DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 11/26/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 23, 24, 27-29, 31, 77, 81, and 82 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 44, 46, 54, 64, and 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mansoor et al. (US 20200078575).
Regarding claim 44, Mansoor et al. discloses a device (fig. 1-5B) comprising: a substrate 12; and an array of needles 24 disposed on or through the substrate; wherein one or more of the needles is hollow through the entire length of the needle (par. 0060-0066); wherein the array is configured to allow fluid transport through at least one hollow needle of the array (par. 0060-0066); and wherein the array is configured to receive and communicate one or more electrical signals (par. 0064).
Regarding claim 46, Mansoor et al. discloses one or more needles in the array further comprises a coating to penetrate skin to epidermis, dermis, or further beneath the skin (par. 0064, fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 54, Mansoor et al. discloses one or more of the needles is a stimulating electrode (par. 0064, fig. 3A).
Regarding claims 64 and 65, Mansoor et al. discloses a substrate/array configuration that is fully capable of being adjusted for different depths of penetration by a spacer (see structure in fig. 3A). Additionally, Mansoor et al. discloses utilizing a spacer (36; fig. 5A-B) which alters penetration depth of the needles (par. 0078).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47, 49, 50, and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansoor et al. in view of Arias et al. (US 20020133129).
Regarding claims 47, 49, 50, and 55, Mansoor et al. discloses the device as claimed, except for specifically disclosing one or more needles in the array comprise a coating to insulate an electrical signal, one or more needles in the array is coated with an electrically conductive material, one or more needles in the array is at least partially filled with an electrically conductive material, and/or one or more needles is a reference or ground electrode. However, Arias et al. teaches providing insulative coatings on microneedles (par. 0156), conductive coatings on microneedles (par. 0162), filling microneedles with an electrically conductive material (par. 0162), and/or utilizing a reference electrode (par. 0066). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mansoor et al. to utilize any combination of the structures of claims 47, 49, 50, and 55, as taught by Arias et al., since Arias et al. teaches that these structures are all options for fabricating/arranging microneedles in an electrically active array depending on their desired properties.
Claim(s) 64 and 65, in the alternative, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansoor et al. in view of Hantash et al. (US 20070142885).
Regarding claims 64 and 65, in the alternative to what is disclosed by Mansoor et al. as discussed under 35 U.S.C. 102 above, Hantash et al. teaches utilizing an adjustable spacer 106 to create a desired penetration depth for a needle array (par. 0071; fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mansoor et al. to utilize an adjustable spacer such as the one taught by Hantash et al. for the purpose of providing sufficient structure for the spacer to enable a variety of possible penetration depths as needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
O’Brien, III et al. (US 20170354810): energized needle array with spacer
Unger et al. (US 20020099356): layered microneedle construction
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783