Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e) with reference to Application Number: 63/019043 filed on 05/01/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 18, 21, and dependents therein are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, applicant claims “a second flow pathway that allows fluid flow between the second port and the third port when the piston is in a second position” then subsequently claims “the piston prevents fluid flow between the airflow module and the procedure module when in the second position”. The limitations are contradictory. As established earlier in the claim, the airflow module comprises the second port, and the procedure module comprises the third port. Thus, the piston cannot prevent fluid flow between the airflow module (comprising the second port) and the procedure module (comprising third port), because the second pathway allows for that precise flow! Additionally, such language is contradictory to the specification. Applicant is encouraged to amend the last limitation similar to that found in claim 1 (e.g., by describing the ports). The claim limitation will be interpreted along similar lines to the specification and claim 1, e.g. prevention of flow between the appropriate ports.
Regarding claim 18, the recited “first conduit” corresponds to applicant’s first conduit 136, see Fig. 8. At the outset, said first conduit does not “include” the first port, but rather connects to the first port. Regardless, it is unclear how the first conduit can include the first connection member, when the first connection member is already connected to the second connection member, as recited in claim 13. The claim additionally recites “the housing” with no antecedent basis. The claim limitation will be interpreted along similar lines to the specification and claim 6, e.g. where the conduit first connection member is separate structure from the first connection member recited in claim 13.
Claim 21 is rejected and will be examined in a similar fashion to claim 18 as explained above.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim should recite “the second position” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weikert (WO 2018106808).
Regarding claim 1, Weikert discloses a respiratory valve apparatus (Figs. 1 – 8, [023 – 0 37]), comprising: a first port configured to releasably couple to a ventilator (140, Fig. 1- 2, [025]); a second port configured to releasably couple to a resuscitation bag or a transport ventilator (112, Fig. 1 – 2, [023]); a third port configured to releasably couple to an endotracheal tube (150, Fig. 1 – 2, [026]) ; and a piston (160, Fig. 2 – 3, [030]) slidably disposed within a housing of the respiratory valve apparatus (102, Fig. 1 -3, [023]; Figs. 2 – 3 who piston 160 sliding within housing 102), the piston being biased in a first position within the housing (Fig. 2, [035], Fig. 2 shows piston 160 biased in a first position by spring 162), the piston comprising: a first flow pathway that allows fluid flow between the first port and the third port when the piston is in the first position (Fig. 2, [031]; first pathway P1 allows fluid flow between 140 and 150); and a second flow pathway that allows fluid flow between the second port and the third port when the piston is in a second position (Fig. 3, para. [031]; see P2 in Fig. 2 with communication between 112 and 150); and wherein the piston prevents fluid flow between the second port and the third port when in the first position and prevents fluid flow between the first port and the third port when in the second position (Figs. 2 – 3, [035]).
2. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a spring that biases the piston in the first position (162, Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
3. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 2, wherein the spring is compressible to thereby allow the piston to move into a second position (Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
4. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 3, wherein the piston is positioned adjacent the second port when in the first position for allowing the resuscitation bag or transport ventilator to move the piston into the second position as a result of coupling the resuscitation bag or transport ventilator to the second port (Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
5. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 4, wherein the movement of the piston into the second position prevents fluid flow through the first port and allows fluid flow through and between the second port and the third port (Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
6. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a first conduit including the first port at a first end and a first connection member at a second end (136, Fig. 1 – 2, [025], with the first and second ends corresponding to 142 and 140), the first connection member being coupled to the housing and allowing rotational movement of the first conduit relative to the housing [025].
7. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a second conduit (144) including the third port and a fourth port configured to releasably couple an accessory device (148, [026]).
8. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 7, wherein the accessory device includes one or more of a suction catheter, a bronchoscope, and a drug delivery catheter ([026]).
9. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 7, wherein the second conduit further includes a second connection member configured to couple to the housing and allow rotational movement of the second conduit relative to the housing (152, [026 – 027]).
10. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 7, wherein the fourth port includes a sealing member that prevents fluid flow therethrough when the accessory device is uncoupled from the fourth port ([026]).
11. A respiratory valve apparatus (Fig. 1 – 3, [023 – 27], [043 – 47]), comprising: a first port configured to releasably couple to a ventilator (140); a second port configured to releasably couple to a resuscitation bag or a transport ventilator (112); a third port configured to releasably couple to an endotracheal tube (150); and a lever member (402, Fig. 10 – 11, [043]’ the leaver member 402 and housing 406 are used to replace the piston 160 and housing 102, shown in Figs. 1 – 3, while maintaining the rest of the respiratory valve apparatus 100) pivotably disposed within a flow pathway extending along a housing of the respiratory valve apparatus (406, Fig. 10 – 11; [043 – 44]), the lever member being biased in a first position to allow fluid flow between the first port and the third port (Fig. 10, para [043]; Fig. 10 shows the lever in a first position to allow for fluid flow between a first passageway P1; [045] further teaches 402 biased in the first position), the lever member being positioned adjacent the second port (Fig. 10, [043]), the lever member pivoting into a second position as a result of coupling the resuscitation bag or the transport ventilator to the second port thereby allowing fluid flow between the second port and the third port (Fig. 11, [045 – 46]).
12. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 11, wherein the lever member prevents fluid flow between the second port and the third port when the lever member is in the first position, the lever member prevents fluid flow between the first port and the third port when the lever member is in the second position ([045 – 46]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 – 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weikert in view of Henry (US 20200398011).
Regarding claim 13, Weikert discloses a modular respiratory valve apparatus (Fig. 1 – 8, [023 – 037]), comprising: an airflow module (102, 136, collectively) comprising: a first port configured to releasably couple to a ventilator (140, Fig. 1 – 2, [0025]); a second port configured to releasably couple to a resuscitation bag or a transport ventilator (112, Fig, 1 – 2, [023]); and a first housing connection port (126, Fig. 1 – 2, [025]); and a procedure module (144; see [026 – 30]) comprising: a third port configured to releasably couple to an endotracheal tube (144, see [026 – 027]); and a second housing connection port configured to couple to the first housing connection port (152, [027]); and a piston slidably disposed within the airflow module (160, [030]), the piston being biased in a first position within the airflow module ([035], Fig. 2), the piston comprising: a first flow pathway that allows fluid flow between the first port and the third port when the piston is in the first position (P1, [031]); and a second flow pathway that allows fluid flow between the second port and the third port when the piston is in a second position (P2, [031]); and wherein the piston prevents fluid flow between the airflow module and the procedure module when in the second position (prevents fluid flow between the procedure module and port 140 on the airflow module, see also 112(b) above) and allows fluid flow between the first port and the third port when in the first position (see Fig. 2).
Weikert discloses that the second housing connection port 152 may be configured to rotatably couple (swivel) to the first housing connection connection port 126. However, Weikert does not disclose the second housing connection port configured to releasably couple to the first housing connection port. Nonetheless, Hunter discloses a modular respiratory apparatus (see manifold 70, Figs. 1 – 6, 2 – 2, and 7 – 1, as well as tubular attachments thereto, i.e. 42), wherein the manifold 70 is T-shaped (see Fig. 2-2), the respiratory apparatus having a first port releasably coupled to a ventilator (manifold end 75, see [0190]), the respiratory apparatus having a first housing connection port (e.g. left end 25, similar to applicant’s left connection port), and a second housing connection port (port formed by 42.2, configured to couple with the manifold housing), wherein the second housing connection port 42.2. is configured to rotatably couple (swivel) to the first housing connection port 25 (see section 1.5.2, Fig. 7 – 1, [0158, 0159]), wherein the second housing connection port is configured to releasably couple to the first housing connection port (see detached configured in Fig. 2, before coupling of the first and second connection ports, as described in [0151]; see claim 11; see also [0103, 0104]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the first/second connection port of Weikert according to the releasably coupled connection of Hunter for the benefit of selectively adjusting positioning of the respiratory apparatus (see Hunter, [0161]), as well as additional benefits understood in the art, such as improved cleaning and/or storage of the releasable parts. The releasable connection may provide multiple functions, such as described in [0157 – 159].
14. The modular respiratory valve apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a spring that biases the piston in the first position (162, Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
15. The modular respiratory valve apparatus of claim 14, wherein the spring is compressible to thereby allow the piston to move into a second position (Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
16. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 15, wherein the piston is positioned adjacent the second port when in the first position for allowing the resuscitation bag or transport ventilator to move the piston into the second positon as a result of coupling the resuscitation bag or transport ventilator to the second port (Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
17. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 16, wherein the movement of the piston into the second position prevents fluid flow through the first port and allows fluid flow through and between the second port and the third port (Fig. 2 – 3, [035]).
18. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a first conduit including the first port at a first end and a first connection member at a second end (136, Fig. 1 – 2, [025], with the first and second ends corresponding to 142 and 140; note also rejection under 35 USC 112b above), the first connection member being coupled to the housing and allowing rotational movement of the first conduit relative to the housing ([025]).
19. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a second conduit (144) including the third port and a fourth port configured to releasably couple an accessory device (148, [026]).
20. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 19, wherein the accessory device includes one or more of a suction catheter, a bronchoscope, and a drug delivery catheter ([026]).
21. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 19, wherein the second conduit further includes a second connection member configured to couple to the housing and allow rotational movement of the second conduit relative to the housing (152, [026 – 027]; note also 112(b) above).
22. The respiratory valve apparatus of claim 19, wherein the fourth port includes a sealing member that prevents fluid flow therethrough when the accessory device is uncoupled from the fourth port ([026]).
Double Patenting
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11571540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. While claim 11 in ‘540 does not disclose the lever member being positioned adjacent the second port, claim 11 discloses the pivotable member being positioned in the inner chamber, and further dependent claim 20 in ‘540 anticipates the inner chamber adjacent the second port (resuscitation bag connection port). Notably, claim 20 recites that passage of the resuscitation bag through the second port (resuscitation bag connection port) also causes actuation of the lever within the inner chamber, therefore the lever member in the inner chamber is implicitly claimed as adjacent the second port.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See Bayron, US 8656915, p. 8: 3 – 28, removable attachment of connection ports are well known in the art
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799