Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20, 24-25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little et al. (US 2018/0227689) (hereinafter “Little”) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0272439) (hereinafter “Zheng”) and Zhang et al (CN 205336542).
Regarding claim 17, Little teaches a loudspeaker (¶[0023]: loudspeaker 100) comprising: a membrane (¶[0023]: diaphragm 108) with a central hole (FIG. 1: the diaphragm 108 includes a central hole in which the voice coil 106 is positioned) and no further perforations (FIG. 1: diaphragm 108 does not include any other perforations besides the central hole where the voice coil 106 is positioned) and having a front surface (FIG. 1: the upper surface of the diaphragm 108 facing the listening environment, as shown by the figure below) facing in a forward direction (FIG. 1: the direction which sound emanates outward to the listening environment) for producing sound to be radiated outwardly from the loudspeaker in said forward direction (¶[0023]: the diaphragm 108 generates sound outwards towards the listening environment) and a back surface (FIG. 1: the lower surface of the diaphragm facing the frame 102, as shown in the figure below) facing in a backward direction (FIG. 1: the direction towards the frame 102) opposite to said forward direction (FIG. 1: the surface of the diaphragm facing the frame 102 faces a direction towards the frame 102 which is opposite of the direction from which sound emanates outward toward the listening environment), a magnet unit (¶[0023]: magnetic structure 104) configured to provide a magnetic field (¶¶[0023]-[0024]: the magnetic field created by an electrical signal applied to the magnetic structure 104) in a predetermined region of space (¶¶[0023]-[0024]: the magnetic structure 104 creates a magnetic field which drives the voice coil 106 in response to an electrical signal), a voice coil (¶[0023]: voice coil 106) rigidly connected to said membrane (¶[0023]: the voice coil 106 is coupled to the diaphragm 108), said voice coil (¶[0023]: voice coil 106) being configured to produce in use a magnetic field (¶¶[0023]-[0024]: the magnetic field produced by the voice coil 106) which interacts with said magnetic field (¶¶[0023]-[0024]: the magnetic field created by an electrical signal applied to the magnetic structure 104) provided by said magnet unit (¶[0023]: magnetic structure 104) in said predetermined region of space (¶¶[0023]-[0024]: the space surrounding the magnetic structure 104) so as to move said membrane (¶[0023]: diaphragm 108) along a longitudinal axis of the loudspeaker (¶¶[0023]-[0024]: the magnetic structure 104 creates a magnetic field which drives the voice coil 106 in response to an electrical signal so as to move the diaphragm 108 a longitudinal axis), a lead wire (¶[0026]: terminal lead 110) configured to input a signal (¶[0026]: the audio input signals) to said voice coil (¶¶[0026]-[0028]: the terminal lead 110 carries the audio input signal to the voice coil 106), wherein that said lead wire (¶[0026]: terminal lead 110) is guided to said voice coil (¶[0023]: voice coil 106) via one or more deformed holders (¶¶[0026]-[0028]: the terminal lead 110 is guided to the voice coil 106 via a coupler 114), said deformed holders (¶[0028]: coupler 114) forming an integral part of said membrane (¶[0037]: the diaphragm 108 may be fabricated with coupler 114 integrally formed on its lower surface),
wherein said lead wire (¶[0026]: terminal lead 110) remains at a single surface of said membrane (FIG. 1: the surface of the coupler 114 which is a part of the diaphragm 108) without perforating said membrane (FIG. 1: the terminal lead 110 remains at the surface of the coupler 114 and does not perforate the diaphragm 108); however Little is silent to a lead wire configured to be directly guided to said voice coil, and wherein the lead wire is connected to the voice coil at a location of a voice coil former.
Zheng teaches a loudspeaker (FIG. 1: loudspeaker 1) comprising a wire (wire 91, fig. 3) connected to a voice coil (¶[0048]: voice coil 33) at a location of a voice coil former (¶[0049]: a conductive sheet 34 is fixedly disposed on the outer bobbin 31, and alternatively, the conductive sheet 34 is a tin foil, and the tin foil is welded to the outer bobbin 31. The coil 33 is electrically connected to the conductive sheet 34, and circuit leads 91 are provided on the damper 9, the conductive sheet 34 is electrically connected to the circuit leads 91, and the circuit leads 91 are configured to be electrically connected to external devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Little in order to provide an ultra-thin speaker, Ultra-thin speakers are required for ultra-thin electronic products such as ultra-thin liquid crystal displays.
Little in view of Zheng does not teach the holders including parallel sides in the direction of the lead wire and being molded to the lead wire to guide the lead wire.
Zhang teach the holders including parallel sides in the direction of the lead wire and being molded to the lead wire to guide the lead wire (see fig 2, e.g., lead wire 101 is guided through plug 12 which has parallel sides in the direction of wire 101). The meaning of the term molded can be interpreted as “to fit the contours of” the lead wire.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Little in view of Zheng in order to improve the product quality, improves the working efficiency and reduces the voice coil wire radian locating fixture production cost.
Regarding claim 18, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang teaches the loudspeaker as in claim 17. Little further teaches wherein said holders (¶[0028]: coupler 114) are disposed at said back surface of said membrane (¶¶[0031], [0037]: the diaphragm 108 may be fabricated with coupler 114 integrally formed on its lower surface).
Regarding claim 19, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang teaches the loudspeaker as in claim 17. Little further teaches wherein said holders (¶[0028]: coupler 114) are made of plastic (¶[0037]: the coupler 114 may be plastic).
Regarding claim 20, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang teaches the loudspeaker as in claim 19; however, Little in view of Zheng is silent to wherein said holders are made of polypropylene. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Little in view of Zheng to include wherein said holders are made of polypropylene since Little teaches the coupler being made of plastic (Little, ¶[0037]) and polypropylene is a ubiquitous plastic found in common goods. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include this modification to provide a holders that are highly resistant to chemicals.
Regarding claim 24, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang teaches the loudspeaker as in claim 17. Zheng further teaches a dust cap (see the abstract) attached to said membrane (see para 32, 35, 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Little to include a dust cap attached to said membrane, as taught by Zheng. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include this modification to protect the internals of the loudspeaker from dust and debris.
Regarding claim 25, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang teaches the loudspeaker as in claim 24. Zheng further teaches wherein said dust cap (see the abstract) is integrated in said membrane (see para 32, 35, 40).
Regarding claim 27, Zheng further teaches lead wire is soldered on a solder pad on the voice coil former establishing the rigid connection of said voice coil to said membrane (¶[0049]: a conductive sheet 34 is fixedly disposed on the outer bobbin 31, and alternatively, the conductive sheet 34 is a tin foil, and the tin foil is welded to the outer bobbin 31. The coil 33 is electrically connected to the conductive sheet 34, and circuit leads 91 are provided on the damper 9, the conductive sheet 34 is electrically connected to the circuit leads 91, and the circuit leads 91 are configured to be electrically connected to external devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Little in view of Zheng and Zhang to include wherein the lead wire is soldered on a solder pad on the voice coil former establishing the rigid connection of said voice coil to said membrane, as taught by well-known and conventional practices in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include this modification to provide a robust connection between the wire and the voice coil.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little in view of Zheng and Zhang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Corynen (US 7,599,511).
Regarding claim 26, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang teaches the loudspeaker as in claim 17; however, Little in view of Zheng and Zhang is silent to wherein said membrane has a pattern of folds. Corynen teaches a membrane (col. 3 lines 56-61: membrane 103) comprising a pattern of folds (col. 3 lines 56-61: membrane 103 has a flat membrane body 104 provided with a pattern of radial folds 104c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Little in view of Zheng and Zhang to include wherein said membrane has a pattern of folds, as taught by Corynen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include this modification to reduce the loudspeaker’s height (col. 1 lines 56-60).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DUC NGUYEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691