DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1 and 3-7, in the reply filed on Dec. 8, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 8, 12 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
The traversal is on the grounds that that search burden is not that great to search for all groups (Remarks pg. 1 para. 2). This is not found persuasive because as evidenced by the rejection below, the special technical feature was known in the art. Thus the groups do not contain a special technical feature which contributes over the prior art. In addition, while the groups may overlap in search, an overlapping search is not a coextensive search. As such a reference that anticipates one group may not anticipate or even make obvious the invention of another group.
The requirement for the restriction of Inventions I-IV is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are presented for examination on the merits.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-8, 12 and 13 are currently pending.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 2 and 9-11 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 3-7 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 provides a method for producing an injectable preparation for a periodontal tissue, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a method without any active, positive steps delimiting how this method is actually practiced. The claims contain a series of wherein clauses containing product by process type-like limitations which describe the method of production of the autologous condition serum and the culture supernatant. Similarly, claims 3-7 further describe the method of production of the culture supernatant. It is unclear whether these limitations are to be interpreted as active steps that must be practiced in the method of preparing the injectable preparation or whether these limitations are only describing the sources of the two components of the composition being prepared and that the preparation of the injectable preparation merely requires the combining of a autologous condition serum and a culture supernatant. For the sake of compact prosecution the claim will be interpreted to mean a method for an injectable preparation for a periodontal tissue comprising autologous condition serum and a culture supernatant comprising a step of combining the autologous condition serum and a culture supernatant.
All other claims depend directly or indirectly from rejected claims and are, therefore, also rejected under USC 112 for the reasons set forth above.
Appropriated correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Harlan et al. (US 2010/0297094 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Harlan teaches preparing a composition containing autologous serum and conditioned media (culture supernatant) (0088). Harlan teaches the CM (conditioned medium) can be injected and teaches the composition for periodontal disease and diabetic periodontitis (0183 and 0188). With respect to claim 1, Harlan teaches the method where the CM is obtained from mesenchymal stem cells that are from fat tissue (0079 and 0081).
Harlan is silent with respect to method by which the autologous serum is obtained and does not teach that the autologous serum is obtained by incubating blood collected from a patient using the preparation for a periodontal tissue with bringing the blood into contact with glass in a range of 30°C to 45°C for 1 hour or longer; and separating serum from the incubated blood as recited in claim 1. However, these limitations are interpreted as product by process type limitations. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. Furthermore, it is noted that the method for producing the autologous conditioned serum for the producing an injectable preparation for a periodontal tissue, is immaterial or inconsequential to the operation of the method. In other words, the autologous conditioned serum of Harlan is the same autologous conditioned serum as the claimed invention regardless of method of production absent a showing of secondary considerations.
With respect to claim 3, Harlan teaches culturing the cells in a first medium containing serum for expansion (first culturing step), then culturing the cells in a second medium without serum if desired (second culturing step in a different medium from the first medium), and then obtaining the conditioned medium after culturing (0088 and 0090). Even though Harlan teaches the method of obtaining the culture supernatant, these limitations are interpreted as product by process type limitations. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. In this case, the method for producing the autologous conditioned serum for the producing an injectable preparation for a periodontal tissue, is immaterial or inconsequential to the operation of the method. In other words, the autologous conditioned serum of Harlan is the same autologous conditioned serum as the claimed invention regardless of method of production absent a showing of secondary considerations.
Harlan does not teach the method where the second culturing step is performed in a non-CO2 atmosphere as recited in claim 4. Likewise, Harlan does not teach the method where the second medium contains calcium ions and a buffering agent as recited in claim 5. Similarly, Harlan does not teach the method where the buffering agent is a Good’s buffer as recited in claim 6 or where it is HEPES as recited in claim 7. Although, Harlan does not teach the method by which the conditioned medium is obtained as in claims 4-7, these limitations are interpreted as product by process type limitations. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. In this case, the method for producing the autologous conditioned serum for the producing an injectable preparation for a periodontal tissue, is immaterial or inconsequential to the operation of the method. In other words, the autologous conditioned serum of Harlan is the same autologous conditioned serum as the claimed invention regardless of method of production absent a showing of secondary considerations.
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632