DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/22/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2020/0054071) in view of Schaller (US 2018/0153208).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 14, Ouyang teaches an electronic cigarette configured to generate smoke [0081] (smoking substitute device configured to generate an aerosol from an aerosol forming precursor), the device comprising a battery device (main body) and an atomizing device (mouthpiece) [Fig. 2], wherein the mouthpiece is separate from the main body, the main body comprising: an ID input device configured to acquire ID information identifying a person from an ID medium [Fig. 3; 0171]; and an image collecting device (biometric device) configured to detect a facial (biometric) characteristic of the user [0178]; wherein the smoking substitute device is configured to control operation of the smoking substitute device based on the ID information acquired by the ID input device and based on the biometric characteristic detected by the biometric device , wherein the smoking substitute device is configured to perform an ID authorization check operation [Fig. 9-10] that comprises: operating the ID input device to acquire the ID information from the ID medium, wherein the ID information acquired via the ID input device comprises a biometric characteristic of the person identified by the ID information [0170]; operating the biometric device to detect a biometric characteristic of the user of the smoking substitute device [0178]; determining whether the biometric characteristic detected by the biometric device is from the same person as the biometric characteristic included in the ID information based on a comparison of the biometric characteristic detected by the biometric device and the biometric characteristic included in the ID information and unlocking the device (determining whether the user is authorised to use the smoking substitute device) based on (i) whether it is determined that the biometric characteristic detected by the biometric device is from the same person as the biometric characteristic included in the ID information; and (ii) an analysis of at least some of the ID information acquired via the ID input device [0178-0182].
Ouyang does not teach an ID device configured to read ID information identifying a person from an ID medium. Schaller teaches a machine for producing an aerosol-forming liquid for use in a smoking system [0082]. The machine comprises an ID device configured to read ID information identifying a person from an ID medium [0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the ID input device of Ouyang with the ID device of Schaller, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results would have been predictable. The device of modified Ouyang would be configured to perform the same ID authorization check using ID information read by the ID device in combination with the biometric characteristic of the user. The method of operating the device of modified Ouyang thereby reads on the claimed method.
Regarding claim 4, Ouyang teaches determining whether the person identified by the ID information passes an age verification test based on an analysis of at least some of the ID information read by the ID device [0171-0175].
Regarding claim 12, the smoking substitute device of modified Ouyang as applied to claim 1 above is part of a system including an ID medium containing ID information identifying a person; wherein the ID device is configured to read ID information identifying the person from the ID medium if the ID medium is presented to the ID device by a user of the smoking substitute device [Ouyang 0171; Schaller 0085].
Regarding claim 15, modified Ouyang teaches a computer readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions configured to cause a smoking substitute device to perform a method according to claim 14 [Ouyang 0215].
Regarding claims 16-18, Ouyang teaches the smoking substitute device comprises a consumable, and the mouthpiece is included in the consumable, wherein the smoking substitute device is a vaping device or a heated tobacco device [0214].
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang and Schaller as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanneken (US 20230158256).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ouyang does not teach the claimed configuration. Hanneken teaches a smoking substitute device configured to, if it is determined, from an authorization check, that the user is authorised to use the smoking substitute device: store a biometric characteristic of the user detected by the biometric device as an authorised biometric characteristic [0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the device of modified Ouyang for additional security purposes during the authentication process.
Regarding claim 6-8, modified Ouyang does not teach the claimed configuration. Hanneken teaches a smoking substitute device configured to perform a biometric authorization check operation that includes: operating the biometric device to detect a biometric characteristic of the user of the smoking substitute device; determining whether the user is authorised to use the smoking substitute device based on a comparison of the biometric characteristic detected by the biometric device and a stored authorised biometric characteristic, and based on the outcome of the biometric authorization check: permit the user to perform one or more operations with the smoking substitute device, if it is determined from the biometric authorization check that the user is authorised to use the smoking substitute device; prevent the user from performing the one or more operations with the smoking substitute device, if it is determined from the biometric authorization check that the user is not authorised to use the smoking substitute device, wherein the one or more operations include activation of the smoking substitute device to produce vapour [0059, 0070]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the device of Ouyang for additional security purposes during the authentication process.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ouyang does not teach the claimed configuration. Hanneken teaches verification is checked during each use [0028], i.e. the smoking substitute device is configured to perform biometric authorization according to a predetermined schedule. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the device of Ouyang for additional security purposes during the authentication process.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang and Schaller as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daugherty (US 2021/0298363).
Modified Ouyang does not specify the claimed components of the ID device. Daugherty teaches an aerosol delivery device comprising a chip reader (reading device configured to read ID information from a memory), a camera or bar code reader (camera configured to read ID information from an optical pattern), and a magnetic strip reader (magnetic code reader configured to read ID information from a magnetic pattern) [0153]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include these components with the ID device of modified Ouyang to achieve the predictable result of providing a reading means for reading ID information from the ID medium.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755