DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim 3 is amended.
Claims 10-12 are cancelled.
Claims 13-15 are new.
Claims 1-9 and 13-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG (TiO2/RbPbI3 halide perovskite solar cells) in view of ZHANG II (Enhanced Power Conversion Efficiency of Perovskite Solar Cells with an Up-Conversion Material of Er3+-Yb3+-Li+ Tri-doped TiO2), with evidence provided by RICHARDS (The Mechanism of Iodine Reduction by TiO2 Electrons and the Kinetics of Recombination in Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells).
Regarding claim 3, JUNG teaches a composite that is an aggregate or a thin film comprising a perovskite structure as a main component (see the composite that is an aggregate or a thin film comprising a RbPbI3 structure as a main component; see Fig. 5a attached below), and additionally including a core-shell particle (see the core-shell particle with TiO2 core and RbPbI3 shell; see Fig. 5a attached below), wherein the core shell particle comprises a core-shell structure (see the TiO2 core - RbPbI3 shell structure), wherein the core shell particle comprises an inorganic nanoparticle (see the TiO2 nanoparticle in Fig. 5a attached below); and a coating layer (see the RbPbI3 coating layer) formed on a surface of the inorganic nanoparticle (see Fig. 5a attached below and Fig. 5c showing SEM image and EDAX elemental mapping), and formed of an inorganic perovskite (see the RbPbI3, which is an inorganic perovskite).
Regarding the claimed “an inorganic nanoparticle having a light wavelength conversion ability that converts an absorbed long-wavelength light into a short-wavelength light; wherein main materials of the inorganic nanoparticle comprise a rare earth element”, JUNG teaches an inorganic nanoparticle (see the TiO2 nanoparticle) having a light wavelength conversion ability (TiO2 has a light wavelength conversion ability) and main materials of the inorganic nanoparticle (see TiO2 materials), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “that converts an absorbed long-wavelength light into a short-wavelength light; a rare earth element”. However, ZHANG II discloses a TiO2/perovskite solar cell, wherein the Er3+-Yb3+-Li+ tri-doping into the TiO2 material presents an enhanced up-conversion emission, expands the spectral absorption of perovskite solar cells from visible light to near-infrared, and improves the performance of solar cells (see Abstract and Conclusions), wherein up-conversion materials in perovskite solar cells (PSCs) can convert NIR to visible light (see Background). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Er3+-Yb3+-Li+ tri-doping into the TiO2 nanoparticle in the device of JUNG as taught by ZHANG II, because the Er3+-Yb3+-Li+ tri-doping into the TiO2 presents an enhanced up-conversion emission, expands the spectral absorption of perovskite solar cells from visible light to near-infrared, and improves the performance of solar cells. Therefore, modified JUNG teaches an inorganic nanoparticle having a light wavelength conversion ability that converts an absorbed long-wavelength light into a short-wavelength light (The Er3+-Yb3+-Li+ tri-doped TiO2 nanoparticle has a light wavelength conversion ability that converts NIR (corresponding to the claimed “an absorbed long-wavelength light”) to visible light (corresponding to the claimed “a short-wavelength light”)), wherein main materials of the inorganic nanoparticle comprise a rare earth element (see Er, Yb).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
JUNG teaches the inorganic nanoparticle is a particle having a diameter of 10 nm to 100 nm (see Experimental: A mesoporous TiO2 layer, which was prepared diluted
TiO2 paste (DYESOL-18NRT) with ethanol; An evidence provided by RICHARDS, 18NRT Dyesol contains TiO2 crystal with ~20 nm diameter), a thickness of the coating layer is 5% or more of the diameter of the inorganic nanoparticle (see the SEM image in Fig. 5a; The average diameter of TiO2 nanoparticles coated with RbPbI3 layer is measured as to about 25 nm; Based on the measurement, the thickness of the coating layer is calculated as to about 12.5% of the diameter of the TiO2 nanoparticle), wherein a coverage of the coating layer on the surface of the inorganic nanoparticle is 50% or more and 100% or less (see P52, It is important to note that most of the TiO2 layer was covered by the RbPbI3 perovskite layer and see Fig. 5c, SEM image and corresponding EDAX elemental mapping; The coating layer on the surface of the TiO2 nanoparticle is considered to be 100%), and the core-shell particle forms a layer while in contact with the perovskite structure (see Fig. 5a, 5c; The core-shell particle with TiO2 core and RbPbI3 shell forms a layer while in contact with the RbPbI3 structure).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
JUNG teaches the coverage of the coating layer on the surface of the inorganic nanoparticle is 100% (see the rejection of claim 8; see 100%).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified JUNG teaches the absorbed long-wavelength light is near infrared light and the short-wavelength light is visible light or ultraviolet light (see the rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
Modified JUNG teaches the absorbed long-wavelength light is near infrared light and the short-wavelength light is visible light or ultraviolet light (see the rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 15, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified JUNG teaches the absorbed long-wavelength light is near infrared light and the short-wavelength light is visible light or ultraviolet light (see the rejection of claim 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/10/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argument regarding that the prior art does not teach or suggest the core-shell structure in the amended claim 1 in P7, is not persuasive.
Fig. 5 of JUNG shows that TiO2 nanoparticle coated with RbPbI3 layer, which is a core-shell structure.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argument regarding that the prior art does not teach or suggest the new limitation “that converts an absorbed long-wavelength light into a short-wavelength light” in the amended claim 1 in P7-P10, is not persuasive.
ZHANG II teaches Er3+-Yb3+-Li+ tri-doping into the TiO2 material, which provides upconversion emission. Modified JUNG in view of ZHANG II teaches all limitations required by the amended claim 1.
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728