DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “Davoodi is silent about any of the tethered nodes 104 being configured to freely independently move through the body of water. To the contrary, each tethered node 104 in Davoodi is attached to a corresponding buoy 140.”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Davoodi teaches the TUVs 104 can be any other AUVs or underwater robots or instruments thus because the autonomous aspect of the vehicle it would obviously move freely and independently though the body of water at least in some compacity even when tethered to the buoy. Furthermore, Davoodi teaches the TUVS can have both a motorized propeller and a buoyancy engine therefore the TUVS can also move freely and independently though the body of water even when tethered to the buoy at least in some capacity. (See Paragraphs 17-18, 116 of Davoodi)
Further regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “Applicants respectfully submit that a person of ordinary skill would recognize that merging a multi-kilometer, relay-based network (as in Davoodi) with a short range system (as in Machado) would defeat the purpose of both designs, rendering the combination technically inoperative.”, examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Davoodi is directed to a controllable and reconfigurable networked buoy systems capable of monitoring and providing communication over an area of interest on the surface, inside, or under the surface of the ice or water and Machado is directed to a network that provides a low power, low cost, and easy to deploy underwater optical communication system capable of being operated at long distances, thus both inventions are applicable for multiple/different range underwater communication networks and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantages of incorporating the teachings of Machado along with the teachings of Davoodi to produce the instant invention as claimed without undue experimentation or issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi (US 20150344109 A1) in view of Machado (US 20120170935 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Davoodi teaches an underwater wireless communication network (buoys may have tethered underwater vehicles with a smart spooling system that allows the vehicles to dive deep underwater while remaining in communication and connection with the buoys.), comprising: a first buoyant platform (inflated buoy 140) floating at a surface of a body of water (The buoys can float on the ocean surface or submerse underwater to a desired depth) and comprising a radio-frequency communication transceiver and a wired communication transceiver (the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) (wherein the at least one communication device comprises a radio frequency transceiver and an acoustic transceiver). (Abstract, Paragraphs 120, 125, 11, 136, 31, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2, 10)
Davoodi also teaches a first underwater sensor node (tethered underwater-vehicles (TUV) 104) coupled to the first buoyant platform (140) by at least one wire (cord/tethers 201) over which the first buoyant platform (140) and the first underwater sensor node (104) communicate (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), wherein the first underwater sensor (104) includes a wired communication transceiver (the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) to communicate with the first buoyant platform (140) over the at least one wire (201), and wherein the first buoyant platform (140) or the first underwater sensor node (104) includes a first ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting) configured to power the first buoyant platform (140) or the first underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 123-125,127, 43, 140, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2)
Davoodi also teaches a second underwater sensor node (104, Fig.2 illustrates multiple underwater sensor nodes) configured to freely and independently move within (The underwater-vehicles (104) could be any other AUVs or underwater robots or instruments) (TUVs 104 can have both a motorized propeller and a buoyancy engine) the body of water (The underwater-vehicles (104) could be any state-of-the-art sounders, micro-submarines, gliders, jellyfish robots, or any other AUVs or underwater robots or instruments) and comprising a second ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting) configured to power the second underwater sensor node (104, See Fig.2), and wherein the first (104) and second (104) underwater sensor nodes each comprise a sensor (sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice), an optical communication transceiver (various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication), and an acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys). (Paragraphs 116, 43, 140, 130, 51, 145-146, 17-18, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-3)
Davoodi does not explicitly teach wherein the optical communication transceiver of the second underwater sensor node is configured to form an optical beam with the optical communication transceiver of the first underwater sensor so that a direct optical communication between the first and second underwater sensors is established.
Machado teaches wherein the optical communication transceiver of the second underwater sensor node is configured to form an optical beam with the optical communication transceiver of the first underwater sensor so that a direct optical communication between the first and second underwater sensors is established. (Paragraphs 50-52, Figs.5, 9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Davoodi to incorporate wherein the optical communication transceiver of the second underwater sensor node is configured to form an optical beam with the optical communication transceiver of the first underwater sensor so that a direct optical communication between the first and second underwater sensors is established as taught by Machado in order to establish a communication link with a plurality of underwater devices to form a communication system/network that broadens/optimizes the sensor coverage. (See Paragraphs 5,16 of Machado)
Regarding claim 2, Davoodi teaches wherein the second underwater sensor node (104, See Fig.3) is under the body of water at a depth below a depth of the first underwater sensor node (104). (Figs.3)
Regarding claim 3, Davoodi teaches an underwater vehicle (tethered underwater-vehicles 104) comprising an optical communication transceiver (various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) and an acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example). (Paragraphs 104, 130, 133, Figs.2-3,8)
Davoodi does not explicitly teach wherein the optical communication transceiver of the underwater vehicle establishes a direct optical communication with the optical communication transceiver of the first underwater sensor node.
Machado teaches wherein the optical communication transceiver of the underwater vehicle establishes a direct optical communication with the optical communication transceiver of the first underwater sensor node. (Paragraphs 67-68, 53, 50-52, Figs.5, 9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Davoodi to incorporate wherein the optical communication transceiver of the underwater vehicle establishes a direct optical communication with the optical communication transceiver of the first underwater sensor node as taught by Machado in order to establish a communication link with a plurality of underwater devices to form a communication system/network that broadens/optimizes the sensor coverage. (See Paragraphs 5,16 of Machado)
Regarding claim 4, Davoodi teaches wherein the underwater vehicle (tethered underwater-vehicles 104) is an autonomous underwater vehicle or a remote-controlled underwater vehicle (The TUVs attached to the buoys are underwater instruments or vehicles, such as a sounder, micro-submarine, an autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV), or a robot). (Paragraph 14, Figs.2-3,8)
Regarding claim 5, Davoodi teaches a second buoyant platform (140, Fig.2 shows multiple buoyant platforms) floating at the surface of the body of water (The buoys can float on the ocean surface or submerse underwater to a desired depth) and comprising a radio-frequency communication transceiver and a wired communication transceiver (the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) (wherein the at least one communication device comprises a radio frequency transceiver and an acoustic transceiver) and a third underwater sensor node (104, See Fig.2 right hand side) coupled to the second buoyant platform (140) by at least one wire (201) over which the second buoyant platform (140) and the third underwater sensor node (104) communicate (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), wherein the third underwater sensor (104) includes a third wired communication transceiver to communicate with the second buoyant platform over the at least one wire (201), and wherein the second buoyant platform (140) or the third underwater sensor (104) includes a third ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting). (Paragraphs 130, 123-125, 43, 145-146, Figs.2-3, 8)
Regarding claim 6, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 3. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 6, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 4. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 7, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Davoodi teaches wherein the underwater vehicle (tethered underwater-vehicles 104) is an autonomous underwater vehicle (The TUVs attached to the buoys are underwater instruments or vehicles, such as a sounder, micro-submarine, an autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV), or a robot) configured to follow a defined path between the first and second sensor nodes. (Paragraph 14, Fig.8) Since the underwater vehicles are themselves autonomous it is well understood in the art by one of ordinary skill in the art that the autonomous underwater vehicle must follow a path and it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use movement patterns around each other to optimize sensor coverage.
Regarding claim 9, Davoodi teaches wherein the buoyant platform (140) includes a second ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting) (both the controllable buoy and TUV can use various skills of the art in harvesting energy for the power that their electronics needs). (Paragraph 43, 37, 41) Davoodi teaches that each buoyant platform (140) and each TUV (104) harvest energy for the power that their electronics needs through for example ambient RF energy harvesting, thus the TUV (104) is interpreted as the first ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting) and the buoyant platform (140) is interpreted as the second ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting).
Regarding claim 10, Davoodi teaches wherein the first (ambient collector of first underwater sensor node 104) or second ambient collector (ambient collector of second underwater sensor node 104) is a solar panel, a wave energy collector, or tidal energy collector. (Paragraphs 37-39, 41, 43, 131, Claim 6, Fig.6)
Regarding claim 11, Davoodi teaches wherein the second energy ambient collector (ambient RF energy harvesting) is an optical to electrical energy converter configured to receive optical energy from the first underwater sensor node and convert the received optical energy into electrical energy. (Paragraphs 18, 37, 43, 45) Examiner notes that it is taught in the prior art that Davoodi teaches converting RF or motion energy into electrical (Also both the controllable buoy and TUV can use various skills of the art in harvesting energy for the power that their electronics needs) and it is obvious that incorporating optical energy instead of or in addition to RF is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because converting one form of energy into electrical energy is a widely known and used method in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Davoodi teaches wherein the second underwater sensor node (104) further comprises an electrical energy storage device (the buoys/TUVs can use various batteries or fuel for their mobility, control, and electronics). (Paragraph 41)
Regarding claim 13, Davoodi teaches a method for communicating using an underwater wireless communication network, the method comprising: determining (determining through the tether 201, optical fiber or a radio frequency (RF) wire, and fiberless optical communications, such as laser or LED signaling), using an acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), that a first underwater sensor node (104) is within optical communication range (optical communication signals) of a second underwater sensor node (104), wherein the first underwater sensor node (104) is coupled to a first buoyant platform (140) by at least one wire (201), and the second underwater sensor node (104) is configured to freely and independently move within a body of water (The underwater-vehicles (104) could be any other AUVs or underwater robots or instruments) (TUVs 104 can have both a motorized propeller and a buoyancy engine). (Paragraphs 6-7, 17-18, 116, 125, 31, 36, 130, 145-146, 140, Figs.2-3) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the TUV units 104 must be in an acceptable range (for example length of the tether used) of each other in order to establish optical communication. This is a commonly known and practiced method in the art of establishing communication between nearby systems.
Davoodi also teaches establishing (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), responsive to the determination that the first underwater sensor node (104) is within optical communication range (within length of tether 201) of the second underwater sensor node (104), an optical communication connection (optical communication signals) between a first optical transceiver (TUVs with hydrophones and acoustic transceivers (930)) of the first underwater sensor node (104) and a second optical transceiver (each TUV has an acoustic transceivers 930) of the second underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 125, 131, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, 18, Figs.2-3, 6)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (transmit and receive data from the at least one sensor) (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) sensor data collected by a second sensor (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the second underwater sensor node (104) to the first underwater sensor node (104) over the established optical communication connection (tether 201, various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication). (Paragraphs 125, 140, 104, 130, 133, 145-146, Claim 10, Figs.2-3, 8)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), by the first underwater sensor node (104), sensor data collected by a first sensor (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the first underwater sensor node (104) and the sensor data collected by the second sensor node (104) to the first buoyant platform (140) floating at a surface of the body of water (The buoys can float on the ocean surface or submerse underwater to a desired depth) over the wired connection (cord/tether 201) using a wired transceiver (various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) of the first underwater sensor node (104) and a wired transceiver (various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) of the first buoyant platform (140). (Paragraphs 123-125,127, 43, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-3)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (The buoys could also be used to facilitate the communication to the surface and the base stations), by a radio-frequency transceiver (use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) of the first buoyant platform (140), the sensor data collected by the first and second sensors (104) to a land-based radio-frequency base station (base stations). (Paragraphs 10, 49, 52-54, 140, 145-146, Figs.2-3).
Davoodi does not explicitly teach establishing, responsive to the determination that the first underwater sensor node is within an optical communication range of the second underwater sensor node, a direct optical communication connection between a first optical transceiver of the first underwater sensor node and a second optical transceiver of the second underwater sensor node.
Machado teaches establishing, responsive to the determination that the first underwater sensor node is within an optical communication range of the second underwater sensor node, a direct optical communication connection between a first optical transceiver of the first underwater sensor node and a second optical transceiver of the second underwater sensor node. (Paragraphs 67-68, 53, 50-52, Figs.5, 9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Davoodi to incorporate establishing, responsive to the determination that the first underwater sensor node is within an optical communication range of the second underwater sensor node, a direct optical communication connection between a first optical transceiver of the first underwater sensor node and a second optical transceiver of the second underwater sensor node as taught by Machado in order to establish a communication link with a plurality of underwater devices to form a communication system/network that broadens/optimizes the sensor coverage. (See Paragraphs 5,16 of Machado)
Regarding claim 14, Davoodi teaches receiving (The panel (102) can also be used as an RF antenna for transmitting and receiving signals from the orbiter (190), as shown in FIG. 1A, or as an acoustic antenna when communication needs to be carried out with any instruments that are under the water) (Whenever the system (the tethered-underwater-vehicle itself, the mother-buoy, or any of the base-stations or buoys under the control of the distributed control system wants to know the exact location of the tethered-underwater-vehicle under water, a communication signal can be exchanged between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicle or vehicles in order to make the necessary arrangements), by the first buoyant platform (140) from the land-based radio- frequency base station (The buoys could also be used to facilitate the communication of industrial assets (such as buoys, wellheads, instruments of gas or oil companies, marine transportation, etc.) to the surface and the base stations such as satellites or ships deployed to the area) (The instructions can be sent to each buoy via the satellite communication and/or through existing ground stations using the buoy peer-to-peer communication link if available), control data (location, instructions in communication signal) for the second underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 49, 115, 52, 82, 73)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (Whenever the system (the tethered-underwater-vehicle itself, the mother-buoy, or any of the base-stations or buoys under the control of the distributed control system wants to know the exact location of the tethered-underwater-vehicle under water, a communication signal can be exchanged between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicle or vehicles in order to make the necessary arrangements), by the wired transceiver (The buoys can, for example, use all the state of art electronics, software, methods, and materials such as the sensors, imagers, energy harvesting components and techniques, communication components and techniques (RF, optic, acoustic, wired or wireless, antenna), batteries and capacitors, data loggers and memories, controller and processors, data processors, avionics such a magnetometers, accelerometers, GPS, communication transceivers and techniques) of the first buoyant platform (140) to the wired transceiver (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the first underwater sensor node (104), the control data. (Paragraphs 49, 54, 131, 140)
Davoodi also teaches determining (determining through the tether 201, optical fiber or a radio frequency (RF) wire, and fiberless optical communications, such as laser or LED signaling), using the acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), that the first underwater sensor node (104) is within optical communication range (optical communication signals) of the second underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 6-7, 125, 31, 36, 130, 145-146, 140, Figs.2-3) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the TUV units 104 must be in an acceptable range (for example length of the tether used) of each other in order to establish optical communication. This is a commonly known and practiced method in the art of establishing communication between nearby systems.
Davoodi also teaches establishing (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), responsive to the determination that the first underwater sensor node (104) is within optical communication range (within length of tether 201) of the second underwater sensor node (104), a further optical communication connection (optical communication signals) between the first and second underwater sensor nodes (104). (Paragraphs 125, 131, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, 18, Figs.2-3, 6)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), by the first underwater sensor node (104) to the second underwater sensor node (104) (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) over the established further optical communication connection (tether 201, various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication), the control data (location, instructions in communication signal). (Paragraphs 123-125,127, 43, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-3)
Davoodi does not explicitly teach processing, by the second underwater sensor node, the control data and adjusting operation of the second underwater sensor node based on the processed control data.
Machado teaches processing (The network controller may determine that there is a fault in the network at an optical modem if controller stops receiving verification of activity from a particular optical modem. For example, the network may ping or transmit a short message addressed to each optical modem and poll for an acknowledgement or response from the addressed optical modem), by the second underwater sensor node (810, 820, 830), the control data (control commands) and adjusting operation of the second underwater sensor node based on the processed control data (Either of the first or second optical modems proximate to the fault, or both, may be moved, such that the first and second optical modems are still within an optical range of each other, and still within an optical communication of other optical modems in the network to re-establish the optical communication link between the first and second cabled observatories 802 and 804). (Paragraphs 57-63, Figs.8A-9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Davoodi to incorporate processing, by the second underwater sensor node, the control data and adjusting operation of the second underwater sensor node based on the processed control data as taught by Machado in order to establish a communication link with a plurality of underwater devices to form a communication system/network that broadens/optimizes the sensor coverage (See Paragraphs 5,16 of Machado).
Regarding claim 15, Davoodi teaches receiving, by the second underwater sensor node from the first underwater sensor node, an optical signal; converting, by an ambient energy collector in the second underwater sensor node, the received optical signal into electric energy; and using the converted electric energy to power the second underwater sensor node during the transmission of sensor data from the second underwater sensor node to the first underwater sensor node. (Paragraphs 37-39, 115, 146, Claims 5-6, 22, Figs.1D, 7)
Regarding claim 16, Davoodi teaches converting (harvesting energy for the power that their electronics needs), by an ambient energy collector (ambient RF energy harvesting, thin-film solar cells laminated in the middle of the outer layer, or thermoelectric systems) in the second underwater sensor node (104)(the buoys/TUVs can harvest energy from its own passive motion, however other energy generation and energy scavenging technologies can be employed), ambient energy into electric energy, wherein the ambient energy is optical energy, tidal energy, or wave energy (generating electricity from gradients of temperature, solar energy, wind, waves, or water currents). (Paragraphs 18, 37, 43, 45)
Regarding claim 17, Davoodi teaches a method for communicating using an underwater wireless communication network comprising first (104) and second (104) underwater sensor nodes respectively comprising first and second optical transceivers (each TUV has an acoustic transceivers 930), the method comprising: determining (determining through the tether 201, optical fiber or a radio frequency (RF) wire, and fiberless optical communications, such as laser or LED signaling), using an acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), of an underwater device (104) that the underwater device (104) is within an optical communication range (optical communication signals) of the second underwater sensor node (104), the second underwater sensor node (104) being configured to freely and independently move within a body of water (The underwater-vehicles (104) could be any other AUVs or underwater robots or instruments) (TUVs 104 can have both a motorized propeller and a buoyancy engine) . (Paragraphs 6-7, 17-18, 116, 125, 31, 36, 130, 145-146, 140, Figs.2-3) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the TUV units 104 must be in an acceptable range (for example length of the tether used) of each other in order to establish optical communication. This is a commonly known and practiced method in the art of establishing communication between nearby systems.
Davoodi also teaches establishing (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), responsive to the determination that the second underwater sensor node (104) is within optical communication range (within length of tether 201) of the underwater device (104), an optical communication connection (optical communication signals) between the second optical transceiver (TUVs with hydrophones and acoustic transceivers (930)) of the second underwater sensor node (104) and a optical transceiver (each TUV has an acoustic transceivers 930) of the underwater device (104). (Paragraphs 125, 131, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, 18, Figs.2-3, 6)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (transmit and receive data from the at least one sensor) (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) sensor data collected by a second sensor (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the second underwater sensor node (104) to the underwater device (104) over the established optical communication connection (tether 201, various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication). (Paragraphs 125, 140, 104, 130, 133, 145-146, Claim 10, Figs.2-3, 8)
Davoodi also teaches determining (determining through the tether 201, optical fiber or a radio frequency (RF) wire, and fiberless optical communications, such as laser or LED signaling), using the acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), of the underwater device (104) that the underwater device (104) is within optical communication range (optical communication signals) of the first underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 6-7, 125, 31, 36, 130, 145-146, 140, Figs.2-3) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the TUV units 104 must be in an acceptable range (for example length of the tether used) of each other in order to establish optical communication. This is a commonly known and practiced method in the art of establishing communication between nearby systems.
Davoodi also teaches establishing (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), responsive to the determination that the underwater device (104) is within optical communication range (within length of tether 201) of the first underwater sensor node (104), optical communication connection (optical communication signals) between the first optical transceiver (TUVs with hydrophones and acoustic transceivers (930)) of the first underwater sensor node (104) and a optical transceiver (each TUV has an acoustic transceivers 930) of the underwater device (104). (Paragraphs 125, 131, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, 18, Figs.2-3, 6)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (transmit and receive data from the at least one sensor) (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) sensor data collected by a second sensor (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the second underwater sensor node (104) to the first underwater seismic node (104) over the established optical communication connection (tether 201, various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication). (Paragraphs 125, 140, 104, 130, 133, 145-146, Claim 10, Figs.2-3, 8)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), by the first underwater sensor node (104), sensor data collected by a first sensor (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the first underwater sensor node (104) and the sensor data collected by the second sensor node (104) to a first buoyant platform (140) floating at a surface of a body of water (The buoys can float on the ocean surface or submerse underwater to a desired depth) over a wired connection (cord/tether 201) using a wired transceiver (various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) of the first underwater sensor node (104) and a wired transceiver (various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) of the first buoyant platform (140). (Paragraphs 123-125,127, 43, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-3)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (The buoys could also be used to facilitate the communication to the surface and the base stations), by a radio-frequency transceiver (use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication) of the first buoyant platform (140), the sensor data collected by the first and second sensors (104) to a land-based radio-frequency base station (base stations). (Paragraphs 10, 49, 52-54, 140, 145-146, Figs.2-3).
Davoodi does not explicitly teach determining, using an positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within an optical communication range of the second sensor node and establishing a direct optical connection between the underwater vehicle and the second underwater sensor node and transmitting sensor data collected by a second sensor of the second underwater sensor node to the underwater vehicle and determining, using an acoustic positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within an optical communication range of the first sensor node and establishing a direct optical connection between the underwater vehicle and the first underwater sensor node and transmitting by the underwater vehicle sensor data collected by a second sensor of the second underwater sensor node to the first underwater seismic node.
Machado teaches determining, using an positioning system (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem) of an underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994), that the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) is within an optical communication range of the second sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem 913, and establish a direct optical connection with underwater optical modem 913, thereby establishing an optical communication link between underwater observatories 910, 920, 930, and 940) and establishing optical connection (optical communication link) between the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) and the second underwater sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem 913, and establish an optical connection with underwater optical modem 913, thereby establishing an optical communication link between underwater observatories 910, 920, 930, and 940) and transmitting (communicate) sensor data collected by a second sensor (optical modem and observatory sensors) of the second underwater sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) to the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) and determining, using an acoustic positioning system (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem) of an underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994), that the underwater vehicle is within the optical communication range of the first sensor node (910, 920, 930, and 940) (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem 913, and establish a direct optical connection with underwater optical modem 913, thereby establishing an optical communication link between underwater observatories 910, 920, 930, and 940) and establishing optical connection (optical communication link) between the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) and the first underwater sensor node (910, 920, 930, and 940) and transmitting (communicate) by the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) sensor data collected by a second sensor of the second underwater sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) to the first underwater seismic node (910, 920, 930, and 940). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 50-53, 9-24, Figs.5, 9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Davoodi to incorporate determining, using an acoustic positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within an optical communication range of the second sensor node and establishing a direct optical connection between the underwater vehicle and the second underwater sensor node and transmitting sensor data collected by a second sensor of the second underwater sensor node to the underwater vehicle and determining, using an acoustic positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within the optical communication range of the first sensor node and establishing a direct optical connection between the underwater vehicle and the first underwater sensor node and transmitting by the underwater vehicle sensor data collected by a second sensor of the second underwater sensor node to the first underwater seismic node as taught by Machado in order to establish a communication link with a plurality of underwater devices to form a communication system/network that broadens/optimizes the sensor coverage. (See Paragraphs 5,16 of Machado)
Regarding claim 18, Davoodi teaches receiving (The panel (102) can also be used as an RF antenna for transmitting and receiving signals from the orbiter (190), as shown in FIG. 1A, or as an acoustic antenna when communication needs to be carried out with any instruments that are under the water) (Whenever the system (the tethered-underwater-vehicle itself, the mother-buoy, or any of the base-stations or buoys under the control of the distributed control system wants to know the exact location of the tethered-underwater-vehicle under water, a communication signal can be exchanged between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicle or vehicles in order to make the necessary arrangements), by the first buoyant platform (140) from the land-based radio- frequency base station (The buoys could also be used to facilitate the communication of industrial assets (such as buoys, wellheads, instruments of gas or oil companies, marine transportation, etc.) to the surface and the base stations such as satellites or ships deployed to the area) (The instructions can be sent to each buoy via the satellite communication and/or through existing ground stations using the buoy peer-to-peer communication link if available), control data (location, instructions in communication signal) for the second underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 49, 115, 52, 82, 73)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (Whenever the system (the tethered-underwater-vehicle itself, the mother-buoy, or any of the base-stations or buoys under the control of the distributed control system wants to know the exact location of the tethered-underwater-vehicle under water, a communication signal can be exchanged between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicle or vehicles in order to make the necessary arrangements), by the wired transceiver (The buoys can, for example, use all the state of art electronics, software, methods, and materials such as the sensors, imagers, energy harvesting components and techniques, communication components and techniques (RF, optic, acoustic, wired or wireless, antenna), batteries and capacitors, data loggers and memories, controller and processors, data processors, avionics such a magnetometers, accelerometers, GPS, communication transceivers and techniques) of the first buoyant platform (140) to the first wired transceiver (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) of the first underwater sensor node (104), the control data. (Paragraphs 49, 54, 131, 140)
Davoodi also teaches determining (determining through the tether 201, optical fiber or a radio frequency (RF) wire, and fiberless optical communications, such as laser or LED signaling), using the acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), of the underwater device (104) that the underwater device (104) is within optical communication range (optical communication signals) of the first underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 6-7, 125, 31, 36, 130, 145-146, 140, Figs.2-3) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the TUV units 104 must be in an acceptable range (for example length of the tether used) of each other in order to establish optical communication. This is a commonly known and practiced method in the art of establishing communication between nearby systems.
Davoodi also teaches establishing (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), responsive to the determination that the underwater device (104) is within optical communication range (within length of tether 201) of the first underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 125, 131, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, 18, Figs.2-3, 6)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (transmit and receive data from the at least one sensor) (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) by the first underwater sensor node (104) to underwater device (104) over the established further optical communication connection (tether 201, various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication), the control data (Paragraphs 125, 140, 104, 130, 133, 145-146, 49, 52, 73, Claim 10, Figs.2-3, 8)
Davoodi also teaches determining (determining through the tether 201, optical fiber or a radio frequency (RF) wire, and fiberless optical communications, such as laser or LED signaling), using the acoustic positioning system (the TUVs can triangulate their position (and the position of a detected event) by sending acoustic signals to nearby buoys as illustrated in FIG. 3, for example) (The mother-buoy and TUV can use various detectors, imagers such as sonars, radars, optic and infrared cameras, or sensors for monitoring in the water and under the surface of ice. They can also use various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication (e.g., the sensors in Table 1)) (The tethers (201) could carry fiber optic cords in order to transfer optical communication signals between the mother-buoy and its tethered-underwater-vehicles. TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys), of the underwater device (104) that the underwater device (104) is within optical communication range (optical communication signals) of the second underwater sensor node (104). (Paragraphs 6-7, 125, 31, 36, 130, 145-146, 140, Figs.2-3) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the TUV units 104 must be in an acceptable range (for example length of the tether used) of each other in order to establish optical communication. This is a commonly known and practiced method in the art of establishing communication between nearby systems.
Davoodi also teaches establishing (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network), responsive to the determination that the underwater device (104) is within optical communication range (within length of tether 201) of the second underwater sensor node (104), another optical communication connection (optical communication signals) between the second optical transceiver (TUVs with hydrophones and acoustic transceivers (930)) of the second underwater sensor node (104) and a optical transceiver (each TUV has an acoustic transceivers 930) of the underwater device (104). (Paragraphs 125, 131, 140, 145-146, Claims 1, 4, 18, Figs.2-3, 6)
Davoodi also teaches transmitting (transmit and receive data from the at least one sensor) (TUVs from different mother-buoys can communicate to each-other directly by acoustic signaling, or they can communicate through their mother-buoys. For example, with the mother-buoys communicating to each other via RF and the TUVs communicating with their respective mother-buoys via wire, the TUVs can communicate with each-other through a wire-RF-wire network) the control data from the underwater device (104) to the second underwater sensor node (104) over the established another optical communication connection (tether 201, various RF, optic, laser, or acoustic modems transceivers to perform communication). (Paragraphs 125, 140, 104, 130, 133, 145-146, Claim 10, Figs.2-3, 8)
Davoodi does not explicitly teach determining, using an positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within optical communication range of the first sensor node and establishing a further optical communication connection between the first underwater sensor node and the underwater vehicle and transmitting by the first underwater sensor node to the underwater vehicle device over the established further optical communication connection control data and determining, using an positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within optical communication range of the second sensor node and establishing another optical connection between the second optical transceiver of the second underwater sensor node and the optical transceiver of the underwater vehicle and transmitting the control data from the underwater vehicle device to the second underwater sensor node over the established another optical communication connection and processing, by the second underwater sensor node, the control data and adjusting operation of the second underwater sensor node based on the processed control data.
Machado teaches determining, using an positioning system (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem) of an underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994), that the underwater vehicle is within optical communication range of the first sensor node (910, 920, 930, and 940) (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem 913, and establish an optical connection with underwater optical modem 913, thereby establishing an optical communication link between underwater observatories 910, 920, 930, and 940). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 53, 9-24, Fig.9)
Machado also teaches establishing a further optical communication connection (optical communication link) between the first underwater sensor node (910, 920, 930, and 940) and the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 53, 9-24, Fig.9)
Machado also teaches transmitting by the first underwater sensor node (910, 920, 930, and 940) to the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) over the established further optical communication connection (optical communication link) control data. (UUV 936 may include an integrated optical modem that enables it to communicate with nodes in the optical communication network. For example, UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem 913, and establish an optical connection with underwater optical modem 913, thereby establishing an optical communication link between underwater observatories 910, 920, 930, and 940). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 53, 9-24, Fig.9)
Machado also teaches determining, using an acoustic positioning system (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem) of an underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994), that the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) is within optical communication range of the second sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) (UUV 936 may navigate to a location within an optical range of underwater optical modem 913, and establish an optical connection with underwater optical modem 913, thereby establishing an optical communication link between underwater observatories 910, 920, 930, and 940). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 53, 9-24, Fig.9)
Machado also teaches establishing another optical connection (optical communication link) between the second optical transceiver of the second underwater sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) and the optical transceiver of the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 53, 9-24, Fig.9)
Machado also teaches transmitting (communicate) the control data from the underwater vehicle (936, 970, 980, 992, 994) to the second underwater sensor node (913-914, 934, 985, 972, 974, 932) over the established another optical communication connection (optical communication link). (Paragraphs 64-71, 13, 46, 39, 53, 9-24, Fig.9)
Machado also teaches processing (The network controller may determine that there is a fault in the network at an optical modem if controller stops receiving verification of activity from a particular optical modem. For example, the network may ping or transmit a short message addressed to each optical modem and poll for an acknowledgement or response from the addressed optical modem), by the second underwater sensor node (underwater sensor node (810, 820, 830), the control data (control commands) and adjusting operation of the second underwater sensor node based on the processed control data (Either of the first or second optical modems proximate to the fault, or both, may be moved, such that the first and second optical modems are still within an optical range of each other, and still within an optical communication of other optical modems in the network to re-establish the optical communication link between the first and second cabled observatories 802 and 804). (Paragraphs 57-63, Figs.8A-9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Davoodi to incorporate determining, using an positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within optical communication range of the first sensor node and establishing a further optical communication connection between the first underwater sensor node and the underwater vehicle and transmitting by the first underwater sensor node to the underwater vehicle device over the established further optical communication connection control data and determining, using an positioning system of an underwater vehicle, that the underwater vehicle is within optical communication range of the second sensor node and establishing another optical connection between the second optical transceiver of the second underwater sensor node and the optical transceiver of the underwater vehicle and transmitting the control data from the underwater vehicle device to the second underwater sensor node over the established another optical communication connection and processing, by the second underwater sensor node, the control data and adjusting operation of the second underwater sensor node based on the processed control data as taught by Machado in order to establish a communication link with a plurality of underwater devices to form a communication system/network that broadens/optimizes the sensor coverage. (See Paragraphs 5,16 of Machado)
Regarding claim 19, Davoodi teaches receiving, by the second underwater sensor node from the underwater vehicle, an optical signal; converting, by an ambient energy collector in the second underwater sensor node, the received optical signal into electric energy; and using the converted electric energy to power the second underwater sensor node during the transmission of sensor data from the second underwater sensor node to the underwater vehicle. (Paragraphs 37-39, 115, 146, Claims 5-6, 22, Figs.1D, 7)
Regarding claim 20, Davoodi teaches receiving, by the underwater vehicle from the first underwater sensor node, an optical signal; converting, by an ambient energy collector in the underwater vehicle, the received optical signal into electric energy; and using the converted electric energy to power the underwater vehicle. (Paragraphs 37-39, 115, 146, Claims 5-6, 22, Figs.1D, 7)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Frank (US 20080300821 A1), which is directed to A position sensing system including a flexible tether and at least one sensor at least partially embedded within a portion of the flexible tether.
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645