DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previous 112(f) claim interpretation remains.
In light of the amendments, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
In light of the amendments, claims 17-21, 27, 29-31, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
In light of the amendments, claims 22-26, 28, 32-33, and 36-39 do not have art rejections.
Notice to Applicant
In the amendment dated 08/16/2026, the following has occurred: claim 17, 22, and 26 have been amended; claims 1-16 remain canceled; claims 18-21, 23-25, and 27-39 remain unchanged; and no new claims have been added.
Claims 17-39 are pending.
Effective Filing Date: 05/11/2020
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation:
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the previous claim interpretation, however there are no arguments to support this assertation. The previous 112(f) claim interpretation remains.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections:
Applicant amended the claims to overcome the previous 112(b) claim rejections. Examiner withdraws these rejections.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
Applicant argues with respect to the added limitations of the identification device where the device is interchangeable between people of the same group. This limitation has been addressed using additional art.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a reading device” in at least claim 17 (page 7, lines 15-20 of the specification describes the corresponding structure), “a medical apparatus” in at least claims 27 and 28 (page 4, lines 15-20 of the specification describes the corresponding structure of this apparatus to be consisting of three apparatuses), “one or more treatment apparatuses” in at least claim 17 (page 21, lines 11-17 of the specification describes the corresponding structure), “one or more diagnostic apparatuses” in at least claim 17 (page 21, lines 19-26 of the specification describes the corresponding structure), “one or more medical clinic apparatuses” in at least claim 17 (page 22, lines 4-8 of the specification describes the corresponding structure), “an authorization device” in at least claim 17 (page 47, lines 14-20 of the specification describes the corresponding structure), and “an identification device” in at least claim 19 (page 17, lines 24-33 of the specification describes the corresponding structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 17-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 17 recites “wherein the identification devices assigning the individuals to the group are interchangeable between the individuals of the group” but the specification does not recite this, leading Examiner to question whether Applicant had possession over the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 18-39 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-21, 27, 29-31, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2014/0297371 to Colburn et al. in view of U.S. 2017/0004259 to Robinson et al. further in view of U.S. 2020/0372743 to Miller et al.
As per claim 17, Colburn et al. teaches a medical treatment system, comprising:
--a plurality of identification devices configured to be carried by individuals from a population of individuals including a healthcare professional, (see: paragraph [0111] where there is at least one identification device in the form of a RFID tag containing a personal identification string for each MW) wherein each identification device is configured to be carried by one individual from the population of individuals, (see: paragraph [0111] where each MW here carries a permanent worker-badge) wherein individuals belonging to a group carry identification devices assigning them to the group; (see: paragraph [0111] where there MWs here belong to the workers group and carrying the badge here indicates an assigning of that individual to the workers group)
--a reading device programmed to gather information, including information that the healthcare professional is carrying at least one identification device, (see: paragraph [0015] where there is a standoff reader configured to read a plurality of RFID tags. Also see: paragraph [0059] where there is a reading device to scan codes. Also see: FIG. 8 where there is sanitation data being gathered) which assigns the healthcare professional to the group; (see: paragraph [0111] where the data of the MW of the RFID serves to assign the MW to a job type such as a doctor or doctors, a nurse of nurses, an aide of aides, etc.)
--a medical apparatus, comprising one or more medical clinic apparatuses; (see: paragraph [0056] where there is a medical apparatus of a medical clinic apparatus of a sanitizer dispensing station/scrub station) and
--an authorization device for allowing or prohibiting one or more activities (see: paragraph [0047] where there is an authorization device which can allow or prohibit the interaction from occurring in the form of an authorization of access to proceed with the MP).
Though the embodiment above discusses the storing of the healthcare information in a limited manner, it is still supported in another embodiment. Colburn et al. further teach in another embodiment that:
--wherein the identification device does not store information concerning the identity of the individual carrying the identification device (see: paragraph [0059] where barcode readers or QR codes could be used for MW identification. These codes do not physically store the information concerning the identity of the patient).
Colburn et al. may not further, specifically teach:
1) --wherein the identification devices assigning the individuals to the group are interchangeable between the individuals of the group;
2) --a medical apparatus, comprising one or more treatment apparatuses for treating a patient, one or more diagnostic apparatuses for examining the patient; and
3) --an authorization device for allowing or prohibiting one or more activities with or on the medical apparatus and one or more movements of the healthcare professional in a vicinity of the medical apparatus depending on the information provided by the reading device and depending on a determination of whether an authorization has been granted to the healthcare professional,
4) --wherein the determination of whether the authorization has been granted to the healthcare professional includes determining whether all information gathered from the reading device fulfils predetermined requirements, including whether the healthcare professional has come into contact with a person who is infectious,
5) --wherein the one or more movements are those of the healthcare professional entering an area or stepping inside a room, and wherein the authorization device is configured to prohibit the one or more activities and the one or more movements by automatically locking a door to the area or room upon a determination that the authorization has not been granted.
Mullens et al. teaches:
1) --wherein the identification devices assigning the individuals to the group are interchangeable between the individuals of the group (see: column 1, line 61 to column 2, line 11 and column 5, line 65 to column 6, line 27 where there is assignment of cards to individuals and these cards are interchangeable as these cards have to be assigned to other individuals in the groups such as other customers/employees/supervisors).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have 1) wherein the identification devices assigning the individuals to the group are interchangeable between the individuals of the group as taught by Mullens et al. in the system as taught by Colburn et al. with the motivation(s) of controlling access to a room (see: column 1, lines 21-32 of Mullens et al.).
Robinson et al. teaches:
2) --a medical apparatus, comprising one or more treatment apparatuses for treating a patient, (see: paragraph [0006] where there is a medical apparatus comprising a treatment apparatus in the form of a computer used to treat a patient) one or more diagnostic apparatuses for examining the patient (see: paragraph [0006] where there is a diagnostic apparatus in the form of a computer).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include 2) a medical apparatus, comprising one or more treatment apparatuses for treating a patient and one or more diagnostic apparatuses for examining the patient as taught by Robinson et al. in the system of Colburn et al. and Mullens et al. in combination since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case the combination of Colburn et al. and Mullens et al. teaches of using a medical apparatus and adding more apparatus to the present apparatus would maintain the same functionality of Colburn et al. and Mullens et al. in combination, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Miller et al. teaches:
3) --an authorization device for allowing or prohibiting one or more activities with or on the medical apparatus and one or more movements of the healthcare professional in a vicinity of the medical apparatus depending on the information provided by the reading device and depending on a determination of whether an authorization has been granted to the healthcare professional, (see: 58 of FIG. 4 and paragraph [0008] where there is an authorization device (digital door lock) to unlock and lock the door. Activities and movements within the room are being either allowed or prohibited using the lock system here based on authorization of a user. This is based on the information that is provided by the optical camera to identify the user)
4) --wherein the determination of whether the authorization has been granted to the healthcare professional includes determining whether all information gathered from the reading device fulfils predetermined requirements, including whether the healthcare professional has come into contact with a person who is infectious, (see: paragraph [0033] where the authorization determination here uses an assessment of whether the individual (the healthcare professional) has come into contact with an infectious person. This is a predetermined requirement)
5) --wherein the one or more movements are those of the healthcare professional entering an area or stepping inside a room, (see: paragraph [0019] where the user is seeking to enter through a door (stepping inside a room). The movement here that may be prevented is the movement going into the room) and wherein the authorization device is configured to prohibit the one or more activities and the one or more movements by automatically locking a door to the area or room upon a determination that the authorization has not been granted (see: 58 of FIG. 4 and paragraph [0008] where there is an authorization device (digital door lock) to unlock and lock the door based on the identity and the health status of the individual. The lock here is configured to prohibit activities and movements by locking a door to prevent access to an individual who has access revoked based on their health status).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use 3) an authorization device for allowing or prohibiting one or more activities with or on the medical apparatus and one or more movements of the healthcare professional in a vicinity of the medical apparatus depending on the information provided by the reading device and depending on a determination of whether an authorization has been granted to the healthcare professional and 4) wherein the determination of whether the authorization has been granted to the healthcare professional includes determining whether all information gathered from the reading device fulfils predetermined requirements, including whether the healthcare professional has come into contact with a person who is infectious, and 5) wherein the one or more movements are those of the healthcare professional entering an area or stepping inside a room, and wherein the authorization device is configured to prohibit the one or more activities and the one or more movements by automatically locking a door to the area or room upon a determination that the authorization has not been granted as taught by Miller et al. in the system as taught by Colburn et al., Mullens et al., and Robinson et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of preventing unauthorized access (see: paragraph [0043] of Miller et al.) as Colburn et al. already discusses authorized access of an MP.
As per claim 18, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Miller et al. further teaches wherein the reading device is programmed to capture a movement profile, gait pattern, or gestures of the healthcare professional as information (see: paragraph [0023] where gestures are being tracked).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 19, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Colburn et al. further teaches wherein the identification device is configured to be worn on the body of the healthcare professional (see: paragraph [0059] where there is a worn badge).
As per claim 20, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 19, see discussion of claim 19. Colburn et al. further teaches wherein the identification device includes a card, an identification tag, a bracelet, an implant, clothing, a visual aid, shoes, graphic prints, active or passive transponders, and/or a hand-held device (see: paragraph [0059] where there is an access card/badge).
As per claim 21, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 20, see discussion of claim 20. Colburn et al. further teaches wherein the card comprises a chip or magnetic card (see: FIG. 3A and paragraph [0074] where there is a RFID tag/chip).
As per claim 27, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Robinson et al. further teaches wherein the treatment apparatus is or comprises an infusion pump, a ventilator, an extracorporeal blood treatment apparatus, in particular a dialysis apparatus, hemodialysis apparatus, hemofiltration apparatus or hemodiafiltration apparatus (see: paragraph [0035] where an IV pump may be brought into the room and have a token. The pump can communicate with the computer which is the treatment apparatus, thus the communication with the pump may be considered as part of the apparatus).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 29, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Robinson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more diagnostic apparatuses comprises an X-ray device, a computer tomograph, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), an ultrasound device, a device for endoscopy, a device for impedance measurement, a device for thermography, a gamma camera and/or another device for diagnosis (see: paragraph [0006] where there is another device for diagnosis in the form of a computer).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 30, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 29, see discussion of claim 29. Robinson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more diagnostic apparatuses is programmed to use imaging methods (see: paragraphs [0034] and [0035] where the computer is using/displaying imaging from the imaging device in the patient’s room).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 31, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Robinson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more medical clinic apparatuses comprises a screen for medical monitoring, an ECG device, a medical refrigerator or a medical cooling compartment, and/or a storage device for storing disposable medical articles and/or medical instruments (see: paragraph [0010] where the computer is the apparatus which includes the medical apparatus. The computer here has a screen for medical monitoring).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 34, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Miller et al. further teaches wherein the movements are or encompass, respectively, the healthcare professional approaching the medical apparatus, moving away from the medical apparatus, passing, entering, leaving, and staying in the vicinity of the medical apparatus by the healthcare professional (see: paragraph [0019] where the movement is related to entering the vicinity of the medical apparatus via entering the room. Entering is reflective of the moving within the vicinity of the contents of the room, where the contents of the room being that of a medical apparatus was taught in the independent claim).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 35, Colburn et al., Mullens et al., Robinson et al., and Miller et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Miller et al. further teaches wherein the vicinity of the medical apparatus is or comprises, a predetermined and/or monitored area or a predetermined and/or monitored clinic room, an entrance area, a generally accessible area, an area which may only be entered with authorization, an area in which being present defines a beginning and/or end of work, one or more treatment rooms, one or more monitoring rooms, a room containing the medical apparatus, and/or a route from one to the other of the aforementioned rooms (see: paragraph [0019] where the movement is related to entering the vicinity of the medical apparatus via entering the room. Entering is reflective of the moving within the vicinity of the contents of the room, where the contents of the room being that of a medical apparatus was taught in the independent claim. The vicinity is the room defined by the entrance).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN G.S. SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684