type A, B, D) that is substantially similar to that claimed, such that the product of the prior art is substantially similar to the product claimed, including the internal oxide layer having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the bulk steel and having at least 90 percent of ferrite.
Regarding claim 40, the coated steel sheet having an ultimate tensile strength greater than 900 MPa has been considered and determined to recite a property that results from the claimed process. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Okada Table 1 Steel types B-E) that undergoes annealing (Okada [0013], [0024]-[0028], [0034], [0040], Table 2 Steel type A, B, D) that is substantially similar to that claimed, such that the product of the prior art is substantially similar to the product claimed, including the coated steel sheet having an ultimate tensile strength greater than 900 MPa.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada as evidenced by Deng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Del Frate (US 2016/0194739).
Regarding claim 17, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 in the cooling step, the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C (465°C) in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and an inert gas (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable impurities), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (-30°C or less) (Okada [0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Okada is silent to maintaining at T3 for at least 40 seconds.
Del Frate discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0044]) including a cooling step (Vcooling2), wherein the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C (between 350°C and 550°C) and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds (between 10 and 300 seconds) ([0052], [0133]) in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume H2 and an inert gas (between 2% and 35% H2), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (below -10°C) ([0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the cooling of Okada to maintain at T3 for at least 40 seconds (between 10 and 300 seconds) to facilitate the Zn coating by hot dip process without affecting the final mechanical properties (Del Frate [0133]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Okada is silent to in the method of claim 17 after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s.
Del Frate discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Del Frate [0001], [0044]) including after the cooling step (Vcooling2), the steel sheet is further cooled down (Vcooling3) to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) (Del Frate [0052], [0134]) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated (tempered) up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C (200 and 400°C) for 30s to 300s (200 and 800 seconds) (Del Frate [0065], [0137]). Vcooling3 to room temperature includes cooling between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Okada after the cooling step to further cool down the steel sheet then temper because Vcooling3 is typical of annealing lines (Del Frate [0134]) and tempering enables tempering of martensite, thus decreasing the hardness and improve hole expandability (Del Frate [0137]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 17-19 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada as evidenced by Deng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729).
Regarding claim 17, Okada discloses in the method of claim 16 in the cooling step, the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C (465°C) in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and an inert gas (hydrogen 5% and the balance of nitrogen and unavoidable impurities), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (-30°C or less) (Okada [0040]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Okada is silent to maintaining at T3 for at least 40 seconds.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Pipard [0001], [0012]) including a cooling step, wherein the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume H2 and an inert gas, having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (Pipard [0023], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the cooling of Okada to maintain at T3 for at least 40 seconds to obtain microstructure transformation (Pipard [0075]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Okada is silent to in the method of claim 17 after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Pipard [0001], [0012]) including after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s (Pipard [0025], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Okada after the cooling step to further cool down the steel sheet then reheat because to obtain a quenched and partitioned microstructure (Pipard [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Okada in view of Pipard discloses in the method of claim 18 the steel sheet is held at TQT during 2 to 8s (Pipard [0025], [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 39, Okada is silent to the coated steel sheet thickness.
Pipard discloses a coated steel sheet (Pipard [0001], [0012]) having a thickness between 0.5mm and 3.0mm (Pipard [0036], [0050], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coated steel sheet thickness of Okada to be between 0.5 and 2.5 mm because this is a typical thickness range used in automotive industry (Pipard [0050]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada as evidenced by Deng in view of Del Frate (US 2016/0194739) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Staudte (WO2017/182833 with citations from US 2019/0119776).
Regarding claim 20, Okada in view of Del Frate is silent in the method of claim 18 after said cooling step iv) and said reheating step v), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas, having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C.
Staudte discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Staudte [0001], [0009]) including after said cooling step iv) (Staudte [0015], [0045]), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C (between 400 and 800°C) in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas (inert gas including at least 2.0 vol% H2), having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C (below -40°C) (Staudte [0016], [0046], [0063]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after the cooling and reheating process of Okada in view of Del Frate to perform an equalizing step to equalize the edges and the center of the steel sheet (Staudte [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada as evidenced by Deng in view of Pipard as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Staudte (WO2017/182833 with citations from US 2019/0119776).
Regarding claim 20, Okada in view of Pipard is silent to in the method of claim 18 after said cooling step iv) and said reheating step v), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas, having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C.
Staudte discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Staudte [0001], [0009]) including after said cooling step iv) (Staudte [0015], [0045]), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C (between 400 and 800°C) in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas (inert gas including at least 2.0 vol% H2), having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C (below -40°C) (Staudte [0016], [0046], [0063]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after the cooling and reheating process of Okada in view of Pipard to perform an equalizing step to equalize the edges and the center of the steel sheet (Staudte [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada as evidenced by Deng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Blumenau (US 2015/0345002).
In the event it is determined that Okada does not read on the claimed difference between DP1 and DP2 of claims 21 and 22 then the below rejection in view of Blumenau is applied.
Regarding claim 21, Okada discloses the dew points in the different zones, including rear heating zone (DP1) and soaking zone (DP2), are controlled to -40°C to 5°C (Okada [0040]).
Blumenau discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001]) wherein DP1 (TP1, -15°C to +30°C) is between 5°C and 40°C (up to 60°C) higher than DP2 (TP2, -30°C to 0°C) (TP1>TP2) (Blumenau [0029], [0030], [0032], [0042], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Okada for the difference between DP1 and DP2 to be up to 45°C (maximum difference between -40°C and 5°C) with DP1 (TP1) being greater than DP2 (TP2) so that there is an increased initial formation of internal oxides of base metal alloy elements that achieve an optimum reduction result on the steel surface due to lowering of the dew point, preventing oxidation of Fe (Blumenau [0052]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 22, Okada in view of Blumenau discloses in the method of claim 21 DP1 (TP1) is between 10°C and 30°C higher than DP2 (TP2) (maximum difference is up to 45°C) (Okada [0040]; Blumenau [0029], [0030], [0032], [0042], [0052]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada as evidenced by Deng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kaneko (JP 2002-146485 machine translation).
Regarding claim 41, Okada discloses C) coating of the steel sheet with the zinc-based or the aluminium based coating including coating the steel sheet with the zinc-based coating ([0002], [0003], [0040]).
Okada is silent to the zinc-based coating having a thickness between 3 and 30 µm and containing between 10 and 20 weight percent of iron.
Kaneko discloses coating of a steel sheet with a zinc-based coating (Kaneko [0006]), the zinc-based coating having a thickness between 3 and 30 µm (1 to 200 um) (Kaneko [0007], [0013]) and containing between 10 and 20 weight percent of iron (20% Fe and 80% Zn) (Kaneko [0020], Table 1 Ex. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coating of Okada to be a 20% Fe and 80% Zn coating with a thickness of 1 to 200 um to limit the wettability of the steel surface with water (Kaneko [0006]), keeping the water contact angle on the surface of the coating layer to 50° or less (Kaneko [0007]) and preventing peeling during processing (Kaneko [0013]).
Claims 16, 21, 22, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki (US 2012/0018060) as evidenced by Deng (Deng et al. Influence of Dew Point on the Selective Oxidation, Microstructure and Mechanical Properties of a High-Al Low-Si Dual Phase Steel during Hot-Dip Galvanizing Process. Protection of Metals and Physical Chemistry of Surfaces, 2018, Vol. 54, No. 3, pp. 496-502.).
Regarding claim 16, Fushiwaki discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet coated with a zinc-based or an aluminium-based coating (Fushiwaki [0002], [0013]), the method comprising:
A) providing a steel sheet having an overlapping chemical composition (Fushiwaki [0030]-[0059])
Element
Claim 16
Fushiwaki
Disclosure
Fushiwaki
Citation
Al
0.01 to 1.0
0.001 to 1.0
[0037]-[0038]
C
0.07 to 0.50
0.01 to 0.18
[0031]-[0032]
Mn
0.3 to 5.0
1.0 to 3.0
[0035]-[0036]
V
Less than 0.2
Si
0.01 to 2.45
0.02 to 2.0
[0033]-[0034]
Si + Al
0.35 to 3.5
0.021 to 3.0
[0033]-[0034], [0037]-[0038]
N
0.01 or less
P
Less than 0.02
0.005 to 0.060
[0039]-[0040]
S
0.01 or less
0.01 or less
[0041]-[0042]
Optionally at least one of the following
B
0.004 or less
0.001 to 0.005
[0043], [0044]-[0046]
Co
0.1 or less
-
-
Cu
0.5 or less
0.05 to 1.0
[0043], [0055]-[0056]
Cr
0.001 to 1.00
0.001 to 1.0
[0043], [0051]-[0052]
Mo
0.001 to 0.5
0.05 to 1.0
[0043], [0053]-[0054]
Nb
0.1 or less
0.005 to 0.05
[0043], [0047]-[0048]
Ni
1.0 or less
0.05 to 1.0
[0043], [0057]-[0058]
Ti
0.1 or less
0.005 to 0.05
[0043], [0049]-[0050]
Fe
Remainder
Remainder
[0059]
B) annealing the steel sheet with the following steps in order:
i) a pre-heating step wherein the steel sheet is heated from room temperature to a temperature T1 between 550°C and Ac1+50°C (A°C, A is 600 to 780) (Fushiwaki [0018], [0026]-[0027])
ii) a heating step wherein the steel sheet is heated from a temperature T1 (A°C, A is 600 to 780) to a recrystallisation temperature T2 between 720°C and 1000°C (B°C, B is 800 to 900) (Fushiwaki [0018], [0026]-[0028]) in an atmosphere A1, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (1% to 50% hydrogen, nitrogen, and unavoidable impurities) (Fushiwaki [0071]), having a dew point DP1 between -10°C and +30°C (-5°C or higher) (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) (a 5 vol% H2 and 95 vol% annealing atmosphere also includes oxygen and water) (Deng 2. Materials and Experimental Procedure, 4.1. The Effect of Dew Point on the Surface Oxidation)
iii) a soaking step wherein the steel sheet is held at the recrystallisation temperature T2 (B°C, B is 800 to 900) (Fushiwaki [0028], [0069], [0085], Table 2) in an atmosphere A2, comprising between 0.1 and 15% by volume of H2 with the balance made up of an inert gas, H2O, O2 and unavoidable impurities (1% to 50% hydrogen, nitrogen, and unavoidable impurities) ([0071]), having a dew point DP2 between -30°C and 0°C (-50°C to -10°C) (Fushiwaki [0070]), the dew point DP1 (-5°C or higher) (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) being higher than the dew point DP2 (-50°C to -10°C) (Fushiwaki [0070]) (a 5 vol% H2 and 95 vol% annealing atmosphere also includes oxygen and water) (Deng 2. Materials and Experimental Procedure, 4.1. The Effect of Dew Point on the Surface Oxidation) and
iv) a cooling step (heating and soaking at B°C, B is 800 to 900, then galvanizing at 460°C necessarily requires cooling) (Fushiwaki [0070], [0072], [0085]); and
C) coating the steel sheet with a zinc-based or an aluminium based coating (Al-containing Zn bath) (Fushiwaki [0085]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The limitation of ii) a heating step forming a partially decarburization layer having a carbon weight-percent between 5 and 20 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel sheet of step a, and a decarburized layer on top of the partially decarburized layer and having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel of step a has been considered and determined to recite a structure that naturally flows from the claimed heating step. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Fushiwaki [0030]-[0059]) that undergoes a rear heating zone process (Fushiwaki [0018], [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) that is substantially similar to the claimed B) annealing ii) heating step process, such that the resulting product of the prior art is also substantially similar to that claimed, including forming a partially decarburization layer having a carbon weight-percent between 5 and 20 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel sheet of step a, and a decarburized layer on top of the partially decarburized layer and having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the steel of step a.
Claim 1: Annealing
Fushiwaki
Pre-heating to T1
T1 between 550°C and Ac1+5-°C
A°C ([0018], [0026]-[0027])
600 to 780°C
Heating from T1 to T2 in A1
T2 between 720°C and 1000°C
A1 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP1 between -10°C and +30°C
Heating from A to B ([0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070])
B is 800°C to 900°C
1 to 50% H2, N2, unavoidable impurities
Dew point -5°C or higher
The limitation of iii) a soaking step reducing a thickness of the decarburized layer has been considered and determined to recite a structure that naturally flows from the claimed heating step. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Fushiwaki [0030]-[0059]) that undergoes a soaking zone (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0029], [0069]-[0071], [0085], Table 2) that is substantially similar to the claimed B) annealing iii) soaking step, such that the product of the prior art is also substantially similar to that claimed, including a soaking step reducing a thickness of the decarburized layer.
Claim 1: Annealing
Fushiwaki
Soaking at T2 in A2
A2 atm 0.1 to 15% H2 balance inert gas, H2O, O2
DP2 between -30°C and 0°C
DP1 > DP2
At B°C ([0026]-[0029], [0069]-[0071], [0085], Table 2)
1 to 50% H2, N2, unavoidable impurities
Dew point -50°C to -10°C
(-5°C or higher) > (-50° to -10°C)
The limitation of B) annealing the steel sheet with the following steps in order: i) a pre-heating step, ii) a heating step, iii) a soaking step, iv) a cooling step, wherein after step B iv, the partially decarburized layer has a thickness between 20 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 50 percent of ferrite and at least one of the following constituents from the group consisting of bainite, martensite and retained austenite, and the decarburized layer has a thickness between 5 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 90 percent of ferrite has been considered and determined to recite a structure that naturally flows from the claimed annealing step. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Fushiwaki [0030]-[0059]) that undergoes annealing (Fushiwaki [0018], [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0069]-[0072], [0085], Table 2) that is substantially similar to the claimed B) annealing step, such that the product of the prior art is also substantially similar to that claimed, including after step B iv, the partially decarburized layer has a thickness between 20 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 50 percent of ferrite and at least one of the following constituents from the group consisting of bainite, martensite and retained austenite, and the decarburized layer has a thickness between 5 and 40 um and a microstructure including at least 90 percent of ferrite.
Regarding claim 21, Fushiwaki discloses DP1 (-5°C or higher) (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) is between 5°C and 40°C (at least 5°C) higher than DP2 (-50°C to -10°C) (Fushiwaki [0070]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 22, Fushiwaki discloses DP1 (-5°C or higher) (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]) is between 10°C and 30°C (at least 5°C) higher than DP2 (-50°C to -10°C) (Fushiwaki [0070]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 35, Fushiwaki discloses cold-rolling the steel sheet prior to the B) annealing of the steel sheet (Fushiwaki [0061], [0065]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 36, Fushiwaki discloses the dew point DP2 is between -20°C and -5°C (-50°C to -10°C) ([0070]) and the dew point DP1 is between -5°C and 4°C (-5°C or higher) (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0027], [0029], [0070]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 37, Fushiwaki discloses an upper part of the decarburized layer includes an internal oxide layer having a thickness between 2 and 12 µm, and containing Mn, Si, Al and Cr based elemental oxides and mixed oxides of Mn, Si, Al and Cr (internal oxide of oxidizable elements Si, Mn, and the like within 10 um from the surface layer of the steel sheet, where Al promotes internal oxidation of Si and Mn and Cr promotes the internal oxidation of Si to suppress surface concentration) (Fushiwaki [0026]-[0029], [0038], [0043], [0052], [0061], [0079]-[0080]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 38, the internal oxide layer having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the bulk steel and having at least 90 percent of ferrite have been considered and determined to recite features that result from the claimed process. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Fushiwaki [0030]-[0059]) that undergoes a substantially similar process (Fushiwaki [0018], [0026]-[0029], [0034], [0040], [0069]-[0071], [0085], Table 2), such that the product of the prior art is substantially similar to the product claimed, including the internal oxide layer having a carbon weight-percent of less than 5 percent of the carbon weight-percent of the bulk steel and having at least 90 percent of ferrite.
Regarding claim 39, Fushiwaki discloses the coated steel sheet has a thickness between 0.5mm and 3.0mm (1.0 mm) (Fushiwaki [0084], [0111]).
Regarding claim 40, Fushiwaki discloses the coated steel sheet has an ultimate tensile strength greater than 900 MPa (340 MPa or more) (Fushiwaki [0022], Table 4). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 17-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki as evidenced by Deng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729).
Regarding claim 17, Fushiwaki discloses in the cooling step of claim 16, an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and an inert gas (1% to 50% hydrogen, nitrogen, unavoidable impurities) (Fushiwaki [0071]), having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (-50°C to -10°C) (Fushiwaki [0070]).
Fushiwaki is silent to the steel sheet being cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Pipard [0001], [0012]) including a cooling step, wherein the steel sheet is cooled down to a temperature T3 between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintained at T3 for at least 40 seconds in an atmosphere A3 including between 1 and 30% by volume H2 and an inert gas, having a dew point DP3 below or equal to -40°C (Pipard [0023], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the cooling of Fushiwaki to cool between Ms and Ms+150°C and maintain at T3 for at least 40 seconds to obtain a carbides free bainite microstructure transformation (Pipard [0075]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Fushiwaki is silent to in the method of claim 17 after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet (Pipard [0001], [0012]) including after the cooling step, the steel sheet is further cooled down to a temperature TQT between (Ms-5°C) and (Ms-170°C) and undergoes then a reheating step v) wherein the steel sheet is reheated up to a temperature T4 between 300 and 550°C for 30s to 300s (Pipard [0025], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Fushiwaki after the cooling step to further cool down the steel sheet then reheat because to obtain a quenched and partitioned microstructure (Pipard [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Fushiwaki in view of Pipard discloses in the method of claim 18 the steel sheet is held at TQT during 2 to 8s (Pipard [0025], [0076]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 24, Fushiwaki discloses in the step C), the coating (galvanization) is performed by hot-dip coating (Fushiwaki [0006]).
Fushiwaki is silent to the steel strip is set at a temperature between 5°C to 10°C above a galvanizing bath, having an aluminium content between 0.09 and 0.15 weight percent, being maintained at a temperature between 450°C to 470°C and the steel strip is then heated to a temperature between 470°C and 550°C after exiting said galvanizing bath.
Pipard discloses a method for manufacturing of a coated steel sheet (Pipard [0001], [0012]) wherein in the step C), the coating is performed by hot-dip coating (Pipard [0027], [0078]) and the steel strip (465°C +/- 20°C) is set at a temperature between 5°C to 10°C above a galvanizing bath (460°C +/- 20°C), having an aluminium content between 0.09 and 0.15 weight percent (0.10 to 0.17 wt%), being maintained at a temperature between 450°C to 470°C (460°C +/- 20°C) and the steel strip is then heated to a temperature between 470°C and 550°C (475 to 570°C) after exiting said galvanizing bath (Pipard [0079]-[0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coating of Fushiwaki to use the process disclosed by Pipard to achieve effect corrosion resistance (Pipard [0002]) with a high resistance to liquid metal embrittlement (LME) (Pipard [0083]), where the heating after galvanization causes diffusion of iron in the coating (Pipard [0078]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki as evidenced by Deng in view of Pipard (WO 2018/234938 with citations from US 2020/0181729) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Staudte (WO2017/182833 with citations from US 2019/0119776).
Regarding claim 20, Fushiwaki in view of Pipard is silent to in the method of claim 18 after said cooling step iv) and said reheating step v), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas, having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C.
Staudte discloses a method for manufacture of a coated steel sheet ([0001], [0009]) including after said cooling step iv) ([0015], [0045]), an equalizing step vi) wherein the steel strip is heated up to a temperature between 300°C and 500°C (between 400 and 800°C) in an atmosphere A4 including between 1 and 30% by volume of H2 and at least an inert gas (inert gas including at least 2.0 vol% H2), having a dew point DP4 below or equal to - 40°C (below -40°C) (Staudte [0016], [0046], [0063]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after the cooling and reheating process of Fushiwaki in view of Pipard to perform an equalizing step to equalize the edges and the center of the steel sheet (Staudte [0063]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushiwaki as evidenced by Deng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kaneko (JP 2002-146485 machine translation).
Regarding claim 41, Fushiwaki is silent to the C) coating of the steel sheet with the zinc-based or the aluminium based coating including coating the steel sheet with the zinc-based coating, the zinc-based coating having a thickness between 3 and 30 µm and containing between 10 and 20 weight percent of iron.
Kaneko discloses coating of a steel sheet with a zinc-based coating (Kaneko [0006]), the zinc-based coating having a thickness between 3 and 30 µm (1 to 200 um) (Kaneko [0007], [0013]) and containing between 10 and 20 weight percent of iron (20% Fe and 80% Zn) (Kaneko [0020], Table 1 Ex. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coating of Fushiwaki to be a 20% Fe and 80% Zn coating with a thickness of 1 to 200 um to limit the wettability of the steel surface with water (Kaneko [0006]), keeping the water contact angle on the surface of the coating layer to 50° or less (Kaneko [0007]) and preventing peeling during processing (Kaneko [0013]).
Related Art
Liu (Liu et al. Effect of dew point on the surface selective oxidation and subsurface microstructure of TRIP-aided steel. Surface & Coatings Technology 206 (2011) 1237-1243.)
Liu discloses the effect of dew point on the surface selective oxidation behavior and the subsurface of TRIP-aided steel (Abstract) by annealing at 800°C in an atmosphere of 5% H2 and 95% N2 and a dewpoint of -30°C or +10°C (2. Experimental procedures) to form surface oxides and/or grain boundary oxides containing Mn, Al, Si, and optionally P (3.1. Selective oxidation behavior of steel). Liu also discloses annealing at a -30°C dew point forms a subsurface region with a band containing only ferrite that is about 20 um wide (3.2. The microstructure of the subsurface matrix).
Deng (Deng et al. Influence of Dew Point on the Selective Oxidation, Microstructure and Mechanical Properties of a High-Al Low-Si Dual Phase Steel during Hot-Dip Galvanizing Process. Protection of Metals and Physical Chemistry of Surfaces, 2018, Vol. 54, No. 3, pp. 496-502.)
Deng discloses the effect of dew point on the selective oxidation of a high-Al low-Si steel (Abstract, 1. Introduction para. 3) annealed at 780°C under a 5 vol% H2 and 95 vol% N2 atmosphere at a dew point of -30°C and +5°C (2. Materials and Experimental Procedure). Deng discloses the depth of decarbuization increased with an increase in dew point from -30°C to +5°C (3.2. Microstructure and Mechanical Properties of High-Al-Low-Si Dual Phase Steels), the presence of hydrogen, oxygen, and water in the annealing atmosphere (4.1. The Effect of Dew Point on the Surface Oxidation), and a schematic of the internal/external oxidation mechanism and decarburization behavior with different dew points (4.2. The Effect of Dew Point on the Subsurface Microstructure, Fig. 8).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735