DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11-13, 15, 16, and 18-26 are pending in the current application.
Claims 11-13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 22, and 24 are newly amended in the current application.
Claims 1-10, 14, and 17 are canceled in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on April 16, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objections to the drawings set forth in the previous office action.
The objections to the drawings set forth in the previous office action are withdrawn due to the amended drawings filed on April 16, 2026.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) set forth in the previous office action.
The rejections of claims 12, 13, and 18 under 35 USC 112(b) set forth in the previous office action are withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
The rejection of claim 24 under 35 USC 112(b) set forth in the previous office action is maintained and updated to reflect the present claim amendments. Although claim 24 was amended, the amendment did not resolve the previously identified issue.
Applicant argues that Lee, Kim, Kamiyama, and Kaida, individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest each and every limitation of newly amended claim 11, because Kaida does not disclose a non-reactive additive having a functional group bonded to polydimethylsiloxane.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The grounds of rejection have been updated to reflect the present claim amendments.
Kaida teaches a water repellency-imparting agent includes non-reactive agents (Kaida, [0111]-[0118]). Kaida teaches the water repellency-imparting agent includes a material in which a functional group (such as a fluorinated alkyl group) is bonded to a polydiorganosiloxane such as polydimethylsiloxane (Kaida, [0111]-[0118], [0133]). Kaida teaches the water repellency-imparting agent includes compounds not having a (meth)acryloyloxy reactive group, such compounds are not photocurable, and therefore, are also non-reactive (Kaida, [0118], [0133]). Since modified Lee and Kaida both disclose photocurable compositions for optical elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added Kaida’s water repellency-imparting agent into modified Lee’s photocurable resin to yield a composition that exhibits excellent water repellency and improved mold release properties with low volatility (Kaida, [0111], [0133]).
Although Kaida suggests that water repellency-imparting agents containing a photocurable group (such as a (meth)acryloyloxy) are preferable (Kaida, [0111]), [d]isclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). In view of the foregoing, Kaida’s broader disclosure (that includes water repellency-imparting agents not having a (meth)acryloyloxy photo-curable group that are for imparting improved mold release properties) is considered to render obvious the claimed non-reactive release additive with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2123, MPEP 2143).
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 recites “… a cationic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant, and an amphoteric surfactant.” Claim 24 includes two conjunctions, where one is unnecessary, and should be amended to instead recite “… a cationic surfactant, or an amphoteric surfactant.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 is indefinite as the recitation of possible elements is not properly claimed in the alternative. Treatment of claims reciting alternatives is not governed by the particular format used (e.g., alternatives may be set forth as "a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is A, B, or C"). See, e.g., the Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications ("Supplementary Guidelines"), 76 Fed. Reg. 7162, 7166 (February 9, 2011). Alternative expressions are permitted if they present no uncertainty or ambiguity with respect to the question of scope or clarity of the claims. A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. If a claim is intended to encompass combinations or mixtures of the alternatives set forth in the Markush grouping, the claim may include qualifying language preceding the recited alternatives (such as "at least one member" selected from the group), or within the list of alternatives (such as "or mixtures thereof"). Id. at 1281. See MPEP 2173.05(h).
For the purposes of examination, claim 24 will be interpreted as reciting “at least one selected from the group consisting of a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, Alternatively, claim 24 could be amended to recite “at least one of a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, or an amphoteric surfactant.”
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0033689 A1), in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0177459 A1), and in view of Kaida et al. (US 2010/0259821 A1).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Lee teaches a display apparatus (an optical path control member) comprising a second base film 270 (a first substrate), a common electrode 260 (a first electrode), a light control path film 240+250 (a light conversion part) comprising a plurality of protruding patterns and slits (a partition wall portion and an accommodation portion alternately disposed), an adhesive layer 230 disposed between the light path control film 240+250 and a driving electrode 220 (a second electrode), and a first base film 210 (a second substrate) (Lee, Abstract, [0006]-[0007], [0014], [0063]-[0065], Fig 17). Lee teaches the light path control film 240+250 accommodation portion 250 has a light transmittance that changes according to an applied voltage (Lee, [0065], [0074]-[0082]). Lee teaches a portion (an upper portion) of the partition wall portion 240 is in contact with the adhesive layer 230 (Lee, Fig 17). Lee teaches the light path control film 240+250 is formed of a UV-curable resin (i.e., a photocurable resin) (Lee, [0069]).
Lee – Figure 17
Lee remains silent regarding a photocurable resin including an oligomer, a monomer, a photopolymerization initiator, and an additive that includes an antistatic agent such as a nonionic, a cationic, an anionic, or an amphoteric surfactant (as required by claim 12), and remains silent that the additive is included in an amount of 2.0 wt% to 3.0 wt%.
Kim, however, teaches a photocurable resin composition curable by UV rays for optical display devices comprising a urethane acrylate oligomer, a photopolymerizable monomer, a photopolymerization initiator, and functional additives that include surfactants such as a cationic, an anionic, an amphoteric, or a nonionic surfactant (Kim, Abstract, [0006]-[0019], [0038], [0065], [0068], [0122]). Kim teaches the functional additives are included in an amount of about 1 to 10 parts by weight relative to 100 parts of the photocurable resin composition (about 1 to 10 wt%) (Kim, [0065]). Kim’s additive content range encompasses the claimed range of 2.0 to 3.0 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Since Lee and Kim both disclose photocurable resins for optical display devices that can be cured with UV rays, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized Kim’s photocurable resin composition as Lee’s UV-curable resin to form the light control path film to yield a display device that has improved adhesive property; has improved wettability; and does not deteriorate physical properties or crack under high temperature, high humidity, or thermal shock as taught by Kim (Kim, [0006]-[0008]).
Modified Lee teaches the photocurable resin composition includes additives of silane-based and siloxane-based compounds, and other functional additives of polydimethylsiloxane compounds (Kim, [0062]-[0071]), but remains silent regarding a non-reactive release agent.
Kaida, however, teaches a photocurable composition for an optical element comprising a photocurable monomer, a photopolymerization initiator, a water repellency-imparting agent to achieve excellent mold release properties, and an antistatic agent (Kaida, Abstract, [0006]-[0010], [0111]-[0135]). Kaida teaches the water repellency-imparting agent includes non-reactive agents (Kaida, [0111]-[0118]). Kaida teaches the water repellency-imparting agent includes a material in which a functional group (such as a fluorinated alkyl group) is bonded to a polydiorganosiloxane such as polydimethylsiloxane (Kaida, [0111]-[0117]).
Since modified Lee and Kaida both disclose photocurable compositions for optical elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added Kaida’s water repellency-imparting agent into modified Lee’s photocurable resin to yield a composition that exhibits excellent water repellency and improved mold release properties with low volatility as taught by Kaida (Kaida, [0111], [0133]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Lee teaches the water repellency-imparting agent is included in an amount of 0.02 to 5 parts by mass (Kaida, [0133]). Modified Lee’s water repellency-imparting agent content range overlaps the claimed range of 0.3 wt% or less, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Lee teaches the water repellency-imparting agent is included in an amount of 0.02 to 5 parts by mass (Kaida, [0133]). Modified Lee’s water repellency-imparting agent content range encompasses the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.3 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Lee teaches the water repellency-imparting agent includes a material in which a functional group (such as a fluorinated alkyl group) is bonded to a polydiorganosiloxane such as polydimethylsiloxane (Kaida, [0111]-[0117]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Lee teaches the photocurable resin composition comprises urethane acrylate, acrylate monomers, isobornyl acrylate, additives, photoinitiators, and acryloyl morpholine (Kim, [0038]-[0065], Table 2).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Lee teaches the functional additives are included in an amount of about 1 to 10 parts by weight relative to 100 parts of the photocurable resin composition (about 1 to 10 wt%) (Kim, [0065]), and non-reactive water repellency-imparting agent to impart mold release functionality is included in an amount of 0.02 to 5 parts by mass (Kaida, [0133]). Modified Lee’s total functional additive content range of about 1 to 10 parts by weight encompasses the claimed range of 2.4 to 2.8 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Lee teaches the accommodation portion 250 contains light blocking particles 281 (light conversion particles) and an electrophoresis liquid 280/283 (a dispersion liquid), where the light conversion particles 281 include carbon black and the dispersion liquid 280/283 includes a surfactant to improve mixing and uniformity (Lee, [0073]-[0081], Figures 2, 4; Kim, [0065], [0068]).
Lee – Figure 2
Regarding Claim 24, modified Lee teaches the surfactants include cationic, anionic, amphoteric, or nonionic surfactants (Kim, [0065], [0068]).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Lee teaches the light conversion particles 281 move in a direction of the first electrode or the second electrode by an applied voltage (Lee, [0073]-[0082]).
Regarding Claim 26, modified Lee teaches a display apparatus comprising a display panel 500 and the optical path control member as discussed above for claim 11 (Lee, [0134]-[0152], Figure 17).
Claims 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0033689 A1), in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0177459 A1), and in view of Kaida et al. (US 2010/0259821 A1) as applied to claims 11 and 12 above, and further in view of Kamiyama et al. (WO 201912447 A1, herein English machine translation utilized for all citations).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Lee teaches the display apparatus (optical path control member) as discussed above for claims 11 and 12. Modified Lee teaches the surfactants (antistatic agents) include a cationic, an anionic, an amphoteric, or a nonionic surfactant (Kim, [0065], [0068]).
Modified Lee remains silent regarding the specific species of surfactants listed in claim 13.
Kamiyama, however, teaches a photocurable resin composition for optical display devices comprising photoradical reactive components, a photopolymerization initiator, and a fluorine-containing sulfonium-based (sulfonate) antistatic components (Kamiyama, [0005], [0007], [0012]-[0043]).
Since modified Lee and Kamiyama both disclose photocurable resin compositions for optical display devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized Kamiyama’s fluorine-containing sulfonium-based antistatic component as modified Lee’s surfactant to yield a photocurable resin composition that exhibits low haze and excellent antistatic properties even when exposed to high temperature and high humidity environments for a long period of time as taught by Kamiyama (Kamiyama, [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Lee teaches the display apparatus (optical path control member) as discussed above for claims 11, 12, and 13. Modified Lee teaches the photocurable resin composition for forming the light control path film exhibits low haze of 0.7 or less (Kamiyama, [0005]-[0006], [0012]-[0013], [0040], [0097]-[0101], Table 1). Modified Lee’s haze range falls within the claimed range of 9% or less, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Lee teaches the display apparatus (optical path control member) as discussed above for claims 11, 12, and 13. Modified Lee teaches the photocurable resin composition for forming the light control path film exhibits light transmittance of 90% or more (Kamiyama, [0056]). Modified Lee’s transmittance range falls within the claimed range of 30% or more, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782