DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 12/19/2024 is entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAN S (CN 206440851 U; herein after “Xian”; Espacenet machine translation attached) in view of MONJU HIDETO et al. (JP H0717391 B2; herein after “MONJU”; Translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Xian teaches a method for manufacturing an aspherical prism (a field prism 1000, FIG. 4, para. [0043] - [0044]), comprising:
step S1, forming a prism (200) and a lens (100) into one piece to obtain a forming body glass by using a hot-pressing molding (para. [0048] and [0049]);
step S2, adhering the forming body glass to a tooling (i.e., the optical function requirements can be met during the design (e.g., tooling), para. [0039]), and performing a right-angle (e.g., a right-angled triangular prism, para. [0017]) surface milling on the forming body glass according to a preset size while reserving a processing amount for a polishing process (i.e., field lens 100 and the first prism 200 are manufactured using an integral molding process, and polished on a single piece of glass or organic material, or directly cast in a mold that meets the design requirements, para. [0048], also see para. [0010] and [0038]);
step S3, adhering the forming body glass formed after the right-angle surface milling to an optical backing plate (flange 244) for polishing (para. [0053]);
step S4, cutting the forming body glass formed after the polishing (i.e., field lens 100 and the first prism 200 can be polished on a single piece of glass (body), para. [0048]);
step S5, coating the forming body glass formed after the cutting (i.e., various structural shapes (formed after cutting) of the field prism 1000, para. [0044] and [0052]); and
step S6, inking the forming body glass formed after the coating (i.e., a material interface (coating) of the field prism, para. [0018]).
Xian teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of using a hot-pressing molding, surface milling, cutting, inking and coating.
However, in a related field of endeavor MONJU teaches press molding method for optical glass elements is characterized by producing an optical glass element by hot press molding an optical glass mass with a press molding die through a thin layer of organic material (see page 8). Furthermore, a thin layer of organic material can be formed by coating, adsorption, spraying, or immersion methods, (see page 3, last paragraph). These molded surfaces 3 and 4 were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder, and in about one hour, the maximum surface roughness (Rmax) was reduced to a mirror finish of approximately 80. A thin film of cubic boron nitride was coated onto the mirror-finished molded surfaces 3 and 4 using an electron beam method (see page 4, FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xian such that producing an optical glass element by hot press molding an optical glass mass, a thin layer of organic material can be formed by coating (inking), and molded surfaces were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder (for surface milling/cutting), as taught by MONJU, for the purpose of producing high-precision optical glass elements with desired surface quality.
Regarding claim 10, Xian according to claim 1 further teaches an aspherical prism (a field prism 1000, figure 4, para. [0051]), comprising: a first surface (100) and a second surface (220) that are perpendicular to each other (see FIG. 4); and a reflective surface (240) connecting the first surface with the second surface (see FIG. 4, Depending on the specific implementation of the optical element, it may be reflection or transmission, para. [0033]), wherein at least one of the first surface or the second surface is an aspherical surface (lens surface 100) (as shown at least in FIG. 4, see para. [0038] and [0039], and the aspherical prism (200) is manufactured by a method for manufacturing an aspherical prism, and the method comprises: step S1, forming a prism and a lens into one piece to obtain a forming body glass by using a hot-pressing molding, step S2, adhering the forming body glass to a tooling, and performing a right-angle surface milling on the forming body glass according to a preset size while reserving a processing amount for a polishing process, step S3, adhering the forming body glass formed after the right-angle surface milling to an optical backing plate for polishing, step S4, cutting the forming body glass formed after the polishing, step S5, coating the forming body glass formed after the cutting, and step S6, inking the forming body glass formed after the coating (steps S1-S6 are as set forth in claim 1 above).
Xian teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of using a hot-pressing molding, surface milling, cutting, inking and coating.
However, in a related field of endeavor MONJU teaches press molding method for optical glass elements is characterized by producing an optical glass element by hot press molding an optical glass mass with a press molding die through a thin layer of organic material (see page 8). Furthermore, a thin layer of organic material can be formed by coating, adsorption, spraying, or immersion methods, (see page 3, last paragraph). These molded surfaces 3 and 4 were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder, and in about one hour, the maximum surface roughness (Rmax) was reduced to a mirror finish of approximately 80. A thin film of cubic boron nitride was coated onto the mirror-finished molded surfaces 3 and 4 using an electron beam method (see page 4, FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xian such that producing an optical glass element by hot press molding an optical glass mass, a thin layer of organic material can be formed by coating (inking), and molded surfaces were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder (for surface milling/cutting), as taught by MONJU, for the purpose of producing high-precision optical glass elements with desired surface quality.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Xian teaches the hot-pressing molding is performed with a precision tungsten steel mold (i.e., cast in a mold that meets the design requirements (e.g., tungsten steel mold), para. [0048]).
Xian in view of MONJU discloses the claimed invention except for explicit teaching of a precision tungsten steel mold.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a precision tungsten steel mold, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Xian fails to teach the processing amount for the polishing process is greater than or equal to 20 μm, and a milling surface finish level reaches ∇8.
However, in a related field of endeavor MONJU teaches the molded optical glass lenses had an area density of no more than two Newton's rings, no more than one-fifth of an amber ring, and a surface roughness of 0.01 μm … the molded surfaces 3 and 4 were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder, resulting in a mirror-like surface with a maximum surface roughness (Rmax) of approximately 60 in about 1 hour (see page 5, 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xian such that a surface roughness of 0.01 μm/(Rmax) of approximately 60 (a milling surface finish level) as taught by MONJU, for the purpose of producing optical glass elements with desired surface quality.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Xian fails to teach when adhering the forming body glass to the optical backing plate, observing interference fringes with a standard mirror to confirm that a number of the interference fringes is within a preset range.
However, in a related field of endeavor MONJU teaches the molded surfaces 3 and 4 were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder, resulting in a mirror-like surface with a maximum surface roughness (Rmax) of approximately 60 in about 1 hour (e.g., a number of the interference fringes is within a preset range) (see page 5, 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xian such that the molded surfaces were lapped with ultrafine diamond powder, resulting in a mirror-like surface with a maximum surface roughness as taught by MONJU, for the purpose of producing optical glass elements with desired surface quality.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Xian teaches during the polishing process, monitoring a grinding size at time intervals to confirm that the grinding size is within a preset range (i.e., field lens 100 and the first prism 200 are polished (grinding) on a single piece of glass or organic material, or directly cast in a mold that meets the design requirements (e.g., a preset range), para. [0048]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Xian teaches during polishing a surface of 45° (2nd surface 240), using an optical backing plate of 45° (flange 244) (as shown at least in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Xian teaches the polishing process is continuously performed without an off state (i.e., during manufacturing, lens and prism can be polished on a single piece of glass or organic material, or directly cast in a mold that meets the design requirements (e.g., polishing without an off state), para. [0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding the step S4 comprises: step S41, adhering a reference glass plate to a cutting tooling, and cutting out a line mark on the reference glass plate as a reference line, and adhering the forming body glass after polishing to the reference glass plate in alignment with the reference line; step S42, cutting the forming body glass after the polishing with a cutting machine after a glue is cured; and step S43, after the cutting is completed, removing the glue to obtain the aspherical prism.
Claim 9 depend upon allowable claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding the step S4 comprises: step S41, adhering a reference glass plate to a cutting tooling, and cutting out a line mark on the reference glass plate as a reference line, and adhering the forming body glass after polishing to the reference glass plate in alignment with the reference line; step S42, cutting the forming body glass after the polishing with a cutting machine after a glue is cured; and step S43, after the cutting is completed, removing the glue to obtain the aspherical prism.
Claim 18 depend upon allowable claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. SHIMOMOTO (JP 2000075206 A) teaches “an optical element having a first end face, a second end face, and a third end face, and is made of a light-transmitting material, and it is preferable that the reflected substantially parallel light has a convex shape for condensing the reflected light at a specific second point outside the optical element.”, paragraph 0009.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
June 23, 2026