DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action on the 17/922703 application filed on 12/23/25.
Claims 1-23 are pending of which claims 14-23 are new.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 11-13 plus new claims 14-23 in the reply filed on 12/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 were withdrawn by applicant in the above response.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/1/22 and 2/28/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: medium adding device, medium collection device, detection device in claim 14, selection mechanism in claim 18 and member covering a surface in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15, 17-18, 20, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by MIYASHITA (US 2016/0348146).
Regarding claim 11, 15, 22-23 MIYASHITA discloses a microorganism measuring method (cell detection method) comprising:
dispensing a liquid/reagent (adding part of prepared culture medium) from a reagent tube (medium container) to a collection container 30 (culture container) holding sample microorganisms (holding cells to be detected) on a filter surface 30a (filter inherently has pore diameter smaller than size of cells being tested in order to hold the cells);
taking an aliquot of the reaction liquid 110a in the collection container 30 and dispensing it into a measurement tube 50 (collecting the culture medium from the culture container)(0071);
and measuring the luminescence intensity based on the single photon method (detecting light from) from the tube 50 having a luminescence reagent 110d mixed with the reaction liquid 110a (culture medium moves from medium container to culture container to collection container) (0082-104, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, MIYASHITA discloses repeating the above steps a plurality of times (Fig 3A, 0157, 0161), and compares the results (0162-191, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 13, MIYASHITA discloses using a different measurement tube 50 (collection container) each time when repeating measurements (0108, 0113).
Regarding claim 14, claim limitations interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above are: medium adding device is a syringe and functional equivalents thereof [0035 of PGPub]; medium collection device is a centrifuge, pressure pump or other device and functional equivalents thereof [0042 of PGPub] and detection device is a luminescence measurement device is a device that detects light generated by a luminescence reaction including a sensor such as CCD, CMOS, or photomultiplier tube [0056 of PG Pub].
MIYASHITA discloses the method is performed with a reagent dispenser 4 including nozzle and pump which are functional equivalents of syringe and pressure pump (medium adding device, medium collection device) (0077- 0081) and a photon counting unit 52 including a photomultiplier tube (detection device) (0082).
Regarding claim 17, MIYASHITA discloses the luminescent reagent is a luciferase-luciferin reagent as the ATP luminescence reagent (0101), such that luminescence is caused by ATP in the reaction liquid and the ATP luminescence reagent reacting on each other (0102).
Regarding claim 18, claim limitations interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above are: selection mechanism: flow path 1008 [0257 of PGPub] or switching valve [0189 of PGPub] and functional equivalents thereof.
MIYASHITA discloses the reagent dispenser includes a pump to make the nozzle suck or discharge liquid (functional equivalent of switching valve) that connects the culture container with a collection container (0077).
Regarding claim 20, claim limitations interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above are: member covering a surface is an adapter with valve and capillary and functional equivalents thereof [0158-160 of PGPub].
MIYASHITA discloses the collection container filter 30a has a suction head 32a covering a surface of the filter that has a pathway for fluid flow (functional equivalent of adapter with capillary) (0071-75, Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYASHITA (US 2016/0348146).
Regarding claim 16, MIYASHITA discloses the nozzle (medium adding device) is configured to discharge a predetermined amount of liquid (0077-78), but does not explicitly disclose the volume is 0.5-5 times a value obtained by multiplying an area and thickness of the filter. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to choose the predetermined amount to be within the claimed range in order to provide the right amount of liquid to adequately flush the filter as desired by MIYASHITA (0090-93) without using any more than necessary of the expensive reagents. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the volume of liquid to use based on the filter area and thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, MIYASHITA does not explicitly disclose the medium adding device adds the medium substantially parallel to the filter surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to change the orientation of the nozzle of MIYASHITA to be parallel in order to allow for a more even spread of the culture microorganisms over the surface of the filter. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to change the orientation of the nozzle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 21, MIYASHITA discloses controlling the amount of aliquot is achieved by predetermined control by a controller (0081) but does not explicitly disclose adding an entire amount of culture medium from a reagent tube (medium container). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the entirety of the reagent tube contents as the predetermined aliquot if the reagents were supplied in said tubes in the volume necessary for the detection method being used. Additionally, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the reagent dispenser add an entire amount of medium from a medium container, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5217875 was cited as a reference in the rejection of related claims in App. No. 17/056454.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799