Claims 1, 13, 15, and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-3 and 13-24 are pending.
Claims 4-12 are cancelled.
Claims 17, 22, and 23 are withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 13-16, 18-21, and 24 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 8986609 in view of TREXLER (US 2015/0044446 A1).
RAU teaches a method for sterilizing a water-insoluble composition using gamma radiation (claim 1). The method comprises providing the hydrogel and exposing the composition to gamma radiation (claim 1), which is a type of ionizing radiation. The composition comprises a polyethylene glycol (PEG) hydrogel complex (claim 1), which reads on polymer, that is loaded/embedded with small molecule biologically active moieties, that can be drug moieties (claim 5).
RAU teaches the radiation provides sterilization (column 4, paragraph 1).
RAU does not teach using an electron beam.
TREXLER teaches a hydrogel that is loaded with biologically active molecules, such as drugs (page 10, paragraph 0140). TREXLER teaches that electron beam radiation and gamma radiation can be used for sterilization (page 8, paragraph 0124).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate electron beam radiation. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it dan be used with gamma radiation to provide sterilization, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as hydrogels that are drug loaded and sterilized using radiation. Furthermore, RAU has already taught that radiation can be used successfully to sterilize the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 13-16, 18-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAU (US 9,278,139) in view of TREXLER (US 2015/0044446 A1).
Regarding claims 1, RAU teaches a method for sterilizing a water-insoluble composition using gamma radiation (abstract, claim 1, and column 4, paragraph 5). The method comprises providing the composition and exposing the composition to gamma radiation (claim 1), which is a type of ionizing radiation. The composition comprises a polyethylene glycol (PEG) hydrogel complex, which reads on polymer, that is loaded/embedded with small molecule biologically active moieties (column 17, paragraph 3). That can be drug moieties (claim 5).
RAU teaches the radiation provides sterilization (column 4, paragraph 1).
RAU does not teach using an electron beam.
TREXLER teaches a hydrogel that is loaded with biologically active molecules, such as drugs (page 10, paragraph 0140). TREXLER teaches that electron beam radiation and gamma radiation can be used for sterilization (page 8, paragraph 0124).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate electron beam radiation. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it dan be used with gamma radiation to provide sterilization, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as hydrogels that are drug loaded and sterilized using radiation. Furthermore, RAU has already taught that radiation can be used successfully to sterilize the composition.
Regarding claim 3, the composition comprises a polyethylene glycol hydrogel complex (column 17, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 13, RAU teaches using gamma radiation (claim 1) and TREXLER teaches using electron beam radiation (page 8, paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 14, the composition is irradiated (claim 1). Applicant’s specification states “As used herein the term "continuous irradiation" refers to a mode of irradiation in which the total radiation dose is administered without interruption of the ionizing irradiation.” (Applicant’s specification, parge 3, paragraph 2). Therefor being irradiated once would be considered continuous irradiation since no time limit is required to be considered “continuous”.
Regarding claim 15 and 16, the conjugate is irradiated with a dose of 32 kGy (column 17, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 18, the formulation can be irradiated in a dry state (column 24, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 19, the radiation is performed at 25 °C (column 16, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 20 and 21, the composition comprises a hydrogel that is conjugated to small molecule biologically active moieties (claim 5). Multiple drugs can be linked through spacer moieties (column 8, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 24, RAU teaches a water-insoluble conjugate
Claims 1-3, 13-16, 18-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAU (US 9,278,139) and TREXLER (US 2015/0044446 A1) in view of VETTER (US 2015/0290337).
RAU and TREXLER teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
RAU and TREXLER do not teach using a water-insoluble conjugate.
Regarding claim 2, VETTER teaches a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel conjugate (page 9, paragraph 0156) that has biologically active moieties covalently conjugated through a reversible prodrug linker moiety that comprises a chemical bond or a spacer (page 42, paragraph 0541-0559). The hydrogel is sterilized using gamma radiation (page 9, paragraph 0153). The biologically active moieties can be drugs (page 61, paragraph 0781).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel conjugate. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel conjugate and a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel complex are functional equivalents of hydrogels used for drug delivery that can be sterilized using gamma radiation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, The scope of the instant claims is patentably distinct from claims 1 and 5 of the '609 patent, which discloses the beneficial effects of using gamma radiation for irradiating a sample dissolved in a protective solvent with no drug moiety present.
Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because as discussed above, it would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate electron beam radiation. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it dan be used with gamma radiation to provide sterilization, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as hydrogels that are drug loaded and sterilized using radiation. Furthermore, RAU has already taught that radiation can be used successfully to sterilize the composition.
Applicant argues, Rau does not disclose a process for irradiating a water-soluble drug conjugate or complex comprising a drug moiety or drug molecule using electron beam irradiation, as now recited in instant claim 1. Rau appears to select gamma irradiation to sterilize "empty" hydrogels (i.e., hydrogels without a covalently bound drug moiety or non-covalently loaded drug molecule) to avoid the problem of drug moiety/molecule degradation.
The examiner does not find the argument persuasive because the composition can also be irradiated after first being loaded with the biologically active moieties (column 8, paragraph 4).
Applicant argues, Vetter does not teach that a drug conjugate comprising a biologically active moiety (drug moiety/drug molecule) can be sterilized by gamma irradiation.
The examiner does not find the argument persuasive because RAU teaches that the composition can be sterilized using radiation after being loaded. VETTER is not cited for this purpose, but rather just to show that a conjugate is an alternative to a complex for a hydrogel.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618