DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending in the application. Claim 4 was previously canceled. The Specification and Claims 1 and 16 are amended and support can be found in the claims and Specification as originally filed. In light of the amendments to Claim 16, the claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 06/03/2026 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected are under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bayer et al. (US 2012/0083558 A1; hereafter as “Bayer”).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5, Bayer teaches a polyamide molding composition suitable for producing moldings for electronics [Abstract; Claims 1, 7], which corresponds with the electrical or electronic article comprising a polymer composition of Claim 1, comprising:
Semicrystalline polyamide [Claim 1], which corresponds to the semicrystalline polyamide of Claim 1;
Glass fibers [Claims 34-35], corresponding to the glass fiber of Claim 1;
Wherein the semicrystalline polyamide is composed of (A1) and (A2), wherein:
(A2) comprises 25-100 mol % of an aliphatic diamine such as 2,2,4-trimethylhexamethylenediamine, based on the total content of diamines present [Claims 7, 10, 24], and 0-75 mol % cycloaliphatic diamines such as 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane, based on the total content of diamines present [Claims 7, 25], wherein:
(A2) corresponds to the diamine component (A) of Claim 1,
25-100 mol % 2,2,4-trimethylhexamethylenediamine corresponds to 40-95 mol% of a C5 to C9 aliphatic diamine of Claim 1, and reads on the 2,2,4-trimethyl-hexamethylenediamine of Claim 2, and
0-75 mol % 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane corresponds with 5-80 mol % of bis(aminoalkyl)cyclohexane of Claim 1, and reads on the 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane of Claims 3 and 5; and
(A1) comprises 25-100 mol % terephthalic acid based on the total content of acids present [Claims 7, 9-10], and 0-75 mol % of cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acid, such as cyclohexane-1,4-dicarboxylic acid, based on the total content of acids present [Claims 7-8], wherein:
(A1) corresponds to a dicarboxylic acid component (B) of Claim 1,
25-100 mol % terephthalic acid corresponds to 50-99 mol % terephthalic acid of Claim 1, and
0-75 mol % cyclohexane-1,4-dicarboxylic acid corresponds to 1-50 mol % 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid of Claim 1.
Bayer does not require additional C4 to C12 aliphatic dicarboxylic acids, which will be interpreted to read upon no more than 20 mol % of additional C4 to C12 aliphatic dicarboxylic acids of Claim 1.
However, Bayer does not explicitly teach the heat of fusion of the semicrystalline polyamide of Claim 1.
Nevertheless, heat of fusion is the energy required to change a substance from a solid to a liquid. Bayer teaches the same semicrystalline polyamide derived from the same diamine component A and the same dicarboxylic component B as required by the instant claims as set forth in the rejection above. Since Bayer teaches the same semicrystalline polyamide as required by the instant claim, the heat of fusion of the semicrystalline polyamide of Bayer would inherently result in the same heat of fusion as required by the instant claim. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. Furthermore, the melting temperature and heat of fusion are highly dependent on the polymer crystallinity. Bayer teaches the semicrystalline polyamide with a melting point in the range of 270-340 °C [Claim 6], which overlaps the melting temperature of the instantly claimed invention (Tm ≥ 295 °C) as disclosed in the instant Specification [Pg. 4, Lines 20-22]. Since the polyamide of Bayer and the instantly claimed polyamide have the same semicrystalline structure and the same melting points, it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill to conclude that the polyamide of Bayer would have a similar heat of fusion to the claimed polyamide. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed semicrystalline polyamide, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients (polyamide comprising a diamine component and a dicarboxylic acid component, and glass fibers) for the same utility (to produce a glass fiber reinforced semicrystalline polyamide) and for the same purpose (to make electrical or electronic articles).
Regarding Claims 6-9, Bayer further teaches:
30-92 wt. % semicrystalline polyamide [Claim 1], which corresponds to wherein the polyamide (PA) concentration in the polymer composition (PC) is from 20 wt.% to 85 wt.% of Claim 6;
20-40 wt. % glass fibers [Claims 1, 34-35], which corresponds to wherein the glass fiber concentration in the polymer composition (PC) is from 10 wt.% to 70 wt.% of Claim 7;
halogen-free flame retardant [Claim 1], which corresponds to wherein the polymer composition (PC) further comprises a halogen free flame retardant of Claim 8; and
zinc oxide [¶ 0147- 0148; Table 2], corresponding to the acid scavenger of Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, Bayer does not explicitly teach a Comparative Tracking Index ("CTI") of at least 750 V after heat aging for 2,800 hours as measured according to ASTM D3638 of Claim 10.
Nevertheless, the properties of the electrical or electronic article, such as the Comparative Tracking Index are functions of its physical and chemical composition, and are strongly influenced by the composition’s crystallinity. Since Bayer teaches the same composition with the same semi-crystalline structure formed by the same method as required by the instant claim, as set forth in the rejection above, the composition of Bayer would be expected to result in the same Comparative Tracking Index as required by the instant claims. Furthermore, it is well known in the art that the melting temperature is directly related to a material’s crystallinity. In this case, Bayer teaches the semicrystalline polyamide with a melting point in the range of 270-340 °C [Claim 6], which overlaps the melting temperature of the instantly claimed invention (Tm ≥ 295 °C) as disclosed in the instant Specification [Pg. 4, Lines 20-22] and further supports the composition of Bayer would be expected to correspond the claimed semi-crystalline structure. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is expectedly present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed electrical or electronic article properties, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients (polyamide comprising a diamine component and a dicarboxylic acid component, and glass fibers) for the same utility (to produce a glass fiber reinforced semicrystalline polyamide) and for the same purpose (to make electrical or electronic articles).
Regarding Claims 11-12, 15, 17-18 and 20, Bayer further teaches:
Printed circuit boards [¶ 0002], thereby reading on the integrated circuit of Claim 12;
A method of making the semicrystalline polyamide molding composition in an extruder [Abstract; ¶ 0068, 0188], corresponding to extruding the polymer composition (PC) to form at least a portion of the electrical or electronic article of Claim 15;
A melting temperature from 270 to 340 °C [Claims 1-2, 6], which reads on Tm of at least 295 °C of Claim 17, and a Tm of at least 300 °C of Claim 18.
Since determining a melting temperature to be in a range of 270-340 °C requires exposing the composition at least to temperatures from 25 °C up to at least 340 °C, the process of determining the melting temperature to be in the range of 270-340 °C will be interpreted to read on wherein the electrical or electronic article is exposed to air at a temperature of 120° C of Claim 11, and wherein the electrical or electronic article is exposed to air at a temperature of 150° C of Claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (US 2012/0083558 A1; hereafter as “Bayer”) in view of Rached et al. (US 2020/0243820 A1; as cited in the IDS submitted on 11/04/2022; hereafter as “Rached”).
Bayer teaches the electrical or electronic article, polymer composition, semicrystalline polyamide and glass fiber of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Bayer further teaches the semicrystalline polyamide molding composition is suitable for producing moldings for electronic parts such as housings, housing components and connectors [Abstract].
However, Bayer does not explicitly teach wherein the article is an all electric vehicle part or a hybrid electric vehicle part of Claim 13.
Nevertheless, Rached teaches a battery compartment comprising semicrystalline polyamide, cycloaliphatic diamine, bis(aminoacyl)cyclohexane, terephthalic acid, glass fibers, flame retardant [Claims 1-2, 15-16; ¶ 0037, 0048, 0089], wherein the battery compartment is a battery housing in an electric or hybrid vehicle [Claims 15-16; Abstract] which corresponds to wherein the article is an all-electric vehicle part or a hybrid electric vehicle part of Claim 13.
Rached offers the motivation that the battery compartment has the advantage of being lighter than other metal compartments which can contribute to the fuel efficiency of the vehicle [¶ 0016].
Bayer and Rached are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of polymer compositions comprising semi-crystalline polyamide, glass fiber, cycloaliphatic diamine, bis(aminoacyl)cyclohexane, terephthalic acid that can be used as housings for electronic parts.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the composition of Bayer in the electric or hybrid vehicle of Rached, with the motivation to protect the vehicle battery, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (US 2012/0083558 A1; hereafter as “Bayer”) in view of Stoppelmann et al. (EP 3502511 A1; English translation incorporated herein; hereafter as “Stoppelmann”).
Bayer teaches the electrical or electronic article, polymer composition, semicrystalline polyamide and glass fiber of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Bayer further teaches the semicrystalline polyamide molding composition is suitable for producing moldings for electronic parts such as housings, housing components and connectors [Abstract].
However, Bayer does not explicitly teach wherein the part is selected from the group consisting of high voltage connectors, insulated gate bipolar transistor power modules, a power inverters, fast chargers, high voltage bus bars, high voltage terminals, high voltage separators, gearbox housings, light detection and ranging device housings, camera housings, and combinations thereof of Claim 14.
Nevertheless, Stoppelmann teaches a polyamide molding compound comprising semi-crystalline polyamide and glass fibers [Claims 1, 7] for the manufacture of housings for gearboxes [Claim 16], which reads on the gearbox housing of Claim 14.
Stoppelmann offers the motivation that the polyamide molding composition has increased abrasion resistance [¶ 0001-0002].
Bayer and Stoppelmann are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of polymer compositions comprising semi-crystalline polyamide and glass fibers for the manufacture of housing components .
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the composition of Bayer to make the gearbox housing of Stoppelmann, with the motivation to improve abrasion resistance, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (US 2012/0083558 A1; hereafter as “Bayer”) in view of Capelot (US 2020/0024395 A1; cited in the IDS submitted on 11/04/2022; hereafter as “Capelot”).
Bayer teaches the electrical or electronic article, polymer composition, polyamide components comprising aliphatic diamine, bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane, terephthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
However, while Bayer teaches the individual components of the recurring units RPA1, RPA3, RPA3, RPA4, Bayer does not explicitly teach the structures of the recurring units RPA1, RPA3, RPA3, RPA4 of Claim 16.
Nevertheless, Capelot teaches composition for a thermoplastic material for electrical equipment [Claims 1, 25], comprising semi-crystalline polyamide polymer derived from a polycondensation reaction [Claims 1, 15-16; ¶ 0115], glass fibers [Table 1; ¶ 0077], linear aliphatic diamine such as 1,6-hexanediamine [Claim 1; ¶ 0121], 1,3-bis (aminomethyl)cyclohexane (BAC) [¶ 0045-0046; Claim 1], terephthalic acid [Claim 1], cyclohexane-1,4-dicarboxylic acid [¶ 0126-0127], the enthalpy of crystallization of the semi-crystalline polyamide is greater than 40 J/g, halogen-free flame retardant [¶ 0109], Zinc oxide [¶ 0109], an extrusion step [¶ 0231; Claim 15], and a glass transition temperature Tg > 150˚C [¶ 0140]. Capelot further teaches reactive polyamide prepolymers [Claim 1], corresponding to the recurring units of Claim 16, comprising:
BACT/XT copolyamide [Claim 1], wherein:
embodiment #1of XT is an amide motif at a molar content ranging from 0.9 to 30% where X is a C9 to C18 linear aliphatic diamine, and where T is terephthalic acid [Claim 1], corresponding to RPA1 of Claim 16;
embodiment #2 of BACT is an amide motif at a molar content ranging from 70 to 99.1% where BAC is 1,3-bis(aminomethypcyclohexyl) and where T is terephthalic acid [Claim 1], corresponding to RPA2 of Claim 16;
embodiment #3 of XT is an amide motif at a molar content of up to 30 mol % where X is a C6 to C36 linear aliphatic diamine, and where T is C6 to C36 cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acid [Claim 1], corresponding to RPA3 of Claim 16;
embodiment of #4 BACT is an amide motif at a molar content of up to 30 mol % where X is a C4 to C36 diamine, and where T is C6 to C36 cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acid [Claim 1], corresponding to RPA4 of Claim 16;
C9 to C18 linear aliphatic diamine [Claim 1] overlaps with wherein R1 of RPA1 to RPA3 is –(CH2)-m where m is 5 to 10 of Claim 16;
70.9 to 100 mol % of the recurring units in the polyamide consist of BACT/XT (min. total of embodiments #1-4 = 0.9 + 70 + 0 + 0 = 70.9 mol %; max. total of embodiments #1-4 = 30 + 99.1 + 30 + 30 = 100 mol %), which overlaps with recurring units RPA1 to RPA4 being at least 99 mol% of the recurring units in the polyamide of Claim 16.
Capelot offers the motivation that the polyamide prepolymers produce semicrystalline polyamide polymer matrix with improved mechanical performance while reducing molding time [¶ 0018].
Bayer and Capelot are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of polymer compositions comprising semi-crystalline polyamide, glass fiber, aliphatic diamine, bis(aminoalkyl)cyclohexane, terephthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the recurring units of Capelot with the composition of Bayer, with the motivation to obtain improved mechanical properties, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
However, Capelot does not explicitly teach wherein R1 of RPA1 to RPA3 is –(CH2)-m where m is 5 to 10, and recurring units RPA1 to RPA4 being at least 99 mol% of the recurring units in the polyamide of Claim 16.
Nevertheless, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Capelot for the carbon length of the aliphatic diamine (C9 to C18 linear aliphatic diamine) and total amount of recurring units (70.9 to 100 mol %) overlaps the instantly claimed ranges (C5 to C9 aliphatic diamine, and at least 99 mol %, respectively) and is therefore considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (US 2012/0083558 A1; hereafter as “Bayer”) in view of Norfolk et al. (US 2014/0127440 A1; hereafter as “Norfolk”).
Bayer teaches the electrical or electronic article, polymer composition, semicrystalline polyamide and glass fiber of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
However, Bayer does not teach wherein the polymer composition (PC) is obtained by melt-blending the polyamide (PA) and the other components of the polymer composition of Claim 19.
Nevertheless, Norfolk teaches a polymer composition comprising polyamide, glass fiber, aliphatic diamine, bis(aminoacyl)cyclohexane, terephthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid [Claims 1-4, 9-11 and 17]. Norfolk further teaches polymer composition may be prepared by blending the components, the blend being subsequently melted and kneaded [¶ 0096] which corresponds to wherein the polymer composition (PC) is obtained by melt-blending the polyamide (PA) and the other components of the polymer composition of Claim 19.
Norfolk offers the motivation that the melting and kneading of the blend may be carried out by any known method including pelletizing and then blending the composition, or a method in
which part of a powder component or components or part of a liquid component or components is blended separately from the other components [¶ 0096].
Bayer and Norfolk are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of polymer compositions comprising semi-crystalline polyamide, glass fiber, aliphatic diamine, bis(aminoacyl)cyclohexane, terephthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the melt-blending method of Norfolk with the composition of Bayer, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DORIS LING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764