Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 7-17, 19, 20, 22-31, 34-51, are pending in the application, claims 22, 24-26, 35-37 are withdrawn, claims 1 and 27 are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The 112(b) rejection with respect to the term “suitable” is withdrawn in view of the remarks and the amendment.
The 112(b) rejection with respect to claim 40 is maintained, claim 40 recites wherein the eluted protein mixture is collected about 2.5AU/cm to about I.5AU/cm, claim 40 depends from claim 1, which recites a method consisting of specific steps, claim 40 is specific to a step of collecting which is not recited in claim 1, claim 1 excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim, see MPEP 2111.03.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the invention addresses a different problem and provides advantages of HWM and acidic variant reduction, cost savings and the use of fewer columns, Bonnerjea teaches purification of proteins using Protein A and anion exchange, Shamashkin teaches purification of protein using Protein A and anion exchange and that the process removes HMW, and generates savings in production costs, increases production and replaces expensive steps (abstract, introduction).
In response to applicant’s argument that Bonnerjea does not teach the recited steps, and omits viral inactivation, neutralization, and filtration after Protein A, Bonnerjea teaches, in embodiments Protein A followed by virus inactivation, neutralization, and filtration (0057-0058, 0089), in embodiments using the recited pI, examiner notes examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiment (see MPEP 2123, “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments”).
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning the pH of the buffer, Bonnerjea teaches for a given application the pH of the loading buffer might need fine-tuning for optimal discrimination of binding and non-binding for a given antibody and contaminant (0029), and the pH of the flow through may be adjusted to neutral pH for improving stability (0031, pH of 7.0 to 7.5), further examiner notes absent a showing of criticality with respect to pH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the pH through routine experimentation in order to achieve desired contaminant removal. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Examiner note applicant’s arguments that the objective of a purification to reduce product related impurities including HMW and AV, are not commensurate in scope with independent claims 1 and 27, which require only one of the recited impurities. Shamashkin teaches a similar method of protein purification using Protein A and anion exchange and virus filtration, neutralization, filtration (abstract, Fig. 1) where the anion exchange retains impurities such as HMW species (p.3, Analytics, p. 4-6, Fig. 3).
In response to applicant’s arguments that Shamashkin is completely distinct from the present invention, examiner notes applicant’s remarks are not commensurate in scope with the instant claim language, examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." Absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited impurities and purity are considered inherent. In the interest of compact prosecution, Shamashkin teaches a similar method of protein purification using Protein A and anion exchange and virus filtration, neutralization, filtration (abstract) where the anion exchange is formulated to promote retention of impurities such as HMW species (p.3) and where the percent HMW was determined by SE- providing evidence that Bonnerjea’s taught method would provide HMW impurity reduction, or at least would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Degterev and Weisbjerg are not relevant Bonnerjea teaches purifying monoclonal antibodies with a pI of at least 6.5 or above, more preferably is 7.0 or above, most preferably has a pI of at least 7.5 or above (0027), Weisbjerg and Degterev teach omalizumab exhibits the recited pI: Weisbjerg teaches literature data for pI for Omalizumab is 7.0-7.6 (Table 1, p. 550, col 2) Degterev teaches pI of 7.35-7.45 (p. 1600, col 2). Additionally, Leber teaches culturing and purification of antibodies (abstract, 0092), specifically including monoclonal antibodies, IgE, and omalizumab (0012-0015), and purification by standard techniques including Protein A and anion exchange chromatography (0092).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning the rejections in view of Leiss, as noted above claim 40 depends from claim 1, which recites a method consisting of specific steps, claim 40 is specific to a step of collecting which is not recited in claim 1, claim 1 excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim, see MPEP 2111.03. Additionally, Bonnerjea teaches collecting of the antibody (0014, 0031), Leiss teaches purification of antibodies (0003), including omalizumab (0033) collection eluate initiated and terminated based on absorbance and volume (0348), and in an example collection at 2.5 AU/cm (table 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites wherein the eluted protein mixture is collected about 2.5AU/cm to about I.SAU/cm, claim 40 depends from claim 1, which recites a method consisting of specific steps, claim 40 is specific to a step of collecting which is not recited in claim 1, claim 1 excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim, see MPEP 2111.03.
Additional claims are rejected as dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-14, 16, 17, 19-20, 23, 26-31, 34-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnerjea (US PG Pub 2006/0194953), with evidence from Karur (US PG Pub 2020/0283472), and Shamashkin (A Tandem Laboratory Scale Protein Purification Process Using Protein A Affinity and Anion Exchange Chromatography Operated in a Weak Partitioning Mode, 2013), alternatively in veiw of Leber (US PG Pub 2017/0305999).
With respect to claims 1 and 27, Bonnerjea teaches antibody purification by Protein A and ion exchange, preferably anion exchange (0020, 0070, a process of purifying an antibody or a fusion protein, affinity chromatography Protein A or Protein G and anion exchange), the antibody a monoclonal antibody that has an isoelectric point (pI) which is at least 6.5 or above, more preferably is 7.0 or above, most preferably has an pI of at least 7.5 (0027, a protein with a pI of 7.5 to 7.9), the pH of buffer used for loading and running the first ion exchanger in a flow-through mode, the pH of the equilibration/loading buffer is preferably in the range of pH 6.5 to pH 9.0 (0028-0029, a buffer at a pH of 7.0 to 7.5), in embodiments Protein A followed by virus inactivation, neutralization, and filtration (0057-0058, 0089, the protein mixture obtained from step (a) to a viral inactivation, a neutralization, and a filtration), while Bonnerjea does not provide a single embodiment with all three of virus inactivation, neutralization, and filtration, the use of all three in a single embodiment would be a matter of simple design choice to one of ordinary skill, as evidenced by Karur, Karur teaches purification of proteins (abstract), and Protein A followed by viral inactivation, neutralization, and filtration and anion exchange (0039); antibody collected in the including about one column volume of wash with the same equilibration buffer (0031, 0070, washing the anion exchange resin), the method provides at least 70%, more preferably at least 80%, most preferably at least 90% of the antibody loaded onto the first ion exchanger can be recovered in the flow-through of the ion-exchanger (0026, a substantially pure monomer), and measurement of purity by size exclusion HPLC (0064, analyzed by SE-HP LC.).
With respect to specific buffer pH of 7.0 to 7.5, Bonnerjea teaches for a given application the pH of the loading buffer might need fine-tuning for optimal discrimination of binding and non-binding for a given antibody and contaminant (0029), and the pH of the flow through may be adjusted to neutral pH for improving stability (0031, pH of 7.0 to 7.5), further examiner notes absent a showing of criticality with respect to pH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the thickness through routine experimentation in order to achieve desired contaminant removal. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to the limitations of purity, and specific impurities, examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." Absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited impurities and purity are considered inherent. In the interest of compact prosecution, Shamashkin teaches a similar method of protein purification using Protein A followed by anion exchange, and virus filtration, neutralization, filtration (abstract) where the anion exchange is formulated to promote retention of impurities such as HMW species (p.3) and where the percent HMW was determined by SE-HPLC (Analytics, p. 4-6, Fig. 3), providing evidence that Bonnerjea’s taught method would provide HMW impurity reduction, or at least would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Alternatively, in the interest of compact prosecution, Leber teaches culturing of antibodies (abstract), and purification by standard techniques including protein A and anion exchange chromatography (0092), by a process which reduces the amounts of acidic or basic variants, and/or high and low molecular weight species (abstract) and reduction of percentage of high molecular weight species produced by the media by any of about 1%-100% (0078), and/or the percentage of acidic species by about 1-100% relative to media produced by a different method, and measurement of species by any known means in the art including ion exchange HPLC, size exclusion chromatography (0092, 0105, 0115). Such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Bonnerjea’s process would include high molecular weight impurities and acidic variants as shown by Leber, additionally, Shamashkin teaches percent HMW was determined by SE-HPLC and the AEX resin improved removal of HMW (Analytics, p. 4, 7), providing evidence that Bonnerjea’s taught method would provide HMW impurity reduction.
With respect to claims 7-9, 23, 26, 28-31, 44, 47-51, Bonnerjea teaches the recited steps of purification of antibodies as discussed above. With respect to the limitations of the specific reductions in impurities, examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." Absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited impurities are considered inherent.
Alternatively, in the interest of compact prosecution, Leber teaches culturing of antibodies (abstract), and purification by standard techniques including protein A and anion exchange chromatography (0092), by a process which reduces the amounts of acidic or basic variants, and/or high and low molecular weight species (abstract) and reduction of percentage of high molecular weight species produced by the media by any of about 1%-100% (0078), and/or the percentage of acidic species by about 1-100% relative to media produced by a different method, and measurement of species by any known means in the art including ion exchange HPLC, size exclusion chromatography (0092, 0105, 0115). Such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Bonnerjea’s process would include high molecular weight impurities and acidic variants as shown by Leber, additionally, Shamashkin teaches percent HMW was determined by SE-HPLC and the AEX resin improved removal of HMW (Analytics, p. 4, 7), providing evidence that Bonnerjea’s taught method would provide HMW impurity reduction.
With respect to claims 10-11, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches the antibody may have a pI a monoclonal antibody that has an isoelectric point (pI) which is more preferably 7.0 or above, most preferably has a pI of at least 7.5 (0027, with a pI selected from 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, and 7.9, about 7.6).
With respect to claim 12-14, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches pH pH 6.5 to pH 9.0 as discussed above (0028-0029), and for a given application, the pH of the loading buffer might need finetuning for optimal discrimination of binding and non-binding for a given pair of antibody and contaminant protein A having differing pI values and different content, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fine tune the pH to wherein the buffer has a pH selected from 7.0, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3, 7.4, and 7.5, depending on the pI and contaminant to be removed.
With respect to claim 15, The process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches wherein the suitable buffer is selected from Sodium Phosphate, Tris- HCl, HEPES, Glycine-NaOH, and Tris-Acetate (0029, 0070-0078, 0082).
With respect to claim 19, The process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches the anion exchange is a strong anion exchange (0020).
With respect to claim 20, The process according to claim 19, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches the strong anion exchange resin is functionalized with quaternized polyethyleneimine groups. (0020, 0027-0030).
With respect to claim 34, The process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches the recited process, and is silent as to the need for a Hydroxyapatite, a Hydrophobic interaction chromatography, and a multimodal chromatograph.
With respect to claim 38, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches the loading or equilibration buffer for the first anion exchange step has a conductivity 0.5-5 mS/cm, more preferably of from 1-3 mS/cm, most preferably of from 1.25-2.5 mS/cm, ideally, about 2 mS/cm (0029, the loading buffer conductivity is from about 1.5 mS/cm to about 3.5 mS/cm, 2.6mS/cm).
With respect to claims 41-43, Bonnerjea teaches the recited steps of purification of antibodies as discussed above. With respect to the limitations of the obtained peak, examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." Absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited obtained peaks are considered inherent.
With respect to claim 45, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches the antibody collected in the including about one column volume of wash with the same equilibration buffer (0031, 0070) and a post load wash (0070-0092, wherein the anion exchange chromatography resin is washed post obtaining the eluted protein mixture).
With respect to claim 46, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches loading operation including about one column volume of wash with the same equilibration buffer (0031 wherein the washing and loading step is performed at same pH).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnerjea (US PG Pub 2006/0194953), with evidence from Shamashkin (A Tandem Laboratory Scale Protein Purification Process Using Protein A Affinity and Anion Exchange Chromatography Operated in a Weak Partitioning Mode, 2013), alternatively in view of Leber, in view of Degterev (Improvement of the Degradation Profiling of Eculizumab and Omalizumab Monoclonal Antibodies by Liquid Chromatography–Mass Spectrometry, 2021), Weisbjerg (Serial Coupling of Ion-Exchange and Size-Exclusion Chromatography to Determine Aggregation Levels in mAbs in The Presence of a Proteinaceous Excipient, Recombinant Human Serum Albumin, 2014), and Leber (US PG Pub 2017/0305999).
With respect to claim 16, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches purifying monoclonal antibodies with a pI of at least 6.5 or above, more preferably is 7.0 or above, most preferably has a pI of at least 7.5 or above (0027), but does not teach the antibody is capable of binding to an lgE, or the antibody is Omalizumab.
Weisbjerg and Degterev teach omalizumab exhibits the recited pI: Weisbjerg teaches literature data for pI for Omalizumab is 7.0-7.6 (Table 1, p. 550, col 2) Degterev teaches pI of 7.35-7.45 (p. 1600, col 2). Additionally, Leber teaches culturing and purification of antibodies (abstract, 0092), specifically including monoclonal antibodies, IgE, and omalizumab (0012-0015), and purification by standard techniques including Protein A and anion exchange chromatography (0092), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bonnerjea’s taught process to purify Omalizumab, an IgE antibody, as Bonnerjea teaches purification of monoclonal antibodies with pIs of at least 6.5, and as shown by Degterev, Weisberg, Omalizumab is an antibody with a pI in that range, and according to Leber, omalizumab is known to be purified by similar processes.
Claims 23, 47-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnerjea (US PG Pub 2006/0194953), with evidence from Shamashkin (A Tandem Laboratory Scale Protein Purification Process Using Protein A Affinity and Anion Exchange Chromatography Operated in a Weak Partitioning Mode, 2013), alternatively in view of Leber, with evidence from Ramasubramanyan (US PG Pub 2013/0338344).
With respect to claims 23, 47-51, Bonnerjea teaches the recited steps of purification of antibodies as discussed above. With respect to the limitations of the specific reductions in impurities, examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." Absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited impurities are considered inherent. Leber teaches acidic species as discussed above. In the interest of compact prosecution, Protein purification and control of charge variants, aggregates (abstract) including acidic species (AR) using a loading pH of about 7-8.2, (0001-0019), including Protein A followed by anion exchange, and that the method can be used to selectively remove, significantly reduce, or essentially remove all of AR charge variants (0126-00138), the AR levels analyzed by cation exchange (0003, 0225), providing evidence that Bonnerjea’s taught method would reduce acidic species.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnerjea (US PG Pub 2006/0194953), with evidence from Shamashkin (A Tandem Laboratory Scale Protein Purification Process Using Protein A Affinity and Anion Exchange Chromatography Operated in a Weak Partitioning Mode, 2013), alternatively in view of Leber, in view of Leiss (US PG Pub 2022/0194980).
With respect to claim 40, the process according to claim 1, is taught above. Bonnerjea teaches collecting of the antibody (0014, 0031), but does not teach collection at 2.5AU/cm to about 1.5AU/cm. See 112 rejection above. Leiss teaches purification of antibodies (0003), including omalizumab (0033) collection eluate initiated and terminated based on absorbance and volume (0348), and in an example collection at 2.5 AU/cm (table 11), while Leiss does not explicitly teach 2.5AU/cm to about 1.5AU/cm, as Leiss teaches eluate initiated and terminated based on absorbance and volume (0348) and a specific value of 2.5 au/cm, as the specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific peak collection value is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the peak is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting dilution, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the peak collection to obtain the desired species (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776