Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that US20200226420A1 to Shaubi et al doesn’t tech container images because Shaubi looks at semiconductor packages. Remarks 12. Semiconductors contain logic, therefore Shaubi teaches containers as semiconductors.
Applicant argues that Shaubi doesn’t teach cropping. Remarks 12-15. Shaubi paragraph 76 teaches “cropping” images, “ Augmentation of an image from a ‘real world’ training sample can be provided by various image processing techniques including …cropping…”
Applicant argues that a person “would have no reason to define the defect categories in the recited matter to ‘train[] a plurality of neural networks to perform automated visual inspection for’ the specifically claimed defect categories, nor would [they]… have a reasonable expectation of success…” Remarks 16. Image classifiers are used in every technology area to detect defects in all sorts of products. A person would be motivated to use Shaubi’s technology with Amgen’s defect categories to detect unsafe packages before the packages are shipped to consumers. Applicant’s conclusion about expectations of success is Applicant’s opinion and not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 121-124 and 126-129 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being described by US20200226420A1 by Shaubi et al.
Shaubi teaches claim 121. A method for reducing usage of processing resources when training a plurality of neural networks to perform automated visual inspection for a plurality of respective defect categories, with each of the plurality of respective defect categories being associated with a respective feature of containers or container contents, the method comprising: (Shaubi abs “obtaining by a computer a Deep Neural Network (DNN) trained for a given examination-related application within a semiconductor fabrication process, processing together one or more fabrication process (FP) images using the obtained trained DNN, wherein the DNN is trained using a training set comprising synthetic images specific for the given application; and obtaining, by the computer, examination-related data specific for the given application, and characterizing at least one of the processed one or more FP images.” The container is the semiconductor specimen, because it contains the product. Applicant claims a plurality of Neural networks, but all of Applicant’s neural networks that discriminate are represented as one model 1204 in the fig. 12. Therefore, when Shaubi teaches a neural network (DNN) that classifies different defects and trains on different defect categories (Shaubi para 89), Shaubi is teaching the “plurality of neural networks” as claimed.)
obtaining, by one or more processors, a plurality of container images; (Shaubi para 87 “obtaining (401) “real world” training samples specific for a given examination-related application within a semiconductor fabrication process;”)
generating, by one or more processors processing the plurality of container images, a plurality of training image sets each corresponding to a different one of the plurality of container images, wherein for each training image set associated with a respective feature of containers or container contents, (Shaubi para 87 ‘using the obtained “real world” training samples to generate (402) one or more synthetic images specific for the given examination-related application;” Shaubi para 76 “ Augmentation of an image from a ‘real world’ training sample can be provided by various image processing techniques including …cropping…” The cropped area is the first feature.)
generating the training image set includes generating a different training image for each of the plurality of respective defect categories, (Shaubi para 87 ‘using the obtained “real world” training samples to generate (402) one or more synthetic images specific for the given examination-related application;” The defect category is the Shaubi’s examination-related application, Shaubi para 89 “enable tailoring the generated training set to the requirements of the specific application. By way of non-limiting example, lack of FAB data related to a specific class of defects (e.g. a minority class)…”)
generating a different training image for each of the plurality of respective defect categories includes generating a first training image for a first defect category associated with a first feature, and (Shaubi para 87 ‘using the obtained “real world” training samples to generate (402) one or more synthetic images specific for the given examination-related application;” The defect category is the Shaubi’s examination-related application, Shaubi para 89 “enable tailoring the generated training set to the requirements of the specific application. By way of non-limiting example, lack of FAB data related to a specific class of defects (e.g. a minority class)…” The minority class is the class of defects.)
generating the first training image includes
identifying the first feature in the container image that corresponds to the training image set using an object detection technique, and (Shaubi para 89 “ lack of FAB data related to a specific class of defects (e.g. a minority class) can be compensated by synthetic images presenting the respective defects. By way of a further non-limiting example, lack of appropriate FAB data related to a specific layer can be compensated by synthetic images related to this layer.”)
cropping the container image that corresponds to the training image set to generate the first training image such that the first training image (i) encompasses only a portion of the container image that corresponds to the training image set, (ii) depicts the identified first feature, and (iii) excludes areas of the container not relevant to the first feature; and (Shaubi para 89 “lack of appropriate FAB data related to a specific layer can be compensated by synthetic images related to this layer.” Shaubi para 76 “ Augmentation of an image from a ‘real world’ training sample can be provided by various image processing techniques including …cropping…” The cropped area is the first feature. A crop excludes other areas of the image.)
training, by one or more processors and using the plurality of training image sets, the plurality of neural networks to perform automated visual inspection for the plurality of defect categories. (Shaubi abs “obtained trained DNN, wherein the DNN is trained using a training set comprising synthetic images…”)
Shaubi teaches claim 122. The method of claim 121, wherein training the plurality of neural networks includes training each of the plurality of neural networks to infer a presence or absence of defects in a different one of the plurality of respective defect categories. (Shaubi para 89 “lack of FAB data related to a specific class of defects (e.g. a minority class) can be compensated by synthetic images presenting the respective defects. By way of a further non-limiting example, lack of appropriate FAB data related to a specific layer can be compensated by synthetic images related to this layer. By way of yet a further non-limiting example, synthetic images can be generated to recover missing information of a specific defect. For example, if a defect was missing only a high-resolution image, the synthetic image generator might be initialized with existing data and simulate the missing high resolution image.” The abstract says that the DNN is trained on these training sets.)
Shaubi teaches claim 123. The method of claim 122, wherein training each of the plurality of neural networks includes, for each of the plurality of training image sets, using a different training image to train a different one of the plurality of neural networks. (Applicant claims a plurality of Neural networks, but all of Applicant’s neural networks that discriminate are represented as one model 1204 in the fig. 12. Therefore, when Shaubi teaches a neural network (DNN) that classifies different defects and trains on different defect categories (Shaubi para 89), Shaubi is teaching the “plurality of neural networks” as claimed.)
Shaubi teaches claim 124. The method of claim 121, wherein identifying the first feature includes (i) identifying the first feature using template matching, or (ii) identifying the first feature using blob analysis. (Shaubi para 48 “segmentation of the fabrication process image including partitioning of FP image into segments (e.g. material types, edges, pixel labeling, regions of interest, etc.)…” Segmentation and Regions of interest are blobs.)
Shaubi teaches claim 126. The method of claim 121, wherein:
generating a different training image for each of the plurality of respective defect categories further includes generating a second training image for a second defect category associated with a second feature; and
generating the second training image includes generating the second training image such that the second training image depicts the second feature. (Shaubi para 89 “lack of FAB data related to a specific class of defects (e.g. a minority class) can be compensated by synthetic images presenting the respective defects. By way of a further non-limiting example, lack of appropriate FAB data related to a specific layer can be compensated by synthetic images related to this layer. By way of yet a further non-limiting example, synthetic images can be generated to recover missing information of a specific defect. For example, if a defect was missing only a high-resolution image, the synthetic image generator might be initialized with existing data and simulate the missing high resolution image.” The abstract says that the DNN is trained on these training sets.)
Shaubi teaches claim 127. The method of claim 126, wherein generating the second image includes generating the second image by down-sampling at least a portion of the container image that corresponds to the training image set to a lower resolution. (Shaubi para 76 “Augmentation of an image from a “real world” training sample can be provided by various image processing techniques including adding noise, blurring, geometric transformation (e.g. rotating, stretching, simulating different angles, cropping, scaling, etc.)…” A blur, a stretch, a crop and scaling all include decreasing resolution of the image.)
Shaubi teaches claim 128. The method of claim 126, wherein generating the second training image includes identifying the second feature in the container image that corresponds to the training image set. (Shaubi para 89 “lack of FAB data related to a specific class of defects (e.g. a minority class) can be compensated by synthetic images presenting the respective defects. By way of a further non-limiting example, lack of appropriate FAB data related to a specific layer can be compensated by synthetic images related to this layer. By way of yet a further non-limiting example, synthetic images can be generated to recover missing information of a specific defect. For example, if a defect was missing only a high-resolution image, the synthetic image generator might be initialized with existing data and simulate the missing high resolution image.”)
Shaubi teaches claim 129. The method of claim 121, wherein:
generating the plurality of training image sets each corresponding to a different one of the plurality of container images includes digitally aligning at least some of the plurality of container images, at least in part by resampling the at least some of the plurality of container images; and
digitally aligning at least some of the plurality of container images includes (i) detecting an edge within one or more of the plurality of container edges, and (ii) comparing a position of the detected edge to a position of a reference line. (Shaubi para 48 “defect classification using attributes generated by DNN (defining classes can include modifying and/or updating preexisting class definitions and/or identifying new classes); segmentation of the fabrication process image including partitioning of FP image into segments (e.g. material types, edges, pixel labeling, regions of interest, etc.);…”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 125 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200226420A1 to Shaubi et al and the Aimovig user manual (Amgen).
Shaubi teaches claim 125. The method of claim 121, wherein:
Shaubi doesn’t teach a syringe.
However, Amgen teaches all of these defect categories, including:
(1) the first feature is a meniscus of a fluid within a container, and the first defect category is a presence of one or more particles in or near the meniscus; (Amgen sec. 4 “Do not use the autoinjector if the medicine is cloudy, discolored, or contains flakes or particles.”)
(2) the plurality of container images is a plurality of syringe images, and either:
the first feature is a syringe plunger and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a plunger defect or (ii) a presence of one or more particles on the syringe plunger; (Amgen sec. 4 “Do not use the autoinjector if the medicine is cloudy, discolored, or contains flakes or particles.”)
the first feature is a syringe barrel and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a barrel defect or (ii) a presence of one or more particles within the syringe barrel; (Amgen sec. 4 “Do not use the autoinjector if the medicine is cloudy, discolored, or contains flakes or particles.”)
the first feature is a syringe needle shield and the first defect category is one or both of (i) an absence of the syringe needle shield or (ii) misalignment of the syringe needle shield; or (Amgen p. sec. 5 “Do not use the autoinjector if: [Symbol font/0xB7] the white cap is missing or loose in carton. [Symbol font/0xB7] it has cracks or broken parts, or [Symbol font/0xB7] it has been dropped on a hard surface.”)
the first feature is a syringe flange and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a malformed flange or (ii) a defect on the syringe flange; (Amgen p. sec. 5 “Do not use the autoinjector if: [Symbol font/0xB7] the white cap is missing or loose in carton. [Symbol font/0xB7] it has cracks or broken parts, or [Symbol font/0xB7] it has been dropped on a hard surface.”)
(3) the plurality of container images is a plurality of cartridge images, and either:
the first feature is a cartridge piston and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a piston defect or (ii) a presence of one or more particles on the cartridge piston; (Amgen p. sec. 5 “Do not use the autoinjector if: [Symbol font/0xB7] the white cap is missing or loose in carton. [Symbol font/0xB7] it has cracks or broken parts, or [Symbol font/0xB7] it has been dropped on a hard surface.”)
the first feature is a cartridge barrel and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a barrel defect or (ii) a presence of one or more particles within the cartridge barrel; or (Amgen p. sec. 5 “Do not use the autoinjector if: [Symbol font/0xB7] the white cap is missing or loose in carton. [Symbol font/0xB7] it has cracks or broken parts, or [Symbol font/0xB7] it has been dropped on a hard surface.”)
the first feature is a cartridge flange and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a malformed flange or (ii) a defect on the cartridge flange; or (Amgen p. sec. 5 “Do not use the autoinjector if: [Symbol font/0xB7] the white cap is missing or loose in carton. [Symbol font/0xB7] it has cracks or broken parts, or [Symbol font/0xB7] it has been dropped on a hard surface.”)
(4) the plurality of container images is a plurality of vial images, and either:
the first feature is a vial body and the first defect category is one or both of (i) a body defect or (ii) a presence of one or more particles within the vial body;
the first feature is a vial crimp and the first defect category is a defective crimp; or (Amgen p. sec. 5 “Do not use the autoinjector if: [Symbol font/0xB7] the white cap is missing or loose in carton. [Symbol font/0xB7] it has cracks or broken parts, or [Symbol font/0xB7] it has been dropped on a hard surface.”)
the first feature is a lyophilized cake and the first defect category is a crack or other defect of the lyophilized cake. (Amgen sec. 4 “Do not use the autoinjector if the medicine is cloudy, discolored, or contains flakes or particles.”)
Amgen, Shaubi and the claims are all directed to image processing to detect package defects. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to use Amgen’s defect categories to detect unsafe packages before the packages are shipped to consumers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142