Claim Status
Claims 24-35 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-23, and 36-38 are currently pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al.(US2017/0372848A1), in view of Mita et al. (JP2007-335156A).
As to claim 1, Yoon discloses an electrode assembly having a jelly-roll type structure in which a first electrode current collector (positive electrode plate) and a second electrode current collector (negative electrode plate) each having a sheet shape (plate shape provides sheet shape) and a separator located between the first electrode current collector and the second electrode current collector ([0006] figs. 1 and 3), but does not explicitly disclose the assembly is wound in one direction.
In the same field of endeavor Mita discloses power storage element comprises a wound-around body 8 [Abstract] and teaches, direction to define a winding center hole (wound body (8) fig. 3) and an outer circumferential surface of the electrode assembly (separator (12) fig. 3).
Therefore it would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the wound electrode assembly of Mita because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. and at the time of the invention wound electrode assemblies were known to be used as a battery cores. (see MPEP § 2143, B.)
wherein at least one of the first electrode current collector and or the second electrode current collector comprises an uncoated portion exposed to outside of the separator in axial direction of the electrode assembly on a long side of the sheet shape (Yoon, [0038], annotated fig. 3 below, and by extension electrode leads (110)),
(Yoon, annotated fig. 3)
wherein a cutting line (101) is provided in the axial direction of the electrode assembly in the at least one of the uncoated portion of the first electrode current collector or the uncoated portion of the second electrode current collector (Yoon, [0053], fig. 10),
Yoon does not explicitly disclose the cutting line extending from the outer circumferential surface of the electrode assembly to the winding center hole, however Mita teaches the cutting line extending from the outer circumferential surface of the electrode assembly to the winding center hole (cuts (17) [0035] fig. 6b, [0036] fig. 6c).
Mita further teaches the plurality of strips are provided at the end of the current collector foil provide a power storage element capable of charging and discharging a larger current can be provided. [0008]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yoon with the cutting line as taught by Mita to achieve larger currents during charge and discharge of the battery.
As to claim 2 and 3, Yoon discloses a current collecting plate (internal terminal (120)) having a shape corresponding to a shape of the bent target area (compressed portion (102)) is coupled to the uncoated portion of the bent target area. ([0044] fig. 4)
As to claim 4, Yoon discloses the cutting line is formed by cutting at least once. (Internal terminal 120 is cut [0053])
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the cutting line is formed by a cutter (Cutting device [0053]) that ultrasonically vibrates in the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly. With regard to the process limitation of ultrasonically vibrates, this limitation is deemed a product-by-process. Therefore The product-by- ultrasonically vibrates of claim 5 are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product (In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324). Claim 1 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Yoon discloses a total height of the current collecting plate and the uncoated portion of the bent target area after the current collecting plate is coupled to the uncoated portion of the bent target area corresponds to a height of the uncoated portion remaining to protrude in the winding axis direction of the remaining area. ([0044] fig. 4)
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the total height of the current collecting plate and the uncoated portion of the bent target area under the current collecting plate is equal to the height of the uncoated portion protruding in the remaining area. ([0044] fig. 4)
As to claim 8, Yoon discloses, in the remaining area, there is a gap between any one uncoated portion and an adjacent uncoated portion. (figs. 4 and 11)
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, Yoon discloses an electrolytic solution flows through the gap. ((electrolyte impregnation hole 124, [0046], [0021])
As to claim 10, Yoon discloses the certain uncoated portion in the bent target area is bent along the cutting line. ([0054] figs. 10 and 11)
As to claim 11, Yoon discloses the preset direction of the uncoated portion in the bent target area is a radial direction of the electrode assembly.([0054] fig. 11)
As to claim 13, Yoon discloses a shape of the bent target area (102) extends in a radial direction when viewed along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly. (fig. 11)
As to claim 14, Yoon discloses a shape of the bent target area (102) is a shape radially extending outward from a core center of the electrode assembly when viewed along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly. (fig.11)
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the shape of the bent target area is a shape radially extending outward in two or more directions from the core center of the electrode assembly when viewed along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly. (fig. 11)
Claim(s) 12, 16-21, 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al.(US2017/0372848A1),as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al.(US2006/0024572A1).
As to claim 12 and 18, Yoon discloses the preset direction of the uncoated portion in the bent target area (Yoon, [0054] fig.11), but does not explicitly disclose the bent direction is in a core direction of the electrode assembly. In the same field of endeavor Lee discloses electrode assembly with a jellyroll configuration [0040], and teaches the bent target area (110a) is bent in a core direction of the electrode assembly. (Lee, [0045] fig. 2)
Lee further teaches, there is provided a secondary battery which can enhance the fixing state of the collector plate and the electrode assembly. [Lee, 0015]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yoon with the direction of bending the uncoated target portion as taught by Lee to enhance the fixing state of the collector plate and electrode assembly.
As to claim 16, modified Yoon discloses compressed portions (102) extending from the core (fig.11) and the number and area of the connection ribs 122 should be are determined to maintain the shape of the electrode leads 110 as much as possible and have an appropriate contact area with respect to the electrode lead 110 [Yoon, 0055], but does explicitly disclose, “a shape of the bent target area is a cross shape extending outward from a core center of the electrode assembly when viewed along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly. “ Lee teaches, a shape of the bent target area is a cross shape extending outward from a core center of the electrode assembly when viewed along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly (Lee, [0049] fig. 2)
As to claim 17, Yoon discloses a shape of the bent target area (102) is a shape radially extending outward from a core center of the electrode assembly when viewed along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly (fig.11), and the cutting line (101) is a straight line ([0053] fig. 10). With regard to the limitation, “the cutting line has an arc shape curved toward the core center of the electrode assembly,” this feature is considered a design option as the cutting line would conform to the collector plate for specific applications, and as such the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
As to claim 19, 20, and 21, modified Yoon discloses at least a part of the uncoated portion included in the bent target area is bent to have at least three layers overlapping in a radial direction of the electrode assembly. Four layers as applied to claim 22, and five layers as applied to claim 23 (Lee, fig. 2).
As to claim 36, modified Yoon discloses a cylindrical battery cell comprising:
a cylindrical battery can (Yoon, metal case (150) [0039]) in which the electrode assembly is accommodated (Yoon, fig. 3)
an external terminal (Yoon,(130)) electrically connected to the first electrode current collector and having a surface exposed outside the battery can (Yoon, [0037] fig. 3); Yoon does not explicitly disclose and the battery can is connected to the second electrode current collector, however in the same field of endeavor Lee discloses electrode assembly with a jellyroll configuration [0040], and teaches, “that is electrically connected to the second electrode current collector” (Lee collector (50) connected to negative electrode (12) of electrode assembly (10) [0036]… The negative collector plate 50 contacts and is fixed to the bent portion 120a. [0046] and fixed to container (20) fig. 1) ;
Yoon is silent on a sealing on a sealing body configured to seal an open can. However Lee teaches a sealing body (Lee, gasket (31) [0036]) configured to seal an open end of the battery can (gasket 31 to thereby seal the container 20. [0036]);
a current collecting plate (Lee, (40) [0045]) welded to a bent surface of the at least one uncoated portion (Lee (110a) [0047] fig. 1) and electrically connected to any one of the battery can and the external terminal (Lee, terminal (32a) [0038], [0039], fig.1).
Lee, further teaches, “ The present invention relates to a secondary battery, and more particularly, to an electrode assembly for a secondary battery in which the welding characteristics of the collector plate against the electrode plate are improved, and a method of manufacturing the same.” [0003]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yoon with the structure as taught by Lee to improve the collector plate and electrode plate welding characteristics and manufacturing process.
As to claim 37, modified Yoon discloses a battery pack comprising the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 36. (Lee, one battery cell is made into a battery pack, [0006])
As to claim 38, modified Yoon discloses a vehicle comprising the battery pack according to claim 37. (Lee, a battery pack is used as the power source for motor driven devices such as hybrid electric vehicles. [0006])
Claim(s) 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al.(US2017/0372848A1),as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lee et al.(US2006/0024572A1), and further in view of Han et al.(US2012/0070721A1).
As to claim 22, modified Yoon discloses the first electrode current collector comprises: an electrode plate [Yoon, 0038] with coated and noncoated portion [Lee, 0018]; but does not explicitly disclose, “first electrode current collector comprises: an electrode plate; an active material layer on at least one surface of the electrode plate; and an insulating coating layer located at a boundary between the active material layer and the uncoated portion of the first electrode current collector, the insulating coating layer being exposed to outside of the separator, and,
wherein a lower end of the cutting line around the bent target area is spaced apart from an end portion of the insulating coating layer.”
In the same field of endeavor Han discloses an electrode assembly in the shape of a jellyroll ([Han, 0014], fig. 2) and teaches, first electrode current collector (22) comprises: an electrode plate (positive plate (22) [Han, 0025] fig. 1); an active material layer on at least one surface of the electrode plate (Positive coated area (22b) [Han, 0025]); and an insulating coating layer (adhesive tape) located at a boundary between the active material layer and the uncoated portion of the first electrode current collector ([Han, 0024] fig.2 as exemplified in fig. 5 of the instant specification), the insulating coating layer being exposed to outside of the separator ((21) fig. 2),
Han further teaches, “to avoid laser beam damage to the coated area of the electrode plate, according to some embodiments, a joint between the coated area and the uncoated area of the electrode plate may be adhered with an adhesive tape at both faces of the electrode plate along the wounding direction of the electrode plate..” [0024]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yoon with the insulating tape as taught by Han to avoid damage to the electrode plate coated areas.
and,
The combination of Yoon and Han would provide a lowermost depth of the cutting line around the bent target area is spaced apart from an end portion of the insulating coating layer.
Modified Yoon discloses,” The preparation method of the negative plate 23 (second electrode current collector) may be the same as that of the positive plate 22,” as applied to claim 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Shinkawa et al. (US2022/0149489A1) Grooved leads with welded collectors.
Oh et al. (US2014/0072851A1) Insulation tape on cathode coated/uncoated
Boundary.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728