DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 10-10-25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Groups I, II, and III are different aspects of a single inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because Group I (Claims 1-10) are drawn to an electronic device receiving a network registration instruction sent by a host apparatus, classified in H04W48/18, Group II (Claims 15-23) are drawn to an electronic device sending a network registration instruction to an auxiliary apparatus, classified in H04W60/00, and Group III (Claim 25) are drawn to a system comprising a host apparatus and an auxiliary apparatus, wherein the host apparatus sends a network registration instruction to an auxiliary apparatus, classified in H04W8/04. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended Claim 1 is drafted based on Fig. 3 of Applicant’s disclosure, wherein newly amended “electronic device” of Claim 1 is the auxiliary apparatus. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret the amended claimed limitations in the broadest scope of the Applicant’s invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudarsan (US 2016/0014579 A1) in view of Shi (US 2018/0205450 A1), and further in view of Cao ("Method, Apparatus, System and Device for Incoming call alerting and Storage Medium", Oppo Guandong Mobile Telecommunications Co LTD, CN109246320A, pub. date 2019-01-18).
Regarding claim 1, Sudarsan teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory;
the memory is configured to store a program instruction and the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory ([0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein a mobile phone comprises a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory, and the memory is configured to store a program instruction and the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
receiving a network instruction sent by a host apparatus ([0110], “MSMA device 200 (~host apparatus) may transmit a second incoming call signal 835 to the third mobile communication device 277 (~receiving a network registration instruction sent by a host apparatus)”; Fig. 8),
wherein the host apparatus sends the network instruction when being connected to a network by using a first SIM card of the host apparatus ([0108], “The first SIM call 824 may then be established by connecting the first transceiver (e.g., 260) to the first radio access network for transmitting and receiving signals 825 (~when being connected to a network by using a first SIM card of the host apparatus)”; [0110], “the MSMA device 200 may transmit a second incoming call signal 835 (~host apparatus sends the network registration instruction) to the third mobile communication device 277”; Fig. 8);
establishing, in response to the network instruction, with the network ([0110], “establish the second SIM call 840”; Fig. 8 840),
wherein registering with the network is by using a modem in an idle SIM card slot on an auxiliary apparatus ([0037], “Successfully registering in a network, allows the modem stack corresponding to a SIM to operate in idle mode until a call is received or initiated”);
receiving second incoming call information that is sent by the network to a second SIM card of the host apparatus ([0075], “FIG. 4B illustrates a SIM2 call redirect user interface display 450 in the lower segment 420. The user (e.g., 10 in FIG. 1) has elected to redirect the second SIM call to “Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls ... The second mobile communication device may receive the redirected call similar to a traditional phone call (e.g., with a default ring-tone signaling that the user should press a user interface button or icon to “answer” the call) or immediately receive the call in a push-to-talk mode. Also, a second mobile communication device detail region 454 (or the like) may remind the user, to which second mobile communication device the SIM call is being redirected”; Fig. 4B); and
displaying an incoming call interface and playing a ringtone in response to the second incoming call information ([0075], “The second mobile communication device may receive the redirected call similar to a traditional phone call (e.g., with a default ring-tone signaling that the user should press a user interface button or icon to “answer” the call (~display of an incoming call interface)) or immediately receive the call in a push-to-talk mode. Also, a second mobile communication device detail region 454 (or the like) may remind the user, to which second mobile communication device the SIM call is being redirected”), and
sending the second incoming call information response to the host apparatus ([0110], “a call acceptance signal 837 may be transmitted back to the MSMA device 200”).
Sudarsan does not explicitly teach that the network instruction is a network registration instruction and establishing is registering.
However, Shi teaches a network registration instruction ([0026], “UE 118 transmits identity information, for example the international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), along with a list of services that the UE has access to, from the SIM or other subscriber identity modules, such as universal SIM (USIM), a removable user identity module (R-UIM), or universal integrated circuit card (UICC), to UE 114. UE 114 uses the identity information from UE 118 to register UE 118 to the second network through itself”), and registering ([0026], “register UE 118 to the second network”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi with the teaching of Sudarsan in order to guide an apparatus in establishing a secure, authorized connection with a mobile operator's network, ensuring communications of calls, texts, and data, as well as validating user's identity, enabling billing, and allowing the network to efficiently route services to the apparatus's current location.
The combination does not explicitly teach that sending the incoming call information response to the host apparatus is sending an incoming call information to a host apparatus.
However, Cao teaches sending an incoming call information to a host apparatus (incoming call information is sent to a first SIM card of an electronic device (~host apparatus) (see pg. 8, par. 2); pg. 3, par. 10, “sending module, configured to send the obtained user information to the first SIM card”; pg. 8, par. 2, “when one SIM card is in the call state, if other SIM cards receive the incoming call, the call information of the other SIM card is sent to the The SIM card in the call state”; pg. 18, par. 3, “the first SIM The card and the second SIM card are located in the same electronic device”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cao with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi in order to centralize, automate, and enhance the management of communication, by providing immediate call details to a host apparatus, allowing for improved user experience, efficient workflows, and better data tracking.
Regarding claim 10, Sudarsan in view of Shi, and further in view of Cao teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
The combination of Sudarsan and Shi does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory, so as to implement the following method:
receiving short message information that is sent by the network to the second SIM card, and sending the short message information to the host apparatus.
However, Cao further teaches wherein a processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (pg. 17, par. 3, “an apparatus, including a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and operable on the processor. When the processor executes the computer program”), so as to implement the following method:
receiving short message information that is sent by a network to a second SIM card, and sending the short message information to a host apparatus (pg. 8, par.2, “short message is used to send the call information missed by the terminal user for various reasons to the called user, and the user is reminded of the missed call. In the electronic device with the multi-card multi-standby function for the single-pass, when one SIM card is in the call state, if other SIM cards receive the incoming call, the call information of the other SIM card is sent to the The SIM card in the call state”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cao with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi and Cao in order to enable centralized management, automated processing, and enhanced security for managing multi-SIM devices.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, and further in view of Bao ("Method and Device for Adding Friend", CN 202010500576 A, pub. date 2020-10-23).
Regarding claim 2, Sudarsan in view of Shi, and further in view of Cao teaches the electronic device according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (Sudarsan [0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein the mobile phone comprises the processor configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
hanging up declining a call of the second incoming call information in response to a user's operation of hanging up declining the second incoming call information on the incoming call interface (Sudarsan [0109], “secondary user of the second mobile communication device 275 in various embodiments declines the call, which causes the second mobile communication device 275 to transmit a declined call signal 833 to the MSMA device 200”),
closing the incoming call interface (Sudarsan Fig. 4A, incoming call interface shown in Fig. 4A 422, 432, and 434 are closed once the call is declined; [0109], “secondary user of the second mobile communication device 275 in various embodiments declines the call, which causes the second mobile communication device 275 to transmit a declined call signal 833 to the MSMA device 200”),
generating a call record of the second incoming call information (Sudarsan [0109], “secondary user of the second mobile communication device 275 in various embodiments declines the call, which causes the second mobile communication device 275 to transmit a declined call signal 833 to the MSMA device 200”),
generating a hang-up decline instruction, and sending the hang-up decline instruction to the host apparatus (Sudarsan [0109], “secondary user of the second mobile communication device 275 in various embodiments declines the call, which causes the second mobile communication device 275 to transmit a declined call signal 833 to the MSMA device 200”).
The combination does not explicitly teach that the declining is hanging-up and the decline instruction is a hang-up instruction.
However, Bao teaches hanging-up and hang-up instructions (pg. 13, par. 3, “hang-up operation (e.g., click on the hang-off button in the call interface). the second terminal sends the hang-up request”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bao with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi and Cao in order to formally terminate a communication session, ensuring resources are freed and the connection is closed cleanly on both ends.
Regarding claim 3, Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, and further in view of Bao teaches the electronic device according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (Sudarsan [0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein the mobile phone comprises the processor configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
if it is detected that the user does not perform an answer or hang-up operation on the incoming call interface, waiting for the network to hang up (Sudarsan [0109], “The secondary user of the second mobile communication device 275 in various embodiments declines the call (~user does not perform an answer – user does not answer the call), which causes the second mobile communication device 275 to transmit a declined call signal 833 to the MSMA device 200”; [0110], “receiving the declined call signal 833 or no answer”); and
sending the call record of the second incoming call information to the host apparatus after the network hangs up (Sudarsan [0109], “The secondary user of the second mobile communication device 275 in various embodiments declines the call, which causes the second mobile communication device 275 to transmit a declined call signal 833 (~call record of the second incoming call information – call record of the second incoming call being declined) to the MSMA device 200”).
The combination of Sudarsan, Shi, and Cao does not explicitly teach waiting for the network to hang up; and sending the call record after the network hangs up.
However, Bao further teaches waiting for a network to hang up; and sending a call record after the network hangs up (pg. 13, par. 3, “For example, the first user and the second user are communicating; in the call process, if the second user is not satisfied with the verification performance of the first user, in response to the second user in the interface of the call connection of the hang-up operation (e.g., click on the hang-off button in the call interface). the second terminal sends the hang-up request to the network device, wherein the hang-up request comprises verification failure information, after the network device receives the hang-up request, the verification failure information (~call record) is returned to the first terminal”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bao with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi, Cao, and Bao in order to ensure the accuracy of call data, compliance with regulations, and complete capture of the call interaction, ensuring that all call metrics including duration, final status, and recordings are not corrupted.
Regarding claim 5, Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, and further in view of Bao teaches the electronic device according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (Sudarsan [0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein the mobile phone comprises the processor configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
if it is detected that the user receives the second incoming call information by using the incoming call interface of the host apparatus, sending a voice of the second incoming call information to the host apparatus (Sudarsan [0118], “MSMA device may establish a second SIM call with a second radio access network (e.g., 120) associated with a second SIM (e.g., 203) via the second transceiver (e.g., 270) of the MSMA device. The second SIM call may be established in block 940 as an incoming call or initiated from the MSMA device as an outgoing call. Establishing the second SIM call may include service acquisition, authentication, and/or registration with the second radio access network for sending and receiving data using the radio resources associated with the second SIM ... may prompt the main user to ... select the device to use for the second SIM call (i.e., either the MSMA device or another communication device) ... In block 950, the processor of the MSMA device may determine which of the first and second SIM calls is designated and/or selected to be handled by the input/output device (I/O) of the MSMA device. The other of the first and second SIM calls will be relayed to the second mobile communication device”; [0121], “the wireless connection between the MSMA device and the second communication device may be established in block 905 just prior to relaying the second SIM call to the second communication device”; [0099] FIG. 7 illustrates signal flows 700 according to various embodiments for simultaneous SIM calls handled by a MSMA device (e.g., 200) in which the first SIM call is initially established using the onboard microphone/speaker 222, 224, then switched to using the second mobile communication device 275 so that the onboard microphone/speaker 222, 224 may be used for making a second outgoing SIM call, after which the outputs of the first and second SIM calls are switched again”; [0120], “In block 970, the processor of the MSMA device may configure the first transceiver 260, the second transceiver 270, and the third transceiver 227 to relay whichever of the first or second SIM call is designated to be handled by the second mobile communication device or the like (i.e., the call not determined in block 950 to be handled by the MSMA device)”, wherein the second mobile communication device or the like is involved in the decision to send a voice of the second incoming call information to the host apparatus).
Regarding claim 6, Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, and further in view of Bao teaches the electronic device according to claim 5,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (Sudarsan [0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein the mobile phone comprises the processor configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
sending the voice of the second incoming call information to the host apparatus by using Bluetooth or Wi-Fi (Sudarsan [0110], “processor 210 may establish the second SIM call 840, linking signals 839 to/from the corresponding second radio access network and the third mobile communication device 277”; [0122], “(e.g., the onboard Bluetooth transceiver 227 or the onboard Wi-Fi transceiver 229) may be configured to relay the second SIM call to a second mobile communication device in block 970”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudarson in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, further in view of Bao, and further in view of Jia ("Method and Apparatus for Establishing Call", WO 2018209709 A1, pub. date 2018-11-22).
Regarding claim 4, Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, and further in view of Bao teaches the electronic device according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (Sudarsan [0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein mobile phone comprises the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
if it is detected that the user receives the second incoming call information by using the incoming call interface, generating an interface closing instruction, and sending the interface closing instruction to the host apparatus (Sudarsan Fig. 4A, 422, 432, and 434 (~incoming call interface) is closed based on an interface closing instruction; [0110], “MSMA device 200 may transmit a second incoming call signal 835 to the third mobile communication device 277. The second incoming call signal 835 may include an audio connection setup signal for waking any dormant wireless connection protocols, such as the power save mode 818. When the third-party user or anyone handling the third mobile communication device 277 accepts the second SIM call 840, a call acceptance signal 837 may be transmitted back to the MSMA device 200”; [0110], “In response to receiving the call acceptance signal 837, the processor 210 of the MSMA device 200 may update a touch screen display (e.g., 220) to indicate that the third mobile communication device 277 has answered the second SIM call 840”).
The combination does not explicitly teach after the call of the second incoming call information ends, generating a hang-up instruction, and sending the hang-up instruction to the host apparatus.
However, Jia teaches after a call of incoming call information ends, generating a hang-up instruction, and sending the hang-up instruction to a host apparatus (pg. 18, par. 4, “When the calling terminal hangs up the call, the terminal receives the DISCONNECT message sent by the network side device; when the called terminal hangs up the call During a call, the terminal sends a DISCONNECT message to the network side device. Here, the called terminal hangs up the call as an example”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jia with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi, Cao, and Bao in order to ensure the accuracy of call data, compliance with regulations, and complete capture of the call interaction, ensuring that all call metrics including duration, final status, and recordings are not corrupted.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, and further in view of Jia.
Regarding claim 7, Sudarsan in view of Shi, and further in view of Cao teaches the electronic device according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory (Sudarsan [0075], ““Sam's Mobile Phone,” which is a default second mobile communication device (e.g., 275 in FIG. 1) for receiving redirected calls”, wherein the mobile phone comprises the processor configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory), so as to implement the following method:
after the call of the second incoming call information ends, using the modem in an idle SIM card slot to de-register with the network of an operator, so as to release the modem in an idle SIM card slot and a radio frequency resource (Sudarsan [0037], “each SIM is associated with a separate radio resource (e.g., a DSDA communication device), the SIMs and their associated modem stacks may independently acquire and register for service with selected networks using the information stored in the respective SIMs. Depending on the particular communication protocols and/or radio access technologies of the selected networks, service acquisition and registration may include camping on a suitable cell of the network, and alerting the network of the presence in the serving cell. Successfully registering in a network, allows the modem stack corresponding to a SIM to operate in idle mode until a call is received or initiated. In an idle mode, the modem stack may perform functions such as monitoring a paging channel and performing cell reselection and location updates as needed”).
The combination does not explicitly teach that the using the modem is after the call of the second incoming call information ends.
However, Jia teaches using a modem after the call of the second incoming call information ends (pg. 8, par. 3, “modem 140 can be logically divided into a CS module, an LTE module, and a VoLTE module according to the services it carries. among them. The CS module is used to carry the CS service, the LTE module is used to carry the data service of the LTE network, and the VoLTE module is used to carry the VoLTE service”, wherein after CS usage ends, LTE data service can be activated; pg. 18, par. 4, When the calling terminal hangs up the call, the terminal receives the DISCONNECT message sent by the network side device; when the called terminal hangs up the call During a call, the terminal sends a DISCONNECT message to the network side device. Here, the called terminal hangs up the call as an example”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jiao with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi and Cao in order to maintain the data connection, transfer information, and manage network links, ensuring reliable, secure, and efficient communication between devices.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudarsan in view of Shi, further in view of Cao, further in view of Chen (US 2018/0041855 A1), and further in view of Park (US 2021/0127245 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sudarsan in view of Shi, and further in view of Cao teaches the electronic device according to claim 1,.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to read the program instruction stored in the memory, so as to implement the following method:
sending status information of the auxiliary apparatus to the host apparatus, wherein the status information of the auxiliary apparatus comprises status information of a SIM card of the auxiliary apparatus and a hash value of a login account.
However, Chen teaches wherein a processor is configured to read a program instruction stored in a memory ([0043], “mobile device 110 according to an embodiment. Mobile device 110 may include processor 115, modem 117, SIM 118, a bus 410, a memory 420, which may include instruction storage 422 for applications 424 and operating system 426”), so as to implement a following method:
sending status information of an auxiliary apparatus to a host apparatus, wherein a status information of the auxiliary apparatus comprises status information of a SIM card of the auxiliary apparatus and a hash value of a login account ([0028], If the SIM has been activated with a valid MDN and thus mobile device 110 is associated with an active subscription to a service plan, the sent SMS will be received by mobile device 110. Accordingly, upon receiving the SMS message, processor 115 will identify SIM 118 as being provisioned as shown in the last column of table 200”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chen with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi and Cao in order to enable centralized monitoring, ensure reliable connectivity, automate device management, and facilitate troubleshooting.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the status information comprises hash value of a login account.
However, Park teaches status information comprising a hash value of a login account ([0146], “electronic device 1601 may recognize and authenticate the external electronic device based on data (e.g., a certificate and/or hash information related to a certificate) received from nearby external electronic devices”; [0165], “account stored in the contact of the electronic device 1601”; [0088], “login session with the external server based on the created user account”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Park with the teaching of Sudarsan as modified by Shi, Cao, and Chen in order to uniquely identify a user or session without revealing their actual sensitive credentials, acting as a security measure that allows system administrators, auditing tools, or security software to track, monitor, and manage user activity while protecting user privacy.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643