Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 11/04/2022.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 6-12, 17, and 22-23 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A, B, and C in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-12, 17, and 22-23 are withdrawn for being drawn towards unelected species.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 13-16, 18-21, and 24 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 8986609. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
RAU teaches a method for sterilizing a water-insoluble composition using gamma radiation (claim 1). The method comprises providing the hydrogel and exposing the composition to gamma radiation (claim 1), which is a type of ionizing radiation. The composition comprises a polyethylene glycol (PEG) hydrogel complex (claim 1), which reads on polymer, that is loaded/embedded with small molecule biologically active moieties, that can be drug moieties (claim 5).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 13-16, 19, 18, 19-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RAU (US 9,278,139).
Regarding claims 1 and 24, RAU teaches a method for sterilizing a water-insoluble composition using gamma radiation (abstract, claim 1, and column 4, paragraph 5). The method comprises providing the composition and exposing the composition to gamma radiation (claim 1), which is a type of ionizing radiation. The composition comprises a polyethylene glycol (PEG) hydrogel complex, which reads on polymer, that is loaded/embedded with small molecule biologically active moieties (column 17, paragraph 3). That can be drug moieties (claim 5).
Regarding claim 3, the composition comprises a polyethylene glycol hydrogel complex (column 17, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 4 and 13, the ionizing radiation is gamma radiation (claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, the composition is irradiated (claim 1). Applicant’s specification states “As used herein the term "continuous irradiation" refers to a mode of irradiation in which the total radiation dose is administered without interruption of the ionizing irradiation.” (Applicant’s specification, parge 3, paragraph 2). Therefor being irradiated once would be considered continuous irradiation since no time limit is required to be considered “continuous”.
Regarding claim 15 and 16, the conjugate is irradiated with a dose of 32 kGy (column 17, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 18, the formulation can be irradiated in a dry state (column 24, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 19, the radiation is performed at 25 °C (column 16, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 20 and 21, the composition comprises a hydrogel that is conjugated to small molecule biologically active moieties (claim 5). Multiple drugs can be linked through spacer moieties (column 8, paragraph 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13-16, 19, 18, 19-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAU (US 9,278,139) in view of VETTER (US 2015/0290337).
RAU teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
RAU does not teach using a water-insoluble conjugate.
Regarding claim 2, VETTER teaches a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel conjugate (page 9, paragraph 0156) that has biologically active moieties covalently conjugated through a reversible prodrug linker moiety that comprises a chemical bond or a spacer (page 42, paragraph 0541-0559). The hydrogel is sterilized using gamma radiation (page 9, paragraph 0153). The biologically active moieties can be drugs (page 61, paragraph 0781).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel conjugate. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel conjugate and a PEG based water-insoluble hydrogel complex are functional equivalents of hydrogels used for drug delivery that can be sterilized using gamma radiation.
Claims 1-5, 13-16, 19, 18, 19-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAU (US 9,278,139) and VETTER (US 2015/0290337) in view of DAI (Sterilization techniques for biodegradable scaffolds in tissue engineering applications. Journal of Tissue Engineering. 2016.).
RAU and VETTER teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
RAU and VETTER do not teach using electron beam for the ionizing radiation.
Regarding claim 5, DAI teaches that both gamma and electron beam irradiation are used to sterilize biodegradable polymers (page 3, paragraph 3). Electron beam radiation has the same sterilization effect as gamma radiation, but is known to cause less degradation to materials and can be done in a shorter time (page 3, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate using electron beam for the ionizing radiation. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because electron beam radiation causes less degradation to materials and can be done in a shorter time and reasonably would have expected success because gamma and electron beam irradiation are functional equivalents or irradiation techniques used to sterilize polymers for medical purposes.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618