DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, as well as the Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 9/18/25 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-7 based upon obviousness as set forth in the last Office action because:
The declaration and the arguments relied on Example 4 of Takahashi et al. and not on Comparative Example 3 in which the rejection of record below relied on where the claimed molar ratios of X/P and O/P are met. In addition, the declaration hasn’t established the particular solid electrolyte having a crystalline phase with an argyrodite-type crystal structure containing the claimed elemental Li, P, S, X, and O. Further, the declaration is based on molar ratios of X/P and O/P outside that of the claimed invention and therefore, does not commensurate in scope of the claimed invention. For the reasons above, the declaration and arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et all., WO 2019176895 (IDS of 11/4/22) relying on U.S. PGPub 2021/0013542 as English translation.
With regard to claims 1-5, Takahashi et al. teach a solid electrolyte comprising elemental lithium (Li), elemental phosphorous (P), elemental sulfur (S), and elemental halogen (Cl, Br), and oxygen (O). See abstract, [0002], [0010], [0018], [0020], [0021], [0023], [0024], [0029], [0031], and [0034].
Further, Takahashi et al. teach that the solid electrolyte has a crystalline phase with an argyrodite-type crystal structure. See abstract, [0002], [0009], [0010], [0011], [0018], and [0029].
In addition, Takahashi et al. teach a molar ratio of (halogen/phosphorous) Cl/P of 1.75 [10.2/5.8] and a molar ratio of (oxygen/phosphorous) O/P of 0.12 [0.7/5.8], both ratios falling within their respective claimed range. See Table 3, “Particle Surface” of 100 nm.
Takahashi et al. is silent in an X-ray diffraction pattern, the solid electrolyte exhibits:
peak A in a range of 2ꝋ = 21.6o to 22.6o;
peak B in a range of 2ꝋ = 22.7o to 23.7o; and
peak C in a range of 2ꝋ = 35.8o to 36.8o,
the X-ray diffraction pattern being obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation; wherein the solid electrolyte exhibits peak M in a range of 2 ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of IA to IM, IA/IM, is more than 0 and less than 0.03, wherein IA represents an intensity of the peak A and IM represents an intensity of the peak M (claim 2); wherein the solid electrolyte exhibits peak M in a range of 2ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of IB to IM, IB/IM, is more than 0 and 0.025 or less, wherein IB represents an intensity of the peak B and IM represents an intensity of the peak M (claim 3); wherein the solid electrolyte exhibits peak M in a range of 2ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of IC to IM, lC/IM, is more than 0 and 0.012 or less, wherein IC represents an intensity of the peak C and IM represents an intensity of the peak M (claim 4); and wherein in an X-ray diffraction pattern, the solid electrolyte exhibits: peak D in a range of 2ꝋ = 32.00 to 35.30; and peak M in a range of 2ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o the X-ray diffraction pattern being obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of ID to IM, ID/IM, is less than 0.21, wherein ID represents an intensity of the peak D and IM represents an intensity of the peak M (claim 5).
However, as there is no clear compositional distinction between the solid electrolyte of Takahashi et al. comprises the Li, P, S, (Cl, Br), and O elements, as well as the molar ratios O/P and Cl/P and argyrodite crystal structure, and that of the claim, it would be inherent and/or expected for the solid electrolyte of Takahashi to exhibit X-ray diffraction pattern of peak A, peak B, and peak C obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, as well as peak W; wherein the solid electrolyte exhibits peak M in a range of 2ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of IB to IM, IB/IM, is more than 0 and 0.025 or less, wherein IB represents an intensity of the peak B and IM represents an intensity of the peak M; wherein the solid electrolyte exhibits peak M in a range of 2ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of IC to IM, lC/IM, is more than 0 and 0.012 or less, wherein Ic represents an intensity of the peak C and IM represents an intensity of the peak M; and wherein in an X-ray diffraction pattern, the solid electrolyte exhibits: peak D in a range of 2ꝋ = 32.00 to 35.30; and peak M in a range of 2ꝋ = 24.2o to 26.2o the X-ray diffraction pattern being obtained by an X-ray diffractometer using CuKα1 radiation, and a ratio of ID to IM, ID/IM, is less than 0.21, wherein ID represents an intensity of the peak D and IM represents an intensity of the peak M. MPEP 2112.01, I.
With regard to claim 6, Takahashi et al. teaches the solid electrolyte mixed with an active material. See [0044].
With regard to claim 7, Takahashi et al. teach an all-state lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a solid electrolyte layer of claim 1 interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer. See [0070].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MILTON I CANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1723