DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 09/10/2026. Claims 1 and 3-13 are currently pending for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobrenizki et al. (US 2019/0051913) (Dobrenizki) (of record) in view of Tarutani (US 2018/0053948) (of record) and Wang (CN 101752575 with English Machine Translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Dobrenizki discloses a layer system for coating a metal substrate to form a flow field plate (title; abstract; [0067]) comprising: at least one cover layer (3a) made of metal nitride, at least one intermediate layer (4b) supporting the cover layer (3a), and a lower layer (4a) supporting the intermediate layer (4b) (see Figure; [0075]), wherein the at least one intermediate layer (4b) is formed from titanium nitride ([0077]), and wherein the lower layer (4a) is formed from titanium ([0077]). Dobrenizki fails to disclose, however, that the cover layer (3a) is formed only from indium tin oxide having an indium content in the range of 75 to 85 vol%.
However, it is known in the art to provide flow field plates with an indium tin oxide cover layer. For instance, Tarutani teaches a flow field plate (separator/bipolar plate) (title; abstract; [0001]) that is provided with an ITO (indium tin oxide) outer cover layer ([0048]-[0050]; [0199]; [0204]-[0205]; [0231]). Tarutani further teaches that the ITO cover layer can have an indium oxide content of between 20 and 80 mass% ([0205]; see also [0231]-[0232]; [0244]). Given that the density of indium is about 7.31 g/cm3, and the density of tin oxide is about 6.95 g/cm3, the volume ratio of indium to tin oxide can be calculated to be between 0.24:1 ((20/7.31)/(80/6.95)) and 3.8:1 ((80/7.31)/(20/6.95)), which leads to an indium oxide volume content of between 19% and 79%, overlapping the claimed range of 75 to 85 vol%. In the case where the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Tarutani further teaches that this ITO cover layer enhances the surface contact resistance performance of the flow field plate, improves its conductivity, and enhances its durability ([0043]; [0045]-[0046]; [0050]; [0164]; [0200]; [0202]; [0205]; [0258]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cover layer disclosed by Dobrenizki with the ITO cover layer taught by Tarutani because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the surface contact resistance performance of the flow field plate, improve its conductivity, and enhance its durability.
Modified Dobrenizki still fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the indium tin oxide is doped with at least one element from a group consisting of carbon, nitrogen, boron, fluorine, hydrogen, silicon, titanium, and zirconium.
Wang teaches a similar cover layer for a flow field plate (title; abstract), wherein the cover layer is formed from indium tin oxide (abstract; [0041]; [0047]). Wang further teaches that the indium tin oxide is doped with fluorine and, optionally, small amounts of zirconium and/or titanium ([0041]; [0047]; [0025]; [0070] see Table 3), suggesting the claimed group of materials. Wang further teaches that this indium tin oxide cover layer has high corrosion resistance, low contact resistance, excellent conductivity, and low cost (abstract; [0010]; [0041]; [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the indium tin oxide in the cover layered disclosed by modified Dobrenizki to be doped at least one element from the claimed group of elements, as taught by Wang, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would lead to high corrosion resistance low contact resistance, excellent conductivity, and low cost. Thus, modified Dobrenizki satisfies all of the limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Dobrenizki further discloses that the lower layer (Dobrenizki: 4a) can have a layer thickness of 100 nm (Dobrenizki: [0078]), suggesting the claimed range of 1 to 300 nm.
Regarding claim 4, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Dobrenizki further discloses that the at least one intermediate layer (Dobrenizki: 4b) can have a layer thickness of 100 nm (Dobrenizki: [0078]), which is equal to 0.1 µm, suggesting the claimed range of 0.1 µm to 3.0 µm.
Regarding claim 5, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Dobrenizki further discloses that the cover layer (Dobrenizki: 3a) can have a layer thickness of 100 nm (Dobrenizki: [0081]), which is equal to 0.1 µm, suggesting the claimed range of 0.01 µm to 15 µm. Furthermore, Tarutani teaches that the cover layer can have a layer thickness of 0.5 µm (Tarutani: [0244]), which also suggests the claimed range of 0.01 µm to 15 µm.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Wang further teaches that the indium tin oxide can be doped with zirconium and/or titanium at a content of less than 5 at% (Wang: [0041]; [0047]; [0025]; [0070] see Table 3), suggesting the claimed range of at most 35 at% and overlapping the claimed range of from 0.1 to 10 at%. In the case where the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, since modified Dobrenizki includes the teachings from Wang regarding the doping of the indium tin oxide cover layer, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Dobrenizki to have satisfied the claimed ranges based on the range taught by Wang, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.
Regarding claim 7, modified Dobrenizki discloses a flow field plate (Dobrenizki: 1) comprising a metal substrate (Dobrenizki: 2) and a layer system (Dobrenizki: 3) according to claim 1 (Dobrenizki: see Figure; [0075]), having a structure of the flow field plate (Dobrenizki: 1) in the order of: metal substrate (Dobrenizki: 3), lower layer (Dobrenizki: 4a), intermediate layer (Dobrenizki: 4b), and cover layer (Dobrenizki: 3a) (see Figure; [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 7. Modified Dobrenizki further discloses that the metal substate (Dobrenizki: 2) is formed from steel (Dobrenizki: [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Dobrenizki discloses a fuel cell comprising at least one flow field plate (Dobrenizki: 1) according to claim 7 (title; [0076]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Modified Dobrenizki further discloses that the fuel cell is a polymer electrolyte fuel cell ([0076]), which necessarily includes at least one polymer electrolyte membrane ([0009]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Modified Dobrenizki further discloses that the fuel cell can be an electrolyzer (abstract; [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Dobrenizki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. As set forth above, modified Dobrenizki includes the teachings from Tarutani that the indium content in the indium tin oxide cover layer is between 19 and 79 vol%, which is substantially close to the claimed range of 80 to 85 vol%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed range does not overlap with the prior art but is merely close. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality for the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Dobrenizki to have satisfied the claimed range based on routine experimentation of the substantially close range taught by Tarutani.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/22/2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments against the combination of Dobrenizki, Tarutani, and Wang in the rejection of claim 1, examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant specifically argues that the benefits of the indium tin oxide cover layer taught by Tarutani are dependent upon the presence of indium and tin in the underlying stainless-steel substrate. Thus, since Dobrenizki does not disclose a stainless-steel substrate layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify the cover layer disclosed by Dobrenizki with the one taught by Tarutani. However, examiner notes that Tarutani teaches the use of an indium tin oxide cover layer for use on fuel cell separators independent of the type of substrate ([0048]; [0183]; [0186]; [0199]; [0204]-[0210]; [0218]; [0231]-[0232]; [0258]-[0259]). Indeed, Tarutani explicitly discloses that the indium tin oxide cover layer obtained through a sputtering method leads to improved contact resistance performance “independent of the component of the substrate” when compared with starting materials that did not contain the cover layer ([0258]; see also Table 2). Therefore, even though Tarutani also discloses benefits to using a stainless-steel substrate, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the distinct benefits of the indium tin oxide cover layer. What’s more, “a person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton," and “a person of ordinary skill in the art will be able fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle,” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Thus, it would have been well within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to have only incorporated the teachings from Tarutani regarding the indium tin oxide cover layer without the use of the stainless-steel substrate because they would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the distinct benefits of the indium tin oxide cover layer independent of the stainless-steel substrate.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Tarutani only discloses commercial sputtering target oxide ratios, not the final claimed cover layer having 75-85 vol% indium content, examiner respectfully disagrees. Indeed, examiner notes that the cover layer taught by Tarutani is obtained through a sputtering method well known in the art ([0048]; [0183]; [0186]; [0199]; [0204]-[0210]; [0231]-[0232]; [0244]-[0250]). Furthermore, it is known in the art that the target material used in the sputtering method is the same material that is then deposited as the resultant film/cover layer. Therefore, there is no difference between the disclosed target material composition and the final cover layer composition. Thus, applicant’s arguments against the Tarutani reference are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that the use of the Wang reference to teach the claimed doping material within the indium tin oxide cover layer relies on impermissible hindsight, examiner disagrees. First, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Therefore, since Wang clearly teaches a cover layer formed from indium tin oxide (abstract; [0041]; [0047]) doped with fluorine and, optionally, small amounts of zirconium and/or titanium (([0041]; [0047]; [0025]; [0070] see Table 3) with the expected benefit of high corrosion resistance, low contact resistance, excellent conductivity, and low cost (abstract; [0010]; [0041]; [0047]), it is clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to reach the claimed doped indium tin oxide cover layer without improperly gleaning information from the instant application. The fact that Wang does not also teach the claimed indium tin oxide composition or the claimed titanium support layers is irrelevant because Dobrenizki and Tarutani already make obvious these limitations, and the Wang reference is only relied upon for its teachings about the doping elements within the indium tin oxide layer. Furthermore, it has already been shown that each of the Dobrenizki, Tarutani, and Wang references are directed toward similar fuel cell flow field plates, and each of the Tarutani and Wang references give sufficient motivation to combine the specifically identified modifications (see above rejection). Therefore, applicant’s allegation of impermissible hindsight is unsupported by the facts and is, thus, unpersuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments related to new claim 13, examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Tarutani does not teach or suggest the newly claimed indium composition of 80 to 85 vol%. However, this is not persuasive because Tarutani’s disclosed range of 19 and 79 vol% is substantially close to the newly claimed range, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed range does not overlap with the prior art but is merely close. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, given the close proximity between the ranges, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the claimed range and the range taught by Tarutani to have led to substantially the same properties, at least near the approaching endpoints of the respective ranges. This is underscored by the fact that applicant has failed to provide any showing of unexpected results or criticality for the newly claimed range. Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
As such, claims 1 and 3-13 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749