DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 02/22/2023 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 10/31/2022 is a 371 of PCT/US21/29659 04/28/2021 PCT/US21/29659 has PRO 63/018,499 04/30/2020 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 10/31/2022 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS filed.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 10/31/2022 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 4 recites, “by the processing hardware”, make correction as UE. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20230156539 A1 Wu et al. (Hereinafter “Wu").
As per claim 1, Wu teaches a method for supporting a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover in a user equipment (UE) connected to a first base station of a radio access network (RAN) (fig. 3, abstract, supporting a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover in a user equipment (UE) connected to a first base station of a radio access network (RAN)), the method comprising: . attempting, by the UE, to connect to a second base station of the RAN during the DAPS handover (para [abstract], UE attempts to connect to a source and target base station during the DAPS handover); detecting, by the UE, a potential failure associated with a radio connection to the first base station (para [0045- 0047], when UE detects based on the measurement report from the source base station that there is potential failure and handover needed ).; detecting, by the UE, a failure to connect to the second base station (para [0047- 0050], UE initiates connection with target base station and detects a radio link failure to connect to the second base station or handover failure occurs); and initiating, by the UE, a procedure to re-establish the radio connection (para [0058, UE tries to reestablishment procedure with current base station when there is a handover failure occurs).; transmitting, by the UE to the RAN, a radio link failure report including an indication of the failure to connect to the second base station (para [0058], transmitting, by the UE and network receives whether the re-establishment procedure succeeds or fails, the network would like to receive the information related to the failure,).
As per claim 2, Wu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting of the potential failure includes: detecting the potential failure before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station (para [0058,,,,detecting the potential failure before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station).
As per claim 4, Wu teaches the method of claim 2, teaches further comprising: starting, by the processing hardware, a timer in response to detecting the potential failure (para 0063, timer is associated potential failure); and wherein detecting the failure to connect to the second base station includes: detecting the failure to connect to the second base station while the timer is running (para [0063, the failure to connect to the second base station while the timer is running).
As per claim 5, Wu teaches teaches the method of claim 2, teaches wherein the detecting of the potential failure includes: detecting a radio link failure with the first base station before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station (para [0048],,, detecting a radio link failure with the first base station before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station). 20230134552
As per claim 7, Wu teaches teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the radio link failure report includes: transmitting an rlf-Report including the indication (para [0094- 0098], fig. 11,,, transmitting an rlf-Report including the indication).
As per claim 8, Wu teaches teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the transmitting of the rlf-Report includes: transmitting the rlf-Report including a connectionFailureType field set to a value that indicates the failure to connect to the second base station ((para [0094- 0098], fig. 11,,,, transmitting the rlf-Report including a connectionFailureType field set to a value that indicates the failure to connect to the second base station).
As per claim 9, Wu teaches teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting of the failure to connect includes: detecting a failure of the DAPS handover ((para [abstract],,,, detecting a failure of the DAPS handover).
As per claim 10, Wu teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to support a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover when connected to a first base station of a radio access network (RAN) (fig. 3, abstract,), the UE comprising: processing hardware configured to implement; a first module to provide a radio interface ((para fig. 3 ) ; and a second module configured to:;, attempt to connect to a second base station of the RAN during the DAPS handover ((para [abstract], UE attempts to connect to a source and target base station during the DAPS handover). detect a potential failure associated with a radio connection to the first base station, detect a failure to connect to the second base station (para [0045- 0047], when UE detects based on the measurement report from the source base station that there is potential failure and handover needed);, and initiate a procedure to re-establish the radio connection ((para [0058, UE tries to reestablishment procedure with current base station when there is a handover failure occurs).
As per claim 11, Wu teaches a method for network optimization in a first base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) via a radio link, the method comprising: transmitting, by the first base station, a configuration according to which the UE is to connect to a second base station during a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover procedure (para [0056-0058], fig. 3, abstract, supporting a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover in a user equipment (UE) is transmitting from a source base station to a target base station handover procedure );receiving, by the first base station, an indication that the UE detected a failure of the radio link and that the UE failed to connect to the second base station ((para [0056-0058], first base station receives indication that the handover failure occurs to the target base station and UE detected a failure of the radio link and that the UE failed to connect to the second base station); and performing, by the first base station, a network optimization procedure based on the indication (para [0056- 0058], performing, by the first base station, a network optimization procedure such as the re establishment procedure based on the indication by providing a connecting to the UE);.
As per claim 12, Wu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the receiving of the indication includes at least one of: receiving, from the UE a request to re-establish a radio connection with the UE, the request including a failure cause set to radio link failure (RLF); or receiving, from the second base station, a message indicating that the second base station received a request to re-establish a radio connection with the UE, the request including a failure cause set to RLF (para 0058,, receiving, from the UE a request to re-establish a radio connection with the UE, the request including a failure cause set to radio link failure (RLF);).
As per claim 13, Wu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the receiving of the indication includes: receiving, from the UE, a radio link failure report including an indication of the failure to connect to the second base station ((para 0058,, receiving, from the UE, a radio link failure report including an indication of the failure to connect to the second base station ).
As per claim 15, Wu teaches a first base station configured to implement network optimization when in a communication with a user equipment (UE), the first base station comprising processing hardware configured to implement a first module to provide a radio interface (para 0045- 0047], fig. 3, communication with a user equipment (UE), the first base station comprising processing hardware configured to implement a first module to provide a radio interface); and a second module configured to: transmit a configuration according to which the UE is to connect to a second base station during a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover procedure (para [0056- 0058], fig. 3, abstract,base station transmitting information to the UE handover information to connect to a second base station during a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover procedure )receive an indication that the UE detected a failure of the radio link and that the UE failed to connect to the second base station and perform a network optimization procedure based on the indication ((para [0056- 0058], first base station receives indication that the handover failure occurs to the target base station and UE detected a failure of the radio link and that the UE failed to connect to the second base station and performing, by the first base station, a network optimization procedure such as the re establishment procedure based on the indication by providing a connecting to the UE);.
As per claim 16, Wu teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein to detect the potential failure, the second module is configured to: detect the potential failure before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station (para (para [0058, the potential failure before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station ).
As per claim 18, Wu teaches the UE of claim 17, teaches wherein the second module is further configured to: start a timer in response to detecting the potential failure (para 0063, timer is associated potential failure);; and wherein detecting the failure to connect to the second base station includes detecting the failure to connect to the second base station while the timer is running (para [0063, the failure to connect to the second base station while the timer is running).
As per claim 19, Wu teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein to detect the potential failure, the second module is configured to: detect a radio link failure with the first base station before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station (para [0050 detecting a radio link failure with the first base station before detecting the failure to connect to the second base station)..
As per claim 20, Wu teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein the detecting of the potential failure includes: detecting a radio link failure with the first base station after the detecting of the failure to connect to the second base station and before the reporting to the first base station of the failure to connect to the second base station (para 0049-52]], detecting a radio link failure with the first base station after the detecting of the failure to connect to the second base station and before the reporting to the first base station of the failure to connect to the second base station );; and the detecting of the radio link failure includes detecting a failure to successfully transmit a dedicated message for reporting the failure to connect ((para [0049-52], when UE tries to connect to the target base station and detecting a failure to successfully transmit a dedicated message for reporting the failure to connect).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 3, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu further view of US PG Pub US 20160302113 A1 to HWANG et al (hereinafter HWANG).
As per claim 3, Wu teaches teaches the method of claim 2, HWANG teaches wherein the detecting of the potential failure includes: detecting a synchronization error related to the radio connection (para [0042], detecting a synchronization error related to the radio connection ). 20160302113
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Wu by detecting a synchronization error related to the radio connection as suggested by HWANG, this modification would benefit Wu for efficient data transfer in a handover to in a mobile communication network system.
As per claim 17, Wu teaches the UE of claim 10, HWANG teaches wherein to detect the potential failure, the second module is configured to: detect a synchronization error related to the radio connection (para [0042], detecting a synchronization error related to the radio connection )..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 3.
5. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu further view of US PG Pub US 20160302113 A1 to OZTURK et al (hereinafter OZTURK).
As per claim 6, Wu teaches the method of claim 1, OZTURK teaches wherein: the detecting of the potential failure includes: detecting a radio link failure with the first base station after the detecting of the failure to connect to the second base station and before the reporting to the first base station of the failure to connect to the second base station (para [0094- 0098], fig. 11,,, detecting a radio link failure with the first base station after the detecting of the failure to connect to the second base station and before the reporting to the first base station of the failure to connect to the second base station ); and the detecting of the radio link failure includes: detecting a failure to successfully transmit a dedicated message for reporting the failure to connect ((para [0094- 0098], fig. 11,,, when UE tries to connect to the target base station and detecting a failure to successfully transmit a dedicated message for reporting the failure to connect).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Wu by detecting a radio link failure with the first base station after the detecting of the failure to connect to the second base station and before the reporting to the first base station of the failure to connect to the second base station and the detecting of the radio link failure includes: detecting a failure to successfully transmit a dedicated message for reporting the failure to connect as suggested by OZTURK, this modification would benefit Wu for efficient resource management in user device during a handover to in a mobile communication network system.
5. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu further view of US PG Pub US 20220264414 A1 to Hu et al (hereinafter Hu).
As per claim 14, Wu teaches the method of claim 11, Hu teaches wherein the performing of the network optimization includes: performing a Mobility Robustness Optimization (MRO) (para [0006].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Wu by detecting a synchronization error related to the radio connection as suggested by Hu, this modification would benefit Wu for better handover process to in a mobile communication network system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20190109028 A1; US Patent Publication US 20130148502 A1, US Patent Publication US 20210185578 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467