DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s response to the restriction/ election requirement from 9/17/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant has made the following election:
Because Applicant did not note any errors in the restriction/ election requirement, the election is deemed to be without traverse.
On further consideration of the art the restriction/ election requirement is hereby withdrawn.
The restriction/ election requirement is hereby MADE FINAL. Claims are pending, and have been examined herewith across their breadth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "“A fungicidal composition comprising: (a) the compound of Formula 1" (emphasis added) in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since this is the first appearance of the claim term “compound of Formula 1”, it should be preceded by “a”, not “the”.
Applicant’s claim 1 recites: “A fungicidal composition comprising: (a) the compound of Formula 1 (including all stereoisomers), N-oxides, and salts thereof”. It is unclear why the claim using different forms, setting “(including all stereoisomers)” in brackets, and then following up with “N-oxides, and salts thereof”, and how the two differ. Stated differently, it is unclear if what is intended instead is: “A fungicidal composition comprising: (a) a compound of Formula 1 stereoisomers, N-oxides, and salts thereof”. Alternatively, it is unclear whether, in view of the brackets set separately from the rest of the claim limitation, Applicant intends instead to only capture all stereoisomers of the claim, but not racemic mixtures thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WO 2020/097012 A1 to Bereznak et al. (“Bereznak”, of record)1.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Bereznak discloses compounds of Formula (I), which encompass Applicant’s claimed species of compound 63.
(Abstract).
Bereznak specifically discloses compound 63 of Applicant’s claims.
(p. 87).
Bereznak further discloses compositions thereof with formulations auxiliaries and additives, e.g. solvents for preparing solutions. (p. 56, l. 19-38).
Bereznak discloses that the compounds and/or composition provide control of diseases caused by a broad spectrum of fungal plant pathogens, e.g. Phakopsora pachyrhizi. (p. 60, ll. 18-20, Table 1-1). The uses include for seed treatment. (p. 62, ll. 18-25).
Per Bereznak, a composition of the present invention can further comprise a fungicidally effective amount of at least one additional fungicidal active ingredient having a similar spectrum of control but a different site of action. (p. 64, ll. 31-36.). In this regard, Bereznak discloses, based on mode of action, the addition of a vast spectrum of additional active component (b) compounds:
(p. 65, l. 8- p. 66, l.15).
Applicant’s claims encompass the following component (b) fungicides. Applicant has submitted declaration evidence attesting to synergy, in the Declaration filed under 37 CFR 1.132, of Dr. Byron Vega-Jimenez from 9/17/2025 (“Jimenez Declaration”), solely for the compounds noted in bold, for comparison as to the broad scope of Applicant’s claims.
“(b3) demethylation inhibitor fungicides selected from azaconazole, bitertanol, bromuconazole, buthiobate, cyproconazole, difenoconazole, diniconazole, econazole, epoxiconazole, etaconazole, fenarimol, fenbuconazole, fluquinconazole, flusilazole, flutriafol,hexaconazole, imazalil, imibenconazole, ipconazole, ipfentrifluconazole, mefentnifluconazole, metconazole, myclobutanil, nuarimol, oxpoconazole, pefurazoate, penconazole, prochloraz,propiconazole, prothioconazole, pyrifenox, pyrisoxazole, quinconazole, simeconazole,tebuconazole, tetraconazole, triadimefon, triadimenol, triarimol, tnflumizole, triforine, triticonazole, uniconazole and uniconazole-P:
(b5) amine/morpholine fungicides selected from aldimorph, dodemorph, fenpropidin, fenpropimorph, piperalin, spiroxamine, tridemorph and trimorphamide:
(b7) succinate dehydrogenase inhibitor fungicides selected from benodanil, benzovindiflupyr, bixafen, boscalid, carboxin, fenfuram, flubeneteram, fluindapyr, fluopyram, flutolanil, fluxapyroxad, furametpyr, inpyrfluxam, isofetamid, isoflucypram, isopyrazam, mepronil, oxycarboxin, penflufen, penthiopyrad, pydiflumetofen, pyrapropoyne, pyraziflumid, sedaxane and thifluzamide:
(b9) anilinopyrimidine fungicides selected from cyprodinil, mepanipyrim and pyrimethanil:
(b11) quinone outside inhibitor fungicides selected from azoxystrobin, coumoxystrobin, dimoxystrobin, enoxastrobin, famoxadone, fenamidone, fenaminstrobin, flufenoxystrobin, fluoxastrobin, kresoxim-methyl, mandestrobin, metominostrobin, orysastrobin, picoxystrobin, pyraclostrobin, pyrametostrobin, pyraoxystrobin, pyribencarb, triclopyricarb and trifloxystrobin:
(b16b) melanin biosynthesis inhibitor-polyketide synthase fungicides selected from tolprocarb:
(b17) keto reductase inhibitor fungicides selected from fenhexamid, fenpyrazamine, ipflufenoquin and quinofumelin;
(b21) quinone inside inhibitor fungicides selected from amisulbrom, cyazofamid and fenpicoxamid:
(b39) complex I NADH oxidoreductase inhibitor fungicides selected from diflumetonm, fenazaquin and tolfenpyrad:
(b43) benzamide fungicides selected from fluopicolide and fluopimomide:
(b45) quinone outside inhibitor, stigmatellin binding fungicides selected from ametoctradin:
(b47) cyanoacrylate fungicides selected from phenamacril:
(b48) polyene fungicides selected from natamycin;
(b49) oxysterol binding protein inhibitor fungicides selected from oxathiapiprolin and fluoxapiprolin:
(b52) multi-site activity fungicides such as copper oxychloride, copper sulfate, copper hydroxide, Bordeaux composition (tribasic copper sulfide), elemental sulfur, ferbam, mancozeb, maneb, metiram, propineb, thiram, zinc thiazole, zineb, ziram, folpet, captan, captafol, chlorothalonil, dichlofluanid, tolyfluanid, guazatine, iminoctadine albesilate, iminoctadine triacetate, anilazine, dithianon, quinomethionate and fluoroimide; and
(b54) fungicides other than component (a) and component (b) selected from aminopyrifen, bethoxazin, cyflufenamid, dichlobentiazox, dipymetitrone, dodine, ferimzone, flometoquin, florylpicoxamid, flutianil, metyltetraprole, neo-asozin, picarbutrazox, pyrrolnitrin, tebufloquin, tolnifanide and N-(2,2,2-trnfluoroethyl)-2-[[4-[5-Cnfluoromethy])-1, 2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl|phenyl|methyl]-4-oxazolecarboxamide.”
Bereznak has both broad and specific disclosure concerning these compounds, which includes Applicant’s specifically claimed compounds, and which also includes specific disclosure of the classes of compounds, which Applicant has claimed, but for which Applicant has not provided any synergy data, e.g. (b 39)- (b49). Moreover, it outlines with specificity the mode of action of the various classes of compounds, based on which it is apparent that synergy shown for one class of compounds, certainly does not provide a reasonable expectation of success for synergy based on a completely based on a completely different mode of action.
[. . .]
(p. 66, l. 26- p. 73, l. 24).
Bereznak discloses that the rations of the mixing partners of compounds can be between about 1:3000 and about 3000:1, about 1:300 and about 300:1, or about 1:30 and about 30:1 (p. 34, ll. 31-34). This encompasses Applicant’s claimed ratios.
To the extent that some of Applicant’s claims are more narrowly directed to compounds, for which Applicant has shown synergy, it is noted that the claims are still not commensurate in scope with the synergy shown because claim 1 is not directed to recite that the composition comprises “a synergistically effective amount” of the claimed component (a) and component (b) compounds. Further, it is not clear from either the Jimenez Declaration, or from Applicant’s specification, what amounts and/ or ratios Applicant used when it performed its experiments to demonstrate synergy. It does appear, however, that Applicant did not vary the amounts, while conducting the experiments. Based on that, as well as based on the very broad ratio of component (a) and component (b) compounds further specifically claimed in dependent claims, e.g. as in claim 25- from 125:1 to 1:125, it appears that Applicant does not support across the breadth of claims, which is commensurate in scope with the synergy data shown.
For the foregoing reasons, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine component (a) and component (b) compounds, and to use them in a composition, and a method for protecting a plant from a rust, based on the disclosure of Bereznak, with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, since Bereznak specifically provides disclosure for doing so with the broad genus of compounds of component (a), and specifically discloses as an example of a component (a) compound Applicant’s claimed compound 63.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,634,393 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they disclose overlapping subject matter.
The claims of the instant application are directed to:
[. . .]
[. . .]
The claims of the issued patent are directed to:
[. . . ]
It is further apparent from the Specification of the issued patent that it encompasses within the genus of Formula I Applicant’s specifically claimed compound 63. (Table A, col. 86). It is further apparent from the Specification of the issued patent that it encompasses as “(b) at least one additional fungicide” of claim 8, the specific additional compounds claimed by Applicant. (See cf col. 67-74).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on the disclosure of the issued patent, to combine in a fungicidal composition Applicant’s particularly claimed compound with an at least one additional fungicide, and to use this composition in a method of controlling plant diseases caused by fungal plant pathogens, with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been explicitly motivated to do so, because the claimed genus of Formula I of the issued patent explicitly discloses within its scope Applicant’s specifically claimed compound 63, and further because the at least one additional fungicide of component (b) also encompasses overlapping compounds with Applicant’s claims.
/SVETLANA M IVANOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627
1 Bereznak also published as US 11634393 B2 over which a double patenting rejection has further been made below.