DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on April 15, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDSs have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is invited to point out any particular reference(s) in the IDS that they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this Office Action. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0098], line 10, “configuration sent to the scheduled entity to the scheduling entity …” should read “configuration sent from the scheduling entity to the scheduled entity …”
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 28 filed on 03/04/2026 have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive and the arguments on the amended feature has been addressed in the instant Office Action with previously identified prior art by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said added feature are moot.
The arguments assert that none of Huang, Jiang, or Park, individually or in any combination, has been shown to teach or suggest at least: "a CSI-RS resource configuration which identifies a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a first TC/state of the plurality of TC/ states and identifies a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a second TC/ state of the plurality of TC/ states;" as recited in independent claim 1 and as similarly recited in independent claim 28.
The Examiner respectively disagree.
With respect to the limitation “… identifies a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a first TC/state … and identifies a second subset … associated with a second TC/ state of the plurality of TC/ states…” the Examiner has analyzed this feature under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI). The Examiner notes that the claim language does not require the “first subset” and the “second subset” to be composed of different of distinct ports. There is no “distinct,” “disjoint,” or “non-overlapping” requirement recited in the claim. Therefore, the claim encompasses configurations where the subsets are identical, partially overlapping, or entirely distinct.
Huang discloses the “a CSI-RS resource configuration which identifies a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a first TC/state of the plurality of TCI states and identifies a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a second TCI state of the plurality of TC/ states;" of claim 1. Specifically, in para [0090], Huang teaches a target refence signal (CSI-RS#15) where the 4 ports are divided into 2 groups: Group 1 (port 0 and port 1) and Group 2 (port 2 and port 3). It further teaches that Group 1 is associated with TCI#1 and Group 2 is associated with TCI#2 as shown in Fig. 4. Fig. 4 of Huang is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 4 of Huang)
Para [0090] of Huang is reproduced herein below.
[0090] FIG. 4 is a diagram of a relation between a TCI state and a target RS according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 4, the TCI state includes two states TCI#1 and TCI#2. A format of the state TCI#1 is {CSI-RS#7|QCL-TypeA, CSI-RS#1|QCL-TypeD}, and a format of the state TCI#2 is {CSI-RS#8|QCL-TypeA, CSI-RS #2|QCL-TypeD}. The target RS is CSI-RS#15, the number of ports is 4, and the ports are divided into 2 groups, where group 1 includes port 0 and port 1, and group 2 includes port 2 and port 3. When CSI-RS#15 is associated with state TCI#1 and state TCI#2, port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#7 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#1 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD, port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#8 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#2 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD.
Huang discloses an embodiment where the subsets (Group 1 and Group 2) consist of distinct ports (Ports 0/1 vs. Ports 2/3). Since the claim is broad enough to cover any subset configuration (whether the ports are the same or different), Huang’s disclosure of distinct port groups constitutes a specific species that falls directly within the scope of the claimed genus.
As disclosed in Fig. 4 and para [0090] of Huang, Huang, therefore, explicitly teaches the “identifies a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a first TCI state of the plurality of TCI states and identifies a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a second TCI state of the plurality of TCI states” as recited in the claim.
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive, and the previous rejections are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 20-21, 23-24, 28-29, 47-48 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210235452 to Huang et al. (hereinafter “Huang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0273709 to Jiang et al. (hereinafter “Jiang”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Huang unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 28:
Regarding Claim 1, A method of wireless communication of a scheduling entity in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
associating a plurality of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) ports with a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states according to a CSI-RS resource configuration which identifies a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a first TCI state of the plurality of TCI states and identifies a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a second TCI state of the plurality of TCI states (Fig. 4 and para [0090]: FIG. 4 is a diagram of a relation between a TCI state and a target RS (interpreted as “a CSI-RS resource configuration”) according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 4, the TCI state includes two states TCI#1 and TCI#2 (interpreted as “a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states”, “a first TCI state” and “second TCI state”). A format of the state TCI#1 is {CSI-RS#7|QCL-TypeA, CSI-RS#1|QCL-TypeD}, and a format of the state TCI#2 is {CSI-RS#8|QCL-TypeA, CSI-RS #2|QCL-TypeD}. The target RS is CSI-RS#15, the number of ports is 4, and the ports are divided into 2 groups, where group 1 includes port 0 and port 1, and group 2 includes port 2 and port 3 (interpreted as “a plurality of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) ports”). When CSI-RS#15 is associated with state TCI#1 and state TCI#2, port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#7 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#1 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD, port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#8 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#2 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD.) (Examiner’s note: As shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in para [0090], the group 1 including port 0 and port 1 (interpreted as “a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports”) is associated with TCI#1 (interpreted as “a first TCI state”), and the group 2 including port 2 and port 3 (interpreted as “a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports”) is associated with TCI#2 (interpreted as “a second TCI state”)). Fig. 4 of Huang is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 4 of Huang)
;
mapping the plurality of CSI-RS ports to antenna elements of an antenna array (para [0006]; Embodiments of the present disclosure provide solutions of how to configure a TCI to support multi-panel (interpreted as “antenna elements of an antenna array”), multi-Transmission Reference Point (TRP) and multi-beam communication.) (para [0071]: in a multi-panel, multi-TRP and multi-beam communication scenario, the ports corresponding to the resource occupied by the target reference signal may be divided into multiple port groups, and the large-scale parameters of the ports in different port groups may be different.)(para [0090]: When CSI-RS#15 is associated with state TCI#1 and state TCI#2, port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#7 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#1 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD, port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#8 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#2 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD) (The discussions in para [0006, 0071, and 0090] are interpreted as “mapping the first plurality of CSI-RS ports to antenna elements of an antenna array”);
transmitting a respective CSI-RS on each of the plurality of CSI-RS ports from the antenna elements of the antenna array to a scheduled entity (para [0090]: The target RS is CSI-RS#15 (interpreted as “a respective CSI-RS on each of the first plurality of CSI-RS ports”), the number of ports is 4, and the ports are divided into 2 groups, where group 1 includes port 0 and port 1, and group 2 includes port 2 and port 3.) (Fig. 1 and para [0092]: In S103, the base station may transmit the extended TCI state and the target reference signal to the UE (interpreted as “a scheduled entity”) explicitly. Alternatively, the base station may implicitly transmit the extended TCI state and the target reference signal to the UE. After receiving the extended TCI state and the target reference signal, the UE can learn large-scale parameters included in each port in the target reference signal according to the source reference signals and the QCL types included in the extended TCI state.); and
As discussed above, Huang disclose the configuration between a TCI state and a target RS (see Fig. 4 and para [0090]) but does not explicitly teach the limitation of: receiving a plurality of pre-coding matrix indicators (PMIs) corresponding to the plurality of TCI states, respectively, from the scheduled entity.
In analogous art, Jiang teaches the receiving a plurality of pre-coding matrix indicators (PMIs) corresponding to the plurality of TCI states, respectively, from the scheduled entity (para [0031] of Jiang; At S302, N pieces of feedback information sent by a UE (interpreted as “a scheduled entity”) according to one CSI report configuration are received.) (para [0035-0036] of Jiang; the N pieces of feedback information refer to N RIs, N PMIs, and N non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients that are fed back. In an embodiment, N is equal to the number of QCL sets which are contained in one or more TCIs respectively configured in one or more CSI-RS resources corresponding to one or more CRIs, and the feedback information further includes the one or more CRIs.).
Huang and Jiang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a Wireless Communication Network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the port-grouping configuration of Huang with the multi-PMI feedback reporting scheme of Jiang. The motivation for this combination is to optimize multi-beam MIMO performance. Integrating the feedback mechanism of Jiang into the multi-TCI framework of Huang is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to achieve a more granular and accurate beamforming control in a multi-panel environment.
Regarding Claim 28, A method of wireless communication of a scheduled entity (Fig. 9; UE 1) in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
receiving a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource configuration which identifies a first subset of a plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of a plurality of TCI states and identifies a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports that are associated with a second TCI state of the plurality of TCI states from a scheduling entity (Fig. 4 and para [0090]: FIG. 4 is a diagram of a relation between a TCI state and a target RS (interpreted as “a CSI-RS resource configuration”) according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 4, the TCI state includes two states TCI#1 and TCI#2 (interpreted as “a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states”, “a first TCI state” and “second TCI state”). A format of the state TCI#1 is {CSI-RS#7|QCL-TypeA, CSI-RS#1|QCL-TypeD}, and a format of the state TCI#2 is {CSI-RS#8|QCL-TypeA, CSI-RS #2|QCL-TypeD}. The target RS is CSI-RS#15, the number of ports is 4, and the ports are divided into 2 groups, where group 1 includes port 0 and port 1, and group 2 includes port 2 and port 3 (interpreted as “a plurality of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) ports”). When CSI-RS#15 is associated with state TCI#1 and state TCI#2, port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#7 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 0 and port 1 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#1 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD, port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#8 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeA, and port 2 and port 3 of CSI-RS#15 and CSI-RS#2 are quasi-co-located with respect to QCL-TypeD.) (Examiner’s note: As shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in para [0090], the group 1 including port 0 and port 1 (interpreted as “a first subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports”) is associated with TCI#1 (interpreted as “a first TCI state”), and the group 2 including port 2 and port 3 (interpreted as “a second subset of the plurality of CSI-RS ports”) is associated with TCI#2 (interpreted as “a second TCI state”)). Fig. 4 of Huang is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 4 of Huang)
(para [0092]: After receiving the extended TCI state (interpreted as “CSI-RS resource configuration”) and the target reference signal, the UE can learn large-scale parameters included in each port in the target reference signal according to the source reference signals and the QCL types included in the extended TCI state.) (para [0095]: In S601, an extended TCI state and a target reference signal are received from a network (interpreted as “a scheduling entity”)..); and
Huang fails to explicitly teach transmitting a plurality of pre-coding matrix indicators (PMIs) corresponding to the plurality of TCI states, respectively, to the scheduling entity.
In analogous art, Jiang teaches the above missing features as following;
transmitting a plurality of pre-coding matrix indicators (PMIs) corresponding to the plurality of TCI states, respectively, to the scheduling entity.
(para [0031] of Jiang; At S302, N pieces of feedback information sent by a UE (interpreted as “a scheduled entity”) according to one CSI report configuration are received.) (para [0035-0036] of Jiang; the N pieces of feedback information refer to N RIs, N PMIs, and N non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients that are fed back. In an embodiment, N is equal to the number of QCL sets which are contained in one or more TCIs respectively configured in one or more CSI-RS resources corresponding to one or more CRIs, and the feedback information further includes the one or more CRIs.).
Huang and Jiang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a Wireless Communication Network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the port-grouping configuration of Huang with the multi-PMI feedback reporting scheme of Jiang. The motivation for this combination is to optimize multi-beam MIMO performance. Integrating the feedback mechanism of Jiang into the multi-TCI framework of Huang is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to achieve a more granular and accurate beamforming control in a multi-panel environment.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 2, Huang and Jiang teach The method of claim 1, Huang further teaches wherein the associating the plurality of CSI-RS ports with the plurality of TCI states is performed on a per-CSI-RS port basis (para [0074]; In S102, after the port groups of the target reference signal are determined, the base station may determine the extended TCI state, so that each port group is associated with the determined TCI state. That is, the base station may determine, for each port group, the source RS that is quasi-co-located with the port group, and a QCL type of each port in the port group with each port of the source reference signal (interpreted as “performed on a per-CSI-RS port basis”)).
Regarding Claim 20, Huang and Jiang teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: Jiang further teaches receiving a plurality of rank indicators (RIs) corresponding to the plurality of PMIs, respectively, from the scheduled entity (Table 2 and paragraphs [0058-0060]; If the number of CRIs corresponding to a CRI index is actually N1, then the UE needs to feed back N1 RIs. The N1 RIs may be jointly fed back. Alternatively, the N1 RIs and the CRI index may be jointly fed back. For example, the maximum value of RI supported by a UE is 4, that is, the sum of N1 RIs should not exceed 4. Table 2 shows the joint feedback of the CRI and RI. … Different CRIs may be understood as different panels, beams or TRPs, so the different CRIs should correspond to transmission of different PMIs. Of course, in practical transmission, multiple PMIs may be jointly transmitted.).
Regarding Claim 21, Huang and Jiang teach The method of claim 20, further comprising: Jiang further teaches
configuring the scheduled entity to transmit either:
the plurality of PMIs and the plurality of RIs, or a joint PMI corresponding to the plurality of TCI states, collectively and a joint RI corresponding to the joint PMI, to the scheduling entity (para [0057] of Jiang; For a Type I codebook, in order to improve the accuracy of measurement and feedback of the channel state quality under the transmission of multiple TRPs/panels/beams, for one CSI report configuration, the base station may configure that the UE feeds back N CRIs at most for one CSI-RS resource set. The value of N may be configured by higher layer signaling (which is generally Resource Control (RRC) signaling…)(Table 2 and paragraphs [0058-0060] of Jiang; If the number of CRIs corresponding to a CRI index is actually N1, then the UE needs to feed back N1 RIs. The N1 RIs may be jointly fed back. Alternatively, the N1 RIs and the CRI index may be jointly fed back. For example, the maximum value of RI supported by a UE is 4, that is, the sum of N1 RIs should not exceed 4. Table 2 shows the joint feedback of the CRI and RI. … Different CRIs may be understood as different panels, beams or TRPs, so the different CRIs should correspond to transmission of different PMIs. Of course, in practical transmission, multiple PMIs may be jointly transmitted.).
Regarding Claim 23, Huang and Jiang teach The method of claim 1, Jiang further teaches; further comprising receiving at least:
the plurality of PMIs (para [0031] of Jiang; At S302, N pieces of feedback information sent by a UE according to one CSI report configuration are received.) (para [0035-0036] of Jiang; the N pieces of feedback information refer to N RIs, N PMIs, and N non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients that are fed back. In an embodiment, N is equal to the number of QCL sets which are contained in one or more TCIs respectively configured in one or more CSI-RS resources corresponding to one or more CRIs, and the feedback information further includes the one or more CRIs.), or
a joint PMI corresponding to the plurality of TCI states, collectively, from the scheduled entity (Table 2 and paragraphs [0058-0060] of Jiang; If the number of CRIs corresponding to a CRI index is actually N1, then the UE needs to feed back N1 RIs. The N1 RIs may be jointly fed back. Alternatively, the N1 RIs and the CRI index may be jointly fed back. For example, the maximum value of RI supported by a UE is 4, that is, the sum of N1 RIs should not exceed 4. Table 2 shows the joint feedback of the CRI and RI. … Different CRIs may be understood as different panels, beams or TRPs, so the different CRIs should correspond to transmission of different PMIs. Of course, in practical transmission, multiple PMIs may be jointly transmitted.).
Regarding Claim 24, Huang and Jiang teach The method of claim 23, further comprising: Jiang further teaches;
receiving a joint rank indicator (RI) corresponding to the joint PMI, from the scheduled entity (Table 2 and paragraphs [0058-0060] of Jiang; If the number of CRIs corresponding to a CRI index is actually N1, then the UE needs to feed back N1 RIs. The N1 RIs may be jointly fed back. Alternatively, the N1 RIs and the CRI index may be jointly fed back. For example, the maximum value of RI supported by a UE is 4, that is, the sum of N1 RIs should not exceed 4. Table 2 shows the joint feedback of the CRI and RI. … Different CRIs may be understood as different panels, beams or TRPs, so the different CRIs should correspond to transmission of different PMIs. Of course, in practical transmission, multiple PMIs may be jointly transmitted.).
Claim 29, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 2, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 2.
Claim 47, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 20, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 20.
Claim 48, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 21, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 21.
Claim 50, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 23, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 23.
Claim 51, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 24, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 24.
Claims 9-10 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Jiang, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0006496 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang and Jiang teach The method of claim 1, Huang and Jiang fail to teach wherein associating the plurality of CSI-RS ports with the plurality of TCI states is performed on a per-code division multiplex (CDM) group basis.
In analogous art, Park teaches wherein associating the plurality of CSI-RS ports with the plurality of TCI states is performed on a per-code division multiplex (CDM) group basis (Table 10 and para [0305] of Park; Table 10 shows an example of CSI-RS-ResourceMapping IE)(Examiner’s note: CSI-RS-ResourceMapping IE described in Table 10 shows CDM group basis (noCDM, CDM2, CDM4, CDM8 in Table 10).
Huang, Jiang and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of CSI feedback in a Wireless Communication Network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Huang and Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Park and provide associating the first plurality of CSI-RS ports with the second plurality of TCI states is performed on a per-code division multiplex (CDM) group basis. Doing so would allow multiple TCI states to be associated with multiple CSI-RS resources.
Regarding Claim 10, Huang, Jiang and Park teach The method of claim 9, Park further teaches wherein the plurality of CSI-RS ports is divided into a plurality of CDM groups, and all CSI-RS ports within a given one of the plurality of CDM groups are associated with one of the plurality of TCI states. (Table 10 and para [0305] of Park; Table 10 shows an example of CSI-RS-ResourceMapping IE)(Examiner’s note: CSI-RS-ResourceMapping IE described in Table 10 shows CDM group resources (noCDM, CDM2, CDM4, CDM8 in Table 10).
Claim 36, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 9.
Claim 37, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 10, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411