DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11, 14, 16-17, 19-20, 24, and 29 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election of the species of a “placental ASC” of claim 1 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-13, 18, 25-27, and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Claims 8-9, 11, 17, 19, 20, and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11-14, 16-20, 24-27, 29, and 32 are currently pending.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-17, 19-20, 24, 26-27, 29, and 32 are amended.
Claims 8-9, 11-13, 17-20, 24-27 and 32 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 3-4, 6-7, 10, 15, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 5, 14, 16, and 29 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 contains limitations which are non-elected species. The elected species of a placental ASC is seen in item i. (b) a cultured placental ASC. Claim 1 is being effectively read as:
A method of enhancing a cellular or physiological function in a subject in need thereof, comprising contacting said subject with i. (b) a cultured placental ASC, thereby enhancing a cellular or physiological function in a subject.
Claim 5 contains two limitations, “where said cellular function is cellular aerobic respiration” and “said subcellular fraction comprises a naked or an encapsulated mitochondrion”. The second limitation containing a “subcellular fraction” is limiting a currently non-elected species of claim 1, and therefore the limitation is not being considered in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 14, 16, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prather et al (Cytotherapy, 2009).
Regarding claim 1, Prather teaches a method of enhancing a cellular or physiological function in a subject in need thereof through contacting the subject with cultured placental adherent stromal cells (ASC), termed PLX-PAD by Prather (pg. 430, col. 1, para 3; and pg. 428, col. 2, para 3). Prather teaches that the PLX-PAD are administered through intramuscular injection as required by claim 2 (pg. 430, col. 1, para 3). Prather teaches that ASCs are isolated from placental tissue, grown on a 2D substrate, and subsequently grown in a 3D culture in a bioreactor; which results in the PLX-PAD as required by claims 14 and 16 (pg. 428, col. 2, para 3). Prather also teaches that the PLX-PAD express CD73, CD90, CD29, and CD105 and do not express CD14, CD19, and CD34 as required by claim 29 (pg. 429, Table 1). Prather teaches that the method results in the enhancing a cellular or physiological function, and that the cellular function is aerobic respiration through Figure 7. Figure 7 depicts results of testing oxidative stress and endothelial inflammation in subject administered control (PBS) and PLX-PAD treatment, in which the treatment group showed a reduction in both oxidative stress and endothelial inflammation. Prather teaches that the decrease in endothelial inflammation is “due to an increased oxygen supply in mice treated with PLX-PAD cells but not in control mice treated with PBS”, which meets the claimed requirements of an increase of aerobic respiration as required by claim 5 (pg. 433, Fig. 7 description).
Therefore, Prather anticipates the claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/ANOOP K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632