DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/03/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 4/28/2025. The amendments filed on 4/28/2025 are entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “location’ in line 3 should be replaced with “a location”.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “way” in line 6 should be replaced with “away”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180000431) hereinafter Roth, in view of Berker et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180116621) hereinafter Berker.
Regarding claim 1, primary reference Roth teaches:
A positron emission tomography (PET) detector array for moving detector elements during PET imaging after a second modality image is acquired to estimate location of a region of interest, said PET detector array ([0049], tomography system with detector heads; [0061], PET detector heads; [0125]-[0140]; [0177]-[0190], PET system with PET detectors; [0239]; [0411]-[0422], as described in [0412]-[0413], conventional CT imaging is acquired before acquiring PET images and the “size and shape of the ROI is determined” by the conventional imaging system prior to imaging) comprising:
a plurality of detector elements, each detector element mounted on a rigid support surface ([0049], “detector heads”; [0050], detector heads include detectors, which form the detector heads connected to the support surface for the detectors; [0066]; [0067], detector heads; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors wherein the region of interest is provided within a PET field of view for imaging by the detectors; [0138]; [0183], imageable region of interest is provided, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand as being within a field of view of the PET system; [0195]; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0264]-[0265]; [0314]; [0348], detector heads field of view all combine to form a single field of view for the entire bore of the system; [0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6); [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]),
configured to be oriented towards or way from a given location such that a gap between a respective detector element and an adjacent detector element is increased or decreased ([0223], detector heads can move laterally relative to each other which forms an increase or decrease in the gap between each detector element. Increasing or decreasing the retraction/extension of the detector elements from a fixed connection to the bore supports, provides for a gap between the elements to be increased or decreased as the overall bore size is increased or decreased in diameter; [0299], detector units can be moved laterally or circumferentially; see also [0052]-[0060], teach to the movement capabilities of the detector heads which forms the detector element movement system to apply pressure to the support surface and actuate a movement of each detector element individually; [0066]-[0068], “at least some of the detector heads are circumferentially or laterally moveable along a path near the periphery of the detector carrier”; [0070], “the system includes a controller which controls the detector positioning arrangement to provide movements of the detectors”; [0071], own positioning arrangement teaches to the direct movement capability between a detector head and the rigid support structure; [0074]; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors; [0081]-[0083]; [0134]; [0136]; [0138]; [0183]-[0184], the detector heads are moveable; [0191]; [0195]; [0199]-[0216], teaches to detector positioning arrangements by the system; [0223]-[0231], movement of the detector heads; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0260], tilting detector heads; [0264]-[0265]; [0301]-[0314]; [0358]-[0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6); [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]).
each detector element comprising a position indicator, said plurality of detector elements defining a PET field of view ([0049], “detector heads”; [0050], detector heads include detectors, which form the detector heads connected to the support surface for the detectors; [0066]; [0067], detector heads; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors wherein the region of interest is provided within a PET field of view for imaging by the detectors; [0138]; [0183], imageable region of interest is provided, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand as being within a field of view of the PET system; [0195]; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0264]-[0265]; [0314]; [0348], detector heads field of view all combine to form a single field of view for the entire bore of the system; [0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6); [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]),
a detector element movement system connected to each respective rigid support surface, said detector element movement system being arranged to apply pressure individually to each respective rigid support surface to move each respective detector element connected to the corresponding respective rigid support surface radially, axially, and/or in curvature for imaging a small volume within a region of interest identified in the second modality image ([0049], “detector heads” are movable with rotation, radially, circumferentially, or axially before and/or during a performance of a scan; [0050], detector heads include detectors, which form the detector heads as part of the support surface for the actual detectors; [0052]-[0060], teach to the movement capabilities of the detector heads which forms the detector element movement system to apply pressure to the support surface and actuate a movement of each detector element individually; [0066]; [0067], detector heads; [0068], “at least some of the detector heads are circumferentially or laterally moveable along a path near the periphery of the detector carrier”; [0070], “the system includes a controller which controls the detector positioning arrangement to provide movements of the detectors”; [0071], own positioning arrangement teaches to the direct movement capability between a detector head and the rigid support structure; [0074]; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors and bore geometry is selected for a particular region of interest; [0081]-[0083]; [0134]; [0136]; [0138]; [0183]-[0184], the detector heads are moveable, for a particular region of interest; [0191]-[0193], different ROIs under examination; [0195]; [0199]-[0216], teaches to detector positioning arrangements by the system, including [0201] and [0205] with a smaller bore size for imaging smaller regions of interest; [0223]-[0231], movement of the detector heads; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0260], tilting detector heads and setting geometry for a particular region of interest; [0264]-[0265]; [0301], “Variable geometry detector arrays in which the detector heads; (particularly but not exclusively in the case of PET detector heads) are moveable in ways that permit bores small enough for efficient imaging of relatively small organs such as the brain, the throat or an extremity, without collision or interference between adjacent detector heads.”; [0302]-[0314]; [0331], size and shape of the ROI; [0353], describe how smaller bore sizes in the adjustable detector system enables better scanning than conventional fixed systems; [0358]-[0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element with [0360], describing a small region of interest imaged by the small bore of [0359]; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6) and the size of the region of interest; [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0406], small region of interest; [0408], detector geometry based upon particular regions of interest; [0409]-[0410], bore size dynamically changes and can be made in particular for smaller regions of interest; [0411]-[0422], as described in [0412]-[0413], conventional CT imaging is acquired before acquiring PET images and the “size and shape of the ROI is determined” by the conventional imaging system prior to imaging; [0439]-[0441]), and
a detector element position detection system arranged to detect the position indicator of each respective detector element ([0049], “detector heads”; [0050], detector heads include detectors, which form the detector heads as part of the support surface for the actual detectors; [0066]; [0067], detector heads; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”, which form the detector element position detection system to detect the position indicator signal of each representative detector element based upon the measurements from the signaling mechanism; [0077]-[0078]; [0138]; [0195]; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position detection system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0234]; [0264]-[0265]; [0314]; [0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element detect the position indicator of each element when in operational use; [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]),
wherein the detector elements are moved axially and in curvature so as to concentrate the PET field of view to image the small volume of the region of interest, thereby optimizing an imaging volume of the region of interest ([0223], detector heads can move laterally relative to each other which forms an increase or decrease in the gap between each detector element. Increasing or decreasing the retraction/extension of the detector elements from a fixed connection to the bore supports, provides for an axial plane movement and changes in curvature as the circular shape formed by the plurality of detector elements gets smaller or larger in dynamic bore size. The amount of curvature increases as the bore gets smaller, and decreases as the bore gets larger, and is chosen based upon a particular “ROI” of the patient; [0299], detector units can be moved laterally or circumferentially; [0305], “detector heads can be moved in one or more straight line segments or along a curve”, the curve change forms a change in axial curvature as the bore size can be changed; [0309], “detector plane need not be flat. For example, it may be curved”; see also further teachings of detector movement and extension or retraction, which forms changes in bore size and thus axial curvature being changed; [0049], “detector heads” are movable with rotation, radially, circumferentially, or axially before and/or during a performance of a scan; [0050], detector heads include detectors, which form the detector heads as part of the support surface for the actual detectors; [0052]-[0060], teach to the movement capabilities of the detector heads which forms the detector element movement system to apply pressure to the support surface and actuate a movement of each detector element individually; [0066]; [0067], detector heads; [0068], “at least some of the detector heads are circumferentially or laterally moveable along a path near the periphery of the detector carrier”; [0070], “the system includes a controller which controls the detector positioning arrangement to provide movements of the detectors”; [0071], own positioning arrangement teaches to the direct movement capability between a detector head and the rigid support structure; [0074]; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors and bore geometry is selected for a particular region of interest; [0081]-[0083]; [0134]; [0136]; [0138]; [0183]-[0184], the detector heads are moveable, for a particular region of interest; [0191]-[0193], different ROIs under examination; [0195]; ]; [0199]-[0216], teaches to detector positioning arrangements by the system, including [0201] and [0205] with a smaller bore size for imaging smaller regions of interest, this forms a moving of the detector elements to concentration the PET field of view from the full bore of the machine to the small volume of the determined region of interest; [0223]-[0231], movement of the detector heads; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0260], tilting detector heads and setting geometry for a particular region of interest for the size and shape of that region of interest; [0264]-[0265]; [0301]-[0314]; [0301], “Variable geometry detector arrays in which the detector heads; (particularly but not exclusively in the case of PET detector heads) are moveable in ways that permit bores small enough for efficient imaging of relatively small organs such as the brain, the throat or an extremity, without collision or interference between adjacent detector heads.”; [0331], size and shape of the ROI; [0353], describe how smaller bore sizes in the adjustable detector system enables better scanning than conventional fixed systems; [0358]-[0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element with [0360], describing a small region of interest imaged by the small bore of [0359]. Figure 6C shows how the full bore size is shrunk to a smaller bore size that concentrates the PET field of view to image the smaller region of interest with higher quality and accuracy which is further described in [0364] and figure 6D; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6) and the size of the region of interest; [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0406], small region of interest; [0408], detector geometry based upon particular regions of interest; [0409]-[0410], bore size dynamically changes and can be made in particular for smaller regions of interest; [0411]-[0422], as described in [0412]-[0413], conventional CT imaging is acquired before acquiring PET images and the “size and shape of the ROI is determined” by the conventional imaging system prior to imaging;)
Primary reference Roth fails to teach:
During PET imaging after a magnetic resonance image is acquired
For imaging a small volume within a region of interest identified in the MRI image
However, the analogous art of Berker of a combined PET/MRI multi-modality imaging scanner (abstract, [0045]) teaches:
During PET imaging after a magnetic resonance image is acquired ([0045]-[0046], MRI unit 10 acquires standard 3D MRI images of the object; [0088], MRI images; [0092], “The position of this region of interest within the PET scanner volume 3 may be determined by the simulation unit 31 on the basis of the MR images provided by the MRI evaluation unit 12”; see also [0085]-[0086])
For imaging a volume within a region of interest identified in the MRI image ([0045]-[0046], MRI unit 10 acquires standard 3D MRI images of the object; [0088], MRI images; [0092], “The position of this region of interest within the PET scanner volume 3 may be determined by the simulation unit 31 on the basis of the MR images provided by the MRI evaluation unit 12”; see also [0085]-[0086])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detector array for nuclear medicine of Roth to incorporate the use of an MRI scan (instead of the CT scan of Roth) for identifying a corresponding region of interest of the patient of interest as taught by Berker because MRI images allow for distinguishing different materials within the object such as tissue classes of bone, fat, and soft tissue (Berker, [0085]). This enables more accurate targeting of specific regions of interest within the body for further analysis by PET scanning, leading to improved diagnostic results.
Regarding claim 4, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein the detector element movement system is arranged to move a respective detector element such that axial curvature of the respective detector element is increased or decreased ([0305], “detector heads can be moved in one or more straight line segments or along a curve”, the curve change forms a change in axial curvature as the bore size can be changed; [0309], “detector plane need not be flat. For example, it may be curved”; see also further teachings of detector movement and extension or retraction, which forms changes in bore size and thus axial curvature being changed; [0052]-[0060], teach to the movement capabilities of the detector heads which forms the detector element movement system to apply pressure to the support surface and actuate a movement of each detector element individually; [0066]-[0068], “at least some of the detector heads are circumferentially or laterally moveable along a path near the periphery of the detector carrier”; [0070], “the system includes a controller which controls the detector positioning arrangement to provide movements of the detectors”; [0071], own positioning arrangement teaches to the direct movement capability between a detector head and the rigid support structure; [0074]; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors; [0081]-[0083]; [0134]; [0136]; [0138]; [0183]-[0184], the detector heads are moveable; [0191]; [0195]; [0199]-[0216], teaches to detector positioning arrangements by the system; [0223]-[0231], movement of the detector heads; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0260], tilting detector heads; [0264]-[0265]; [0301]-[0314]; [0358]-[0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6); [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein the detector element movement system applies pressure to the respective rigid support surfaces by an articulated arm ([0195], detector heads are mounted on an arm for in-out and/or lateral motion; [0235], linear actuator arms; see also [0052]-[0060]; [0066]-[0068]-[0078]; [0081]-[0083]; [0134]; [0136]; [0138]; [0183]-[0184], the detector heads are moveable; [0191]; [0195]; [0199]-[0216], teaches to detector positioning arrangements by the system; [0223]-[0231], movement of the detector heads; [0232]-[0233]; [0260], tilting detector heads; [0264]-[0265]; [0301]-[0314]; [0358]-[0366]; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module; [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein the detector element movement system applies pressure to the respective rigid support surfaces by a geared system ([0235], “the actuator allows such back driving, for example, using gears which can be back driven or by a linear actuator which can be overridden by patient applied force”).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein the detector elements are arranged in a cylindrical array ([0393], detector plane may be a curved section of cylinder; see also bore as taught by citations of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein the detector elements are arranged in a cylindrical array of two or more equidistantly spaced columns ([0086]; [0303]; figure 13; [0305], equally spaced configuration; [0402], detector heads may be positioned uniformly around the gantry; the array of detectors on the column attachments as in figures 7-10 and 12; further teach to the cylindrical arrangement; see also [0052]-[0060]; [0066]-[0068]-[0078]; [0081]-[0083]; [0134]; [0136]; [0138]; [0183]-[0184], the detector heads are moveable; [0191]; [0195]; [0199]-[0216], teaches to detector positioning arrangements by the system; [0223]-[0231], movement of the detector heads; [0232]-[0233]; [0260], tilting detector heads; [0264]-[0265]; [0301]-[0314]; [0358]-[0366]; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module; [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 10. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein there are 16 equidistantly spaced columns ([0237], teaches to 12 or more detector heads and [0235], teaches to 1-5 individual detectors for the detector heads, which provides at least 16 columns of detectors within the system, which teaches to the limitation as claimed).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 10. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein there are two or more equidistantly spaced detectors in each respective one column ([0072], detector heads includes detectors; [0237], 1-5 individual detectors on the detector head columns; [0337]-[0339];).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 12. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein there are 3 equidistantly spaced detectors in each respective one column ([0072], detector heads includes detectors; [0237], 1-5 individual detecotrs on the detector head columns; [0337]-[0339];).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 10. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein each respective one column is mounted to a respective one rigid support surface ([0049], “detector heads”; [0050], detector heads include detectors, which form the detector heads connected to the support surface for the detectors; [0066]; [0067], detector heads; [0075], “the detector heads include signaling mechanisms that indicate the presence of a detector head installed at a particular position on the carrier, and/or the functional characteristics of the installed detector heads”; [0077]-[0078], detector carrier further forms the rigid support surface for mounting detector heads and detectors; [0138]; [0195]; [0232]-[0233], proximity detection forms a position indicator system for determining relative positions of detector elements; [0264]-[0265]; [0314]; [0366], “position detectors” and the methods of obtaining a position detection forms a position indicator for each tracked PET detector element; [0368]-[0369], teaches to the mounting structural elements and weight of the module, which teaches to a rigid support surface (see figure 6); [0380]; [0388], “For example, small bidirectional motors (not shown) may be mounted on gantry 814 and connected through a position tracking arrangement”; [0439]-[0441]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth, in view of Berker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Majewski et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20100187425) hereinafter Majewski.
Regarding claim 5, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further fails to teach:
wherein the detector element position detection system detects the position indicator of a respective detector element to within 1 mm
However, the analogous art of Majewski of a medical imaging brain imager for nuclear imaging systems (abstract) teaches:
wherein the detector element position detection system determines the position of a respective detector element to within 1 mm ([0076], alignment of detectors is better than 1 mm accuracy which teaches to position measurement being within 1 mm in the combined invention with Roth above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detector array for nuclear medicine of Roth and Berker to incorporate the determining of position of the detectors to within an accuracy of 1 mm as taught by Majewski because determining accurate positioning and placement of the detectors enables for better resolution of the images, which leads to improved clinical outcomes (Majewski, [0076]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth, in view of Berker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manjeshwar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20130006091) hereinafter Manjeshwar.
Regarding claim 6, the combined references of Roth and Berker teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Roth further teaches:
wherein the detector element movement system applies pressure to the rigid support surfaces by at least one air bladder
However, the analogous art of Manjeshwar of a PET imager with a detector system that includes multiple detector elements (abstract) teaches:
wherein the detector element movement system applies pressure to the rigid support surfaces by at least one air hydraulic system ([0041], compressed air hydraulics for movement of the detector elements, forms an equivalent teaching to an air bladder as claimed, as air hydraulics would include an air bladder-type configuration for movement of the detector support surfaces for movement of the individual detectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detector array for nuclear medicine of Roth and Berker to incorporate the air hydraulic system to control the detector position as taught by Manjeshwar because it provides for precise and configurable motion and movement of the detectors which increases the efficiency of the system and reduces diagnostic time (Manjeshwar, [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Responses to each of the applicant’s arguments are detailed below.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments on pages 6-7 of the remarks, the applicant argues that the present invention includes concentrating the field of view on a region of interest such that the gap between detector elements is decreased and moved both axially and in curvature at the rigid support surface. The applicant argues that this forms a smaller region of interest in which resolution is greater, and differs from the Roth reference teachings towards detectors moving around an object. While the Roth reference teaches to moving detectors in other ways around an object, in the cited portions of the reference above, the Roth reference also teaches to the extension and retraction of detector heads to dynamically increase or decrease bore size (Roth, [0223]). This change of bore size leads to both a change in gap of detector elements (the same number of overall detector elements, when retracted, will form a bigger gap between elements in a larger dynamic bore size) and also a change in curvature/axial movement (a larger or smaller dynamic bore size will change the overall curvature of the detectors around the circular bore region). As cited in the rejections above, the use of a varying bore size can provide higher quality images depending on the region of interest targeted in the scan (see Roth, [0223], “depending on the location of a particular ROI in the body; [0408]). This provides an optimized imaging volume (with detectors closer to the target region of interest) by moving the detector elements within the axial plane and in varying curvature for the bore size. This extension/retraction motion of the detectors taught at least in (Roth, [0223], [0264]-[0265], [0408]) but also within other cited paragraphs teach to the clamed movement. Any additional movement of the detectors differentiating from the Roth teachings is not read into the current broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
For these reasons, the applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798