DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 1 -3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 4 ]" Yoon (US 20110244315 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Yoon discloses a battery cell manufacturing device ( para. 0029, [the sealing may be performed by thermal fusion using first and second jigs] ) configured to seal a battery case in which an electrode assembly and an electrolyte are incorporated (para. 0018, [mounting an electrode assembly , primarily sealing, injecting an electrolyte, and secondarily sealing]) , with a pocket part ( Fig. 3A item 140a/b [first sealed portion] ) and a pre-sealing part ( Fig. 2E and para. 0037, sealed portions 141a and 141b ) being formed on the outer peripheral surface of the battery case ( Fig. 2E shows items 140 and 141 are on the periphery ) , and the device comprising: a jig assembly configured to press the pocket part of the battery case ( Fig. 3 A arrows show the direction of jig compression ) , wherein the jig assembly includes a first jig and a second jig facing one another ( Fig. 3A, [first jig item 220, second jig item 210, which face one another] ) , the first jig configured to press an upper part of the pocket part of the battery case, the second jig configured to press a the lower part of the pocket part ( See Fig. 3A, [item 220 p resses the upper part item 131 and item 210 presses the lower part of item 121] ) , and wherein the device is configured to press and release of the first jig and the second jig against the pocket part at least once to press the pocket part ( claim 11 , [pressing the outer portions of the pouches with upper and lower jigs … plurality of corresponding seal marks on the outer portions ) . Yoon further teach es that “some portions of the first pouch sheet and the second pouch sheet may remain unsealed thereby forming an electrolyte injection passage” (Yoon, para. 0029), and thereby teaches that at least some of the electrolyte contained in the pocket part to move toward an inside of the battery case (para. 0029, if some portions remain unsealed, that will allow the electrolyte to enter into the electrode assembly portion) . A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987 ). Regarding claim 2 , Yoon discloses t he battery cell manufacturing device of claim 1, wherein: the jig is configured to extend along a portion the pocket part (Fig. 3A shows the jig (item 220 and 210) extends along a portion of the pocket part, item 140) . Regarding claim 3 , Yoon discloses the battery cell manufacturing device of claim 2, wherein a width of the jig assembly in a lateral direction of the battery case is equal to a length of the pocket part in the lateral direction (Fig. 3A, [the width of the jig assembly [220 and 210] is equal to the length of the pocket portion [item 140a/b]). This is analogous to Fig. 5 of the instant specification, where the width of the jig assembly (300) is compared to the length of the pocket part (110p) in the lateral direction. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim FILLIN "Pluralize claim, if necessary, and then insert the claim number(s) which is/are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 2 ]" Yoon (US 20110244315 A1) and further in view of the machine translation of FILLIN "Insert the additional prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 4 ]" Jeong (KR 20150107102 A) . Regarding claim 4 , The battery cell manufacturing device of claim 1, wherein: at least one of the first jig or the second jig has a surface configured to contact the pocket part (Fig. 3A, [the surface of both jigs have a surface [compressed portions, items 211 and 221] that contacts the pocket part [item 140]) . Yoon does not teach that the surface is covered with a soft member. Jeong, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that the jig surface is covered with a soft member (para. 33, [ an elastic material may be added to at least a portion of the jig, and specifically, an elastic material may be added to at least a portion of the outer surface of the jig contacting the battery cell ]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have covered the surface of Yoon ’s jig with a soft member, as taught by Jeong, in order to protect the battery cell from damage, as taught by Jeong (para. 34). Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 2 ]" Yoon (US 20110244315 A1) and further in view of the machine translation of FILLIN "Insert the additional prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 4 ]" Jeong (KR 20150107102 A) , and further in view of Lee (US 20140193705 A1) . Regarding claim 5 , modified Yoon teaches t he battery cell manufacturing device of claim 4 , and further teaches that the soft member can be made of a variety of materials (para. 35, [the elastic material is not limited, but may be, for example, one or more selected from the group consisting of polystyrene). Modified Yoon does not teach wherein the soft member is formed of a polyoxymethylene pad. Lee, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that a case for an electrochemical assembly protects the assembly from external impact, and the case may include a resin that surrounds the side surface. The resin may be selected from the group consisting of polyoymethylene or polystyrene (para. 0040 and 0041). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the soft cover made of polystyrene for a cover made of polyoxymethylene to cover the surface of Yoon ’s jig, as taught by Lee, in order to protect the surface from external impact, as taught by Lee (para. 0040). The simple substitution of a known element ( polystyrene ) for another ( polyoxymethylene ) would achieve the predictable result of providing a soft material that protects the surface from external impact , as taught by Lee . See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. , 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Claim s 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 2 ]" Yoon (US 20110244315 A1) and further in view of Pan ( US 20110123866 A1 ) . Regarding claim 8 , Yoon teaches t he battery cell manufacturing device of claim 1, further comprising a sealing tool assembly (para. 0044, [items 221 and 222]) including a first sealing tool configured to press the upper part of the pocket part of the battery case (Fig. 3A, item 222) and a second sealing tool configured to press the lower part of the pocket part (Fig. 3A, item 211) , to form a sealing part on the outer peripheral surface of the battery case (Fig. 3A, the seal is on the outer peripheral surface of the battery case) . Yoon does not teach wherein the sealing tool is configured to heat-seals at least a part of the pocket part pressed by the jig assembly. Pan, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches wherein the sealing tool is configured to heat-seals at least a part of the pocket part pressed by the jig assembly (para. 0201) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated heat sealing while pressing the pocket part of Yoon, as taught by Pan, in order to fluidically isolate from the immediate area, as taught by Pan (para. 0202). 1598295 4004310 Regarding claim 9 , The battery cell manufacturing device of claim 1, wherei n a width of the sealing tool assembly in a lateral direction of the battery case is equal to or smaller than a width of the jig assembly in the lateral direction (Fig. 3A, [ the sealing tool item 222 is smaller in width than the jig assembly item 220]) . Other Pertinent References US 20040161663 A1 Teaches a heat-sealing machine and prevents the electrolytic solution from leaking out. US 5900030 A Teaches an apparatus and method for assembling a battery. Teaches a reliable machine for heat sealing a battery case closure to a battery case . Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that each and every limitation of amended claim 1 is not taught or suggested by any of the references of record, alone or in combination. Examiner responds by stating that Yoon teaches that some portions of the first and second sheet may remain unsealed (unsealed portions in the primarily sealing), thereby forming an electrolyte injection passage (para. 0029). Furthermore, para. 0033 explains that the electrolyte injection passage is secondarily sealed, and thus the electrolyte is contained in the pouch. Furthermore, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus and the prior art of Yoon teaches the limitations presented in claim 1. See the rejection above. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987 ). Applicant argues that the jigs 210, 220, 310, and 320 of Yoon differ in configuration and effectiveness from the jig 300, which is a sealing jig that allows relatively uniform pressing against the bar, the pocket portion 110p of the present invention. Examiner responds by stating that there appears to be no difference in the configuration of the jigs 210 220, 310, and 320 of Yoon Fig. 3 and the instant, Fig. 5. Both configurations contain a flat portion that makes contact with the battery portion. Regarding the effectiveness, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Conclusion Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Enter examiner's name" \* MERGEFORMAT VERITA E GRANNUM whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1150 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 10-5 EST / 7-2 PST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Allison Bourke can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (303) 297-4684 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /V.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721 /MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721