DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 3-4, 7, 11-12, 15, 18-20 25, 27, 29, 32, 35, 38, 40, 42, 70, 72 and 77 were amended (7/7/2023). Claims 6, 8-10, 13, 16-17, 21-24, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 43-45, 47-6971, 73-76 and 78-102 were cancelled (7/7/2023). Claims 1-5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 18-20, 25-27, 29, 32, 35-42, 46, 70, 72 and 77 are under examination.
Priority
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 18-20, 25-27, 29, 32, 35-42, 46, 70, 72 and 77 receive a priority date of 5/5/2020, the effective filing date of US Provisional 63020115
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure
statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information
submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be
incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless
the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been
considered.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/10/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (see MPEP § 608.01):
The use of the terms “Bangs Laboratories, Fishers Ind.” (p.27), “Illumina” (p. 27), and “Agilent” (p. 28) and which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 46, 70, 72 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 is rejected. Claim 46 recites the limitation "the type" in step (f) at line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is indistinguishable from “the first base type” and “the second base type” previously included in the instant claim.
Claims 70, 72, and 77 are included in this rejection due to their dependency on claim 46.
Claim 70 is further rejected. Claim 70 recites the limitation "the primer" in step (g) at line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 72 and 77 are included in this rejection due to their dependency on claim 70.
Claim 72 is further rejected. Claim 72 recites the limitation “the extended primer” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 18-20, 25-27, 29, 32, 35-42, 46, 70, 72 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nesbit et al. (US PGPub 2007/0197538 A1; published 8/23/2007).
Regarding claim 1, Nesbit teaches an invention relating to the modulation and/or inhibition of cell signaling, cell proliferation, extracellular matrix production, chemotaxis, the control of abnormal cell growth and cell inflammatory response and more specifically, this invention relates to the use of substituted quinoxaline compounds which exhibit selective inhibition of differentiation, proliferation or mediator release by effectively inhibiting platelet-derived growth factor-receptor (PDGF-R) tyrosine kinase activity and/or Lck tyrosine kinase activity (Abstract). Further, Nesbit teaches that the previously described invention can be applied to cytosine arabinoside-cytarabine commercialized under Cytosar-U which is an antimetabolite specific for cells in the S-phase of the cell cycle, which acts through inhibition of DNA polymerase and cytosine incorporation into DNA and RNA, as well as Daunorubicin, which is also named Cerubidine and Idarubicin or Idamycin which are topoisomerase-II inhibitors, inhibiting DNA and RNA polymerase (Paragraph 49, lines 1-5). Specifically, Nesbit teaches that Topoisomerase II inhibitors include, but are not limited to, epipodophyllotoxins. Epipodophyllotoxins are phase specific anti-neoplastic agents derived from the mandrake plant, where epipodophyllotoxins typically affect cells in the S and G2 phases of the cell cycle by forming a ternary complex with topoisomerase 11 and DNA causing DNA strand breaks (Paragraph 399, lines 1-5).
Nesbit also teaches that in another aspect, the DNA sequence of the invention is integrated within a replicable expression vector, which is understood to mean any nucleic acid comprising a nucleotide sequence of interest and competent to be incorporated into a host cell and to be recombined with and integrated into the host cell genome, or to replicate autonomously as an episome and such vectors include linear nucleic acids, plasmids, phagemids, cosmids and the like which are within the knowledge of a skilled person in the art (Paragraph 366, lines 1-10). Nesbit also teaches that metal salts of compounds of the present invention may be obtained by contacting a hydride, hydroxide, carbonate or similar reactive compound of the chosen metal in an aqueous or organic solvent with the free acid form of the compound where the aqueous solvent employed may be water or it may be a mixture of water with an organic solvent, preferably an alcohol such as methanol or ethanol, a ketone such as acetone, aliphatic ether such as tetrahydrofuran, or an ester such as ethyl acetate (Paragraph 291, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Nesbit teaches that where the compound of the invention is substituted with an acidic moiety, base addition salts may be formed and are simply a more convenient form for use; and in practice, use of the salt form inherently amounts to use of the free acid form (Paragraph 290, lines 1-5). Specifically, Nesbit teaches that pharmaceutically acceptable salts, including for example alkali and alkaline earth metal salts, within the scope of the invention are those derived from the following bases: sodium hydride, sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, aluminum hydroxide, lithium hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, zinc hydroxide, ammonia, trimethylammonia, triethylammonia, ethylenediamine, n-methyl-glucamine, lysine, arginine, omithine, choline, N,N'-dibenzylethylenediamine, chloroprocaine, diethanolamine, procaine, n-benzylphenethylamine, diethylamine, piperazine, tris(hydroxymethyl)-aminomethane, tetramethylammonium hydroxide, and the like (Paragraph 290, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 3, Nesbit teaches that in another aspect, the coating on the stent device can be formed by applying the compound of the invention to at least one surface of the stent device to form a bioactive layer and then applying one or more coats of porous polymeric material over the bioactive layer, such that the porous polymeric material has a thickness adequate to provide a controlled release of the compound (Paragraph 335, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Nesbit teaches that another aspect of the invention is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vessel (Paragraph 127, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Nesbit teaches that metal salts of compounds of the present invention may be obtained by contacting a hydride, hydroxide, carbonate or similar reactive compound of the chosen metal in an aqueous or organic solvent with the free acid form of the compound where the aqueous solvent employed may be water or it may be a mixture of water with an organic solvent, preferably an alcohol such as methanol or ethanol, a ketone such as acetone, aliphatic ether such as tetrahydrofuran, or an ester such as ethyl acetate (Paragraph 291, lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Nesbit teaches that compositions according to the invention may also be formulated in a manner which resists rapid clearance from the vascular (arterial or venous) wall by convection and/or diffusion, thereby increasing the residence time of the viral particles at the desired site of action where a periadventitial depot comprising a compound according to the invention may be used for sustained release n alternative approach for minimizing washout of a compound according to the invention during percutaneous, transvascular delivery comprises the use of nondiffusible, drug-eluting microparticles (Paragraph 317, lines 1-5). Nesbit also teaches that the microparticles may be comprised of a variety of synthetic polymers, such as polylactide for example, or natural substances, including proteins or polysaccharides. Such microparticles enable strategic manipulation of variables including total dose of drug and kinetics of its release, where microparticles can be injected efficiently into the arterial or venous wall through a porous balloon catheter or a balloon over stent, and are retained in the vascular wall and the periadventitial tissue for at least about two weeks (Paragraph 318, lines 1-15).
Specifically, Nesbit teaches that Topoisomerase II inhibitors include, but are not limited to, epipodophyllotoxins. Epipodophyllotoxins are phase specific anti-neoplastic agents derived from the mandrake plant, where epipodophyllotoxins typically affect cells in the S and G2 phases of the cell cycle by forming a ternary complex with topoisomerase 11 and DNA causing DNA strand breaks (Paragraph 399, lines 1-5). Nesbit teaches that the pharmaceutical compositions for therapeutic treatment are intended for parenteral, topical, oral or local administration and preferably, the pharmaceutical compositions are administered parenterally, e.g., intravenously, subcutaneously, intradermally, or intramuscularly and thus, the invention provides compositions for parenteral administration which comprise a solution of the combination of the PDGF receptor inhibitor and anti-angiogenic chemotherapeutics in an acceptable carrier, preferably an aqueous carrier (these compositions may be sterilized by conventional, well known sterilization techniques, or may be sterile filtered) (Paragraph 429, lines 1-15).
Further, Nesbit teaches acid addition salts of the compounds of this invention which are prepared by reaction of the free base with the appropriate acid, by the application or adaptation of known methods and where for example, the acid addition salts of the compounds of this invention are prepared either by dissolving the free base in aqueous or aqueous-alcohol solution or other suitable solvents containing the appropriate acid and isolating the salt by evaporating the solution, or by reacting the free base and acid in an organic solvent, in which case the salt separates directly or can be obtained by concentration of the solution (Paragraph 288, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 12, Nesbit teaches that another aspect of the invention is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vessel (Paragraph 127, lines 1-3).
Regarding claims 14-15, 18-19, Nesbit teaches that the biopharmaceutical of the present invention preferably retains the signal peptide of PDGF-R.beta, however, alternative signal peptides may be used to efficiently initiate or act as primers for the transport of a protein across the membrane of the endoplasmic reticulum and signal sequences have been well characterized in the art and are known typically to contain 16 to 30 amino acid residues, and may contain greater or fewer amino acid residues, where a typical signal peptide consists of three regions: a basic N-terminal region, a central hydrophobic region, and a more polar C-terminal region and the central hydrophobic region contains 4 to 12 hydrophobic residues that anchor the signal peptide across the membrane lipid bilayer during transport of the nascent polypeptide (Paragraph 365, lines 10-20). Further, Nesbit teaches that following initiation, the signal peptide is usually cleaved within the lumen of the endoplasmic reticulum by cellular enzymes known as signal peptidases (Paragraph 365, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 20, Nesbit teaches that alkylating agents are non-phase anti-cancer specific agents and strong electrophiles and typically, alkylating agents form covalent linkages, by alkylation, to DNA through nucleophilic moieties of the DNA molecule such as phosphate, amino, sulfhydryl, hydroxyl, carboxyl, and imidazole groups. Such alkylation disrupts nucleic acid function leading to cell death (Paragraph 386, lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 25-26, Nesbit teaches that an example of exogenous labelling includes a reaction which is stopped by addition of 150 .mu.l of stopping buffer (100 mM Hepes pH7.5, KF 400 mM, EDTA 133 mM, BSA 1 g/l.) containing a selected anti tyrosine antibody labelled with the Europium cryptate (PY20-K) at 0.8 .mu.g/ml and allophycocyanine-labelled streptavidin (XL665) at 4 .mu.g/ml where the labelling of Streptavidin and anti-tyrosine antibodies were performed by Cis-Bio International (France) and the mixture is counted using a Packard Discovery counter which is able to measure time-resolved homogeneous fluorescence transfer (excitation at 337 nm, readout at 620 nm and 665 nm) where the ratio of the 665 nm signal/620 nm signal is a measure of the phosphorylated tyrosine concentration and the blank is obtained by replacing enzyme by buffer to calculate the specific signal which is the difference between the ratio obtained without inhibitor and the ratio with the blank (Paragraph 606, lines 15-25).
Regarding claims 27 and 29, Nesbit teaches that the previously described invention can be applied to cytosine arabinoside-cytarabine commercialized under Cytosar-U which is an antimetabolite specific for cells in the S-phase of the cell cycle, which acts through inhibition of DNA polymerase and cytosine incorporation into DNA and RNA, as well as Daunorubicin, which is also named Cerubidine and Idarubicin or Idamycin which are topoisomerase-II inhibitors, inhibiting DNA and RNA polymerase (Paragraph 49, lines 1-5). Specifically, Nesbit teaches that Topoisomerase II inhibitors include, but are not limited to, epipodophyllotoxins. Epipodophyllotoxins are phase specific anti-neoplastic agents derived from the mandrake plant, where epipodophyllotoxins typically affect cells in the S and G2 phases of the cell cycle by forming a ternary complex with topoisomerase 11 and DNA causing DNA strand breaks (Paragraph 399, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 32, Nesbit teaches that an example of exogenous labelling includes a reaction which is stopped by addition of 150 .mu.l of stopping buffer (100 mM Hepes pH7.5, KF 400 mM, EDTA 133 mM, BSA 1 g/l.) containing a selected anti tyrosine antibody labelled with the Europium cryptate (PY20-K) at 0.8 .mu.g/ml and allophycocyanine-labelled streptavidin (XL665) at 4 .mu.g/ml where the labelling of Streptavidin and anti-tyrosine antibodies were performed by Cis-Bio International (France) and the mixture is counted using a Packard Discovery counter which is able to measure time-resolved homogeneous fluorescence transfer (excitation at 337 nm, readout at 620 nm and 665 nm) where the ratio of the 665 nm signal/620 nm signal is a measure of the phosphorylated tyrosine concentration and the blank is obtained by replacing enzyme by buffer to calculate the specific signal which is the difference between the ratio obtained without inhibitor and the ratio with the blank (Paragraph 606, lines 15-25).
Regarding claims 35-41, Nesbit teaches acid addition salts of the compounds of this invention which are prepared by reaction of the free base with the appropriate acid, by the application or adaptation of known methods and where for example, the acid addition salts of the compounds of this invention are prepared either by dissolving the free base in aqueous or aqueous-alcohol solution or other suitable solvents containing the appropriate acid and isolating the salt by evaporating the solution, or by reacting the free base and acid in an organic solvent, in which case the salt separates directly or can be obtained by concentration of the solution (Paragraph 288, lines 1-8). Specifically, Nesbit teaches the porous polymeric material is applied by plasma deposition and representative polymers suitable for plasm deposition include poly(ethylene oxide), poly(ethylene glycol), poly(propylene oxide), and polymers of methane, silicone, tetrafluoroethylene tetramethyldisiloxane, and the like (Paragraph 337, lines 1-5).
Nesbit also teaches that metal salts of compounds of the present invention may be obtained by contacting a hydride, hydroxide, carbonate or similar reactive compound of the chosen metal in an aqueous or organic solvent with the free acid form of the compound where the aqueous solvent employed may be water or it may be a mixture of water with an organic solvent, preferably an alcohol such as methanol or ethanol, a ketone such as acetone, aliphatic ether such as tetrahydrofuran, or an ester such as ethyl acetate (Paragraph 291, lines 1-5).
Nesbit further teaches that also useful in some special instances are monoacrylates such as n-butyl-acrylate, n-butyl methacrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, lauryl-acrylate, and 2-hydroxy-propyl acrylate where small quantities of amides of (meth)acrylic acid such as N-methylol methacrylamide butyl ether are also suitable, N-vinyl compounds such as N-vinyl pyrrolidone, vinyl esters of aliphatic monocarboxylic acids such as vinyl oleate, vinyl ethers of diols such as butanediol-1,4-divinyl ether and allyl ether and allyl ester are also suitable; also included are other monomers such as the reaction products of di- or polyepoxides such as butanediol-1,4-diglycidyl ether or bisphenol A diglycidyl ether with (meth)acrylic acid (Paragraph 339, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 42, Nesbit teaches that alkylating agents are non-phase anti-cancer specific agents and strong electrophiles where typically, alkylating agents form covalent linkages, by alkylation, to DNA through nucleophilic moieties of the DNA molecule such as phosphate, amino, sulfhydryl, hydroxyl, carboxyl, and imidazole groups and such alkylation disrupts nucleic acid function leading to cell death (examples of alkylating agents include, but are not limited to, nitrogen mustards such as cyclophosphamide, melphalan, and chlorambucil; alkyl suffonates such as busulfan; nitrosoureas such as carmustine; and triazenes such as dacarbazine) (Paragraph 386, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 46, Nesbit teaches that the choice of vehicle and the content of active substance in the vehicle are generally determined in accordance with the solubility and chemical properties of the product, the particular mode of administration and the provisions to be observed in pharmaceutical practice; for example, excipients such as lactose, sodium citrate, calcium carbonate, dicalcium phosphate and disintegrating agents such as starch, alginic acids and certain complex silica gels combined with lubricants such as magnesium stearate, sodium lauryl sulfate and talc may be used for preparing tablets, troches, pills, capsules and the like and to prepare a capsule, it is advantageous to use lactose and liquid carrier, such as high molecular weight polyethylene glycols (Paragraph 310, lines 1-10). Nesbit further teaches that another aspect of the invention is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vessel (Paragraph 127, lines 1-3). Further, Nesbit teaches acid addition salts of the compounds of this invention which are prepared by reaction of the free base with the appropriate acid, by the application or adaptation of known methods and where for example, the acid addition salts of the compounds of this invention are prepared either by dissolving the free base in aqueous or aqueous-alcohol solution or other suitable solvents containing the appropriate acid and isolating the salt by evaporating the solution, or by reacting the free base and acid in an organic solvent, in which case the salt separates directly or can be obtained by concentration of the solution (Paragraph 288, lines 1-8).
Specifically, Nesbit teaches that Topoisomerase II inhibitors include, but are not limited to, epipodophyllotoxins. Epipodophyllotoxins are phase specific anti-neoplastic agents derived from the mandrake plant, where epipodophyllotoxins typically affect cells in the S and G2 phases of the cell cycle by forming a ternary complex with topoisomerase 11 and DNA causing DNA strand breaks (Paragraph 399, lines 1-5). Nesbit teaches that the biopharmaceutical of the present invention preferably retains the signal peptide of PDGF-R.beta, however, alternative signal peptides may be used to efficiently initiate or act as primers for the transport of a protein across the membrane of the endoplasmic reticulum and signal sequences have been well characterized in the art and are known typically to contain 16 to 30 amino acid residues, and may contain greater or fewer amino acid residues, where a typical signal peptide consists of three regions: a basic N-terminal region, a central hydrophobic region, and a more polar C-terminal region and the central hydrophobic region contains 4 to 12 hydrophobic residues that anchor the signal peptide across the membrane lipid bilayer during transport of the nascent polypeptide (Paragraph 365, lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 70, Nesbit teaches that an example of exogenous labelling includes a reaction which is stopped by addition of 150 .mu.l of stopping buffer (100 mM Hepes pH7.5, KF 400 mM, EDTA 133 mM, BSA 1 g/l.) containing a selected anti tyrosine antibody labelled with the Europium cryptate (PY20-K) at 0.8 .mu.g/ml and allophycocyanine-labelled streptavidin (XL665) at 4 .mu.g/ml where the labelling of Streptavidin and anti-tyrosine antibodies were performed by Cis-Bio International (France) and the mixture is counted using a Packard Discovery counter which is able to measure time-resolved homogeneous fluorescence transfer (excitation at 337 nm, readout at 620 nm and 665 nm) where the ratio of the 665 nm signal/620 nm signal is a measure of the phosphorylated tyrosine concentration and the blank is obtained by replacing enzyme by buffer to calculate the specific signal which is the difference between the ratio obtained without inhibitor and the ratio with the blank (Paragraph 606, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 72, Nesbit teaches that the compound of the present invention is substituted with a basic moiety, acid addition salts are formed and are simply a more convenient form or reversible for use; and in practice, use of the salt form inherently amounts to use of the free base form, where the acids which can be used to prepare the acid addition salts include preferably those which produce, when combined with the free base, pharmaceutically acceptable salts, that is, salts whose anions are non-toxic to the patient in pharmaceutical doses of the salts, so that the beneficial inhibitory effects on PDGF inherent in the free base are not vitiated by side effects ascribable to the anions and although pharmaceutically acceptable salts of said basic compounds are preferred, all acid addition salts are useful as sources of the free base form even if the particular salt, per se, is desired only as an intermediate product as, for example, when the salt is formed only for purposes of purification, and identification, or when it is used as intermediate in preparing a pharmaceutically acceptable salt by ion exchange procedures (Paragraph 287, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 77, Nesbit also teaches that metal salts of compounds of the present invention may be obtained by contacting a hydride, hydroxide, carbonate or similar reactive compound of the chosen metal in an aqueous or organic solvent with the free acid form of the compound where the aqueous solvent employed may be water or it may be a mixture of water with an organic solvent, preferably an alcohol such as methanol or ethanol, a ketone such as acetone, aliphatic ether such as tetrahydrofuran, or an ester such as ethyl acetate (Paragraph 291, lines 1-5).
Nesbit teaches each and every limitation of claims 1-5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 18-20, 25-27, 29, 32, 35-42, 46, 70, 72 and 77, and therefore Nesbit anticipates claims 1-5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 18-20, 25-27, 29, 32, 35-42, 46, 70, 72 and 77.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ELIZABETH ROSE LAFAVE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684