DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III in the reply filed on March 31, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 (now cancelled) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 31, 2025.
New claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 31, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mechanical structure of the gas inlet pipe as amended in claim 1, line 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the “mechanical structure” of the gas inlet pipe. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanical structure” in claim 1 where “structure” is the placeholder and “mechanical” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 and 6-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the invention or the gas distribution cap by being displaced axially in a longitudinal direction of the gas inlet pipe, the first position being a first predetermined connecting position fixed by a mechanical structure of the gas inlet pipe and the gas distribution cap, the second position being a second predetermined connecting position fixed by the mechanical structure of the gas inlet pipe and the gas distribution cap, wherein in the second position the gas distribution cap at least partly closes at least some of the openings as amended in claim 1. In fact, the term “mechanical structure” was not disclosed in the original disclosure. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "each of two pairs" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The preamble of the claims fails to limit the structure of the claimed invention. If the claim preamble, when read in the context of the entire claim, recites limitations of the claim, or, if the claim preamble is ‘necessary to give life, meaning, and vitality’ to the claim, then the claim preamble should be construed as if in the balance of the claim. MPEP 2111.02. The preamble of the claims recites a “fluidized bed reactor.” The recitation “fluidized bed reactor” has been considered to merely indicate the intended use of the nozzle. Fluidized bed reactor is not a positively recited limitation and fails to structurally limit the claimed invention. It is not necessary to give life, meaning, and vitality to the claim because the body of the claim, standing alone, fully describes the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-12, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erickson et al. (US20100162708. Erickson hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Erickson discloses a gas distribution nozzle (Figs. 1-5) for a fluidized bed reactor, comprising:
a gas inlet pipe (12, 14), having
an inner surface (see Figure),
an outer surface (see Figure),
a lower (left) end section (at 32) adapted to (capable of) receive gas from an associated gas source,
an upper end section (at 38), and
a plurality of openings (opening of 16, 42, 44) formed in the gas inlet pipe, each opening of the plurality of openings extending from the inner surface (left side of 34) of the gas inlet pipe to the outer surface (right side of 34) of the gas inlet pipe; and
a gas distribution cap (14, 20, 24, 40) configured to (capable of) be connected to the gas inlet pipe, the gas distribution cap having
an upper top (20),
a lower bottom (left side of 24) arranged at a vertical distance (when 10is rotated counterclockwise for 90°) below the upper top of the gas distribution cap and surrounding the gas inlet pipe (at least 14),
a peripheral wall (of 14) having an inner surface and an outer surface (see Figure) and extending between the upper top of the gas distribution cap and the lower bottom of the gas distribution cap,
outlets (44) within the peripheral wall extending from the inner surface of the peripheral wall to the outer surface of the peripheral wall,
characterized in that
the gas distribution cap can be (capable of) connected at least in a first position (Fig. 2) and in a second position (Fig. 1) to the gas inlet pipe, by being displaced axially (at least the 24) in a longitudinal direction of the gas inlet pipe, the first position being a first predetermined connecting position fixed by a mechanical structure (22, 20) of the gas inlet pipe and the gas distribution cap, the second position being a second predetermined connecting position fixed by the mechanical structure of the gas inlet pipe and the gas distribution cap, wherein in the second position the gas distribution cap at least partly closes at least some of the openings.
With respect to claim 4, Erickson discloses wherein in the first position the gas distribution cap is arranged offset (axially) to the second position in the longitudinal direction.
With respect to claim 9, Erickson discloses the gas distribution nozzle according to claim 1, the plurality of openings of the gas inlet pipe being arranged at least in a first group of openings (44) and a second group of openings (42), the first group of openings and the second group of openings being arranged offset to each other in the longitudinal direction of the gas inlet pipe, wherein in the second position the first group of openings is at least partly closed by the gas distribution cap.
With respect to claim 10, Erickson discloses the gas distribution nozzle according to claim 9, the first group of openings being arranged in a lower (downstream) row extending (radially) in a circumferential direction of the gas inlet pipe, the second group of openings being arranged in an upper (upstream) row extending (radially) in the circumferential direction of the gas inlet pipe.
With respect to claim 11, Erickson discloses the gas distribution nozzle according to claim 1, the gas distribution cap having a collar (40) extending into (groove 26) or (internally) surrounding the upper end section of the gas inlet pipe at least in the second position, whereby the collar at least partly closes (blocking with 20) at least some of the plurality of openings (at downstream).
With respect to claim 12, Erickson discloses the gas distribution nozzle according to claim 1, the outlets (44) of the gas distribution cap and the plurality of openings (at least 42) of the gas inlet pipe being arranged offset to each other in the longitudinal direction of the gas inlet pipe.
With respect to claim 21, Erickson discloses a gas distribution nozzle (Figs. 1-5) for a fluidized bed reactor, comprising:
a gas inlet pipe (12, 14) adapted to (capable of) receive gas from an associated gas source, the gas inlet pipe having a plurality of openings (opening of 16, 42, 44) formed in the gas inlet pipe, each of the plurality of openings extending from an inner surface of the gas inlet pipe to an outer surface of the gas inlet pipe (see Figure) and being disposed in one of one or more (two) rows arranged in a circumferential direction of the gas inlet pipe; and
a gas distribution cap (14, 20, 24, 40) configured to (capable of) be connected to the gas inlet pipe in either of at least two predetermined connecting positions (Figs. 1 or 2), the gas distribution cap including a peripheral wall (of 14) surrounding one (inner) end of the gas inlet pipe, the peripheral wall having outlets (44) extending from an inner surface of the peripheral wall to an outer surface of the peripheral wall to communicate with at least some of the plurality of openings when the gas distribution cap is connected to the gas inlet pipe,
wherein the gas distribution cap is configured to (capable of) be connected to the gas inlet pipe in a first predetermined connecting position (Fig. 2) of the at least two first predetermined connecting is positions and is further configured to be connected to the gas inlet pipe in a second predetermined connecting position (Fig. 1) of the at least two predetermined connecting positions by being displaced axially in a longitudinal direction of the gas inlet pipe,
wherein, in the first predetermined connecting position, the outlets of the peripheral wall communicate with all of the plurality of openings, and
wherein, in the second predetermined connecting position, the gas distribution cap at least partly closes at least one row of the plurality of openings.
With respect to claim 22, Erickson discloses the gas distribution nozzle according to claim 21, wherein each of the first and second predetermined connecting positions is fixed by a mechanical structure (22, 20) of the gas inlet pipe and the gas distribution cap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson in view of Moss et al. (GB1396588. Moss hereinafter).
With respect to claim 22, Erickson discloses the gas distribution nozzle according to claim 1 except for a fluidized bed reactor including a plurality of gas distribution nozzles according to claim 1.
However, Moss teaches a gas distribution nozzle for a fluidized bed reactor, comprising: a gas inlet pipe (11, 21 and 22), having an inner surface (see Figure), an outer surface (see Figure), a lower end section (at 18) adapted to receive gas from an associated gas source, an upper end section (at 19), and a plurality of openings (15, lower opening of 11 and opening of 22 and 21) formed in the gas inlet pipe, each opening of the plurality of openings extending from the inner surface of the gas inlet pipe to the outer surface of the gas inlet pipe; and a gas distribution cap (13 and 14) configured to be connected to the gas inlet pipe, the gas distribution cap having an upper top (see Figure), a lower bottom (see Figure) arranged at a vertical distance below the upper top of the gas distribution cap and surrounding the gas inlet pipe, a peripheral wall (12 and 13) having an inner surface and an outer surface (see Figure) and extending between the upper top of the gas distribution cap and the lower bottom of the gas distribution cap, outlets (16 and 17) within the peripheral wall extending from the inner surface of the peripheral wall to the outer surface of the peripheral wall, characterized in that the gas distribution cap can be connected at least in a first position (fully align 15 with 16 before welding) and in a second position (partially align 15 with 16 vertically and horizontally (or radially) before welding) to the gas inlet pipe and a fluidized bed reactor including a plurality of gas distribution nozzles (fluid distributing orifices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of installing the nozzle into a fluidized bed reactor, as taught by Moss, to Erickson’s nozzle, in order to provide fluid distribution to a fluidized bed reactor (Page 1 right column, line 72 to page 2, left column, line 23).
With respect to claim 14, Erickson’s nozzle added into Moss’ fluidized bed reactor, Erickson and Moss disclose the fluidized bed reactor with gas distribution nozzles as in claim 13 except for wherein the gas distribution nozzles of a first group have their gas distribution caps connected in the first position to their gas inlet pipes and the gas distribution nozzles of a second group have their gas distribution caps connected in the second position to their gas inlet pipes. Since the first position and the second position can be performed by the gas distribution nozzle, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a first group have their gas distribution caps connected in the first position to their gas inlet pipe and the gas distribution nozzles of a second group have their gas distribution caps connected in the second position to their gas inlet pipe in order to provide a desire or even gas distribution as possible into a vessel (A common requirement for a distributor for distributing a fluid into a vessel which is to contain a bed of fluidizable solid particles is that it should distribute the fluid as evenly as Possible into the vessel. Page 1, left column lines 19-23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 18, 2025