DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 02/04/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 21-36 are pending. Claims 21, 23, 26, 28, 31, and 33 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/04/2026 with regards to rejection of claims 21-36 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 26-28, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2020/0288523 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2018/0206284 A1) and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0137626 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Patil discloses A method for operating a first multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network, the method comprising: performing multi-link setup procedure for setting up a first link and a second link (See Fig 2 items 105-a, 115-a, and link 205a and 205 b and Para 89 and Para 96-97 teaches of multilink aggregation where is the aggregation is flow based, i.e. each traffic flow is associated with a given TID. “As an example, a single STA 115 may access a web browser while streaming a video in parallel. The traffic associated with the web browser access may be communicated over a first channel of a first communication link 120 while the traffic associated with the video stream may be communicated over a second channel of a second communication link 120 in parallel (e.g., at least some of the data may be transmitted on the first channel concurrent with data transmitted on the second channel)).
Patil does not explicitly disclose the data frame exchange which is receiving a first data frame from a second MLD in the first link; generating a reception response frame including first information indicating a reception state of the first data frame; and transmitting the reception response frame to the second MLD in the second link.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses receiving a first data frame from a second MLD in the first link (Fig, 5, wireless device 505-b receives configuration request to initiate setup or reconfiguration of one or more wireless links for the TID identified at 510); generating a reception response frame including first information indicating a reception state of the first data frame (Fig. 5 discloses At 520, wireless device 505-b may respond with a configuration response (e.g., which may in some cases be an ACK). Accordingly, at 525, wireless device 505-a may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) an existing wireless link of the one or more wireless links, or configure (e.g., set up) a new wireless link to add to the one or more wireless links); and transmitting the reception response frame to the second MLD in the second link (Fig. 5 discloses At 520, wireless device 505-b may respond with a configuration response (e.g., which may in some cases be an ACK). Accordingly, at 525, wireless device 505-a may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) an existing wireless link of the one or more wireless links, or configure (e.g., set up) a new wireless link to add to the one or more wireless links. At 530, wireless device 505-b may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) the one or more wireless links, and may configure a new wireless link. Wireless device 505-a and wireless device 505-b may then exchange data during the multi-link session at 535. In various examples, the configuration request transmitted at 515 may indicate the set of TIDs, flow IDs, frame types, link IDs, etc. to be aggregated. For example, the indication may be explicit (e.g., may include a set of bits indicating specific TIDs) and/or may be based on reference (e.g., using a set of bits) to a look-up table or some other pre-defined (e.g., or configurable) index set. In cases in which the configuration request includes link IDs, the link ID may include a channel number, a BSSID, a per-link TA and/or RA, or a combination thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhou to the system of Patil to provide a wireless communications system may support multiple, parallel wireless links between communicating devices, for example, to increase throughput, to improve link efficiency, to reduce latency etc. (Paragraph 0042, Zhou).
Zhou discloses the mechanism of wireless device 305-b may identify its own aggregation capability (e.g., analogously to 310 as discussed with reference to wireless device 305-a) and may broadcast this information (e.g., via a beacon, a FD frame, or a broadcast probe response frame). Examples of aggregation capability information include an aggregation type (e.g., packet-based), link identification information (e.g., a TA, RA, TID, etc.), a receive queue size, a BA bitmap size, an indication of fragmentation support, or a combination of these (Paragraph 0090).
However, Examiner cited Huang to disclose wherein the first link and the second link are mapped to a traffic identifier (TID) (Paragraphs 0078, 0085, 0087-0090, 0091-0095, 0101 configure traffic identifier (TID) assignment for the MLD for multi-link communication with another MLD, wherein the multi-link communication is configurable to support one or more data streams, wherein each of the data streams corresponds to a TID, wherein the multi-link communication is between the plurality of STAs of the MLD and a plurality of corresponding STAs of the other MLD. Paragraph 0112 discloses the STA information (and/or interface information) may include TID sharing indication for each interface. When the indication is set, it may mean that the band/channel indicated for a STA (and/or interface) that allows TID sharing with other interfaces with the same TID sharing indication may be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Huang to the modified system of Patil and Huang to provide a MLD may configure traffic identifier (TID) assignment for the MLD for multi-link communication with another MLD (Abstract, Huang).
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 comprises substantially similar limitations as claimed above in claim 21.
Regarding claim 26, Patil discloses a method for operating a second multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network, the method comprising: performing multi-link setup procedure for setting up a first link and a second link (See Fig 2 items 105-a, 115-a, and link 205a and 205 b and Para 89 and Para 96-97 teaches of multilink aggregation where is the aggregation is flow based, i.e. each traffic flow is associated with a given TID. “As an example, a single STA 115 may access a web browser while streaming a video in parallel. The traffic associated with the web browser access may be communicated over a first channel of a first communication link 120 while the traffic associated with the video stream may be communicated over a second channel of a second communication link 120 in parallel (e.g., at least some of the data may be transmitted on the first channel concurrent with data transmitted on the second channel)).
Patil does not explicitly disclose the data frame exchange which is transmitting a first data frame to a first MLD in the first link; receiving a reception response frame including first information indicating a reception state of the first data frame from the first MLD in the second link.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses transmitting a first data frame to a first MLD in the first link (Fig, 5, wireless device 505-a transmit configuration request to initiate setup or reconfiguration of one or more wireless links for the TID identified at 510); receiving a reception response frame including first information indicating a reception state of the first data frame from the first MLD in the second link (Fig. 5 discloses At 520, wireless device 505-b may respond with a configuration response (e.g., which may in some cases be an ACK). Accordingly, at 525, wireless device 505-a may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) an existing wireless link of the one or more wireless links, or configure (e.g., set up) a new wireless link to add to the one or more wireless links. At 530, wireless device 505-b may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) the one or more wireless links, and may configure a new wireless link. Wireless device 505-a and wireless device 505-b may then exchange data during the multi-link session at 535. In various examples, the configuration request transmitted at 515 may indicate the set of TIDs, flow IDs, frame types, link IDs, etc. to be aggregated. For example, the indication may be explicit (e.g., may include a set of bits indicating specific TIDs) and/or may be based on reference (e.g., using a set of bits) to a look-up table or some other pre-defined (e.g., or configurable) index set. In cases in which the configuration request includes link IDs, the link ID may include a channel number, a BSSID, a per-link TA and/or RA, or a combination thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhou to the system of Patil to provide a wireless communications system may support multiple, parallel wireless links between communicating devices, for example, to increase throughput, to improve link efficiency, to reduce latency etc. (Paragraph 0042, Zhou).
However, Examiner cited Huang to disclose wherein the first link and the second link are mapped to a traffic identifier (TID) (Paragraphs 0078, 0085, 0087-0090, 0091-0095, 0101 configure traffic identifier (TID) assignment for the MLD for multi-link communication with another MLD, wherein the multi-link communication is configurable to support one or more data streams, wherein each of the data streams corresponds to a TID, wherein the multi-link communication is between the plurality of STAs of the MLD and a plurality of corresponding STAs of the other MLD. Paragraph 0112 discloses the STA information (and/or interface information) may include TID sharing indication for each interface. When the indication is set, it may mean that the band/channel indicated for a STA (and/or interface) that allows TID sharing with other interfaces with the same TID sharing indication may be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Huang to the modified system of Patil and Huang to provide a MLD may configure traffic identifier (TID) assignment for the MLD for multi-link communication with another MLD (Abstract, Huang).
Regarding claims 22, 27 and 32, Patil does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data frame includes information indicating one or more links associated with a data unit included in the first data frame, and the one or more links are the first and second links.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses wherein the first data frame includes information indicating one or more links associated with a data unit included in the first data frame, and the one or more links are the first and second links (Fig. 5 discloses At 520, wireless device 505-b may respond with a configuration response (e.g., which may in some cases be an ACK). Accordingly, at 525, wireless device 505-a may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) an existing wireless link of the one or more wireless links, or configure (e.g., set up) a new wireless link to add to the one or more wireless links. At 530, wireless device 505-b may modify (e.g., tear down, reconfigure, etc.) the one or more wireless links, and may configure a new wireless link. Wireless device 505-a and wireless device 505-b may then exchange data during the multi-link session at 535. In various examples, the configuration request transmitted at 515 may indicate the set of TIDs, flow IDs, frame types, link IDs, etc. to be aggregated. For example, the indication may be explicit (e.g., may include a set of bits indicating specific TIDs) and/or may be based on reference (e.g., using a set of bits) to a look-up table or some other pre-defined (e.g., or configurable) index set. In cases in which the configuration request includes link IDs, the link ID may include a channel number, a BSSID, a per-link TA and/or RA, or a combination thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhou to the system of Patil to provide a wireless communications system may support multiple, parallel wireless links between communicating devices, for example, to increase throughput, to improve link efficiency, to reduce latency etc. (Paragraph 0042, Zhou).
Regarding claims 23, 28 and 33, Patil does not explicitly disclose wherein the reception response frame includes reception state information of one or more data frames in one or more links which are mapped based on traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses wherein the reception response frame includes reception state information of one or more data frames in one or more links which are mapped based on (TID)-to-link mapping (Paragraphs 0062-0064 disclose packet-based aggregation, a set of TIDs may be aggregated over a particular set of links. In such examples, aggregation may be torn down (e.g., or reconfigured) for a set of TIDs (e.g., or flows or frame types). For example, broadcast flows, multicast flows, control information, etc., may be aggregated over links closable by all receiving STAs 115 (e.g., one or more 900 MHz links) while other flows (e.g., unicast data) may be aggregated over other links which may have a higher path loss (e.g., one or more 5 GHz links). In examples in which a given set of TIDs are associated with a particular set of links, link setup, reconfiguration, and teardown requests may indicate the relevant set of TIDs and/or link IDs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhou to the system of Patil to provide a wireless communications system may support multiple, parallel wireless links between communicating devices, for example, to increase throughput, to improve link efficiency, to reduce latency etc. (Paragraph 0042, Zhou).
Claims 24, 29 and 34, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2020/0288523 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2018/0206284 A1) and and further in view of Huang et al. and further in view of Patil et al. (US 2021/0014776 A1).
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Patil, Zhou and Huang do not explicitly disclose receiving a second data frame from the second MLD in the second link, wherein the reception response frame transmitted in the second link further includes second information indicating a reception state of the second data frame.
In an analogous art, Patil’ 776 discloses receiving a second data frame from the second MLD in the second link (Paragraph 0123 discloses third packet (second data frame), wherein the reception response frame transmitted in the second link further includes second information indicating a reception state of the second data frame (Paragraphs 0123 discloses At block 824, the first wireless communication device receives a third packet indicating, in an add Block Acknowledgment (ADDBA) Capabilities field, that the at least one TID is reaffiliated with a second subset of the first communication link, the second communication link, and a third communication link. The BA session may be common for each of the first, the second, and the third communication links. Paragraphs 0145-0148 also discloses the mechanism of third packet (Second data frame) and its remapping process (TID) to use the appropriate communication link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil’776 to the modified system of Patil, Zhou and Huang to provide AP may establish BSSs on any of the different communication links, and therefore it is desirable to improve communication between the AP and the one or more STAs over each of the communication links (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 29, Patil, Zhou and Huang does not explicitly disclose transmitting a second data frame to the first MLD in the second link, wherein the reception response frame received in the second link further includes second information indicating a reception state of the second data frame.
In an analogous art, Patil’ 776 discloses transmitting a second data frame to the first MLD in the second link (Paragraph 0123 discloses third packet (second data frame), wherein the reception response frame received in the second link further includes second information indicating a reception state of the second data frame (Paragraphs 0123 discloses At block 824, the first wireless communication device receives a third packet indicating, in an add Block Acknowledgment (ADDBA) Capabilities field, that the at least one TID is reaffiliated with a second subset of the first communication link, the second communication link, and a third communication link. The BA session may be common for each of the first, the second, and the third communication links. Paragraphs 0145-0148 also discloses the mechanism of third packet (Second data frame) and its remapping process (TID) to use the appropriate communication link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil’776 to the modified system of Patil, Zhou and Huang to provide AP may establish BSSs on any of the different communication links, and therefore it is desirable to improve communication between the AP and the one or more STAs over each of the communication links (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 36, Patil, Zhou and Huang does not explicitly wherein the reception response frame is transmitted in response to the second data frame.
In an analogous art, Patil’ 776 discloses wherein the reception response frame is transmitted in response to the second data frame (Paragraphs 0123 discloses At block 824, the first wireless communication device receives a third packet indicating, in an add Block Acknowledgment (ADDBA) Capabilities field, that the at least one TID is reaffiliated with a second subset of the first communication link, the second communication link, and a third communication link. The BA session may be common for each of the first, the second, and the third communication links. Paragraphs 0145-0148 also discloses the mechanism of third packet (Second data frame) and its remapping process (TID) to use the appropriate communication link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil’776 to the modified system of Patil, Zhou and Huang to provide AP may establish BSSs on any of the different communication links, and therefore it is desirable to improve communication between the AP and the one or more STAs over each of the communication links (Paragraph 0004).
Claims 25, 30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2020/0288523 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2018/0206284 A1) and further in view of Huang et al. and further in view of Hong (US 2023/0108402 A1).
Regarding claims 25, 30 and 35, Patil, Zhou and Huang do not discloses wherein, when retransmission of the first data frame is determined to be necessary based on the first information, a retransmission operation of the first data frame is performed in the first link or the second link.
In an analogous art, Hong discloses wherein, when retransmission of the first data frame is determined to be necessary based on the first information, a retransmission operation of the first data frame is performed in the first link or the second link (Fig. 1-3, discloses different manners of performing retransmission process. A data frame transmission method includes: determining that transmission of a data frame is switched from a first link to a second link; and in response to determining that the transmission of the data frame is switched from the first link to the second link, carrying out retransmission counting of the data frame on the second link. The retransmission counting is performed by taking the retransmission count value of the data frame on the first link as the initial value, perform, and the TID and/or SN assigned in the first link continues to be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Hong to the modified system of Patil, Zhou and Huang to provide a method of data frame transmission to improve the access rate and throughput by using the retransmission technique (Abstract, Hong).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chu et al. (US20210211235) discloses executing block acknowledgement operations in a multi-link communications system comprises transmitting a request for block acknowledgement response from a first multi-link device to a second multi-link device, wherein the request is either in quality of service (QoS) data frames of aggregated-media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU) or a block acknowledgement request, and receiving a block acknowledgment from the second multi-link device by the first multi-link device.
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413