DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8 and 10-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashimo (JP 2012167896 A) and in view of Kim (US 2017/0343269 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Mashimo teaches a refrigerator (see fig. 1), comprising:
a first evaporator (13) for a freezer compartment (for freezer compartment 9, see paragraph 11) to perform heat exchange (see paragraph 12);
a plurality of defrost heaters (21, 35) configured to operate to remove frost formed on the first evaporator (see paragraphs 12-13);
a temperature sensor (frost detecting temperature sensor 23, see paragraph 23) to detect a temperature associated with the first evaporator (see paragraphs 23-24, 15-16);
a refrigerating compartment (compartment 3); a freezer compartment (compartment 9, see paragraph 10); and
a controller (control unit 41) configured to control the defrost heater (see paragraph 22), wherein,
in response to a defrosting operation start time point arriving, the controller is configured:
to perform a defrost operation mode (at time T0, controller 41a starts defrost heater 21 for defrosting, see paragraphs 31-33 and figs. 5-6), including a pre-defrost cooling mode (see below annotated fig. 4), a heat operation mode (see below annotated fig. 4), and a post-defrost cooling mode (see below annotated fig. 4; Also see fall, rise and then fall of temperatures on curves A and B indicating cooling, defrost and cooling modes, below annotated fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-25),
perform a continuous operation mode, in which the defrost heater is continuously turned on (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1, between times T1 and T2, between times T0 and T2; and between times T1 and T3, see figs. 5-8), and a pulse operation mode, in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off based on the defrost operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 repeatedly turned on and off, figs. 7-11, and paragraphs 47-51; Also repeated defrost operations with heaters 21 and 35 are executed by repeatedly turning heaters on and off; also see below annotated figs. 4), and
in response to a temperature change rate detected by the temperature sensor (curve A represents the temperature measured by sensor FD 23, see paragraphs 24-25) sequentially increasing, decreasing, and increasing again while performing the continuous operation mode (see temperature rate increase, decrease and increase sequence, below annotated fig. 4), perform a pulse operation mode, in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 performed after the temperature sequence, see below annotated fig. 4) and wherein
the controller (41) is configured to perform defrost operation modes of the plurality of defrost heaters (at time T0, controller 41a starts defrost heater 21 for defrosting, see paragraphs 31-33 and figs. 5-6) including the continuous operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1, between times T1 and T2, between times T0 and T2; and between times T1 and T3, see figs. 5-8) and the pulse operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 performed after the temperature sequence, see below annotated fig. 4) based on temperature of the freezer compartment (defrost operation modes based detected temperature by FD sensor 23, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 22-30);
wherein the heat operation mode includes:
a first time period in which continuous operation mode is performed (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1 in a continuous operation, see fig. 11),
a second time period in which the pulse operation mode is performed (heater 35 turned on or off in a pulse operation mode between times T1 and T2, after the first time period, see fig. 11),
a third time period in which the defrost heat is turned off after the second time period (heaters 21 and 35 turned off after time T2, see figs. 5-11 after the second time period). In addition, Mashimo teaches that in response to the temperature change rate detected by the temperature sensor being adjusted, after a predetermined time elapses, the controller is configured to perform the pulse operation mode after the defrost heater is turned off (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 performed after defrost heater off state between times t1 and t2 and after the temperature sequence, see above annotated fig. 4); in response to a temperature change rate detected by the temperature sensor being between a first reference value (10 degrees) and a second reference value (-20 degrees) while performing the pulse operation mode, the controller is configured to continuously perform the pulse operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 is performed for an extended time period till time t6 and beyond, see curve C for heater power supply values, see above annotated fig. 4); the controller is also further configured to terminate the pulse operation mode and turn off the defrost heater (at t5 the defrost heaters are turned off, see paragraph 28) in response to the temperature change rate exceeding the first reference value but not the second refence value (exceeding 10 degrees, see fig. 4) while performing the pulse operation mode (heaters off at t5 after temperature change exceeds 10 degrees, see fig. 4); and the controller is also configured to terminate the pulse operation mode and perform the continuous operation mode again in response to the temperature change rate being less than the second reference value while performing the pulse operation mode (in response to the temperature change falling below -20 degrees and towards -30 degrees, controller performs second continuous defrost operation by heater 21 between times t3 and t4 after a previous continuous defrost operation between t2 and t3 by heater 35, see fig. 4; Also see fig. 9, where pulse operation is terminated and continuous defrost operation is performed).
However, Mashimo does not explicitly teach plurality of fans, and turning off the freezer compartment fan during and while heater is turned off.
Kim teaches a refrigerating compartment fan (41); a freezer compartment fan (42, see paragraph 61); a defrost heater (16), wherein the heater operation includes a third time period in which defrost heater is turned off (see heater 16 off state, paragraph 173) after a second time period in which heater was operated (defrost operation performed by heater activation before deactivating the heater, see paragraphs 172-173), and wherein during the third time period (time after second time, see fig. 26), the freezer compartment fan was turned off (see paragraph 173).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a refrigerating compartment fan and a freezer compartment fan for the first and second evaporators of the refrigerating and freezer compartments as taught by Kim to the refrigerator of Lee as modified for the advantage of effectively and efficiently distributing cooling within each compartment to maintain respective temperatures within the refrigerating and freezer compartments. It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the refrigerator of Lee as modified to turn off the freezer compartment fan during the third time period in which the defrost heater is turned off after the second time period based on the teachings of Kim order to precisely maintain the temperature between upper and lower limits for respective refrigerating and freezer compartments and prevent freezer compartment temperature from rising immediately after the defrost operation due to residual heat (see paragraph 183, and fig. 26, Kim).
In regards to claim 4, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that in response to a temperature change rate detected by the temperature sensor being between a first reference value and a second reference value while performing the pulse operation mode, the controller is configured to perform the pulse operation mode and sequentially decrease an on period of the defrost heater (defrost heater on period between t4 and t5 is less than the defrost heater on period between t2 and t3, and between t3 and t4, see fig. 4).
In regards to claim 7, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that in response to performing the continuous operation mode again, the controller is configured to control a duration of the continuous operation mode being performed again to be less than a duration of the continuous operation mode performed before the pulse operation mode (duration of continuous defrost operation between t3 and t4 is less than the duration of continuous defrost operation between t2 and t3, see fig. 4; Also see figs. 5-6 and 9).
In regards to claim 8, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that the refrigerator is configured to provide cooling and only provide heating when defrost is necessary (see paragraphs 2, 6-7, and 10) and that in response to a defrosting operation start time point arriving while performing a normal cooling operation mode (times T0 or T1 as defrost starting points, see figs. 5-11 and see below annotated fig. 4), the controller is configured to perform the defrost operation mode including a pre-defrost cooling mode, a heater operation mode, and a post-defrost cooling mode (fall, rise and then fall of temperatures on curves A and B indicating cooling, defrost and cooling modes, see below annotated fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-25), and perform the continuous operation mode of the defrost heater (see continuous defrost operations by heaters 21, 35, figs. 5-11), and the pulse operation mode, in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (on and off defrost operations by heater 35 before and after continuous defrost operations, see figs. 9-11; and on and off defrost operations by heater 35 with respect to continuous operations by heater 21, before and after continuous operations by heater 21, see figs. 8-10), based on the heater operation mode (based on defrost operations by heaters 21 and 35, see figs. 5-11 and paragraphs 33-51).
In regards to claim 10, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to control a peak temperature arrival time point of the evaporator in response to the continuous operation mode (temperature peak of 10 degrees at time t4 after continuous defrost operation by heaters 21 and/or 35, see below annotated fig. 4) and the pulse operation mode being performed to be later than the peak temperature arrival time point of the evaporator in response to the defrost heater being only continuously turned on in the defrost operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and/or 35 after evaporated peak of 10 degrees at time t4, see below annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 11, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to control a frost removal in response to the continuous operation mode and the pulse operation mode being performed in the defrost operation mode to be greater than a frost removal in response to the defrost heater being only continuously turned on in the defrost operation mode (frost removal time greater between T0 and T1 than time between T1 and T2, see below annotated fig. 10; Also frost removal time T0 to T2, for heaters 21 and 35, is longer than the frost removal time T0 to T1, under continuous defrost mode by heater 21, see below annotated fig. 10).
In regards to claim 12, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to control a heater off time point in response to the continuous operation mode and the pulse operation mode being performed in the defrost operation mode to be later than the heater off time point in response to the defrost heater being only continuously turned on in the defrost operation mode (heater off time point at T1 occurs after a longer period than the heater off time point at T2 after starting the continuous defrost at time T1, see above annotated fig. 10; Also see heater off time points of T2 and T3, figs. 9-11 for heaters operating in both modes in comparison to heater operating in only continuous defrost mode, where the heater off time point is T1 or T2, see figs. 9-11).
In regards to claim 13, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to control a size of an overheat temperature region higher than the defrosting end temperature in response to the continuous operation mode and the pulse operation mode being performed in the defrost operation mode to be less than a size of the overheat temperature region higher than the defrosting end temperature only in response to the defrost heater being only continuously turned on in the defrost operation mode (time difference between t4 and time = 2:41, where the second temperature is reached beyond first temperature, is less than the time difference between t4 and t4, where only continuous defrost operation by heater 35 is performed beyond first temperature, see above annotated fig. 4; Also see above annotated fig. 10 for time T2 beyond time T1; and figs. 5-7 for only continuous defrost operation mode).
In regards to claim 14, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to control a cooling power supply time point according to a normal cooling operation mode in response to the continuous operation mode and the pulse operation mode being performed in the defrost operation mode to be later than the cooling power supply time point according to a normal cooling operation mode only in response to the defrost heater being only continuously turned on in the defrost operation mode (controller 41 is configured to delay the cooling operation time till the end of time T2 due to continuous and pulse defrost operation modes by heater 35; however, the cooling operation time is less delayed by time T1 due to only the continuous defrost operation mode by heater 21, see fig. 10; time T2 is later than time T1, see fig. 10).
In regards to claim 15, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that after the continuous operation mode ends (at time t4), before the pulse operation mode in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (before time t6), in response to a temperature detected by the temperature sensor reaching the defrosting end temperature, the controller is configured to turn on and off the defrost heater at least once after the defrosting end temperature arrives (defrost heater 35 turned on and off between times t4 and t6, after reaching defrost end temperature of 10 degrees, see below annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 16, Mashimo teaches a refrigerator (see fig. 1), comprising:
an evaporator (13) to perform heat exchange (see paragraph 12); a defrost heater (21, 35) to operate to remove frost formed on the evaporator (see paragraphs 12-13); a temperature sensor (frost detecting temperature sensor 23, see paragraph 23) to detect a temperature associated with the evaporator (see paragraphs 23-24, 15-16); a refrigerating compartment (compartment 3); a freezer compartment (compartment 9, see paragraph 10); and
a controller (control unit 41) configured to control the defrost heater (see paragraph 22), wherein,
in response to a defrosting operation start time point arriving, the controller is configured:
to perform a defrost operation mode (at time T0, controller 41a starts defrost heater 21 for defrosting, see paragraphs 31-33 and figs. 5-6), including a pre-defrost cooling mode (see below annotated fig. 4), a heat operation mode (see below annotated fig. 4), and a post-defrost cooling mode (see below annotated fig. 4; Also see fall, rise and then fall of temperatures on curves A and B indicating cooling, defrost and cooling modes, below annotated fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-25),
perform a continuous operation mode, in which the defrost heater is continuously turned on based on the defrost operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1, between times T1 and T2, between times T0 and T2; and between times T1 and T3, see figs. 5-8), and a pulse operation mode, in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off based on the defrost operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 repeatedly turned on and off, figs. 7-11, and paragraphs 47-51; Also repeated defrost operations with heaters 21 and 35 are executed by repeatedly turning heaters on and off; also see below annotated figs. 4),
in response to a temperature change rate (temperature variation as sensed by the sensor, see fig. 4) detected by the temperature sensor sequentially increasing, decreasing, and increasing again while performing the continuous operation mode, after a predetermined time elapses, the controller is configured to perform the pulse operation mode after the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (heaters 21 and 35 are capable of performing the above functional limitations; see above annotated fig. 4, where pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 is performed after defrost heater off state between times t1 and t2 and after the temperature sequence; Also see pulse defrost mode between times T1 and T2 after the continuous defrost mode ending at time T1, fig. 11),
in response to the temperature change rate detected by the temperature sensor being between a first reference value (10 degrees) and a second reference value (-20 degrees) while performing the pulse operation mode, the controller is configured to continuously perform the pulse operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 is performed for an extended time period till time t6 and beyond, see curve C for heater power supply values, see above annotated fig. 4),
in response to the temperature change rate exceeding the first reference value (exceeding 10 degrees, see fig. 4) while performing the pulse operation mode (heaters off at t5 after temperature change exceeds 10 degrees, see fig. 4), the controller is configured to terminate the pulse operation mode and turn off the defrost heater (defrost heaters are capable of turning off and performing the above functional limitations; see fig. 4, wherein at t5 the controller turns off the defrost heaters, see paragraph 28),
in response to the temperature change rate being less than the second reference value while performing the pulse operation mode, terminate the pulse operation mode and perform the continuous operation mode again (in response to the temperature change falling below -20 degrees and towards -30 degrees, controller performs second continuous defrost operation by heater 21 between times t3 and t4 after a previous continuous defrost operation between t2 and t3 by heater 35, see fig. 4; Also see fig. 9, where pulse operation is terminated and continuous defrost operation is performed), and
after the continuous operation mode ends (at time t4), and before a pulse operation mode in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (before time t6), in response to a temperature detected by the temperature sensor reaching the defrosting end temperature, the controller is configured to turn on and off the defrost heater at least once after the defrosting end temperature arrives (defrost heater 35 turned on and off between times t4 and t6, after reaching defrost end temperature of 10 degrees, see above annotated fig. 4);
the controller (41) is configured to perform defrost operation modes of the plurality of defrost heaters (at time T0, controller 41a starts defrost heater 21 for defrosting, see paragraphs 31-33 and figs. 5-6) including the continuous operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1, between times T1 and T2, between times T0 and T2; and between times T1 and T3, see figs. 5-8) and the pulse operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 performed after the temperature sequence, see below annotated fig. 4) based on temperature of the freezer compartment (defrost operation modes based detected temperature by FD sensor 23, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 22-30);
wherein the heat operation mode includes:
a first time period in which continuous operation mode is performed (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1 in a continuous operation, see fig. 11),
a second time period in which the pulse operation mode is performed (heater 35 turned on or off in a pulse operation mode between times T1 and T2, after the first time period, see fig. 11),
a third time period in which the defrost heat is turned off after the second time period (heaters 21 and 35 turned off after time T2, see figs. 5-11 after the second time period).
However, Mashimo does not explicitly teach plurality of fans, and turning off the freezer compartment fan during and while heater is turned off.
Kim teaches a refrigerating compartment fan (41); a freezer compartment fan (42, see paragraph 61); a defrost heater (16), wherein the heater operation includes a third time period in which defrost heater is turned off (see heater 16 off state, paragraph 173) after a second time period in which heater was operated (defrost operation performed by heater activation before deactivating the heater, see paragraphs 172-173), and wherein during the third time period (time after second time, see fig. 26), the freezer compartment fan was turned off (see paragraph 173).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a refrigerating compartment fan and a freezer compartment fan for the first and second evaporators of the refrigerating and freezer compartments as taught by Kim to the refrigerator of Lee as modified for the advantage of effectively and efficiently distributing cooling within each compartment to maintain respective temperatures within the refrigerating and freezer compartments. It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the refrigerator of Lee as modified to turn off the freezer compartment fan during the third time period in which the defrost heater is turned off after the second time period based on the teachings of Kim order to precisely maintain the temperature between upper and lower limits for respective refrigerating and freezer compartments and prevent freezer compartment temperature from rising immediately after the defrost operation due to residual heat (see paragraph 183, and fig. 26, Kim).
In regards to claim 17, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the controller is configured to terminate the heater operation mode (between times t5 and t6 both heaters 21 and 35 are terminated, see paragraph 28) after performing the turning on and off of the defrost heater at least once, and perform the post-defrost cooling mode (see post defrost cooling, below annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 18, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the controller is configured to turn off the defrost heater in response to the temperature detected by the temperature sensor reaching the defrosting end temperature during the continuous operation mode (between times t5 and t6 both heaters 21 and 35 are terminated after continuous defrost operation by heater 35 between t4 and t5, and after reaching defrosting ending temperature of 10 degrees, see fig. 4 and paragraph 28).
In regards to claim 19, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the controller is configured to turn off the defrost heater in response to the temperature detected by the temperature sensor reaching the defrosting end temperature during the continuous operation mode (between times t5 and t6 both heaters 21 and 35 are terminated after reaching defrosting ending temperature of 10 degrees, see fig. 4 and paragraph 28).
In regards to claim 20, Mashimo teaches a refrigerator (see fig. 1), comprising:
a first evaporator (13) for a freezer compartment (for freezer compartment 9, see paragraph 11) to perform heat exchange (see paragraph 12);
a plurality of defrost heaters (21, 35) configured to operate to remove frost formed on the first evaporator (see paragraphs 12-13);
a temperature sensor (frost detecting temperature sensor 23, see paragraph 23) to detect a temperature associated with the first evaporator (see paragraphs 23-24, 15-16);
a refrigerating compartment (compartment 3); a freezer compartment (compartment 9, see paragraph 10); and
a controller (control unit 41) configured to control the defrost heater (see paragraph 22), wherein,
in response to a defrosting operation start time point arriving, the controller is configured:
to perform a defrost operation mode (at time T0, controller 41a starts defrost heater 21 for defrosting, see paragraphs 31-33 and figs. 5-6), including a pre-defrost cooling mode (see below annotated fig. 4), a heat operation mode (see below annotated fig. 4), and a post-defrost cooling mode (see below annotated fig. 4; Also see fall, rise and then fall of temperatures on curves A and B indicating cooling, defrost and cooling modes, below annotated fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-25),
perform a continuous operation mode, in which the defrost heater is continuously turned on (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1, between times T1 and T2, between times T0 and T2; and between times T1 and T3, see figs. 5-8), and a pulse operation mode, in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off based on the defrost operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 repeatedly turned on and off, figs. 7-11, and paragraphs 47-51; Also repeated defrost operations with heaters 21 and 35 are executed by repeatedly turning heaters on and off; also see below annotated figs. 4),
the controller (41) is configured to perform defrost operation modes of the plurality of defrost heaters (at time T0, controller 41a starts defrost heater 21 for defrosting, see paragraphs 31-33 and figs. 5-6) including the continuous operation mode (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1, between times T1 and T2, between times T0 and T2; and between times T1 and T3, see figs. 5-8) and the pulse operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 performed after the temperature sequence, see below annotated fig. 4) based on temperature of the freezer compartment (defrost operation modes based detected temperature by FD sensor 23, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 22-30);
in response to a temperature change rate (temperature variation as sensed by the sensor, see fig. 4) detected by the temperature sensor sequentially increasing, decreasing, and increasing again while performing the continuous operation mode, after a predetermined time elapses, the controller is configured to perform the pulse operation mode after the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (heaters 21 and 35 are capable of performing the above functional limitations; see above annotated fig. 4, where pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 is performed after defrost heater off state between times t1 and t2 and after the temperature sequence; Also see pulse defrost mode between times T1 and T2 after the continuous defrost mode ending at time T1, fig. 11),
in response to the temperature change rate detected by the temperature sensor being between a first reference value (10 degrees) and a second reference value (-20 degrees) while performing the pulse operation mode, the controller is configured to continuously perform the pulse operation mode (pulse defrost operation by heaters 21 and 35 is performed for an extended time period till time t6 and beyond, see curve C for heater power supply values, see above annotated fig. 4),
in response to the temperature change rate exceeding the first reference value (exceeding 10 degrees, see fig. 4) while performing the pulse operation mode (heaters off at t5 after temperature change exceeds 10 degrees, see fig. 4), the controller is configured to terminate the pulse operation mode and turn off the defrost heater (defrost heaters are capable of turning off and performing the above functional limitations; see fig. 4, wherein at t5 the controller turns off the defrost heaters, see paragraph 28),
in response to the temperature change rate being less than the second reference value while performing the pulse operation mode, terminate the pulse operation mode and perform the continuous operation mode again (in response to the temperature change falling below -20 degrees and towards -30 degrees, controller performs second continuous defrost operation by heater 21 between times t3 and t4 after a previous continuous defrost operation between t2 and t3 by heater 35, see fig. 4; Also see fig. 9, where pulse operation is terminated and continuous defrost operation is performed), and after the continuous operation mode ends (at time t4), and before a pulse operation mode in which the defrost heater is repeatedly turned on and off (before time t6);
wherein the heat operation mode includes:
a first time period in which continuous operation mode is performed (heaters 21 and 35 turned on between times T0 and T1 in a continuous operation, see fig. 11),
a second time period in which the pulse operation mode is performed (heater 35 turned on or off in a pulse operation mode between times T1 and T2, after the first time period, see fig. 11),
a third time period in which the continuous operation mode is performed again after performing the pulse operation mode (heater 35 turned operated in a continuous mode between times T1 and T2 after pulse mode until time T1, see fig. 10).
a fourth time period in which the defrost heat is turned off after the third time period (heaters 21 and 35 turned off after time T2, see figs. 5-11 after the second time period).
However, Mashimo does not explicitly teach plurality of fans, and turning off the freezer compartment fan during and while heater is turned off.
Kim teaches a refrigerating compartment fan (41); a freezer compartment fan (42, see paragraph 61); a defrost heater (16), wherein the heater operation includes a third time period in which defrost heater is turned off (see heater 16 off state, paragraph 173) after a second time period in which heater was operated (defrost operation performed by heater activation before deactivating the heater, see paragraphs 172-173), and wherein during the third time period (time after second time, see fig. 26), the freezer compartment fan was turned off (see paragraph 173).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a refrigerating compartment fan and a freezer compartment fan for the first and second evaporators of the refrigerating and freezer compartments as taught by Kim to the refrigerator of Lee as modified for the advantage of effectively and efficiently distributing cooling within each compartment to maintain respective temperatures within the refrigerating and freezer compartments. It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the refrigerator of Lee as modified to turn off the freezer compartment fan during the third time period in which the defrost heater is turned off after the second time period based on the teachings of Kim order to precisely maintain the temperature between upper and lower limits for respective refrigerating and freezer compartments and prevent freezer compartment temperature from rising immediately after the defrost operation due to residual heat (see paragraph 183, and fig. 26, Kim).
In regards to claim 22, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 20 and further teaches that in response to performing the continuous operation mode again, the controller is configured to control a duration of the continuous operation mode being performed again to be less than a duration of the continuous operation mode performed before the pulse operation mode (duration of continuous defrost operation between t3 and t4 is less than the duration of continuous defrost operation between t2 and t3, see fig. 4; Also see figs. 5-6 and 9).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashimo in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Sanders (US 2019/0257567 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Mashimo as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 except as a number of opening times of a cooling compartment door increase, the controller is configured to decrease a duration of the defrost operation mode.
However, Sanders teaches that the controller (50) is configured to decrease a duration associated with defrost operation mode (reduce a duration between defrost by 0.75 in region 3, see fig. 4) when the number of opening times of a cooling compartment door increase (when the door openings move from less than 5 to more than 5, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 32-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Mashimo to decrease a duration of the defrost operation mode as a number of opening times of a cooling compartment door increases based on the teachings of Sanders in order to continuously assess frost accumulation condition at the evaporator before initiating or continuing a defrost mode because frequent opening of the door also increases the temperature of the refrigerator compartment along with humidity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "in Mashimo, heater 35 is not a defrost heater as claimed in claim 1 rather heater 35 is a gutter heater," examiner maintains the rejection of claims 1, 16 and 20 and points out that first heater (21) is a defrost heater configured to remove frost formed on the evaporator and second heater (35) is a also a defrost heater configured to remove frost that was formed on the evaporator and that still needs melting below the evaporator (see fig. 2). Therefore, Mashimo discloses pulse operation for the evaporator defrost heater that is configured to remove frost that was formed on the evaporator.
In response to applicant's argument, "in Kim, compartment fans should not be off because after that fans are turned off, air in the compartment is circulated in step S160," examiner maintains the rejection of claims 1, 16 and 20 and points out that compartment fan operations in later stages of the defrost or post defrost operations does not affect the earlier off state of the compartment fans after completion of the defrost operation (as mentioned by the applicant and taught by Kim, paragraph 173). Kim still teaches tuning the compartment fans off when defrost operation is finished. Therefore, applicant’s argument regarding later fan operations is not persuasive. In figure 23, of Kim fans are turned on at step S160; however, the fan are turned off towards the end of the defrost operation at S150 (as evident from step S160, which comes after steps S150, and S130, fig. 23, Kim).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "Mashimo is silent about defrost heater 21 operating between times t0 and t1, which is the alleged duration for continuous operation mode," examiner maintains the rejection of claims 1, 16 and 20 and points out that the duration for continuous operation during which both heaters (21 and 35) are operational is described in figure 11 (Mashimo), where between times T0 and T1, both heaters are operational (see below fig. 11, Mashimo). No pulse heater operation occurs until time T1 for both heaters 21 and 35, rather both heaters are operated in a continuous manner between times T0 and T1 (see below fig. 11, Mashimo).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "in Mashimo, heater 21 never performs pulse operation mode," examiner maintains the rejection of claims 1, 16 and 20 and points out that earlier applicant argued that during times t1 to t6, heater 21 stops operation multiples times (see pages 7, last paragraph of Remarks), and later applicant argues a contrary position. Also see above annotated figure 4 for on and off operations of heater 35 before and after time t6, which the applicant argues that heater 35 does not perform.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763