DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (EP 1806549 B1).
In regards to claim 1, Jung teaches an air conditioner (see fig. 1 and abstract), comprising:
a refrigerant switching device (at least 160, 120), comprising a liquid pipe (at least pipe 138 and pipes connecting 160 and valves 144a-c, and pipes containing valves 162a-c, pipe 134, see fig. 1; Also one of 134, 136, 138 pipes functions as a liquid pipe based on the selected heating or cooling modes), a gas pipe (at least pipes 136, 170a-c, 134, pipes 166a-c and pipes 168a-c, see fig. 1; Also one of 134, 136, 138 pipes functions as a gas pipe based on the selected heating or cooling modes) and a valve assembly (at least valves 162a-c, 164a-c, 104, 128, see fig. 1), the valve assembly being arranged on the liquid pipe and the gas pipe (valves 162a-c, 164a-c, 104 on gas and liquid pipes, see fig. 1) and configured to open the liquid pipe and the gas pipe or close the liquid pipe and the gas pipe (by operation of the valves, see paragraphs 33-35); an indoor heat exchanger (at least heat exchangers 142a-142c, see fig. 1), a first port (fluid port at heat exchangers 142a-c between valves 144a-c and heat exchangers 142a-c, see fig. 1) of the indoor heat exchanger being connected to the liquid pipe (connected to pipe 138, see fig. 1) and a second port (fluid port at heat exchangers 142a-c between valves 162a-c or 164a-c and heat exchangers 142a-c, see fig. 1) of the indoor heat exchanger being connected to the gas pipe (connected to gas pipe 136, see fig. 1); an outdoor heat exchanger (at least heat exchanger 126), a first port of the outdoor heat exchanger being connected to the liquid pipe (fluid port at heat exchanger 126 between heat exchanger 126 and valve 128 connected to liquid pipe 138, see fig. 1); a compressor (122), a first port of the compressor being connected to the gas pipe (suction port of compressor connected to pipe 136, fig. 1) and a second port of the compressor (outlet port of the compressor, see fig. 1) being connected to a second port of the outdoor heat exchanger (via port 124a compressor is connected to a second port of heat exchanger 126, see fig. 1, where the second fluid port of heat exchanger 126 is between the heat exchanger 126 and pipe 184, see fig. 1); a memory, storing a computer program; and a processor, connected to the memory (a control system with microcomputers, which include processors and memory, see fig. 2, wherein the memory stores the program executed by the processor of the computer) and the valve assembly (via microcomputer 204, see fig. 2), the processor executing the computer program to perform the following:
obtaining switching information of a working mode of the air conditioner (obtaining cooling and heating capacities to switch indoor units between cooling and heating modes, see steps 302-306, fig. 3); and
keeping the compressor running in normal operation (operating compressor 122 continuously from in cooling operation before time t1 and after time t2, see figs. 5 and 7 and page 6, paragraph 5; page 7, paragraph 2; Also see at step 306 air conditioner and compressor operated in main cooling mode, fig. 3 and page 6, paragraph 2; and keeping air conditioner and compressor in a main cooling mode operation, see step 306, fig. 3; page 6, paragraph 2 and page 8, paragraph 3) and
controlling the valve assembly according to the switching information (valves 104, 162a-c and 164a-c are controlled during heating or cooling modes for time periods before t1 and for t1, t2, t3 and beyond, see figs. 3-7), wherein the gas pipe and the liquid pipe are closed according to the sequence of the gas pipe and then the liquid pipe (gas pipe with third cooling valve closed first before time t1 and then the liquid pipe containing second heating valve before time t3, see figs. 5-7),
until pressure in the liquid pipe is restored to an initial value when the air conditioner is in a standby state (closure of liquid pipe leads to pressure in the liquid pipe being restored to initial state, see complete closure of liquid pipe before time t3, see figs. 5-7; Also see closure of second heating valve while compressor is operational and after the compressor is stopped for time t1, page 8, paragraph 3), and
then opened according to the sequence of the gas pipe first and then the liquid pipe (gas pipe with second cooling valve opened first before time t1 and then the liquid pipe containing second heating valve after time t1, see figs. 5 and 3-7; wherein sequential heating and cooling operations by valve operations are repeated, see figs. 3, 4 and 6, where the liquid valve operations subsequent to gas valve operations are sequential).
In regards to claim 2, Jung further teaches that the first port of the compressor comprises an exhaust port (pipe containing valve 106 connecting suction port of the compressor, see fig. 1) and a gas suction port (suction port of compressor); and the gas pipe comprises: a first pressure gas pipe (at least pipe 134 and/or one of the pipes 134, 136, 138 functions as a gas pipe based on the selected heating or cooling modes), connected between the exhaust port and the second port of the indoor heat exchanger (gas pipe before valve 106 and pipe 136 connected between exhaust port and heat exchanger 142a-c, see fig. 1); and a second pressure gas pipe (at least 136 and/or one of the pipes 134, 136, 138 functions as a gas pipe based on the selected heating or cooling modes), connected between the gas suction port and the second port of the indoor heat exchanger (gas pipe at the suction side of the compressor and pipe 136 connected between suction port and heat exchanger 142a-c, see fig. 1); wherein a pressure on the first pressure gas pipe is greater than a pressure on the second pressure gas pipe (high-pressure gas pipe 134 and low pressure gas pipe 136, see paragraph 33; Also valve 106 establishes pressure equilibrium by increasing the pressure on the gas side to match the outlet pressure, see paragraph 47, which implies that pressure on the first pressure gas pipe is greater than the second pressure gas pipe).
In regards to claim 3, Jung further teaches that the valve assembly comprises: a first valve body (at least valves 104, 128, 182, valve on pipe 138 between 130 and 104, see fig. 1), arranged in the liquid pipe (see fig. 1) and configured to open or close the liquid pipe (by opening and closing valves 104, 128, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 34); a second valve body (at least valves 162a-c, valve on pipe 134, see fig. 1), arranged in the first pressure gas pipe (see fig. 1) and configured to open or close the first pressure gas pipe (by opening and closing valves 162a-c, see figs. 2-7); and a third valve body (at least valves 164a-c, valve on pipe 136, see fig. 1), arranged in the second pressure gas pipe (see fig. 1) and configured to open or close the second pressure gas pipe (by opening and closing valves 164a-c, see figs. 2-7).
In regards to claims 4 and 8, Jung further teaches that the step of the processor executing controlling the valve assembly according to the switching information when executing the computer program comprises: controlling the third valve body to close (closing third cooling valve before time t1, see fig. 5) and then controlling the first valve body to close (valve 104 is closed when the number of units performing cooling is less than the number of units performing heating, see duration t1, fig. 5, and paragraph 34, where valve 104 is closed after closing third cooling valve, see fig. 5), according to the switching information of the air conditioner switching from a cooling mode to a heating mode (see switching from cooling to heating mode in steps 308, 310, 312, 314 and 316, fig. 3); controlling the second valve body to open (opening first and second heating valves after time t1, see fig. 5), based on a first time duration in which the first valve body is closed reaching a first time duration threshold (based on the first time duration reaching the beginning of threshold time t1); and controlling the first valve body to open (valve 104 being open during time t2, see fig. 5, and paragraph 34) based on a second time duration in which the second valve body is opened reaching a second time duration threshold (opening first and second heating valves for a time duration reaching a threshold of time t2, see fig. 5).
In regards to claims 5 and 9, Jung further teaches that the step of the processor executing controlling the valve assembly according to the switching information when executing the computer program comprises: controlling the second valve body to close (closing the first and second heating valves before time t1, see fig. 5) and then controlling the first valve body to close (valve 104 is closed when the number of units performing cooling is less than the number of units performing heating, see duration t1, fig. 5, and paragraph 34, where valve 104 is closed after closing third cooling valve, see fig. 5), according to the switching information of the air conditioner switching from a heating mode to a cooling mode (see switching from heating modes at steps 312, 316 to cooling modes at steps 306 and 318 in subsequent operations, fig. 3); controlling the third valve body to open (opening third cooling valve after time t1, see fig. 5), based on a first time duration in which the first valve body is closed reaching a first time duration threshold (based on the first time duration reaching the beginning of threshold time t1, during which third cooling valve is closed, see fig. 5); and controlling the first valve body to open (valve 104 being open during time t2, see fig. 5, and paragraph 34), based on a third time duration in which the third valve body is opened reaching a third time duration threshold (based on a time duration reaching the beginning of threshold time t3, before which third cooling valve is open till the end of time t2, see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 7, Jung further teaches a control method (at least valve control by controllers 202, 204, see figs. 2-4) for an air conditioner (see figs. 1-2), applied to the air conditioner (120, 160, 140, see fig. 1), the control method comprising:
obtaining switching information of a working mode of the air conditioner (cooling or heating modes shown in a flow chart illustrating method of controlling the air conditioner, see steps 302-306, fig. 3 and paragraph 37; obtaining cooling and heating capacities to switch indoor units between cooling and heating modes, see steps 302-306, fig. 3); and
keeping the compressor running in normal operation (operating compressor 122 continuously from in cooling operation before time t1 and after time t2, see figs. 5 and 7 and page 6, paragraph 5; page 7, paragraph 2; Also see at step 306 air conditioner and compressor operated in main cooling mode, fig. 3 and page 6, paragraph 2; and keeping air conditioner and compressor in a main cooling mode operation, see step 306, fig. 3; page 6, paragraph 2 and page 8, paragraph 3) and
controlling the valve assembly according to the switching information (valves 104, 162a-c and 164a-c are controlled during heating or cooling modes for time periods before t1 and for t1, t2, t3 and beyond, see figs. 3-7), wherein the gas pipe and the liquid pipe are closed according to the sequence of the gas pipe and then the liquid pipe (gas pipe with third cooling valve closed first before time t1 and then the liquid pipe containing second heating valve before time t3, see figs. 5-7), and then opened according to the sequence of the gas pipe first and then the liquid pipe (gas pipe with second cooling valve opened first before time t1 and then the liquid pipe containing second heating valve after time t1, see figs. 5 and 3-7; wherein sequential heating and cooling operations by valve operations are repeated, see figs. 3, 4 and 6, where the liquid valve operations subsequent to gas valve operations are sequential).
In regards to claim 10, Jung further teaches a computer-readable storage medium (memory of microcomputers 202, 204 and 206, see paragraph 35) on which a computer program is stored (microcomputers contain programs of figs. 2-7), wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the control method for an air conditioner is implemented (microcomputers implement the programs/flow charts of figs. 3-7, see paragraphs 35-38 and claims 1-5).
In regards to claim 11, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the heating mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via pipe 138 and to heat exchangers 142a-142c and returned to compressor via pipe 134, see fig. 1), the first pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe are opened (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 134 and refrigerant supplied to HX 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), the second pressure gas pipe is closed (valve 164 and refrigerant flow through pipe 136 blocked), and the compressor pressurizes the gaseous refrigerant to a high- temperature high-pressure refrigerant and to be delivered to the indoor heat exchanger through the first pressure gas pipe (compressor 122 delivers high-pressure refrigerant to heat exchangers 142a-142c via pipes 134, 138, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 12, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the cooling mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via valve 124, see fig. 1), the second pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe are opened (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 136 and refrigerant supplied to HXs 126, 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), the first pressure gas pipe is closed (valve 162 and refrigerant flow through pipe 134 blocked), and the compressor pressurizes the gaseous refrigerant to a high- temperature high-pressure refrigerant and be delivered to the outdoor heat exchanger (compressor 122 delivers high-pressure refrigerant to heat exchangers 126, see fig. 1), and the liquid refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger is depressurized (refrigerant depressurized by expansion valves 128, 144, see fig. 1) and then enters the indoor heat exchanger through the liquid pipe (refrigerant entering HXs 142 via pipe 138, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 13, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the heating mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via pipe 138 and to heat exchangers 142a-142c and returned to compressor via pipe 134, see fig. 1), the first valve body and the second valve body are opened (refrigerant supplied to the heat exchangers 142 via open valve 104 on liquid pipe 138 and refrigerant returned to the compressor 122 via open valves on pipe 134 and open valves 162, see fig. 1), the third valve body is closed (valves 164 and valve on pipe 136 closed, see page 6, paragraph 6), the first pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe are opened (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 134 and refrigerant supplied to HX 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), and the second pressure gas pipe is disconnected (valve 164 and refrigerant flow through pipe 136 blocked, see page 6, paragraph 6).
In regards to claim 14, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the cooling mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via valve 124, see fig. 1), the first valve body and the third valve body are opened (refrigerant delivered to heat exchangers 142 via open valve 104 on liquid pipe 138 and refrigerant delivered to the compressor via open valves 164 on pipe 136, see fig. 1), the second valve body is closed (valves 162 and valve on pipe 134 closed, see page 6, paragraph 6), the second pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe are opened (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 136 and refrigerant supplied to HX 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), and the first pressure gas pipe is disconnected (valve 162 and refrigerant flow through pipe 134 blocked, see page 6, paragraph 6).
In regards to claim 15, Jung further teaches that the first port of the compressor comprises an exhaust port (pipe containing valve 106 connecting suction port of the compressor, see fig. 1) and a gas suction port (suction port of compressor); and the gas pipe comprises:
a first pressure gas pipe (at least pipe 134 and/or one of the pipes 134, 136, 138 functions as a gas pipe based on the selected heating or cooling modes), connected between the exhaust port and the second port of the indoor heat exchanger (gas pipe before valve 106 and pipe 136 connected between exhaust port and heat exchanger 142a-c, see fig. 1); and
a second pressure gas pipe (at least 136 and/or one of the pipes 134, 136, 138 functions as a gas pipe based on the selected heating or cooling modes), connected between the gas suction port and the second port of the indoor heat exchanger (gas pipe at the suction side of the compressor and pipe 136 connected between suction port and heat exchanger 142a-c, see fig. 1); wherein a pressure on the first pressure gas pipe is greater than a pressure on the second pressure gas pipe (high-pressure gas pipe 134 and low pressure gas pipe 136, see paragraph 33; Also valve 106 establishes pressure equilibrium by increasing the pressure on the gas side to match the outlet pressure, see paragraph 47, which implies that pressure on the first pressure gas pipe is greater than the second pressure gas pipe).
In regards to claim 16, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the heating mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via pipe 138 and to heat exchangers 142a-142c and returned to compressor via pipe 134, see fig. 1), opening the first pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 134 and refrigerant supplied to HX 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), closing the second pressure gas pipe (valve 164 and refrigerant flow through pipe 136 blocked), and controlling the compressor to pressurize the gaseous refrigerant to a high- temperature high-pressure refrigerant and to enter the indoor heat exchanger through the first pressure gas pipe (compressor 122 delivers high-pressure refrigerant to heat exchangers 142a-142c via pipes 134, 138, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 17, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the cooling mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via valve 124, see fig. 1), opening the second pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 136 and refrigerant supplied to HXs 126, 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), closing the first pressure gas pipe (valve 162 and refrigerant flow through pipe 134 blocked), and controlling the compressor to pressurize the gaseous refrigerant to a high-temperature high-pressure refrigerant and be delivered to the outdoor heat exchanger (compressor 122 delivers high-pressure refrigerant to heat exchangers 126, see fig. 1), and depressurize the liquid refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (refrigerant depressurized by expansion valves 128, 144, see fig. 1) and to enter the indoor heat exchanger through the liquid pipe (refrigerant entering HXs 142 via pipe 138, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 18, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the heating mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via pipe 138 and to heat exchangers 142a-142c and returned to compressor via pipe 134, see fig. 1), opening the first valve body and the second valve body (refrigerant supplied to the heat exchangers 142 via open valve 104 on liquid pipe 138 and refrigerant returned to the compressor 122 via open valves on pipe 134 and open valves 162, see fig. 1), closing the third valve body (valves 164 and valve on pipe 136 closed, see page 6, paragraph 6), opening the first pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 134 and refrigerant supplied to HX 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), and disconnecting the second pressure gas pipe (valve 164 and refrigerant flow through pipe 136 blocked, see page 6, paragraph 6).
In regards to claim 19, Jung further teaches that when the air conditioner is in the cooling mode (refrigerant delivered from compressor 122 to heat exchangers 126 via valve 124, see fig. 1), opening the first valve body and the third valve body (refrigerant delivered to heat exchangers 142 via open valve 104 on liquid pipe 138 and refrigerant delivered to the compressor via open valves 164 on pipe 136, see fig. 1), closing the second valve body (valves 162 and valve on pipe 134 closed, see page 6, paragraph 6), opening the second pressure gas pipe and the liquid pipe (refrigerant supplied to compressor 122 via pipe 136 and refrigerant supplied to HX 142 via open pipe 138, see fig. 1), and disconnecting the first pressure gas pipe is disconnected (valve 162 and refrigerant flow through pipe 134 blocked, see page 6, paragraph 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Lee (US 2010/0275624 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 6 except for the valves being proportional control valves; wherein, opening degree of the proportional control valve is adjusted multiple times to reach an opening degree threshold.
However, Lee teaches a first valve body (410), a second valve body (730) and a third valve body (420), where the first, second and third valves are proportional control valves (see paragraphs 150-153); and opening degree of the second or third proportional control valve is adjusted multiple times to reach a threshold opening degree (see multiple adjustments to opening degrees of first, second and third valves 410, 730, and 420, figs. 10-11 and paragraphs 151-153, where the control valve is set to reach 40% threshold value, fig. 10; Also see valve opening degree threshold set to achieve second predetermined temperature, fig. 11 and paragraphs 164-166).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the process of Jung to proportionally control opening degree of the first, the second and the third valves, and to perform opening control of the second and/or third valves by adjusting the opening degree multiple times according to present opening degree to reach an opening degree threshold based on the teachings of Lee in order to achieve optimal opening degree for refrigerant control valves that produce highest coefficient of performance for the air conditioning system (see fig. 10 and paragraphs 156, 134-135, 153, Lee).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Jung teaches compressor shut down before working mode is switched, therefore, Jung does not teach keeping the compressor running in normal operation because as shown in fig. 4, the compressor is turned off at step 402;" examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 and points out that during normal cooling operation of the air conditioner (before time t1 and after time t2, see figs. 5 and 7), the compressor is continuously operational (Also see time t3 and beyond, figs. 5 and 7). In addition, the claims require the air conditioner to be in a standby state (possibly an off state) while controlling the valve according to switching information. Therefore, the claims require compressor/air conditioner to be in both the ON or OFF states for normal operation and valve control operation respectively (see claims 1 and 7). In addition, Jung discloses continuous operation of the compressor/air conditioner during normal cooling mode (see continuous cooling operation, page 6, paragraph 5 and times before t1 and after t2, figs. 5 and 7).
In response to applicant's argument, "Priority document mentions that shutting down compressor affects operation stability;" examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that applicant’s original disclosure does not include any mention of operation stability being affected by shutting down the compressor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763