DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction Response
The claim amendments and applicant’s response filed on 10/20/2025 to the restriction requirement have been fully considered and are persuasive, therefore the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
The status of the 10/20/2025 claims, is as follows: Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, and 15-16 have been amended; and Claims 1-19 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. EP 20172641.1 filed on 05/04/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The (1) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/03/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16:
The phrase “an optical sensor” in line 9 should be read “the optical sensor” because it is presumed to have an antecedent basis in line 10 of claim 1 that recites “an optical sensor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 15:
The limitation “an image evaluation unit” in lines 3-4
“unit” is the generic placeholder.
“evaluation” is the functional language.
A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Even though there is no explicit description of the corresponding structure of “an image evaluation unit" in lines 3-4 of claim 15, however according to para. 0044 of the published specification, as best understood it is the computer that contains the algorithm that analyzes the image data and detect the disturbances in the image data caused by microwave shielding mesh and apply mathematical operations on the image data to eliminate these disturbances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luckhardt (US 20170208652)
Regarding Claim 1, Luckhardt discloses a door assembly (oven door 14; fig. 3) for selectively providing access to, or closing, an oven cavity of an oven appliance (oven 10), the door assembly (oven door 14) comprising:
a first pane (outer panel 26) comprising an at least partially transparent region (“oven door 14 includes a window, so that at least a part of said oven door 14 is transparent”, para. 0043);
a second pane (inner panel 28) spaced apart from the first pane and comprising an at least partially transparent region (“oven door 14 includes a window, so that at least a part of said oven door 14 is transparent”, para. 0043) (fig. 3), wherein the first pane (outer panel 26) is located outward from the second pane (inner panel 28) such that the second pane (inner panel 28) is between the oven cavity (cooking chamber 12) and the first pane (outer panel 26) when the door assembly is mounted to the oven appliance and closes the oven cavity (fig. 3);
a camera assembly (camera 18, pin-hole lens 34) comprising an optical sensor (camera 18) for obtaining image data from within the oven cavity (para. 0054-0055) (it is noted that the pin-hole lens 34 is part of the camera 18 that allows the camera 18 to see through the shielding metal mesh 32); and
an aperture provided in the first pane (outer panel 26) (para. 0054. It is noted that the pin-hole lens 34 penetrates through at least the panel 26 as evident in fig. 3), wherein the aperture accommodates the camera assembly (para. 0054-0055. It is noted that the aperture in the panel 26 accommodates the lens 34, which is part of the camera 18).
Regarding Claim 14, Luckhardt discloses a cooking oven (cooking oven 10) comprising the door assembly of claim 1 (door 14) (title; fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckhardt (US 20170208652) in view of Park’213 (US 20170261213)
Regarding Claim 2, Luckhardt discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the door assembly comprising at least one said center pane located between the first pane and second pane, the at least one center pane comprising an at least partially transparent region.
However, Park’213 discloses a door assembly (door unit 40) comprising at least one said center pane (second glass member 43b) located between the first pane (first glass member 43a) and second pane (third glass member 43c), the at least one center pane (second glass member 43b) comprising an at least partially transparent region (transparent portion 42) (para. 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the door assembly of Luckhardt to include the center pane located between the first pane and the second pane and the center pane comprises the at least partially transparent region as taught by Park’213, in order to provide thermal insulation to effectively shield the camera assembly from heat from the cooking cavity.
Claims 3-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckhardt (US 20170208652) in view of Park’326 (US 20180372326)
Regarding Claim 3, Luckhardt discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the camera assembly comprises a housing configured for being mounted in the aperture.
However, Park’326 discloses a camera assembly (monitoring unit 100; fig. 4) comprises a housing (housing 140 and 150; figs. 6-7) configured for being mounted to the door 40 (para. 0099 and 0111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera assembly (i.e. pin-hole lens 34 of Luckhardt) to comprise the housing (i.e. housing 140 and 150 of Park’326) configured for being mounted to the door as taught by Park’326, in order to mount the camera assembly (i.e. pin-hole lens 34) in a fixed relationship with the first pane (i.e. outer panel 26 of Luckhardt) (para. 0111 of Park’326) and to protect the camera assembly from dirt and moisture. The modification would result in structure in which as shown below, in which the housing 140 and 150 configured for being mounted in the aperture because the pin-hole lens 34 is positioned in the aperture of the outer panel 26 of Luckhardt, therefore the housing 140 and 150 of Park’326 would also be positioned in the aperture of the first panel 26 of Luckhardt to enclose the lens 34.
Regarding Claim 4, the modification discloses the housing (housing 140, 150 of Park’326) comprises one or more pawls (screw) for fixing the camera assembly (pin-hole lens 34 of Luckhardt) within the aperture (aperture of the outer panel 26 of Luckhardt) (para. 0111 of Park’326).
Regarding Claim 7, Park’326 discloses the housing (housing 140, 150) comprises at least one housing aperture for flowing air through the housing (annotated fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 8, the modification discloses said at least one housing aperture of the housing (aperture of Park’326) comprises a first housing aperture (annotated fig. 8) in a region of the housing located on a first side of the first pane (outer panel 26 of Luckhardt) and a second housing aperture (annotated fig. 8) in a region of the housing located on a second side of the first pane (outer panel 26 of Luckhardt) opposite the first side (it is noted the modification of claim 3 would result in the housing 140, 150 of Park’326 to be disposed within the aperture of the outer panel 26 of Luckhardt. Therefore, the first housing aperture of Park’326 would be positioned on the first side of the outer panel 26 and the second housing aperture of Park’326 would be positioned on the second side of the outer panel 26 opposite the first side).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckhardt (US 20170208652) in view of Ivanovic (US 20180216830)
Regarding Claim 9, Luckhardt discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the first pane is an outer pane defining an exterior side surface of the door assembly that faces away from the oven cavity when the door assembly is mounted to the oven appliance and closes the oven cavity.
However, Ivanovic discloses the first pane (outer glass panel 30) is an outer pane defining an exterior side surface of the door assembly (door 16) that faces away from the oven cavity (oven cavity 14) when the door assembly is mounted to the oven appliance and closes the oven cavity (figs. 2 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pane of Luckhardt (i.e. outer panel 26) such that it defines the exterior side surface of the door assembly as taught by Ivanovic, because it is known construction design to simplify the door assembly to shield thermal heat from the cooking cavity.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckhardt (US 20170208652) in view of Johnson (US 10440245)
Regarding Claim 10, Luckhardt discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the door assembly further comprising one or more support elements configured to mount the first pane and second pane in a spaced relationship.
However, Johnson discloses a door assembly (door assembly 124; fig. 2) further comprising one or more support elements (spacer bracket 180) configured to mount the first pane (glass pane 178) and second pane (glass pane 176) in a spaced relationship (col. 5, lines 9-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the door assembly of Luckhardt to comprise the one or more support elements configured to mount the pane 26 and the pane 28 is the spaced relationship as taught by Johnson, in order to maintain the gap between the two panes 26, 28 to provide thermal break between the cooking cavity and the camera.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckhardt (US 20170208652) in view of Gopalakrishnan (US 20210071874)
Regarding Claim 11, Luckhardt discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, wherein at least the first and/or second pane comprises regions in which transparency of the pane is reduced or eliminated.
However, Gopalakrishnan discloses at least the first pane (glass pane 180) comprises a region in which transparency of the first pane is reduced (“outer face of the outer glass pane 180 can be tinted to facilitate the direction of thermal energy back into the oven cavity”, para. 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pane of Luckhardt (i.e. pane 26) to comprise the region in which transparency of the pane is reduced as taught by Gopalakrishnan, in order to minimize heat loss inside the cooking cavity and reduce the temperature of the first pane (para. 0023 of Gopalakrishnan).
Regarding Claim 12, Luckhardt discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the door assembly further comprising an anti-reflection element that prevents or reduces light transmissivity of selected areas of the first pane.
However, Gopalakrishnan discloses the door assembly (door assembly 100) comprising an anti-reflection element (non-reflective coating) that prevents or reduces light transmissivity of selected areas of the first pane (glass pane 180; fig. 2) (para. 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pane of Luckhardt (i.e. modify the outer surface of pane 26 that faces the user) to be coated with non-reflective coating that reduces light transmissivity of the selected areas of the first pane as taught by Gopalakrishnan, in order to minimize heat loss inside the cooking cavity and reduce the temperature of the first pane (para. 0023 of Gopalakrishnan).
Regarding Claim 13, the modification discloses the first pane (pane 26 of Luckhardt) comprises a coating (non-reflective coating of Gopalakrishnan) at least in the vicinity of the camera assembly (camera 18, pin-hole lens 34 of Luckhardt) (it is noted the modification of claim 12 would result in the non-reflective coating of Gopalakrishnan to be applied to the outer surface of the pane 26 of Luckhardt, that would result in the coating positioned in the vicinity of the camera 18, pin-hole lens 34 of Luckhardt).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 would be allowable for disclosing “wherein the housing comprises a first housing element configured to be mounted at the aperture at a first side of the first pane, the housing further comprising a second housing element configured to be mounted at the aperture at a second side of the first pane, opposite the first side.”
The prior art Park’326 fails to teach “the housing comprises a first housing element configured to be mounted at the aperture at a first side of the first pane, the housing further comprising a second housing element configured to be mounted at the aperture at a second side of the first pane, opposite the first side”.
There is no teaching, reasonable and/or obvious suggestion, and/or reasonable and/or obvious motivation to modify the housing 140, 150 of Park’326 to be positioned in a specific manner relative to the first pane, as claimed, without hindsight.
Claim 6 would be allowable for its dependency from claim 5.
Claim 16 would be allowable for disclosing “the camera assembly comprises a housing mounted within the aperture and configured to secure the camera assembly to the first pane, an optical sensor within said housing, that is inclined with respect to said first pane and configured to obtain image data from within a cavity of said oven appliance when the door assembly is mounted to the oven appliance, and a lens disposed in a lens opening of the housing and optically aligned with the optical sensor; and the housing of said camera assembly protrudes into said air gap such that an air flow through said air gap will provide cooling to said camera assembly during use via convective heat transfer therewith.”
There is no teaching, reasonable and/or obvious suggestion, and/or reasonable and/or obvious motivation to make extensive modification to the camera assembly of Luckhardt to arrive at the claimed invention, as recited in claim 16.
Claims 17-19 would be allowable for their dependency from claim 16.
Claim 15 would be allowable for disclosing “comprising a source for microwave radiation, wherein the door assembly comprises a microwave shielding mesh mounted alongside one of the first and second panes, the cooking oven further comprising an image evaluation unit configured to analyze the camera images, to detect disturbances caused by the microwave shielding mesh, and to compensate these disturbances by processing data of the image.”
The prior art Luckhardt teaches a shielding metal mesh 32 is mounted alongside of the pane 26. Luckhardt teaches a control unit configured to analyze the camera images (para. 0025). Luckhardt teaches pinhole lens 34 is smaller than or equal as the holes of the shielding mesh 32 to allow the camera 18 to see through the shielding mesh 32 (para. 0054-0055). However, Luckhardt fails to teach disturbances caused by the shielding mesh or any distortion to be solved, let alone compensate these disturbances by processing data of the image.
There is no teaching, reasonable and/or obvious suggestion, and/or reasonable and/or obvious motivation to configure the control unit of Luckhardt to detect disturbances caused by the shielding mesh and to compensate these disturbances by processing data of the image, as required by claim 15.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761