DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed March 3, 2026, which amends claims 1-4, 7, 20, and 21 and cancels claims 5 and 19. Claims 1-4, 6-18, and 20-22 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed March 3, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as set forth in the Office action mailed December 3, 2025.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed March 3, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2019/0074451) as set forth in the Office action mailed December 3, 2025.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed March 3, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 5 and under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0074451) as set forth in the Office action mailed December 3, 2025. The applicant cancels claims 5 and 19; therefore, the claims are no longer pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Lee does not teach that the L groups such as L1 or L21 can be an aryl group, the Office points out that paragraph [0101] teaches that when the number of L1 groups is more than 1 than the L1 can be the same or different. Lee further teaches that L1 or L21 is preferably a phenylene group (paragraph [0084] and [0097]-[0099]). Lee teaches that L1 can be a phenylene group and the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Lee does not teach that taught compound cannot be used in the electron transporting layer or hole blocking layer, the Office points out that paragraph [0187] specifically teaches that the taught compound can be used in a variety of layers in the electroluminescent device and these layer include a hole blocking layer or an electron transporting layer. Lee does teach that the compounds can be used in these layers and would direct one of ordinary skill in the art use the compound of Lee in the hole blocking layer or electron transporting layer.
Regarding the applicant’s argument of unexpected results, the results presented are not commensurate in scope with the prior art. The prior reference Lee teaches that the dibenzofuran group is directly attached to the triazine group and the reference example used does not have this limitation. The compounds of Lee are closer to the compounds of the instant application than the reference compound. The applicant has not compared there claimed invention to the compounds of Lee and the applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The reference compound of the instant application differs that the claimed invention by not comprising another aryl group between the carbazole group and the triazine group, the attachment position of the dibenzofuran group, and the presence of a linker between the triazine group and the dibenzofuran group. It is unclear from the reference compound what variable is causing the observed results over reference compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 14, which depends from claim1, claims that formula 1 can be represented by formula 4-1,
, or formula 4-2
but formula 1 require both groups attached to the phenylene group to be in the para position. Formula 4-1 or 4-2 does not further limit claim 1 and formula 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0074451) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-18, and 20-22, Lee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an electron blocking layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer (applicant’s first electron transporting layer), an electron transporting layer (applicant’s second electron transporting layer), an electron injection layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0181]-[0194]). Lee teaches that the electron transporting layer or hole blocking layer can be composed of a compound the meets the following formula,
(paragraphs [0008] and [0187]). Lee teaches that a21 can be 0-3 and L21 can be phenyl or naphthyl (paragraphs [0084] and [0097]-[0101]). Lee teaches the following compounds are derived from the following compounds,
,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0175]). Lee shows that triazine group can be a substitute and equivalent for the pyrimidine group;
is a substitute and equivalent for
, and carbazole can be substitute and equivalent for
in the formula/compounds (paragraph [0175]). Lee teaches that the compounds can be deuterated (paragraphs [0064]-[0160]). Lee teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic apparatus (paragraph [0003]).
Lee does not specifically teach a compound that meets applicant’s claimed formula 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pyrimidine group in
with a triazine group or substitute
in
with
in the compounds of Lee and add an additional phenylene group between the triazine group and the carbazole group (a21 is 2 or 3 and L21 are both phenylene groups). The substitute would have been one preferred and taught equivalent group for another preferred group. Lee specifically teaches that there can be more than 1 L21 group and both groups can be the same or different and can be phenylene groups. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to act in a similar manner as the other compounds of Lee, since Lee teaches that the groups can be substitutes for each other. This would lead to a compound that would meet applicant’s formula 4-1, 4-2, 4-3, 4-4, 4-5, or 4-6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759